Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    David Vaughan

    Zimbabwe Walking and Wildlife

    Great walking in fabulous scenery during first week plus the impressive ruins of Great Zimbabwe - unique in southern Africa with enjoyable safari in week two culminating in one of natures great sites at Victoria Falls.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Victoria Falls was spectacular. I did the helicopter flight which was expensive but worth it. Everyone got a window seat but you needed to be first or second in the queue to get the best seats. The scenery in the Eastern Highlands and at Matobo also magnificent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A three person team who were doing the trip for the first time coped pretty well with some of the challenges they were presented with. Their cooking was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is only really walking in week one in spite of it being in the trekking guide. Nevertheless some of the walks are quite steep and challenging and I would recommend proper walking boots and if you use them poles for some of the steeper descents. Also take binoculars - I forgot and was always borrowing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the safari is interesting, especially for birdlife, and there is the possibility of seeing both black and white rhino, this wouldn't be the first choice if that was your primary interest for which I would suggest Botswana or Zambia. As part of a varied package of activities it is very good however.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Laura Jones

    Spectacular Zimbabwe!

    This trip was varied, exciting and spectacular! There was a mixture of trekking, historic sights and wildlife. The standard of accommodation and food was significantly better than I had expected from a trip where some of the places visited were very remote and the country has had economic difficulties. The guides were truly exceptional. All in all this trip has something for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights on this trip that it is difficult to pick out the most inspirational moment. However, I was thrilled to have been able to complete the trek in the Chimanimani mountains (as it was tricky in places), loved walking with white rhino in Matopos and was overwhelmed by the spectacle of Great Zimbabwe.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mira, Marco and Colly were a great team. There were three of us on the trip who were nervous about being able to keep up on the treks as none of us would have called ourselves "proper trekkers" (although we had trekked/walked before). Mira made sure that we were able to comfortably keep up, encouraged us when we needed it and made sure that we all completed the treks. When we came down from the Chimanimani mountain trek she was as proud as we were! All three of the guides were very knowledgeable about history, politics and wildlife not to mention being really good at keeping us safe and well. The guides really made the trip what it was - I cannot praise them highly enough. They were exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In the early mornings and after the sun went down it was actually quite chilly. Taking a light feather jacket or a thick fleece is a good idea. The economic situation in Zimbabwe means that the local people are struggling. They are in need of clothing, shoes, blankets, childrens clothing and shoes, paper and pencils (for the children at school), toiletries, basic medicines (paracetemol, plasters etc) and were very grateful for anything that we were able to leave behind as we went. In the rural areas there are very few visitors and anything that people could spare would be well used and very much appreciated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you can, please think about packing clothes and shoes that you would be prepared to leave behind as you go. Also please consider leaving behind the "medical kit" that most of us travel with as a matter of course. It makes so much difference to the lives of people who are cheerfully and pragmatically carrying on!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Deb Simmons

    Zimbabwe

    The amazingly varied itinerary of this trip is what made it so special. I had gone for the landscapes and the wildlife but learned so much about the people and the country as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The weird rock scenery on the top of the Chimanimani mountains. Standing in the dark listening to the slurps and shuffles of 8 elephants at the watering hole at the lodge. White water rafting down the Zambezi river from the base of the Victoria Falls. Watching the rainbows at the Victoria Falls. The sunsets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Justin was able to blend a contagious enthusiasm with slick organisational skills and a vast knowledge of fauna, politics, history and economics of Zimbabwe and surrounding countries.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go in August. We had glorious sunshine and blue skies almost every day. The heat was dry and mostly comfortably less than 25 degrees and I didn't get bitten once (and I normally do a lot). If you do go in August it's cold in the morning and in the evening. Take more warm stuff than I did. Expect a lot of steep climbs on the walks but the views are worth it - walking poles really helped me. We were able to get laundry done after 7 days. Take walking poles, binoculars and a camera that can zoom.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zimbabwe is a struggling country but it always felt safe, the people are friendly and they want tourists to go there. If you love wildlife, challenging hikes, campfires, glorious views and waterfalls then go, go, go on this trip!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Sally Wormall

    What an amazing trip!

    This trip is great mixture of activities which together give you a real taste of this beautiful country. The people are warm and welcoming, the food was great, the scenery is stunning. It was a real adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to choose! The Victoria Falls are breathtaking, and the Matapos Hills have a unique splendour. Going on walking safari was amazing - getting within a few metres of rhino in the wild is an awesome (if slightly scary) experience!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leaders, Justin and David, were fantastic. They really looked after us and knew everything there was to know about Southern Africa and its history, flora and fauna. Their cooking was the best we had on the whole trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes - just go! You won't regret a moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will see evidence of the problems facing this country, but it is far and away the friendliest and safest place I have visited. The local people need increased tourism to help them make a living. Try and get there.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Trudi Lockett

    Zimbabwe Walking and Wildlife

    A beautiful country where everyone was very friendly and helpful. The trip was varied with exceptional hikes, game walks and drives led by very knowledgeable guides and a chance to visit locals in their own homes. Great Zimbabwe is fascinating and Victoria Falls a spectacular end to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Chimanimani Mountains were stunning. Walking close to the animals (particularly the rhino) was wonderful and Victoria Falls was breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin (our group leader) was excellent. He seemed to know the answer to any questions we asked. He was there whenever he was needed and was always cheerful and helpful. The food he (and David his trainee leader) cooked was varied and tasty. Couldn't have asked for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Chimanimani Mountains are a steep climb (but well worth it). Game drives, in open vehicles, are cold in the early mornings so bring warm clothes and you will get wet at Victoria Falls.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had never been to Africa before and was travelling on my own, so I was pretty nervous about the trip. It was so wonderful though- the group I was with were lovely and every day was an adventure. I loved every minute of it. If you have the chance to go, take it. I am sure you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Chloe Knott

    A brilliant adventure!

    A fantastic country, really varied itinerary and great group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many! Walking next to rhinos, zebras and wildebeest. Enjoying a glass of wine at sunset whilst looking for giraffe. Climbing the highest and most mystical peak in Zimbabwe. Meeting the local people and finding out about their lives, culture and history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant - we had a leader and guide, Justin and David. Both worked hard to ensure we had a brilliant holiday. There wasn't a question they didn't know the answer to and they were a real asset to the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The highlands and game drives can be chilly so take warm layers and a hat and gloves can be useful. For wildlife walks you need khaki or beige clothing (also better to have darker colour waterproofs/ ruckasacks).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking about this trip go for it - it is great! It gives you a real insight to Zimbabwe. It is a very safe destination. The people are warm and welcoming and we all felt our tourism was really benefiting a wide range of people.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Ann Robertson

    Zimbabwe Walking and Wildlife

    This trip is a treat from beginning to end. There is the wonderful wildlife, of course - large and small! - but also the varied and gorgeous landscapes of Zimbabwe and such warmly welcoming local people. As a first-timer in the country (indeed, this was my first visit to Africa), I was a little unsure initially about booking this holiday. I am just so glad that I did. It was an educational, thought-provoking and joyful two weeks. I would happily go back now and do the whole trip over again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The itinerary ensures one sees different areas of rural Zimbabwe and combines wildlife and walking with driving, local culture and history, and relaxation. Memories of our day's walk (including scrambling!) in Chimanimani National Park in the Eastern Highlands will stay with me as one of the best 'hikes' of my life. Then there was walking in Matobo National Park and simply standing, awe-struck, very close to a family group of white rhinos... These are just two highlights among a host of good memories. I honestly enjoyed every day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our small group was led by Justin, from South Africa, supported by David, from Zimbabwe. They kept us safe, comfortable and well fed and watered throughout while also sharing their immense knowledge and passion for this beautiful country, its people and its animals and birds. The excellent leadership, and lovely fellow travellers, made the trip what it was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go if you possibly can - and enjoy!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Elaine Allison

    Zimbabwe Walking and Wildlife

    I felt very fortunate to be on this trip, the first of its kind in Zimbabwe. I loved the variety of activities on offer, and the opportunity to see so much of the country. Zimbabwe is a beautiful place and the people are lovely - extremely friendly and welcoming, despite their political and economic hardships.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments on this trip, but seeing 5 white rhino at very close range when on foot in the bush will definitely stay with me. The Matopos National Park is stunningly beautiful and we also saw zebra and wildebeest at close range when walking here. The hike in the Chimanimani mountains will go down as one the finest I've done.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. He was very knowledgeable, and endlessly patient. He had a good sense of humour too, and he could cook. What more could you ask for?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hike in the Chimanimani mountains is steep in places, at times more of a scramble than a walk. But it is spectacular and well worth the effort.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My fellow travellers were a great group. The trip flew by and I'd like to do it all over again.
Call us on 020 8772 3936