Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Carol Sutton

    An amazing experience

    Vietnam is a beautiful country with wonderful gentle people. This holiday gives an insight into the ways of the people who live in the modern world but respect the ways of the old world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the day to day activities of the Vietnamese people going about their daily lives, the traffic, the scooters, the noise. The abundance of fruit, vegetables and flowers on display at the markets, Also kayaking in the lagoon at Halong bay as dusk was falling and everyone else had left, we watched the monkeys scurrying along the cliffs and it was silent and magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cong was a lovely patient man who was obviously very proud of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do all the optional trips offered to you, or get out and about on your own in the free time parts of this trip. It feels very safe in Vietnam so don't spend any time in your hotel room unless you are asleep!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing to add, the trip was as described in the brochure/website and met all our expectations and more.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Ian Munro

    Vietnam Adventure beginning 17 November 2018

    This was a fantastic trip, which covered a lot of distance and a wide variety of sights, activities and modes of transport. Our excellent leader, Cong Nguyen, managed the whole trip exceptionally well, ensuring that we had sufficient free time to allow us to relax from the busy schedule of travelling and activities. He was also knowledgeable and genuinely enthusiastic about the history and culture of Vietnam. We learned a lot from him. The standard of accommodation throughout the fortnight was excellent and the friendliness of the Vietnamese people was so welcoming. We even learned how to cross the street - a task which turned out to be a lot less dangerous than it first appeared (well, OK, a little less dangerous!) Finally, everything you ever heard about the fantastic food is correct!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Night time on the boat in Halong Bay, with lights all around us from other vessels. The beauty of Hoi An Getting away from the popular tourist sights and seeing some of the real Vietnam The quality and abundance of the fruit, herbs and vegetables The feeling of bustle, dynamism and progress in the country in general

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cong was extremely efficient and personable. Our group was the maximum size of 16 and he managed to cater well for everyone's needs and expectations. His knowledge and enthusiasm for his country were clear for all to see and we really enjoyed the insights that he gave us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cash machines are much more available than we had expected and quite a number of establishments are happy to take cards. Wifi is widely available. If you like coffee, you'll love it in Vietnam! We found the trip notes to be very accurate , so it's worth studying those along with other feedback comments on this website. The pace of the trip is stated to be 'leisurely/moderate'. While that is undoubtedly correct in terms of the physical activity undertaken, bear in mind that there is a lot of travelling and some fairly long days. Having said that, our leader was adept and giving us free time to relax and the accommodation was always comfortable and pleasant.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We learned a lot more about the French and US wars, the civil war and the subsequent conflict with Cambodia. This country suffered a lot over a period of around 50 years and is making a great job of recovery. Given the enormous damage caused by bombing and use of defoliant chemicals in particular, it is inspiring to see how the Vietnamese have chosen to put the past behind them and to look to the future. Visitors from the US should not be nervous about coming on this trip but should perhaps be ready for some unpleasant revelations.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Anna Cottle

    Vietnam Adventure trip review

    Fantastic trip. First time that I have been on a holiday alone. I had absolutely no need to worry. Exodus were able to give ages and sexes of other travellers on certain dates when I was booking. I was so lucky with my group, a fantastic mix of ages, some couples, friends and other lone travellers. Everyone got on so well and we all mixed with each other and no one was ever left out. Our group leader Ngoc made the trip as he was a local guide with a wealth of knowledge and experiences that he was always willing to share with the group. He was very attentive to the groups needs and always willing to please. He also had a great sense of humour to keep us all amused. This is a full on trip and it is all go for the 2 weeks but I can't see how else would have seen what we did. There was free time in the afternoons which you can spend alone or with others. Lots of shopping opportunities. I made the most of any extra activities, cycle and boat trips which were great fun. Such fantastic scenery. All flat ground and at a leisurely pace. I would suggest a bit of practice in the Uk first just to get your confidence as the Vietnamese roads can be busy and unexpected to say the least! A must do activity though. I also went on a cooking class where we cooked what we ate, saw the water puppet show in Saigon and saw an acrobatic show as well. All amazing. My advice: Pack light. There were at least 3 opportunities to have washing done cheaply and it came back ironed and smelling fresh. Take clothes that can cope with creases and wick away, travel clothes were my lifeline. It was soooooo hot and humid and I went in the "cooler" month. You sweat as soon as you get out of the hotel so I would rinse clothes in the bathroom too. Take swimwear as we had 3 tiny pools overall on the trip. Take comfortable shoes and sandals. No need to dress up really smart in Vietnam. Be cool and comfortable Make sure you leave space in your case when you leave home as you have to live out of your suitcase and everything gets messed around and difficult to fit back. We all found this. Plus you will buy things that you want to bring home. I took a mixture of Vietnamese dong and American dollars but the Dong was much more useful day to day. Credit cards weren't excepted everywhere. Western toilets everywhere. Take loo roll and hand sanitiser out in your day bag. I spent far to long wondering whether to book this trip, would I like, would I be left on my own, would everyone in the group be nice. I had absolutely no need to worry. I had so much fun, met a fantastic group of people, ate wonderful food and had the most amazing experiences. I would definately recommend this trip to any of my friends and family.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip. Experiencing a different country, new foods, people and cultures. Amazing scenary. We visited some fantastic temples and I learnt a lot of history along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Ngoc made the trip as he was a local guide with a wealth of knowledge and experiences that he was always willing to share with the group. He was very attentive to the groups needs and always willing to please. He also had a great sense of humour to keep us all amused.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Fantastic trip. First time that I have been on a holiday alone. I had absolutely no need to worry. Exodus were able to give ages and sexes of other travellers on certain dates when I was booking. I was so lucky with my group, a fantastic mix of ages, some couples, friends and other lone travellers. Everyone got on so well and we all mixed with each other and no one was ever left out This is a full on trip and it is all go for the 2 weeks but I can't see how else would have seen what we did. There was free time in the afternoons which you can spend alone or with others. Lots of shopping opportunities. I made the most of any extra activities, cycle and boat trips which were great fun. Such fantastic scenery. All flat ground and at a leisurely pace. I would suggest a bit of practice in the Uk first just to get your confidence as the Vietnamese roads can be busy and unexpected to say the least! A must do activity though. I also went on a cooking class where we cooked what we ate, saw the water puppet show in Saigon and saw an acrobatic show as well. All amazing. My advice: Pack light. There were at least 3 opportunities to have washing done cheaply and it came back ironed and smelling fresh. Take clothes that can cope with creases and wick away, travel clothes were my lifeline. It was soooooo hot and humid and I went in the "cooler" month. You sweat as soon as you get out of the hotel so I would rinse clothes in the bathroom too. Take swimwear as we had 3 tiny pools overall on the trip. Take comfortable shoes and sandals. No need to dress up really smart in Vietnam. Be cool and comfortable Make sure you leave space in your case when you leave home as you have to live out of your suitcase and everything gets messed around and difficult to fit back. We all found this. Plus you will buy things that you want to bring home. I took a mixture of Vietnamese dong and American dollars but the Dong was much more useful day to day. Credit cards weren't excepted everywhere. Western toilets everywhere. Take loo roll and hand sanitiser out in your day bag. I spent far

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I spent far to long wondering whether to book this trip, would I like, would I be left on my own, would everyone in the group be nice. I had absolutely no need to worry. I had so much fun, met a fantastic group of people, ate wonderful food and had the most amazing experiences. I would definately recommend this trip to any of my friends and family.
  • Reviewed December 2018

    Vietnam Adventure

    I have not been on a group tour in over 35 years and was anxious how it would be traveling with 16 other individuals and a tour guide. I am quite independent when I travel. I was also the only American in a group of 16 people, the others being from England, Scotland and Wales. My fears were put to rest almost immediately. These people all became friends over the two week period - a very cohesive, easy going and adventurous group. Our tour guide, Cong, was amazing - very organized and on top of every little detail, making sure every one of us knew exactly what the day’s schedule would be. Exodus is a very conscious tour company and Cong, whenever possible, made sure our activities supported the people of Vietnam in cities and the rural areas. I learned and saw so much, and though it was at a bit faster pace than I might have gone on my own, it worked. What an amazing country. Each place we visited was different and offered unique insights into the Vietnamese culture. I would highly recommend this tour and Cong, our guide, gets an A+.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our bike ride when we were in Hoi An visiting with the veteran from the war with Cambodia. Hearing his story, listening to him sing and watching the awe that our bicycle guide had on his face as he listened to him sing was very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cong was excellent. As said previously, he was extremely organized and kept a close check on each member of the group, making sure we were all doing okay. His attitude was always positive and he gave us insight into the Vietnamese people and culture. His love of his country and his people was evident in all he did and said. He made sure that whenever possible we visited and ate at places that supported the more needy in Vietnam. As I stated, I am used to traveling on my own and pretty independent. At times this may have been a bit difficult for him, but I felt I had enough time on my own and he worked with me allowing me the freedom at times I needed. A wonderful kind and caring guide.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed my trip immensely, but I have a couple of issues with some things that occurred prior to my trip. I booked through an agent in the US, as she had helped me with flight information and other details of my trip (I spent 2 l/2 weeks on my own before meeting up with the tour). As a result of that, I had difficulty getting the information I needed from Exodus. One woman in the California office was actually somewhat abrubt and somewhat rude when I tried asking for information (not Sarah). In trying to get information about the necessary Visa’s required, as an American I was offered little information. When I asked I was told to check online as things change all the time. That is fine but I think it really should be emphasized that a Visa might be necessary and it is important to check and see if one is required. That detail is not one that can just be included in with the tons of other information we read online. Some extra notification is necessary prior to the trip. As a result of all that occurred prior to the trip, I was worried about how my experience on the tour would be. I have to say that the tour itself was great. I believe there may be quite a difference in how things are handled in England and the US as most travelers are from the British Isles. I found it quite frustrating and now as an experienced traveler with Exodus, I believe that is not what you want your customers to feel prior to travel.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Asa Marin

    A trip to remember

    This trip was truly an amazing adventure, from start to finish. The itinerary is very diverse, so no 2 days are the same. In my opinion I got to know Vietnam´s history, landscape and culture both through the itinerary and our knowledgeable guide, Bon. It´s been nearly 3 months since I came back from the tour but Vietnam is still in my heart and I would very much like to go back. If not for the beautiful country...then for the delicious food. I would recommend to book the 5 days extension to Cambodia after the trip, the beautiful temples in Siem Riep took my breath away and the gruesome history was informative. Truely a trip to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had an amazing thunderstorm on Halong Bay that showed the mountains in a mythical way and gave me goose bumps. I loved the bike ride in Hue and Bon always made sure we could communicate with the locals, who were extremely friendly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bon was amazing. He was so knowledgeable about the history and so good in telling us stories about every day life and get us to interact with the local. He e.g. arranged for us to have a lunch with a family in Hue, in their home and that was one of the highlight of the trip, for sure. He was very helpful with everything and went above and beyond the call of duty.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get massage...many massages. It helps you to get the jet lag out and well...it´s just really lovely :) Good idea to bring a sleeping bag linen for the night on the train...and not to expect a great sleep that night. And well...don´t think too much about it, if you want to go to Vietnam than this is the tour!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Sue Holmes

    Simply Fantastic !

    A memorable experience with a great group of people. Vietnam is a wonderful country with a rich and diverse culture. We travelled from North to South on planes, trains, boats and bicycles and it was great fun. Vietnam offers everything from busy cities, stunning scenery, relaxing boat trips, fantastic food and friendly people. What more could one want?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved Halong Bay, Hanoi, Hue and the Mekong Delta.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Trung was great; knowledgeable, funny and kind. He was passionate about his Country and made sure that we saw as much as possible on our travels. An excellent guide and a lovely man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Vietnam is changing fast and the old ways are beginning to disappear. I would go sooner rather than later. Go with an open mind and have fun.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Nicci Bennett

    Probably the best holiday ever

    If you are still deciding whether you want to do this trip then stop thinking and start booking. What an excellent two weeks. Our guide Jay was a complete star from beginning to end, a thoughtful but funny guy who just wanted us to have a great time in his brilliant country. Hotels were far better than expected, really good and a couple with pools. The food was just out of this world and the beer cheap. We had meals out with just the two of us but could eat as a group if we wanted. The train journey was an experience not to forget, the Halong Bay boat trip was very restful (more brilliant food) and we loved the home stay in the Mekong Delta (excellent hammocks). My husband loved the cycling and kayaking that was offered. Hanoi traffic was something to experience but we survived getting across the road!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide took us to a Buddhist pagoda run by nuns, we were the only visitors present apart from a couple of other lady travellers. We had the most wonderful vegetarian lunch there and the peace of the place remained with us after we had left.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jay was the perfect group leader. He was enthusiastic, caring, polite and worked very hard to make our group a mutually supportive and inclusive team. He had a good sense of humour, answered questions and sorted everything out. Everything ran like clockwork

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember it is a 20k allowance on the internal flight. Pack light as there is lots to buy in Hue

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dont hesitate to book this trip. Vietnam will always be special to me now
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Theresa Summers

    Beautiful Vietnam

    Having had Vietnam on my travel list for a while, this year I decided to give it a go. And I'm so glad that I did, it is one of the most beautiful countries that I have been to. The scenery is stunning, the countryside is so green and lush; the food is to die for, all full of flavour and so fresh it feels oozes health and goodness; and the people are friendly and helpful. If you've not been I would definitely put it on your list. This tour has it all, big cities, a peaceful overnight in Ha Long Bay, an overnight sleeper train, cultural delights in Hoi An and an overnight stay in the Mekong Delta at a guest house.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Cu Chi Tunnels - fascinating to see how they lived and to be able to walk/crouch through the tunnels Visiting the cave in Ha Long bay Taking a cooking lesson in Hoi An Visiting the War museum in Saigon (HCMC) Having dinner with a local family and lunch made by nuns in Hue

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngoc was a very good leader, who kept us all on track and was ready to flexible enough to make changes to the itinerary if there were adverse weather conditions. He did seem to be overly cautious about making sure we didn't leave anything behind or get robbed, which whilst endearing was a bit over the top on occasions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light and make use of laundries make sure you have something to cover your shoulders have an umbrella handy at all times
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Porlyin Rhoden

    Vietnam Adventure is a Great Trip

    This was a fantastic trip and well paced to allow time in each town/ city visited. Our tour leader Trung was outstanding, going out of his way to make sure we were OK. There is a good balance between group activities and free time, to allow you to do your own thing and allowed us to visit places not on the iteneray e.g Ba Na Hills and the Golden Bridge. Vietnam is outstanding and it was good to visit both north and south.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many inspirational moments to pick just one! Halong Bay is up there!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Trung was outstanding. He had a beautiful personality, was passionate and dedicated and clearly loved his job and country. If only all tour leads were like him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fantastic tour. Never got bored. The train can be a little cold due to the air con, so bring extra clothing for the overnight trip.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Rachel Hodgkins

    Unforgetable.....

    Just the best trip.... spectacular places with a fantastic group of people and THE best guide... 2 weeks of wonder, spender,remembrance, beauty, sleeper trains, nights afloat, rooftop bars, and fun and laughter all the way.. we met as strangers and left as friends... AMAZING!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendships made

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Trung was by far the best guide we've had. Professionalism balanced with sense of humour and a real feeling of being genuinely cared for. Knowledge oozed out of him from the beauty to the sadness of the places we saw and everything inbetween.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was genuinely sad to say goodbye
Call us on 020 8772 3936