Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    A really well balanced trip which gives a great insight into Sri Lanka 'on the saddle'. A pleasant lack of interminable bus transfers which plague some trips and visits to temples were thankfully kept to a minimum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating street food from roadside vendors during each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother with a la carte dinner options. Whilst the omnipresent buffet might become predictable it is by far the best food available.Watch out for predatory monkeys in Kandy!Bring wine and spirits unless you can cope with non-stop beer!!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    I never thought I'd enjoy a group, organised holiday but I did. As others have said, the great thing about an Exodus holiday is that you don't have to think about it until you arrive. Everything's organised and everything's good. Looking back, it was actually tremendous value for money too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waterfalls, clifftop paths and amazing views - oh and a walk round the rim of Vesuvius - all made this trip memorable. Better was not having those inevitablre arguments when the path forks - a guide means you take the right path every time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ale was enthusiastic, knowledgable and there when you needed him. Perfect I'd say!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You'll be surprised by how like you the others on the trip will be. Don't worry about it; just do it!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL WINTER CLIMB

    This holiday was most enjoyable and a lot easier than I thought it was going to be. We had A LOT of snow which meant that we had the true winter climb experience even in April. The mountains were gorgeous, so much so it is a bit of a shock arriving back in Marrakech.Also met some awesome walking buddies on this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day after the Mt Toubkal ascent we couldn't climb the second highest peak due to very strong winds but we still had a great day trekking through the deep snow and sliding downhill on our bottoms!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was a fantastic leader, he was well organised, had the right amount of discipline to get us to where we needed to be at the right time, but was also flexible. His English was fantastic and he also had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a couple of items on the optional kit list that I think should be mandatory - snow (ski) goggles and gaiters. I had both of these and was very thankful to have them given the amount of snow we experienced. Also lots of warm clothes - particularly items you can quickly put on when having a break whilst trekking (eg down jacket) to stop from getting too cold.Sunscreen needs to be added regularly - I (and some others) got a bit burnt back of the neck!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking this sounds a really hard trip, it wasn't. The pace going uphill was relatively slow and one of the local guides will trail-break (particularly good news if the snow is deep).
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    SINAI TREK

    The most amazing holiday ever! Great views, wonderful camping sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in moon light up Mt Moses. Then sitting on a rock under a blanket next to the friends i have made and the guide, wartching the sun rise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were amazing. We had a little problem with checkpoints and road blocks, but the leaders kept us well informed, fed and entertained. They went above and beyond that of a normal leader, and made the trip memorable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need sleeping mat, remember a hat!I hope you like tea as there is lots of it! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was the most amazing trip i have ever been on and i'm already looking at flights to return next year. Exodus made sure we were safe and the whole trip was just AMAZING!!!I loved! Thank you Exodus! :) 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA SALSA! - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Great family trip, a chance to see the real Cuba followed by a luxurious couple of days relaxing at the beach to recover.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide was this thing I will remember most about this trip, He added something to everything we did. His local knowledge at the locations we visited made everything bigger and better. The History of Cuba and its people, Wildlife, Translations, and knowing the best places to eat.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Las was just great. knowledgeable and entertaining. He proved to be a hit with everyone especially the kids. Being one of very few Cubans to have taken a foreign holiday himself he also had some great stories to tell of his own holiday adventures.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a sink and bath plug.And some tea bags!!   Drink lots af WaterWe were all drinking loads. our coach had a fridge and we could purchase 1.5ltr bottles whilst on board, paying at the end of the trip. We had taken a 600ml water bottle each and refilled them each time we returned to the coach.   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a great time, food was plain but not as bad as we had been warned. People were friendly and Cubans seemd to love the kids. We saw some very poor areas of the country and some very basic living conditions but aslway felt very safe.  I took lods of pictures during this trip, just a few are available to see here;http://www.flickr.com/photos/gregcullen/sets/72157629801721595/ 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA SALSA! - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Cuba was fantastic, but beware of the "all inclusive" resort at the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Life doesn't get better than cruising the sunny streets of Havana in a 1950's american V8.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Cuban leader Laz was probably the best guide we've had on any of our many similar holidays.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect too much of the "all inclusive" resort at the end of this trip. We thought it was some sort of joke by Exodus to have you experience the very holiday you go with Exodus to avoid. The "resort" was full of drunken Canadian students drinking cocktails by the pint, and surly Russians intent on clearing the buffet. The food and airless canteen led us to form an "escape committee" to eat out in the very pleasant, but deserted local town. This was not a child friendly resort with its rowdy drunken clientelle, but the beach was quite nice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If possible get back to Havana which is an amazing city, and leave the beach resort to the 18-30 crowd.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    A very enjoyable trip with varied walks and an enthusiastic entertaining leader. The hotel staff were helpful, the breakfasts were superb and it was lovely to have a sea view.  Karystos is very unspoilt and by the end of the week we felt we knew half the town! Overall a very relaxing holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the mountain chapels and learning about their history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos is hugely enthusiastic about Evia and Greece. His knowledge of the history, people and places added greatly to the walking experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have knee problems make sure to bring walking poles as there is quite a bit of downhill walking !
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    SIERRA NEVADA & GRANADA

    Lovely walking, friendly hotel, good food and great weather - what more can you want from a holiday?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on the hill sides with the views of the snow covered mountains, enjoying the sunshine, dreaming of living in such a landscape.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, Jeremy understood the needs of all the group and ensured everybody had a great time. The pace of the walks was good and he adapted them to ensure we got the most from the days.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you go with a good appetite - there's no shortage of good food to eat.Ensure you book tickets for the Alhambra in advance, whilst it does take half a day to see it is well worth it in my opinion and save any worries about getting tickets on the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've done a couple of other walking trips in Spain and this was definitely the best. The variety of the scenery was great, the hotel is an excellent comfortable base providing good food and the trip to Granada at the end allowed for a bit of sightseeing. I'd always wanted to visit the Alhambra and this trip allowed that box to be ticked and I could have easily spent another day just wandering around.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Great holiday with a balanced mix of cultural sites, wildlife and physical activites. Don't misunderstand me, it is graded leisurely, Adams Peak and grade 3 rafting are optional and the Horton Plains walk and cycle ride are gentle. There is just so much variety.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the climb up Adams Peak even though there was no decent sunrise. But there are so many: Sigiriya rock, the cycle ride and lunch, elephants, views, swimming in the river, temples, the peace of Hortons Plains and the train ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you feel reasonably fit do Adams Peak but it isn't for everyone. TAKE YOUR TIME and do it at your own pace, take a head torch if you have one, also plenty of warm clothing for the top including extra socks as you have to take your shoes off. The worst part was the 2 hour journey to get there, too bumpy to sleep and I wished I'd taken travel sickness pills! Recovering from the lack of sleep was easier than I expected and it was good to have the Plains walk the next day so we didn't seize up.Don't bother with dollars, sterling is fine and you can pay for trips and the tip kitty using £. Take a waterproof and a lightweight umbrella if you have one (they make good sunshades too), we had a lot of rain even though it wasn't the rainy season!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pack light as there are so many one night stops, you can wash clothes out at Kandy. Join in with things like the games and enjoy yourself. There is just so much to see and do, 2 weeks isn't long enough.We thought the Yala game drive was a waste of time, lots of dust and diesel fumes, far too many jeeps in one place. But our driver was inexperienced and I heard the trip after ours actually saw a leopard! 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    JOHANNESBURG TO CAPE TOWN

    Overall an excellent trip, with good knwledgeable guides, which i can heartily recommend. Lots of beautiful scenery, animals, and interesting sites. Mozambique, especially Maputo, could easily be left out with no detriment to the trip, Maputo is not somewhere you would want to wander around and, for the day by the beach in Mozambique there was not much to do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    MOMENTS Cheetah breeding centre, up close and personal with an adult cheetah who purrs like a HarleydavidsonBreakfast at Tsitsikama camp site watching half dozen pods of dolphin swim pastThe rare site of wild dogs on the move in the evening light of Kruger

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was knowledgeable, helpful, and fitted in with the group. He is young and has been running this trip for less than a year however he is complimented by his assistant/driver who has been doing the trip for some years and has a wicked sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are plenty of opportunities to charge cameras but, once away from Cape Town no wifi but mobile phones work albeit a poor signal in Mozambique.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my second exodus trip in Southern Africa. I love the country and these trips are a good way to see it. We will be back!
Call us on 0208 772 3936