Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Grant Sykes

    The full Vietnam Experience

    This was a great trip, taking in a multitude of sights across the length of Vietnam, right from Hanoi in the north down to the Mekong Delta in the south. The guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly, helpful and funny. The food was amazing, the hotels all comfortable. The sleeper train is quite an experience. Don't expect luxury - just a hard mattress and a bumpy ride. My group were well looked after the entire time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just walking around the cities and seeing how people live a totally different lifestyle half a world away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, friendly. Helpful, always ready to give recommendations on food options, restaurant choices or optional sights to go and see.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book unless you can cope with high heat and humidity, and don't expect comfort and modernity from the sleeper train. Be prepared to go for some periods of time without access to a shower and for long walks. But it's all worth it to see the sights.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Vietnamese

    This trip lived up to what it promised from the start to the end. It was excellent value for money and provided a real insight into this wonderful country and it's people. Our group consisted of 16 people, some couples, some travelling independently with a range of ages from the UK, USA and Spain. By the end of the two weeks we were all good friends. The weather started pleasantly warm, although very cloudy, in the north and steadily became hotter and sunnier the further south we travelled. Our group leader Anh Tran, who we knew as Viet, also helped to make this trip special as he worked hard throughout to provide us with information and guidance about the places we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the Vietnamese traffic in Hue was daunting but very rewarding once we had survived unscathed. This was due to the support of the additional leader and Viet who ensured the group were able to safely negotiate the large number of scooters and other vehicles which weaved their way around us. The visit to the Cu Chi tunnels was also fascinating and it was good to hear about the Vietnam War from a different perspective and witness the conditions that these people had to live in. Seeing the good nature of the Vietnamese people and how they make the most from the limited resources they possess makes you realise how fortunate we are.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Viet was full of enthusiasm and was always keen to share his extensive knowledge of his country and it's culture to the group or to individuals. As we travelled from place to place Viet had everything in place at the right time ensuring the smooth running of the trip. He even provided us with additional hand written notes of recommended places to visit or eat in our spare time. Throughout he displayed a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The train was a really good experience and although the noise and movement of the train was not an issue we did find the beds were very hard and the day that followed very long,

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only things that we thought could have been better were that after the meal on the boat in Halong Bay, it would have been good to encourage more socialising with some music or card games... This was also the case after the meal at the homestay on the Mekong Delta. The long day after the train journey could be better arranged. Perhaps, after going to the Citadel, it could be arranged to go to the hotel to relax by sitting around the pool or going for a swim as it would not be possible to check into the rooms at that time. Then have lunch at the hotel before going to the other places of interest later in the afternoon. The optional family meal could then be switched to the following evening. This would make it less tiring.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Carol Nolan

    Amazing and hot!

    Vietnam is everything you think it may be and everything you can never imagine! So opposite to your life in the western world, the country is a beautiful, absolutely chaotic, in your face and also serene at times. This is an extremely well organised trip and you will definitely get a flavour of Asia. Food is beyond amazing and our tour guide was unbelievable and a wonderful human!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On a boat travelling down the Mekong river wearing traditional hat and savouring the quiet!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joilee was beyond wonderful and professional and was also pretty funny! She cared for us in the group like her own and she was the most wonderful representative for her country of Vietnam

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of loose clothing, laundry wash as you will be changing your clothes a lot! Don’t bother with any make up or stuff for hair, within a day that all goes out of the window! Enjoy your rest afternoons relaxing, the tour is pretty full on and will get tired otherwise. And close your eyes at times, savour what you are experiencing

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it! The price is very cheap for everything you get to see and experience and spending money is even hard to spend as everything is so cheap. I loved this country and it has set off my new love of adventure!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lesley G

    Vietnam Adventure

    I had high expectations for this trip and I was not disappointed. The trip was perfectly described in the brochure and offers an unforgettable experience of this fascinating country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lots from watching in disbelief as mopeds carrying everything weave between each other in Hanoi, to the mysterious Halong Bay, to the beautiful lanterns in Hoi An to the vibrancy of Saigon. I particularly enjoyed being part of a group to share the whole experience with. And of course having a Vietnamese guide who gave us such an in depth insight into this country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Tan Nguyen, made the trip. He gave us such an insight into the life and culture, as well as share some wonderful stories with us. His knowledge of Vietnam and his spoken English was excellent and everything was always done with a smile. We were never disappointed with his restaurant recommendations. On numerous occasions he guided us safely across the busy roads. Anyone who has been to Vietnam will know that this is no mean feat!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a hectic schedule with some early starts and a lot of travelling including the overnight reunification train. There is also plenty of walking in hot humid conditions. But if you want to see and really experience this country, I cannot think of a better way of doing it. Taking a silk sleeping bag liner for the train is very useful and a pack of cards to pass the time away with fellow travellers! Also, when changing cash in Hanoi, they much preferred new notes. They weren’t keen on my crumpled £20 notes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was impressed with how well organised the trip was from the moment I made an initial enquiry, to the wealth of information before the trip (the trip notes are invaluable) to the picking up at the airport and the organised excursions.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Cindy Cochrane

    Exceedingly Good Trip

    it was a fantastic holidays exceeding all our expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 2 cycling trips in Hui and Hoian were exciting and memorable. Cycling in busy Hui city was an experience compared to non. Visiting the organic farms in Hoian demonstrated the fundamentals and the source of the freshness and originality of the Vietnamese cuisines. The trip to Me Son visiting the Champa kingdom and seeing the ruins gave me a different historical and religious perspectives about the country which I knew little about before the visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Quan was an excellent tour guide and group leader. He provided second to non travel customer service. Travel and visits were arranged like a well oil engine, everything went smoothly. Although the itineraries were structured he listened and tapped into the needs and desires of our group and would alterer to suit. He was very generous with information. Apart from the factual historical facts he also accompanied these with his social commentaries giving a personal and fascinating perspectives into the country from someone who has lived through the tremendous political and social changes of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Fabulous and worthwhile experience for first time visit to Vietnam as the journey from Hanoi to Saigon gave a very comprehensive exploration of the country geographically, culturally, historically and politically not to mention the different and changing cuisine during the travel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am a serious foodie so perhaps the comment here only applies to people who seriously seeking eating experience during the trip. I found personally my foodie experience wasn't sufficiently challenged. Quan did make excellent eating recommendations which were highly appreciated by majority of the group. But I found the places we went to cater a more European fusion type palate and not sufficiently authentic for me. But i did found some exceptional places to indulge my eatings.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Mervyn Jupe

    Don't understand this

    Well organised and very good well informed guides. Very comprehensive trip. Grateful for arriving a day early and leaving a day later arrangements - accommodation & airport transfers. Excellent accommodation. Very variable activities - some included (cycling) and some optional (kayaking, cooking) Hoi An - too touristy. Saigon - uninteresting. Hanoi, Halong Bay, Hue, My Son, Tunnels, Mekong delta, Angkor temples, Floating villages - all excellent. Phnom Penn s21 prison and nearby "killing fields" - very harrowing. Meals - some were relatively expensive and I found with a good breakfast that I only needed a snack at lunchtime if eating a full meal in the evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    see above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    see above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't need passport photos for Angkor complex pass. They take your photo when getting your pass.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Gary westwater

    Vietnam Adventure

    Our Vietnam Adventure was indeed an adventure - having such a varied itinerary - but not over-organised - with interesting places visited - travel by boats and train- and activities such as bicycling and kayaking-and crawling through tunnels. Staying in excellent hotels - and overall led by a very competent, entertaining and knowledgeable guide - who looked after us, without being imperious

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up Marble Mountain and seeing the cave used as a hospital by the Viet Cong

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for an active holiday with enjoyable - but long - days

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Erica Brown

    Loved it!

    This was an excellent tour. We packed a lot in but the pace never felt too much. It was a really good mix of culture, history and activity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip in Ha Long bay is stunning, though the bay itself suffers from the 21st century blight of plastic and rubbish at high tide. The cycle trips were a lovely relaxing way to see the countryside; easy paced.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide - Mr Q - was absolutely brilliant, knowledgable and efficient. His advice was always sound and we felt well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We learned so much about the history of Vietnam - much of it brutal - and its worth knowing that the 'Hanoi Hilton' and the museum in Saigon display some pretty graphic and upsetting images - so be warned.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation was of a much higher standard than I have experienced on similar kinds of tours (with another company). I highly recommend this trip - we even managed an afternoon on the beach.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Claire Holmes

    Travel from north to South Vietnam

    What an amazing adventure that we have had with exodus, never been to Vietnam before this was a great way to see the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational was for us was the trip to Halong bay on the boat, seeing all the islands and the caves. The boat was basic but clean the food was gorgeous and staff where willing to help.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Huy was full of information regarding different places that we visited, he was flexible if we wanted to do our thing i.e having a meal by our selfs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The over night sleeper train was hard, lack of sleep and noisy.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Alla Neal

    Still OK but not excellent as previous 3 Exodus trips.

    This is my 4th trip with Exodus and the worst. Still OK but not excellent as previous 3 were. We spent too much time in unbelievably noisy polluted cities instead of maybe explore countryside a bit more. Also by returning from Halong Bay (which were fantastic) we lost the whole day sitting in Hanoi lobby to be able to take overnight train and to have a very busy day after this. Train is awful - not possible to sleep, even for someone like me who experienced many overnight trains in Russia. Instead it would be better to take a day train, rest in the hotel overnight and then have the busy day. Cycling inside the city in Hue was not safe, especially considering that more than a half of the group are not experienced cyclists and the amount of traffic grows very fast every year (Ref: Vietnam population doubled in size within last 60 years). But cycling in countryside was lovely. Hotel in Hoi An was miles away from the city centre for no reason - there are plenty hotels closer for the similar rate. And finally our guide kept disappearing for an hour or two and was very vague with his instructions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a nice chap, but he was not the best exodus guide. He "forgot" about a single lady traveller on the 1st night and had to go back when he remembered (about half an hour later, when we already were sitting in the restaurant). He kept disappearing for an hour or two, was contantly very vague with his instructions and was ignoring questions when you ask him something - it alsways shall be 2-3 times before we get a reply.
Call us on 020 8772 3936