Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sharon Wall

    A great trip!

    Overall, the trip was wonderful! It was my first time doing a trip where we covered so many kilometres which made it tiring, but I expected that at the outset. Some of the hotel rooms could have been of a slightly higher standard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Galipoli and gaining a greater understanding of the battles fought there. Generally getting a sense of the ancient history of this part of the world Experiencing the power of nature at Cappadocia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was excellent! He’s knowledgeable, organized, personable and has a brilliant sense of humour. He’s also wonderful at managing a diverse group - although we regularly told him we were his best group ever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To understand the pace and how that, more than anything else will be challenging. I would also suggest that walking poles could be offered as a suggestion in the trip notes for anyone who may need than. This is relevant for only a few days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was invaluable in teaching me how to determine which types of trips to book in the future.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    David Petyt

    Highlights of Turkey

    Wonderful introduction to this huge and beautiful country. Ancient history, beautiful coastlines, Turkish Baths, friendly people, gorgeous food

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Wow moment was the Roman theatre at Aspendos,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Aysenur Geng was excellent, her depth of knowledge was incredible and her organisational skill very good. Personally I did have some problems with her pronunciation of English

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    \be prepared for anything
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Maria Somjen

    Turkey was fascinating but tour leader was not the best

    Turkey is a fascinating place historically, politically and culturally and definitely worth visiting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were blown away by the “Cotton Castles” and, of course, Cappadocia and the underground dwellings. The rock formations in both those areas are really unusual and beautiful. Unfortunately the group was not able to take the balloon ride at Cappadocia because of weather conditions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had just finished a tour of Sri Lanka with an outstanding guide so maybe it made us more dissatisfied with the guide we had on this trip. Her English was difficult to understand and her explanations more convoluted; she was often repetitive. It took up too much time at the site which could have been spent exploring. It might have been better given on the bus. A couple of times we wanted to stop for photographs, but told it was too dangerous or cost money when there was an obvious pull off or we would have been glad to pay. We did not really learn about other aspects of Turkish life, the politics, religion (except for Sufism) and culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We suggest that if you take this trip, you spend a few extra days in Istanbul before or after exploring Topkapi, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Dolmadahce Palace and various other museums, plus hanging out with the locals.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Couple of the hotel rooms were so small we had nowhere to put our suitcases, and one had no hot water, another no separate shower, might be better to charge a little more for the trip and provide slightly better accommodation. A leisure level trip is likely to have more senior people on it so I think it would be better to have a more senior guide.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Susan Darnton

    Highlights of Turkey

    An excellent introduction to this large and fascinating country. The itinerary allowed us to get a real flavour of the history, archaeology and topography. The sites and ordering of the stop-overs were excellently chosen.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having been steeped in ancient history from an early age I was amazed to find myself in Troy and to realise that it was a very small small acropolis but with great influence both geographically and historically.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been on many Exodus trips and generally have admired the leaders. This time though, Tolga excelled all my previous experience. Knowledgeable and caring about his country and caring of his guests ---and a gastronome who led us to all the best eateries [all Exodus clients seem ready for the next meal].

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take the trip. One tip is that in terms of cash, it is better to put money into your back account at home and to use the many ATM's available everywhere. There are far more ATM's [and they are open all hours of course] than there are exchange outlets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus are so reliable-- trustworthy in all circumstances. On this trip we had to be diverted because of unrest in Ankara and it happened calmly, seamlessly and very satisfactorily.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Malcolm Otter

    Terrific Turkey with the amazing Fatih Develi and Unal

    We set our expectations quite high for this trip but these were exceeded in every way from start to finish after meeting our superb tour guide - Fatih Develi - in Istanbul. His organization and communication skills were outstanding as he guided us smoothly throughout the fantastic highlights of this great country, imparting his considerable knowledge of all aspects of Turkey from religions to history ancient and modern, wildlife, industries, politics etc. etc. Fatih was the highlight of our trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were very many inspirational moments including our visit to 'tremendos' Aspendos with it's 'stupendos' theatre, the spiritual experience of a performance by Whirling Dervishes of the Sema ceremony and exploring the superb city of Hierapolis which was completely unexpected above the travertines of Pumakkale. But for us, the most inspirational moment was undoubtedly in the peaceful setting of Celaleddin Rumi mausoleum in the Mevlana Museum in Konya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb! He worked so hard to assist each one of us whenever he could and with great wit and humour in order to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. What a gem you have there. It was a great pleasure to meet him and share the journey with him and our fantastic driver - Unal - who was such a gracious traveling companion too. Unal was always there to pick us up on time and handle all our luggage and often went out of his way to assist us. His negotiation of rush hour traffic, especially in Ankara and Istanbul with patience and no little skill was exemplary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would probably advise potential travellers on this trip to extend their stay in Istanbul by a day before or after the tour, though we did get to see some of the many places of interest in this great city.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I could go on and on about all the incredible experiences we had on this trip - I could not recommend it highly enough. Best to go and do it for yourself - you won't be dissappointed.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Mary Otter

    Highlights of Turkey

    As the title suggests, this is tour which takes in some of the highlights of Turkey. A mix of ancient and more recent history, culture and amazing landscapes, together with friendly people and good food, its a recipe for a great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had high expectations of Turkey and this trip far exceeded them. There were many inspirational moments from the amazing rock formations of Cappadocia and Pamukkale, to the quiet contemplation of Mevlana Rumi Mausoleum in Konya, the poignancy of Gallipoli, and the remains of the ancient city of Ephesus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Fatih was wonderful. Professional, flexible, and cheerful, he was always able to offer choices to the varied group of travellers. His knowledge and love of Turkey shone through. He was ably assisted by Unal the driver, who was also flexible about the itinerary and timings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try not to be too disappointed if you can't take the balloon flight over Cappadocia, we were not able to as it was too windy on the first day and fully booked on the second. There are some long bus journeys, but the bus was comfortable, the driver excellent and the roads good, with regular stops on the way. There is not a huge amount of time in Istanbul so I would recommend adding at least a day at the beginning or end of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone interested in Turkey, I'm sure there is lots more to see but it gives a flavour of the country
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Julia Larsson

    Highlights of Turkey

    A very busy tour with some long drives. Some of the hotel bathrooms were extremely small and inconvenient and I feel that single travellers were put into inferior rooms to couples, which is annoying when you pay a supplement to have a single room. However, overall this is a wonderful trip visiting some of the top sites in western Turkey. There is not enough time in Istanbul though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many. Rustem Pasha Mosque in Istanbul; Ephesus; Kas (a really lovely town); Phaselis ancient city; Mevlana Calaleddin Rumi (Whirling Dervish Museum); rock church frescoes in Cappadocia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fatih Develi was excellent. He is knowledgeable, flexible with the itinerary, moving visits if we were running short of time, gave us many options and always made sure we were happy with his suggestions. He was always helpful and patient with all our questions. He also has a sense of fun. He made this a great and memorable holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some very long drives. If you have Unal as your driver you will have a very comfortable bus and he is an excellent driver. Traffic can be heavy getting into and out of cities. Roads are generally very good but there are a few drives over hairpin bends.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Felicity M

    The best of Turkey

    A diverse trip, packed with lots of places to see over 2 weeks, yet it didn't feel too rushed and we had more free time than I have had on other similar holidays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention but Capadoccia, Ephesus and the underground city at Derinkuyu were all highlights. Istanbul is fascinating, with plenty to see and do and the hotel in Cunda was especially nice, with dinner on a private jetty.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fatih Develi was knowledgeable, calm and professional and went out of his way to arrange different things for us to see on the way, including a wine tasting, which everyone really enjoyed. He is passionate about his country and knows so much about its history and culture, there wasn't a question he couldn't answer - and we put him to the test!! We couldn't have asked for a better guide and our driver Mustafa was great too, always with a ready smile and there were some long drives.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend extra time in Istanbul at the end of the holiday if you can, as there is so much to see there - a boat trip is definitely worth doing. Pack a good mix of clothes - in early September, it was hotter than expected, so take some things to layer up. A spare battery for your camera is also a good idea, one I wish I had had when my camera died while at Ephesus!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Consider a change of hotel in Istanbul - all the hotels were good, but the Istanbul choice was probably everyone's least favourite. It would also be nice to go to more authentic Turkish restaurants in the evening, but depending on where you are, this is not always possible.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Dawn Le-Gros

    Highlights of Turkey

    It was an interesting, varied trip but could be improved.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The balloon flight. I couldn't believe it when they actually landed on the trailer! No bumpy landing this time. I didn't know whether to take photos of the 100 balloons around us or the landscape! Very impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In my opinion she gave us too much information. We could have looked round the sites while there were not many visitors, but she kept talking so we missed that slot. If we had wanted to know more we would look it up on the internet.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you see the sites behind the theatre at Aspendos. All tour groups don't go there and it was only that I had requested to see it we were allowed. You leave all the crowds behind and get a great view looking down on the theatre in peace.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes, I was really upset about not stopping to view a canyon. We went right by it. We had only visited a carpet shop in the morning and had nothing planned for the rest of the day. We could easily have fitted in a stop here. When I asked to stop I was told it cost too much to park the bus. That is rubbish as we would all have paid extra to have a look round here. Then the guide came up with "It is too dangerous". That is also rubbish when you see all the people walking up there. The last excuse was that it can't be done all year. It could have been done when we were there. It really spoiled the trip. Also we were rushed through the canyon we did stop at.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Janice Tyler

    TURKEY - SULEYMAN - BRILLIANT

    Hi All, We had a great tour, small party because of the time we travelled (Christmas) but we experienced a lot, our driver was an expert in the conditions, It was a leisurely time, Saw an amazing amount of Turkey in a short time frame.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cappadocia was amazing but then just being in Instanbul was a culture in its self.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great, spoke perfect English and once he got to know us was a great joy with bits of laughter and learning of their culture and ways. He was a great historian and knowledge that was surprising.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take thermals just in case of a weather snap. Read up on restaurants and eating places before you go so you know what is around your hotel otherwise you feel a bit lost. Book a cruise of the Bhosperous at the harbour so you can see what boat they are giving you otherwise some are rust buckets.
Call us on 020 8772 3936