Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18146 Reviews

  • Fabulous holiday

    From the day I booked, Exodus were totally professional. I was greeted at the airport by the very friendly and helpful guide Tony and so a wonderful week started. I was lucky enough to have a wonder group of 16 people of a similar ability, so each day ran smoothly. On one day, the planned route had to be changed due to a land fall, but an alternative route was found. Exodus ensure their walkers' safety at all times and Tony made sure that everyone felt included. Vesuvius was breath-taking and the views were out of this world. On our free day, all of us went across to Capri and enjoyed the island at our own pace. The hotel was friendly, clean and e were lucky enough to get a dip in the pool. The pizza and tiramisu demonstrations were great, as by then we had got to know each other so it all the more enjoyable to watch our friend making the food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was wonderful, but Vesuvius and Pompeii were stunning, the Path of The Gods was also lovley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was a great guide, he chatted, helped and guided us - 3 of us are booking again

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the guidance notes, buy good boots, train before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have already booked the Sardinia trio for October 2022
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Wonderful week of walking

    A fabulous week of walking with lots to offer: fantastic views, opportunities to swim in the sea, a chance to ride on the Soller Tram and the old Palma train, numerous restaurants to try with delicious food, comfortable accommodation and an excellent tour leader. We were also lucky to have perfect sunny May weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final day climbing the beautifully maintained "Salt Path" along the cliffs to the top of Puig d'en Galileu, and the views from the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was excellent: friendly, sociable and full of interesting information about Mallorca. He has been leading this trip for many years and has had the chance to perfect it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The paths are stony, so sturdy footwear is a must. The beaches - other than the sandy beach at Soller - are also stony, so unless you have very tough feet, bring some sandals or swim shoes if you like to swim in the sea. If you are going into Palma on your free day, take the first tram from Porto Soller at 8.30am; it connects perfectly in Soller for the 9am train to Palma (beautiful old wooden carriages!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Day 2 is the toughest by far, at the top of the moderate level, especially on a hot day - be prepared for a long downhill walk along dirt track at the end. The views from Es Cornadors make the exertion worth it though!
  • Reviewed May 2022

    MsTripsy

    This was my first package tour and I'll admit the Baltics weren't my first choice - but I'm glad we took the leap! For anyone interested in history, this is a rich tour with lots of highlights. From a stop at a nuclear missile launch site, to an excellent seaside cafe that smokes fish on the premesis - every day was packed with interesting and surprising things that you'd never get to see otherwise. There's a fair bit of coach travel, unavoidable when you are doing three countries. And it's cold even in mid-May! Despite this, our spirits were kept high by our guide Andrius, who was utterly charming and patient throughout - ensuring we all got the most out of every moment, and entertaining us with many personal stories of Soviet times.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed Tallin. And later, exploring a medieval castle with an actual torch!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent! He made the trip for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack more warmly than I did and bring a raincoat.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Excellent Trip

    This is a well planned trip through the Baltics which explored Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Wonderful countries with lovely cities, fairy tale castles, grand houses and beautiful coastlines and forests. The itinerary was excellent and when you throw in a great group of fellow travellers and a truly outstanding tour leader you have everything you need to enjoy the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to pick out particular moments, it was all very good and very enjoyable. I loved our day exploring the Curonian Spit with its forests and sand dunes.. there's a lot to see and do there... but equally the fairytale castles and beautiful cities were wonderful. History is everywhere. From the distant past to the relatively recent traumas of soviet occupation. A very memorable day is the visit to the Cold War museum. It is very sobering to look down into the silo and realise that once contained a nuclear missile pointed at us in the UK.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was a fantastic tour leader. He was always there for us and very willing to share his extensive knowledge of the region. Realising that as a group we enjoyed eating together he went out of his way to source and book some excellent restaurants which introduced us to some great local cuisine. At times he must have felt like he was herding cats, everyone eager to be out and about again after two years of lock downs and travel bans, but he was unfailingly patient and somehow managed to accommodate all our diverse interests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd certainly say good shoes are an absolute must. Some of the walking tours in the cities are quite long so you want to be comfortable. Its also worth remembering that the Baltics lie in northern Europe so the weather can be changeable... hot one minute, cold the next with some showers thrown in so I'd recommend warm layers and a decent waterproof.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd recommend this trip to anyone wishing to explore the Baltics. There's a lot to see and do and this was a well thought out itinerary which encompassed both the history and the natural beauty of these countries.
  • Amazing experience not great for vegetarians

    What an amazing place! Every excursion was amazing. The iconic views and the history. The guide was lovely and very helpful. The accommodation looked very nice and service was great but the hotels need some work done (in the hotel in Aswan i was locked in my bathroom for over 30 minutes before they were able to get me out). Food in all accommodation was limited especially for vegetarians IF anything is provided at all. Even food that is described as vegetarian contained meat and the staff would lie to your face even when you are pointing at the chicken chunks floating in the soup they will insist its just vegetables. Every day was a struggle to get vegetarian food. It always seemed to contain chicken or ham. So i was having the same conversation every day. And it was just me. There were 4 vegetarians in the group and we all had to the same problem. Even on the flight home. Unlike other Exodus trips i have been on we were left to our own devices for the evening meals. I still don't feel that i experienced Egyptian food. The cruise was everything you'd imagine it to be. The scenery is amazing, the colours so vivid. The entertainment on the boat was a bit hit or miss but again the staff were falling over themselves to help you. Despite the issues with food at meal times i would highly recommend this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and the scenery and history mind blowing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We arrived at night and so saw little of the landscape. But that first morning in Egypt when I opened the curtains in my room and saw the pyramids was just stunning. It really set the mood and tone for the whole trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a lovely woman. She looked after us and was full of information about the history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be careful if you are vegetarian or have dietary requirements. I foolishly thought being in a Muslim country with their own dietary requirements meant they would understand my limitations. I was wrong. Everyday was a struggle to get vegetarian meals. A cheese toastie contained beef. The 'vegetable' soup was just a sieved version of the chicken soup. The vegetarian breakfast boxes provided when you have an early start contained ham sandwiches. Even on the plane on the way home i was given a fish dish despite my boarding pass stating id booked a lacto-vegetarian meal. There was 4 vegetarians in our group and we all had the same problem.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    May was very hot! If sensitive to the heat go earlier in the year. Lots of walking and early starts.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Great mix of walking, wine & sightseeing

    Three memorable centres - Alberobello (trulli town), Masseria Morrone amongst the olive trees with Pongo the excitable dog, and finally Matera, the town of cave dwellings and churches. Lovely walks, plenty of free time and even a swim in the Adriatic

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the guided tour of Matera was a haunting experience that changed my feelings about the town. The local guide gave a very moving account of how the dire poverty had driven people to live in the darkness, dampness and unhealthy conditions of the cave dwellings. An exhibition in the art gallery showed old photos and an impressive mural reflecting this history. It seemed so incongruous that the place is now such a sought-after tourist destination. It is lovely, dramatic and full of swooping kestrels and swifts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giuseppe was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and fun. He was accompanied by Nico, who was learning the trip and we had the benefit of his expert knowledge of birds & plants. Giuseppe was great for making suggestions for our free time, engaged with group and managed our time expertly to ensure we never missed a bus or train (both of which were always running on time!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget sun cream, some walks were quite exposed. Day trip to Lecce was a good choice for the free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a fantastic trip and I was sorry to leave. A beautiful part of the world.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Brilliant Trip

    A fabulous trip through three countries. A good mix of city tours, castles, palaces and natural spaces. Our tour leader, Andreas was very knowledgeable with a good sense of humour. He ensured good restaurants serving local cuisine were selected for those that wanted the group meal each night. He phoned ahead to inform restaurants of any dietary requirements. A really great guy. Our local guides for the city tours and places of interest were all real characters - very knowledgeable and approachable. All in all a fabulous trip, well planned and well lead!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The national parks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A brilliant tour leader. Knowledgeable, approachable with a great sense of humour. Nothing was too much and he clearly cared about the well-being of our group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take gloves and good footwear for city walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fabulous adventure - could do it all again!
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Prosecco Hills

    Not too heavy, not too light. Like the wines.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Final walk provided excellent views of the hills, but every day gave something different. The free day we went to Venice, with all help necessary for the journey from Vania and Sandra (driver)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Various obviously loves what she does and her enthusiasm shows.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot for our trip in May toping 30 on one day. Be aware and have suitable clothing for the conditions. Be prepared for some steep uphill too.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Stepping up (and down)

    A very good walking area with magnificent views on good days. The week is full on with some extra events thrown in which we enjoyed. The hotel is comfortable and the food prepared by chef is very good. The guide was very knowledgeable about the area and looked after us well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Vesuvius, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Walk of the Gods

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good leader always keeping the group together, giving us regular breathers (which we needed) and looking out for the well being of the group members. Very knowledgeable about the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a LOT of steps, they are not kidding when they say in the trip notes there are 1500 (we suspect there are more) and they vary in construction, walking poles for the preservation of knees essential. If you get the chance to walk the rim of Vesuvius take it, good grip shoes/boots and poles will easily get you up the short scramble to the rim itself. We thought about going to Herculaneum on our free day but we actually did that on the way to the airport which was far better. The trip to Capri which we actually opted for on that day was well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Personally I would grade some of the walks 3 rather than 2 especially Amalfi and Monte Tre Calli.
  • A fabulous week!

    This trip was the ultimate de-stressor. Fantastic walks along deserted beaches and cliff top paths with breathtaking views of hidden bays and waves crashing against the rocks, expertly led by Luis and Alex who could not have done more to make this such a fabulous and fun holiday. The accommodation was well chosen and of a good standard and with the help of our guides, we ate in style every evening. We would highly recommend this trip and are pleased to have had yet another excellent Exodus experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty and remoteness of this coastline. The sense of wellbeing at the end of each after a great walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Luis and Alex were exceptional and knowledgable leaders, creating many memorable experiences while injecting lots of fun into our days. They went were out of their way to cater to all dietary requirements which was much appreciated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Temperature was above seasonal average so prepare for the heat with hats, sunscreen and water.