Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    Beautiful scenery, stunning views, amazing people. A life changing experience on so many levels 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the most inspirational moment of the trip was a moment of self realisation on the particularly hard climb up to Namche Bazaar. Having suffered from the standard Nepalease tummy & a bout of Altitude sickness I was in no shape to tackle the tough ascent, however I pushed through the pain barrier and made it to the remarkable Namche Bazaar! It truely made me realise I'm made of tougher stuff than I thought

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lakhpa was #1, an absolute gentlemen and a scholar. His knowledge of AMS & associated mountain illnesses were second to none. His manner in treating individuals and his care and attention to people when they are at a low ebb was indeed first class. His knowledge of the trek and the surrounding area was invaluable, he knew how to immerse you in stories and entertain with his tales :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it. Do not hesitate, you must go on this trip. It is challenging, and it's no cake walk...however if you enjoy peoples company & stunning scenery then it is a must. Once in a lifetime experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to chat to the other members of the group, this trek is as much about socialising as it is trekking & taking pictures. Remember this is a shared experience, everybody is there for the same end goal. Be under no illusions that this is a race to the finish line, it is an experience to be savoured.Coming out of this trip I have learnt more about myself, made some excellent new friends, and had an experience that I will take with me for the rest of my life.UP & DOWN WITH EXODUS!!!!xx 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    The pre-holiday documentation and bookings were not of excellent quality, but the holiday itself was fantastic. The Dead Sea, Wadi Rum and Petra were excellent. Our guide gave us the right amount of time in each.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most insprirational part was the two and a half days in Petra. The skill and industry of the people who built it at around 100 B.C. was mind blowing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader was excellent. He had the knowledge to describe each and every site at the right level f detail for me, but had a wealth of background knowledge, so he could answer virtually all questions. He knew how much free time to give the group at each site. He also had humour. When it was a fellow traveller's birthday, he stopped the coach at a local garage and bought cakes and squash for us all to celebrate it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We spent less than £25 per person per day on average. Our tour guide directed us to good quality local supplers of cooked and fresh food if we needed to buy lunches.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Jordanian people are friendly and humourous, often cracking jokes with tourists, without giving hassle.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    A fantastic experience in so many ways; an adventure, breathtaking scenery, wonderful people and a challenge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Everest for the first time, the awesome views from the top of Kala Patthar and achieving a lifetime ambition. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lapka was incredible throughout the trip he went above and beyond his duty caring for all the group from the begining to end, at any time of day or night, enabling us to reach our potential. His local knowedge was exceptional and he regaled us with many entertaining stories. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have a reasonable level of fitnessTake chocolate and snacks, dry shampoo, a good down jacket and warm sleeping bag and plenty of wet wipes. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A true adventure
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

     Intensive holiday lots to do and see. Loved Sri lanka - Hated the Hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    White water rafting was brilliant. Cycling around Giritale. Elephant ride and the Elephant orphanage.The walk on Horton plains to see World's End.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was great very helpful and Knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

     It was a great trip but I felt let down and cheated by the standard of the hotels provided. Before each one Sujan warned us how bad it would be and what to expect. I just wish this was told to us before we booked.8/10 hotels were shockingly bad - dirty sheets, dirty towels, dirty bathrooms - plus loads of little crawly friends to keep you company in the room. Geckos come as standard. A lot of time is spent on the bus - take travel sickness pills.Expect curry and rice for breakfast lunch and dinner.Do all of the extra activities not only because they are worth it and fun but also because the alternative option is staying behind doing nothing at one of those awful hotels.Take loads of insect repellent and sun screen. Don't forget Afterbite. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

     I believe most of the extra activities should have been included in the holiday price. Much longer time needed at Galle - 90 minutes is not enough time.  

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    I thank Samira for her review of this trip but am obviously dissapointed that she was unhappy with the hotels that we use on this very popular trip.

    Most of our clients find the level of hotels on this trip very good, which I think other reviews reflect, we are very open about what standard of accommodation we use in our brochure and trip notes. I am constantly looking at client feedback to make sure the standards that I expect are being met, I will continue to do this and change the hotels used if needed.

    Feedback is always welcome so again I thank Samira for her views.

    Katherine Tory - Sri Lanka Product Manager

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    An enjoyable introduction to Morocco. Fantastic scenery, great group and good food. Beautiful trekking but not enough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day's walk along the river and opening up into a wonderful view of the Atlas mountains.Staying in the village - welcoming smiles, slow pace of life and beautiful setting. It was a privilege to visit such a remote part of Morocco.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hasan was very calm, experienced and caring. It was great to have a local guide who understands the Berber culture and language and was able to relay his knowledge to us. He had a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothes! The Gite was very cold in early April - it even snowed. Most of us were under-prepared and needed gloves, hats and thermals and a warm coat/jacket.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have given the trip a 4 or 5 star - the walking was beautiful and Hasan was a great guide. However, I was dissapointed by the following:- 1st day tour of Marrakech. The itinerary said this was an orientation tour, but we spent the majority of time in two rather boring museums/palaces with a guide(Mohammed) that rambled on too much and then took us to a herb shop where we were subjected to quite a lot of hard selling techniques and then an over-priced restaurant. I am sure he got great commission but I ended up feeling taken for a ride - which I would never have fallen for had I travelled independendantly.- We didn't actually start trekking till day 4 there was a one hour walk to Gite on day 3, but no afternoon option). My main aim was to do a trekking holiday and really enjoyed it once the trekking got underway, but felt that we could have started a day earlier.  We also missed out on doing the last full day's walk due to weather concerns, but the last day turned out to have the best weather so I felt we could have done another shorter walk in the afternoon.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    It is unfortunate to hear that on this particular departure, the weather affected one of the included day walks. It is surprising that an extra optional walk was not offered on the first day or the final day yet this does depend on the pace of the group. I will certainly pass this feedback onto our ground partner so we can consider if amending the itinerary for 2013 is a possible option. The local city guide for Marrakech will also be advised of your comments, as please be assured this is not standard practice for Exodus and is a rare occurrence.

    Thanks Sarah for the valued feedback.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    An amazing trip from start to finish! If you want to experience true Italian hospitality, traditional home-cooked food, and breathtaking coastal views then this is your trip.The Hotel Le Due Torri, nestled in the village of Bomerano, is a lovely family owned hotel where you will want for nothing. Three family generations live here, all with beaming smiles, and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. A highlight of the trip for me, was the wonderful home-cooked Italian fare. On a couple of nights we all got involved in the cooking of pasta, tiramasu, and made pizza in their wood-burning oven, which was great fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ...where to start........from the picturesque villages, to the dramatic coastline, to exploring the ruins of Pompeii, to standing on the rim of Mount Vesuvius itself, to great food and hospitality!Every walk was different, and just when we thought the highlight of the trip had passed, the following day brought another! The terraced villages clinging precariously to the staggering limestone karsts along the coast was a sight in itself, but inland, the Valle delle Ferriere was an unexpected treat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was absolutely brilliant; extremely knowledgeable, patient and good humoured. We couldn't have asked for a better leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the free day, I visited the ruins of Herculaneum in the morning and Ravello in the afternoon, both of which were definately worth it. Herculaneum is a much smaller site than Pompeii but is far better preserved and less visited; allow a good couple of hours to fully explore it. Ravello was beautiful, built on a particularly sheer section of the Amalfi coastline, and is a lovely spot to wander around, have a coffee, or perhaps a peaceful amble around the Gardens of Villa Cimbrone (which I would highly reccomend).
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    TUSCAN DELIGHTS

    I expected more trail walking

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the middle Cinqueterra trail

    What did you think of your group leader?

    While good with clients, seemed overly defensive of the owners of Braccicorti. Has very good knowledge of the local area. Restaurant suggestions for free day were very good. Very efficient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that you are not supposed to do any laundry at Braccicorti.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    Porters, 2 hour lunches in restaurants, punctuated by visits to shops where guide was on commission, not at all adventure travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amicable, but tour not what I had imagined, more suited to retired americans.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a guide book, be prepared to go and do stuff on your own.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    It is unfortunate that Mr Eylert believes guides are on a commission; please be assured that this is not the case with our guides. For the guided city tours we use local leaders who are not directly trained by Exodus and therefore outside of our control. I have passed these comments onto our supplier and they have assured us that guides are not paid a commission according to on shops they take clients to.

    This is a busy tour with a lot to fit in over the two weeks. If you have your own list of places to visit and are unsure if there will be time during the itinerary then please ask our experts before departure. Due to the sheer size of Morocco, there is a lot of ground to cover for this trip yet it still includes the best view of the Sahara Desert's sand dunes, a wonderful remote village in the High Atlas Mountains unique to Exodus and an opportunity to absorb the Berber way of life by sampling their home-made bread and infamous mint tea! In my opinion, there is much more to this trip than a guidebook can offer.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER THAILAND, LAOS & CAMBODIA

    For me this was a return to Laos after 12 years and I was delighted to be back there! As for Cambodia, it was my first time and it was really inspiring!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ankgkor Wat in Cambodia was the most inspirational moment of the trip followed by The Killing Fields.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All three group leaders were great guys and the whole group liked them. Noi was the star!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! You can't go wrong but do avoid the Monsoon season. We managed to get out before the Monsoons broke.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    VIETNAM ADVENTURE

    This was my first exodus trip and gave me an excellent insight into this fascinating country. The trip included lots of variety, from snorkelling in the east china sea to visiting Hoi Ann and staying in a traditional home in the mekong delta. The food was delicious and the group leader and local people very friendly. For me as a single traveller, the most challenging aspect of the holiday was travelling in a group with people i didnt know but this added to the experience.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visting the town of Hoi AnnSnorkelling in the East China seaOvernight boat trip to Halong Bay and KayakingRelaxing mud bath in Nay trangDelicious foodPassion of the group leader for his country

    What did you think of your group leader?

    His passion and knowledge about the country's history really inspired me and I enjoyed hearing his entertaining stories and jokes. He spoke good english and was very helpful when any problems arose. He tried hard to make sure everyone in the group was happy, which is not an easy job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read about Vietnam so you know what to expect in terms of climate, food and acitvities. Some people on the trip go to Vietnam with different expectations and were not prepared and this is such a shame. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first exodus holiday and so i did not know what to expect, but was pleased that i did go. I think exodus holidays are a good way for single travellers,such as myself, to get away and i liked that my group was a mixture of single travellers as well as couples.
Call us on 0208 772 3936