Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A brilliant mix of walking and culture. The walks were exciting but relatively easy with lots of interest and fantastic scenery to see. We had a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide to show us around both Pompei and Herculaneum.  We climbed to the summit of Vesuvius and looked into the crater.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    From a cultural point of view visiting Herculaneum was fantastically interesting for me.  The "Walk of the Gods" down to Positano and swimming at the bottom was also thrilling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group was lucky in that we had a truly exellent leader. I have been on many trips and he was one of the best I have encountered

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read up about Pompei and Herculaneum and Vesuvius beforehand (Wikipedia is a good start).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the pastry " pastiera sfogliatella napolitena" which is a Naples speciality.  Three of us walked back up from Amalfi while the others took the bus. It took us 3 hours but was good fun. 
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    This is the trip for anyone wanting to get away from it all for a few days - no mobile phone signal, no Internet, no pollution in the desert and back to basics!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars in the desert, after a satisfying dinner sitting round the campfire, and well-deserved after a few hours of walking and scrambling! Spending the days eating, walking and napping when it was too hot to walk around lunchtime. Standing on any three of the Rock Bridges we climbed up to. Walking up to the Monastery in Petra. A Bedouin turning up at the camp with a gigantic keyboard and staging a little party for us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danny was a walking history book (in a good way!) and knew everything anyone would ever want to know about Jordan. My favourite were his amazing (and according to him, 100% true) camel stories he told us around the campfire at night.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have a dust allergy, take lots of tissues and some anti-histamines! Take a few days before or after the trip to go to the Dead Sea - it's really close to Amman and pretty much on the way back from Petra.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    SICILIAN VOLCANOES

    Best one-week vacation I've had in a long time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both the Strombolian eruptions and the hike on Etna were inspirational moments; although that's not to say that the build up during the week was something to be missed. The earlier hikes, and restaurant visits added to the overall experience, and provided context for the later trips.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great! Turi was an exceptional group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If travelling in May, take extra warm windproof gear for both Etna and Stromboli, and hot-weather gear for the rest of the trip. Etna is 3000m so could be 18 degrees colder than at sea level, and the Stromboli visit happens at sunset, and is on an exposed ridge. Also checkout advice on the net for photographing Strombolian eruptions (and take extra camera batteries).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it!
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    A lifelong dream- totally fulfilled and this was only achieved with the help and support of the exodus staff- they were fantastic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many special moments but the feeling of achievement when we reached Everest Base Camp was over whelming. Being so lucky to meet the walking for wounded guys up there at base camp was very inspirational, to see what they have had to overcome made my minor ailments disappear into insignificance. The special people of Nepal - especially the Sherpas I was fortunate to meet - they will all stay dear to me. The owners of the lodges- all so very welcoming(so cleverily chosen by Exodus). My new good and lifelong friends I have met in my group- I was so blessed to walk alongside such lovely people. The colours and the smells of the mountains, the poverty in Kathmandu - everyone still manages a smile.. so many memories to hold dear for my lifetime! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My group Leader Valerie,through her professionalism,expertise and experience made it possible for me to fulfil my life long dream. She was always full of enthusiasm and when things didnt go just right - her calmness shone through. I felt ill about a week into the trip and her kindness and support achieved a rapid recovery when i was fearful I would have to turn back. I owe her and the Sherpa team so much for all of their care and support- from my fear of flying, high suspension bridges to the assistance to overcome my altitude problems- they made my trip possible and I couldnt of wished for a better team.Thank you

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book with Exodus!!! Listen to the Leader- They really do know what they are talking about!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are so many companies out there offering these trips- maybe some cheapier- having been on this trip i would only ever book with exodus in the future, some of my trip mates had been on Exodus trips before and have all said the same- they really are the best!!Do it.. Go for it - Live your Dream!
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE KERALA & TROPICAL INDIA

    A fantastic  holiday from start to finish if you want to see real India this is the way to do it,  history wildlife incredible scenery it has it all

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two seemingly endless descents from Ooty, it made all the hard work the day before worth it 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vishnu  Joseph and Abbey were so helpful nothing was too much trouble couldn’t have been looked after better 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch out for the tax they add on the beer in the Hotel in Ooty the only place it happened. Arriving in Ooty after checking in you have time to get a taxi down to  Coonoor and then the toy train back to (Ooty) Udhagamandalam. Wonderful views as the train climbs and winds its way through the tea plantations. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a long flight to India and arriving in the early hours we found two of our party had their flight delayed by two hours. Everyone had to wait for their flight to arrive then we had a three hour drive to Mysore. Just wonder if it would be  better for everyone to spend the first night in a Hotel near Bangalore Airport  
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    MALLORCA: SIERRA TRAMUNTANA

    A delightful week on a beautiful island. The walks offered a rich variety of landscapes, from gentle meandering paths along clifftops with views down to a turquoise sea, to pretty routes through ancient olive groves, to dramatic ascents up limestone crags. I went in April because I wanted late spring colours and I was not disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I agree with my fellow traveller John Croker that the mountainside picnics, complete with explanation of the local produce we were enjoying, were a high point each day. I hope to remember for a long time the details of the guide's explanation of the olive harvest and pressing. And I know I will not forget watching the griffon vultures circling overhead - who was watching whom?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduard is one of the very best. Born and bred in Mallorca, and yet also having walked most parts of the globe, he combined a genuine passion for his island with a gentle humility and humour; he was scrupulous in his attention to detail, and yet led with a light touch, mindful of everyone's preferences and needs; he was superbly knowledgeable of the island's flora, fauna and history; and he was greeted warmly wherever we went. He definitely added to my enjoyment of the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    A marvellous holiday, with over six days walking along the Great Wall, plus two days (three for some!) in Beijing. Suitable for “ramblers” as well as well as hardened trekkers. Plenty of opportunity to meet Chinese people away from the big cities. There were 13 people in our group and they were a great bunch. Every day was interesting, passing through small towns and villages. The walks were just right for me, not too long and not too short.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the length of Jinshanling on a fine, sunny day, and seeing the wall stretch out before us for mile after mile. Fantastic views along the way, great for taking photographs.  I also ran into some fellow Brummies along the way (not really a highlight!)Walking through a Chinese village, mostly seeing only the very elderly and the very young, finding the people there very friendly and hospitable.Visiting the Temple of Heaven in Beijing, a beautiful park with fantastic buildings, flowers, greenery... dancers, musicians....the kind of place you do not want to leave.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kevin was top notch, a great organiser and very friendly. He went out of his way to help everyone and when weather threatened to disrupt our schedule he was very flexible. He made the trip very enjoyable. When a mystery bug struck our group he made great efforts to secure medicine and medical advice. Very knowledgeable about China, giving us tips about where to go and what to look out for when we went off exploring. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Out in the villages it can get cold at night, certainly in April, so wrap up well. However the hotel in Beijing was very hot! At various times you will be accosted by people trying to sell souvenirs, always drive a hard bargain, start at least seventy five per cent below the asking price! Remember that to eat all the food offered to you is taken as a sign that you have not had enough to eat, so if you’ve had enough leave some food on your plate.Look out for a "paper cuttings" shop at Jinshanling, if you go in you will be amazed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from the wall, and the sights in Beijing, I enjoyed getting up early each morning and exploring the villages we stayed in. The people there, whatever they thought as I took photo after photo, were very polite and friendly. Some of us had an extra day in Beijing due to the late departure of our planes / trains. My last memory is of reading and relaxing with two fellow group members in the Temple of Heaven Park in Beijing, just a couple of hours before we were due to leave. They were going on to Xian, I was flying home. A gorgeous place, and lovely afternoon.  Something I will not forget.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    CYCLING CUBA

    This was a fantastic trip, everything I would look for in a holiday - cycling, sightseeing, Cuban history and all the camaraderie amongst the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the Sierra Maestra, the most challenging day of the trip and it was also very hot. The sense of achievement was great amongst the team, and the hotel that night was picturesque hidden away deep in the forest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very professional, rarely expressing opinion and remaining calm and patient with often very weary travellers. He answered all our questions, and gave us a great insight into Cuban life.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are female definitely consider taking your own saddle, the saddles currently provided are for males and proved very uncomfortable. Other than that most things are provided, I didn't have to think about much at all!Other general advice - stating the obvious, this is a LOTof cycling so you should be prepared for that. General fitness is obviously necessary, but I would say personal endurance is more key, there are some very long (boring!) stretches.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Probably one of the best holidays I've had! I very rarely felt intrusive or typically 'touristy' since you were more accepted cycling to a village rather than offloading from a bus! The accommodation is OK, nothing special and the food likewise, although I believe these are all characteristic of Cuba generally!I will absolutely be booking another cycling holiday with Exodus, worth every penny!
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    One of the best holidays for location we have ever done. The People were friendly and our guide looked after us. We we lucky with the weather and our fellow travelers were a great bunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To trek on the great wall of china with like minded people and to constantly think "how the heck did they build it up and down these steep hills".To meet friendly locals and be looked after in our guest houses.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kevin went over and above his duties as a group leader. He gave up his spare time to look after us when we were ill towards the end of our holiday. We had an extra week in Beijing and he was always at the end of a phone if we needed him (we did'nt but his offer of help was there and it made us feel comfortable knowing that). He had a vast knowladge of the history and geography of the areas we visited. He was always polite, helpful and willing to put himself out. His language skills were excellent and so was his sense of humour.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't skimp on rain gear. On the one day it did rain my lightweight Gore Tex jacket and trousers could not cope with the downpour. Take plenty of your own countries pills and potions. We both got man/woman flu and ran out of paracetamol and ibuprofen. The local pharmacies tend not to speak english that's where a great guide comes in handy but the local meds tend to be herbal and if you do manage to buy western meds we found them to be under dosed. Paracetamol came in 250mg not the usual 500mg.The food was excellant and catered for meat eaters and vegiterians.Only drink bottled water which is readilly available everywhere you go. We took a thin sleeping bag that you could open up and use as a blanket. We used it twice.Some matteresses are a bit on the hard side but I found them comfortable.Rather than take pens/pencils to give the kids. I took football cards but ended up giving them to the driver as there did not seem to be lots of kids about.The walking is challenging but we did not find it too hard. Plenty of ups and downs. The routes are safe. Mud paths can be slippy after and in the rain so take a pair of trekking poles with you. They are helpfull on the up and down parts to help on the knees. Just in case take a knee brace with you. I wore mine and it certainly helped.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take a good camera and lots of memory then just blat a way at everything and when you get home share your pics with your fellow trekkers by sending them discs of your pics in exchange for thiers or by social networking.Leave only footprints and take only pictures..........leave the wall in China. Don't take bits home with you.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN SARDINIA

    A perfect trip, with empty roads, fantastic guide and van support (Michele and Roberto), beautiful island and incredible food!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment in our trip was watching the sunset and having a glass of wine with some of my best friends!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was really amazing. We were travelling in a group of 13  friends, and he could manage to organize us all. We lost our flight on the first day, and he arraged, together with Roberto, our change in transfers, and adapted our route perfectly. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I strongly recommend this trip. I have done a Provence and a Alentejo trip before, but this one was, by far, the best.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The experience in the small hotels and agriturismo was also amazing, since the people who work in these small places, were really friendly and helpful.
Call us on 0208 772 3936