Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Viv Marais

    Team Tricot!

    This was my first hiking holiday with Exodus. It won't be my last. I chose camping as I wanted the total outdoor experience and I chose Mont Blanc because of its iconic beauty and it is just the right side of challenging! I wasn't disappointed. The two week trip is well planned and organised. There are several rest days which I didn't think I would need but were welcome and gave us a chance to explore the beautiful villages we passed through. There were 10 in my team - all ages from around the world - and I enjoyed getting to know every one of them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lots. Two that stand out are - the day the heavens opened and we had to negotiate the trickiest part of the hike through horizontal rain and mud but, working as a team, we got through it. The day we all climbed to the top of Cop Tricot in under an hour (I staggered in at 57 minutes) - a first for any of John's groups. We were so pleased with ourselves, we called our Whatsapp group "Team Tricot"!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My trip wasn't just about the wonderful scenery and hiking. A large part of its success was the team spirit that we enjoyed and the friendships we made. This happened mainly because of our group leader, John Briggs. Through his wit and patience, he was able to bring us together and even when things got tough, he would have us laughing. He obviously loves his job and is full of knowledge and interesting facts which made the whole experience richer. He taught us the "Alpine Plod" which is a way of getting up the steep bits without slipping or tiring. I've since taught all my hiking friends! It wasn't just the days that were fun. He kept us entertained in the evenings with "Camp Karaoke" - we even have a team song! John was aided and abetted by the very capable Emily Scott. She was the camp cook but also quickly became a good friend. It is still a mystery to me how she was able to conjure up a delicious 3-course meal in the middle of nowhere on a gas stove.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'm used to carrying everything I need on my back when I do overnight hikes, so I packed too lightly. As a result, I didnt have all the weather gear I needed - particular waterproof pants!. Emily drives the support vehicle each day to the next camp site with your tent and luggage and there's ample space. The weather can change in an instant and the tops of those mountains can be windy. So pack for every season.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to thank John and Emily and everyone in Team Tricot for one of the best hiking experiences. I miss our time together and wish I could do it all over again!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Becky wilson

    TMB - Camping Trip

    Fantastic trip, amazing views, campsites, group, leader( John B) and camp manager (Egle). The trip runs like a well oiled machine allowing you to just relax and enjoy. The itinarary is well planned with prefectly timed rest days and varied but not too long or demanding walking days. This was my first organised holiday and I would highly recommend it to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Star gazing at Les Chapieux and the scenery every day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John B was great, his confidence and steady pace kept the group together and allowed everyone to relax and enjoy the trip. He understood the group and was responsive to individual peoples requirements, providing distractions, gentle encoragement or timely rest breaks when needed. Egle Camp Manager was also fantastic, she was always ready for us at the end of the day with a cup of tea, the tents put up, a smile and a fantastic three course meal cooked on two burners. Together, we couldn't have asked for better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring walking poles the descents, especially the switch backs are pretty brutal on the knees.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    N/A
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Balbinder Sidhu

    Fantastic Holiday!!

    I would highly recommend this trip if you are considering a trekking holiday. The views of the Alps from Switzerland, Italy and France were beautiful. The trek itself was hard but doable if you train ahead and it's far more enjoyable too. Camping was fun. Really helps to bond with the group. I'm glad I took this option over the Hotel version.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up the Cols and witnessing the magnificent views of the surrounding Alps was jaw dropping. A real motivation to plod along knowing you will be subjected to some beautiful views. The final day up to the Brevent was fabulous. Sat eating my lunch with the Mont Blanc Massif around me will remain in my memory for a long while.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was a terrific leader and team builder. He was so chilled and unregimented I strongly believe this attitude resonated down the group. It made us all feel relaxed and un-pressed to go marching forth. Instead he would pace us all at a leisurely comfortable way stopping quite often to share his knowledge on the surrounding environment. He would teach us how to trust our boots when walking and encourage us to take 5 smaller steps than to waste energy by lunging up one step with greater exertion. He would share local knowledge of flora and fauna. History of the mountainsides and even an impromptu berry tasting session. John was a brilliant teacher who clearly showed great enthusiasm and huge respect to the environment that he was show casing to the rest of us. John was almost host-like rather than our guide. Wonderful chap who made the tour far more enjoyable. You could truly trust he was looking after you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Four seasons sleeping bag and comfortable mat for a good nights rest.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both John and Egle (camping support) really made the trip enjoyable. Egle's support was truly appreciated. Flask of hot water were on the ready after a long days trekking. Egle would have breakfast ready each morning and then all the delights placed out for us to make our endless bundles of sandwiches for lunch. Dinner on the campsite were three courses, plentiful and restaurant styled gourmet cuisine!! Unreal for camping. I strongly believe my holiday was a success as a direct result of having both John and Egle taking care of us. Thank you to you both!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Anne Stewart

    Mt Blanc Circuit - camping

    Camping and walking trip around Mt Blanc. Beautiful scenery, a great group of people and our guide - John and our camp manager Egle made everything extra special. Effort and speed of walking was very well managed. I don't think anyone felt that it required a major effort to keep up with the group but at the same time you knew that you had earned your meal at the end of the day! The ascents and descents bought a sense of achievement and of course always the reward of fantastic scenery. Each day provided different scenery and the always present mountains. It is truly an excellent trip - manageable but challenging walking with well paced days that had us covering appropriate distances, managing the ascents and descents but also time for coffee breaks, scenic lunch stops and afternoon tea breaks. The camping, tents, meals and facilities were all excellent and comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide, John, on the first day, gave us some tips and the opportunity to practice some walking skills particularly on managing the steeper ascents and descents. This was inspirational as the new skills helped make the ascents and descents so much easier to manage and also less tiring, which meant more time to enjoy the scenery and take photos. I've always been slower on the descents but using John's techniques made the effort less stressful on feet, knees and ankles and descents became much more fun. The scenery, is of course, just outstanding. Each day provided many "awesome" moments. Our group, mostly individuals, also got on very well - sharing camp duties, helping each other out, hanging out and having fun as well as walking well together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was an excellent group leader. He has a relaxed manner but keeps everything under control without ever coming across as authoritarian or overbearing. He was quietly vigilant in making sure each group member was travelling well and I think his personality and approach was a key factor in our group of individuals bonding and getting on so well. He definitely has a good sense of humour and an apparently endless supply of and desire to sing (fairly quietly) power ballads as he walked! His extensive outdoor skills and knowledge of mountains, walking, hiking and of the area around Mt Blanc gave each us a strong sense of confidence and this meant we could relax and enjoy the walk without having to worry about anything going wrong, or stressing on the details. Egle, our camp manager also did an outstanding job and produced fantastic meals, kept us all well fed and was a delight to have around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are doing the camping version remember to take a warm sleeping bag and a warm jacket for night time as it gets colder than you think. With these items you will be comfortable. Work on your fitness prior to the trip but you don't have to go super crazy trying to achieve maximum fitness. Also definitely take advantage of your rest day and take the gondola ride across the top if the weather is fairly decent. The views up the top over the glaciers and of Mt Blanc are stunning.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    J Collet

    Best of times, worst of times

    The TMB is an incredible long-distance trek and if it is on your bucket list, I would recommend it. Emily Scott was our camp manager and did an outstanding job. It definitely was not “roughing it” with Emily in charge. Day after day, I was humbled by the meals that she could prepare on a 2 burner camp stove. My only complaint was the pace that our leader, Kim Jackson, set. We routinely arrived at camp 1-1.5 hours sooner than the trip notes indicated. This wrecked havoc for Emily who on several occasions arrived after we did. That meant Emily was racing like a mad woman to set up camp and create a welcoming atmosphere for us. It also meant that rather than soaking in the amazing scenery, I was powering through the TMB with my eyes on the trail. Had I wanted to race through France, Switzerland and Italy, I would have taken a cycling trip! I would give 7/5 stars to Emily and her ability to run the camp, 5/5 stars for the scenery and route, and 2/5 to the leader. I averaged to 3/5.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would be hard to pin down the most inspirational moment. However, it goes without saying that my fellow travelers made the trip. They were a wonderful mix of nationalities, ages, genders and backgrounds. Everyone was willing to pitch in making for a terrific camp atmosphere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought that our group leader was sub-par. She set an unrelenting and blistering pace for no apparent reason. It was her last trip of the season and it showed. It often felt as though she was just trying to get through the trip. Each night we would meet as a group to review the following day’s agenda which included the walking distance, terrain and estimated time. We routinely arrived to camp at least 1-1.5 hours early. Kim allowed members of the group to race far ahead putting pressure on those that were keeping a pace consistent with the trip notes. The result was losing a hiker on Day 12. After that incident, she kept the group together but by then there was just 1 day left. I would have far preferred a more reasonable pace that gave us an opportunity to enjoy the stunning scenery.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the elevation gains and losses. Consider getting a single tent. That will give you the opportunity to spread out a bit and will take some of the edge off of two weeks under canvas. I had been on a camp-based group trek before, so I knew what to expect, but for those who don’t, be advised that everyone pitches in to make the camp run effectively.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Paul Bacon

    Fantastic trek in the Alps

    Well organised trek through France, Switzerland and Italy. Stunning views and good quality campsites used throughout the trek with just the right amount of rest days. Challenging last few days of walking but well worth it for the stunning views

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of col du tricot after a long 60 minutes ascent is well worth it. Getting the cable car up to Helbronner is a must for some breathtaking views of the mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kim was a great leader, always launching and joking with us. Emily did a great job in camp and made sure there was always plenty of food (and beer!) for us each evening after a days trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are alot of ascent and descent on this trip so you need to be physically fit, and have strong knees. The last few days walking can be really touch in the heat but well worth it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is well worth it and some of the best views ive seen. The food and cakes are great so expect to put on weight! Also try an Italian hot chocolate and the ice cream. Wont be disappointed
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue Wilson

    Tour du Mt.Blanc camping trek

    Have recently returned from the Tour of Mont Blanc camping trek - led by John Briggs. The trek and itinerary was well organised, varied with a couple of challenging days at the end. John is an informative amiable chap who was well supported by his colleague Agglia who saw we were well nourished and hydrated. Fabulous views, well worth the effort, to be recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    enjoyed the ice cold swim in the lake

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent, informative, good sense of humour, managed the group well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    N/A

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    N/A
  • Reviewed August 2017
    N Lui

    The perfect combination of everything

    How's that for a title, and when in life can you say that about anything? But yes, indeed, this trip was the perfect combination of everything. We had brilliant scenery (no credit to Exodus for that); wonderful walks, instruction, and guidance (courtesy of John B); a mix of good and bad weather (John called it "mountain weather," and others would say that there's no just thing as "bad" weather, just the wrong clothing); and memorable stays, meals, and snacks at our campsites (courtesy of Emily S). Tanya in our group was clever enough to do her research and pick our departure based on past reviews which mentioned John, while it was just dumb luck for me. We were fortunate to also have Emily, who joined Exodus this season and did her job like a pro. I read the positive reviews before I booked the trip and can vouch that they're all true. This trip will stay in my heart as a favorite. Thank you, Exodus and High Trails!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    John tried to inspire us to challenge ourselves by hiking up to Col de Tricot as fast as we could, and I was motivated to do so.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Nat Black

    Fantastic trek around Mont Blanc

    This trip is a great way to see the Alps as you circumnavigate Mont Blanc. Along the way the peak appears and a disappears as the scenery changes. Going earlier on the season means the trail is less busy. It was a very peaceful two weeks in the mountains with lots of fresh air. The one thing I found quite shocking is how quickly the glaciers are disappearing! The camping is also a great experience, the group comes together so there is a real communal feel, teamwork is key.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the whole circuit and finishing at Brevent. The views are super and that is your reward for walking up hill all day (1500m). Going up the Aiguille du Midi is also incredible, it is great to get so close to Mont Blanc. The gondola ride across the glacier is also very memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was a great leader, she was very knowledgeable about the trail and knew where all the lovely hut stops were.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to enjoy walking up and down, you are not often walking on flat trails, so practice those ups and downs. The Aiguille du Midi is definitely worth doing. It is cheaper to go up from the Italian side, however if the weather is bad wait until you get to Chamonix.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a fantastic walk, the scenery is spectacular. If you are a keen walker looking for something a bit more challenging then I would definitely recommend this trip. The Alps are amazing!
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Christine Miller

    Christine Miller

    This was a very well organised trip and the views through the whole trek were absolutely amazing. The walking was sustained and sometimes challenging, but super staff support, campsites, food and regular stops at refuges through the day means the days were never too tiring. It was nice to have two rest days and to eat in restaurants a couple of nights - these 'special touches' were appreciated and I'm sure they added to the success and relaxed feel of the holiday. Camping out every night made the trip really special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Near the end of the trip, we reached 'the Trico challenge' -a stiff climb to a col, which our leader perfectly introduced to us as the toughest climb of the trip. He challenged us to challenge ourselves for the ascent, so as a group we stormed - at our own best speed - up the mountain. We all met the challenge and it was fantastic to sit up the top together with some mountain sheep, feeling triumphant in the sun with the most amazing views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was extremely competent and had a very good approach to managing the group and leading us safely and happily so that everyone enjoyed the walks at their own pace. He had a great way about him and really helped make the trip the success it was. The support staff were also attentive, caring, efficient and provided for all our food needs, and more, perfectly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Being a camping trek, you are up and off early so need to be quite organised and ready for a wee burst of activity first thing as you wrestle your pop up tent into its bag, get breakfast and packed lunch etc ready. The days themselves, though, are relaxed and although they can be long, are perfectly interspersed with regular stops along the way to refuel on local, homemade goodies at amazing mountain refuges along the route. Walking poles were really useful and think about taking two camping towels in case it's raining and one gets wet -the warm shower at the end of the day was worth having a dry towel for!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt that it could be positive for the support staff and guides to have the opportunity to take part in an Exodus trip themselves as a participant, so that they have a wider experience to underpin their overall knowledge of Exodus for their clients.
Call us on 0208 772 3936