Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17934 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Wonderful insight into Borneo but you need to be fit and able.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The jungle and it's many surprises.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris (Sarawak) great and local.Tom (Sabah) Top man!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that this is a serious climbing holiday!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Too many flights... nine in all but can understand why.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Cowbells and Vultures!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to do 3 out of the 5 walks!!! Jorge was brilliant and was able to give me the confidence and support to complete the 3 walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We only really saw Jim at the hotel so really it was Jorge we spent most time with and he was brilliant. He has a good sense of humour and fun but at all times was aware of what was going on around him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes be aware it is a hard B walking trip!!! Make sure you have been doing some uphill walking long before you go on this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful holiday and the group got along really well. The only slight downside was the weather but there is nothing to help that! This trip was well planned and well supported. The only other thing that surprised me was the fact we flew into Bilbao then had a 2.5 hour ride in vans to the other side of Santander, would it not be easier to fly to Santander?
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A beautiful country and great people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The challenging climb of Triglaf on a clear sunny day so that the sheer drops on either side were clearly visible

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Local guides were excellent and looked after the group really well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not be put off by the warnings given before the climb of Triglaf
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Pilgrim's Happy Progress

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Santiago after so many weeks walking through France and Spain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was excellent.   He was very sensitive towards the different physical abilities of our group - the fit could go on ahead and the slower could come along later, but he always checked the strugglers.    He gave us our pilgrims'  passports (on which we get a stamp all along the Camino) with our names on them so that we could set out on our first day without delay.   His historical, geographical and cultural knowledge was extensive and made the Camino even more interesting.   He understood that I was a genuine pilgrim.   Two of us were vegetarian and he ensured we ate well.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you have the appropriate walking experience before you set off.   You will be doing more than 20k and then repeat this for several days.     You do not need a map - you just follow the yellow arrows that guide you from the French border to Santiago.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With Michael as a leader it made my last part of the Camino as part of a group much more interesting than walking alone because he knows such a lot.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    This trip starts in THE most beautiful town in the world

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The town of Telc, where the trip starts, is just gorgeous and stunning. If you never go anywhere else you should go here, just to spend time in the town square - sit and drink it all in, explore all the nooks and crannies, climb the castle tower to see it from above. Unforgettable. If you like railways, visit the pink railway station too. Go out a day early to have the time to see it and appreciate it. http://www.telc-etc.cz/telc/?lang=ENPrague is fantastic, of course. On the trip between the two, we loved Cesky Krumlov, Trebon, Cesky Budejovice. The cycling through Bohemia is very enjoyable, never too tough, lots to see every day and everywhere you look

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ondre was a very nice chap and very helpful at all times. Did a lot to make the trip enjoyable, and was very responsive to the group's wishes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go out a day early to spend an extra day in Telc just wandering round and chilling out. Get there by public bus from Prague.Extend your stay in Prague if you haven't been beforeHave at least one "knee of pork" for dinnerClimb up all the towers to enjoy the views

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were 12 people in all on the holiday, from the UK, USA and Canada, and it made for a very enjoyable trip to be part of that group, it was all very friendly and sociable Everywhere in Bohemia, the hotels were all very good and exceeded our expectations. The hotel in Prague was not quite as good, but it was OK.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Galaxy Hotel owners and staff were wonderfully accommodating and friendly. Such a pity construction

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was very informative and knew the island well.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A very worthwhile trek, with the Aneto climb hard but worth the effort

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip in its entirety

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and was oustanding in pacing the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely be hill walking fit with well broken in boots

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To have the Mulleres Pass and Aneto days back to back  is a hard ask. If possible I would rearrange this part of the trek.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Not enough leeches

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    With 4 sections to this area it gave a good overall look at the possibilities for a longer stay when we go back packing on our retirement. ........possibly the bota trips on the Kinabatang river and the stay in the lodge with very gentle people was the best but was balanced by the rest of the trip with exercise in Sarawak and Kinabalu.By accident went to harbour side restaurants during Ramadan. The lady brought the grilled fish prawns and squidat 6.25 pm We looked around , although the folk around us had food on their plates they were not eating and were ravenous ,. In solidarity we fasted for 5 mins and so made friends .A wow moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris in Sarawak was superb. Emotionally charged with showing HIS land .Tom laid back , able Brit, seen it all before. leads from the back on Kinabalu and then pops up from nowhere. Experienced. Needs to get married and hvae lots of babies with a woman that loves Durian . My wife is unavailable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wash hands before eating , especially after handling money. think before you order food..... is there anything that could upset my tummy for a few days ? Could i resist incorporating meat      (eg chiken that was cooked a couple of hours ago that is going to be incorporated in to the welcome stir fry)  iinto the diet. and then  I might go on the trek or climb the mountain.Having been on several Asian holidays and treks. I prefer to incorporate meat towards the end when the high passes have been traversed.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Great walking! Great weather! Great beer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waling through the Aradena Gorge. Less well known and crowded than the Samaria Gorge, but with breathtaking sheer walls and the amazing sight of birds of prey flying and nesting high up in the crevasses.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Derek was first rate. Great company, knowledgable and always helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great trip if you want good walking combined with time to chill out on the beach (or in the tavernas!)
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Our first Exodus holiday but it definitely won't be our last !!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The overwhelming beauty of the landscape and the friendliness of the people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rene Calancha was a very passionate and knowledgable man. What he doesn't know about Peru could be written on a pin head. He looked after the group as if we were his own family and took us to some fantastic places with a minimum of fuss. His organisation of the tour and excursions was exemplary and left nothing to chance, he became a good friend. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book your trip now !!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip exceeded all our expectations, we will certainly be booking with Exodus again in the future.