Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE AITANA TREK

    The area is an attractive place to walk but certainly graded as moderate to difficult would be more appropriate as many areas were challenging, especially the scrambling (I personally enjoyed that but others in our group did not).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking a few moments alone and basking in the quiet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A fine guide but could perhaps be more considerate of the weaker members in the group; this would perhaps not be a problem if graded more accurately.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL, TITICACA & NAZCA

    Flights a DISASTER.  Why on earth you use United Airways I can't think.  Besides being regularly late there were 2 mechanical problems.  After having recovered from our outward journey and feeling positive, we then had to suffer further problems.  (Also the cabin crews generally were not particularly pleasant.)  Saying that, the time in Peru was very good.  The only down side was the long days travelling but I know there is no way around that.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trek was by far the best part of the holiday, and the superb views driving through the Andes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Fab(rizzio) was brilliant.  He dealt with everything we threw at him, all organisation was  excellent.  At times some of it appeared beyond his actual remit.  He also coped (better than the rest of the group) with a couple of awkward members of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the long road journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only to say that the representative who met us at Lima when we were a day late, was not the sort of person we needed to see.  Instead of being supportive and assuring all was OK, he told us (as though it was our faults) that we would have to pay for our night's accommodation and the rebooked flight the following day.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    I loved every minute, as a non walker, found some of the uphill walks tough, but was so pleased that I actually completed them, the views were well worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Actually completeing the walks with the terraine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was excellent, she was friendly, considerate, knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed her job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't miss out on this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everything was there for this walking holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    The scenery of Andalucia is dramatic and varied. The hotel was charming, with welcoming staff and superb, local cuisine. An excellent guide and a great bunch of fellow travellers all combined to make this a holiday to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Al fresco lunch at the deserted monastery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best pair of legs in the business! Highly motivating (Richie, not just his legs!) and very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider hiring a car before or after this trip so that you can take in some of the other lovely places in the region.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    Lots to see in a beautiful setting with a friendly hotel to return to each night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'Walk of the Gods' in brilliant sunshine. The sea was unbelievably blue and the spring wildflowers brightened the hillsides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was like a knowledgeable friend, always willing to do whatever was needed to make the holiday special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spring is lovely for the flowers, but make sure you bring warm clothing for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fascinating region and expect to add several inches to your waistline. The food in the hotel restaurant is excellent!
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    LA RUTA MAYA

    This is the first time we have been on an organised tour, and usually prefer independent travel.  However, given time pressures for organising this trip, we decided to give it a go and we were not disappointed at all!  It was an excellent trip, encompassing a large portion of the Mayan World.  We had brilliant experience from start to finish and we learned a lot about this facinating part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are too many to mention, but they include seeing Palenque and Tikal and of course, Machimon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Diego Miranda was an excellent tour leader, he was very knowledgeable and professional and a really great person to get to know.  He adapted quickly and efficiently to the different needs of the group and was always approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go near or in the wet season take a rain mac or poncho.  Also, proper walking shoes are adviseable.  Expect some long periods of time travelling to places - this is to be expected given the large area to be covered in a relatively short period of time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The best coffee and rum can be found in Guatemala - trust us!It's fascinating to see the cultures, landscapes, beliefs and lifestyles change as you move through the three countries visited on this trip.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    We booked the Turquoise Coast holiday based on the fact that it was graded B - Moderate, having been on two previous holidays with Exodus both graded B and on which the walking was plentiful and varied.  However, the walking in Turkey was limited to 3 days.   Day 1 took us on a walk, approximately 3-4 miles, to a beach and spent the afternoon there, buying lunch at the beach bar, taking a boat trip back.  Day 2 involved walking along an ancient acquaduct and ruins, approx 6 miles, again to a beach for the afternoon and lunch at the beach bar.  Day 3 was a 3 hr round bus trip out to a Turkish family for lunch- no walking (we opted out of this).   We took a boat trip over to Limonasa beach where the sun beds are free.  Day 4 was a short walk in the morning, back to Kas market.  Day 5 - free day.  Day 6 - no walking but sea kayaking (optional) over sunken ruins (disappointing).  Therefore we feel that this trip offered insufficient walking and should be re-graded as A - Leisurely.   Kas town is beautiful, lots of places to eat, bars and shops.  A word of warning, the Mosque(s) calls to prayer 5 times a day, starting at 5am, and there are 3 in Kas, so do take earplugs!  The guide offered a Turkish bath for 90 Lira at a hotel of their choosing however we booked in at Hotel Hera (on the sea front) for a Turkish bath and massage (2 hrs) for 70 Lira - fantastic, not to be missed and the spa itself is amazing, so is the experience.  Apart from the walking we had a great holiday.  The hotel is basic, usual problem of no shelves, drawers, coat hangers, poor shower etc, but nothing we couldn't cope with for a week.  We would go back to Kas, but probably to Hotel Hera!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Turkish ruins at Patara are quite a sight.  The Turkish bath at Hotel Hera is a must.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ozgur our guide was a great guy, knows the area and history.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN MADAGASCAR

    A land of spectacular and diverse panoramic landscapes, friendly people and unique wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s always a great sense of achievement to reach a high summit and in the Madagascar heat and humidity getting to the top of Peak Boby was a moment to celebrate (and recover) but the main inspiration was the people. Always smiling and wanting to be photographed, chatting and curious about what we wear and how we look. Crossing the mountain from Antoetra to the isolated village of Ifasina felt like travelling back in time and fascinating to see the Zafimaniry people living with few resources as they probably have done for hundreds of years. The isolation of Isalo National Park is as described... a combination of coloured, eroded rock formations, strange plants and the enveloping silence making this one of the most captivating places in Africa. The last night at the camp there under an immense star-filled sky listening to the local folk singers around the campfire was very memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As others on here have commented Solofo (Sol) handled the group with grace and patience. Always knowledgeable about his country, enthusiastic and organised - well apart from a tendency to be so relaxed that early starts were hard to achieve and on some days that meant arriving at camp not long before sunset! But this was all part of his likeable character and was the subject of much friendly banter :-) Our driver (Narina?) also deserves thanks for negotiating the often unmade roads in tight situations, crossing rivers and log bridges with confidence and for keeping us safe over some long long journeys.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is graded as partly challenging and I wouldn’t take that lightly. Having done many treks at much higher altitude several of the group had to sit out the long day to the peak due to exhaustion or minor knee injuries. Again the heat makes this a much more strenuous trek than expected. You are walking on very rocky terrain a lot of the time, so walking poles would be recommended.You can be walking for long periods in relentless sunshine so plenty of sunscreen and long sleeves are a good idea.  Although you will encounter a variety of flora and fauna... many Lemurs and the small things - frogs, chameleons, stick insects, millipedes, spiders etc.  it becomes apparent that the deforestation you might hear about is continuing and threatening the existence of much of the unique wildlife. Lack of education is part of the problem so maybe if you want to take something for children you meet along the way maybe books an wildlife or the ecology...and rather than handing out sweets some kids asked for soap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes specify tourist class hotels, but aside from camping the other accommodation was mainly lodges. Although basic and clean these often didn’t have full electricity or water, so be prepared to go without showers for several days and charge batteries whenever the opportunity arises. I must add that I thought the lodges were a better solution than hotels, but you will have to modify your expectations.  A great trip in a beautiful country and highly recommended.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    DUBROVNIK & THE DALMATIAN COAST

    It was city tours that made it for me. Firstly Split. Dubrovnik is a must visit city as it is so pretty only; wish had more time there. In contrast optional trip to Bosnia showed a much more deprived country profoundly showing the effect of recent conflict. Also relaxation was aided by afternoon flights both ways - definitely worth exploring all flights available to achieve this even if don't take offered group flight as airport transfers are inexpensive due to close proximity to airports.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking City walls in Dubrovnik that fully circle old town allowing it to be viewed from many angles . Walking part of Ston Wall which is in style of China wall followed by oysters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was native so able to effectively share culture of country including top tips of places to eat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As mentioned check for best flight times. In May be prepared for some cool weather although we were lucky to have warm weather.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    we thoroughly enjoyed this holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arycanda was terrific

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Quite excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Turkey's archeology is amazing but anybody not interested in this might be unmoved!Walking level was as described - relatively easy - but a bit of practice always helps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    we went to Kastellorizon ( Greece) on the free Saturday - well worth experiencing the contrast - and you CAN go on Saturday despite what our "Rough Guide" said about "not at weekends"
Call us on 0208 772 3936