Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: TRINS & THE THREE VALLEYS

    Cross country ski-ing was a revelation. Out in the hushed countryside, following wonderful empty tracks through pine forests, beside streams, across bridges, surrounded on all sides by those Alps.  No-one for miles; no queues for lifts; no-one to mow you down.  Wonderful!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ski-ing in snow where no-one else had been; watching avalanches (from a safe distance!); ski-ing through the forest; playing/practicing in the snow; eating Kasierschmarrn with cranberries...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding - patient; encouraging; patient; really knowledgeable; experienced; patient; helpful - and did I mention how patient he was with me?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit first!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one really well-organised holiday. Out in the middle of nowhere, but local buses to take you to a different valley each day so you really see a lot of the area. Amazing Alpine views and scenery; fabulous scenic tracks to ski along; and abundant, authentic Austrian food. Comfortable family-run hotel. Only one night when food could have been better - but that was the night the restaurant was actually closed, so I'm guessing the chef had a night off. Might be a good opportunity to visit somewhere else to eat that night? Am now on a mission to get fitter in time for next year so I can go again and really crack the skiing!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    TANZANIA CYCLE SAFARI

    Wonderful, surreal, I was living my dream.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was an amazing trip, I was anxious before I went, but had nothing to worry about.  Dave Armon the tour guide was excellent and so was the crew who looked after us.  The food was basic but good, cycling tough on some days, but there were plenty of stops to take in the scenery, and it was not a mad race to get from A to B it was a nice steady pace so you could enjoy the experience, the group was a very good mix and great company.The camping was fun, it was wonderful hearing the lions roar in the valley, and the elephants wondering near the campsite.  The crew were very efficient and setup camp before we arrived and looked after us well.I loved the game drives, it was such a wonderful experience being quite close to the wildlife.I enjoyed the culture side of the trip, the visit to a Maasi family home and learning about the way they live.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and knowledgable.  Looked after us well.  Very friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hire the bikes over there as they are very good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved the trip, it was a surreal experience and would recommend anyone thinking about going on it to stop thinking about it and book it. 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER THE CAPE

    I have been on a lot of group tours over the years and I can truly say this was the best one.  A mixture of a wonderful country, stunning scenery, hundreds of optional activities to suit everyone's tastes, a fabulous group of people and a fantastic guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is extremely difficult to just choose one, as every day was so memorable.  Standing on top of Table Mountain looking at an amazing view of Cape Town moments after we stepped off the plane.  I knew it was going to be a great holiday if that was just the beginning!Watching hundreds of penguins go about their business at Boulders Beach.Wine tasting in Stellenbosch surrounded by the most wonderful scenery - bliss!Sitting on top of an ostrich is something I'm definitely not going to forget! Stargazing after a game drive in a private game reserve - I have never seen stars like them, truly amazing.Entering a cage with 2 tame cheetahs was my absolute highlight.  I have never been so close to wild animals, it was magical.The view at Storms River was breathtaking.  Feeding and stroking elephants at an elephant park in Knysna.  Again, being so close to the animals was amazing.The beaches in Hermanus can be described as some of the best in the world.The Township tour in Cape Town was an eye opener and a necessity - having enjoyed the scenery, we needed to see the real Africa as well.Even the view from the plane as I left Cape Town was fantastic.I think I have pretty much listed everything I did during the holiday, but that just shows how good it was.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JP was just marvellous!  He made absolutely sure that we all had the best holiday we could possibly have.  He asked us all individually what was on our wishlist.  Whatever we came up with, he would make sure we did it.  He truly went above and beyond and has left us all with some fabulous photos and fantastic memories.  He is a true asset to Exodus and also has the patience of a saint!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are far more optional activities available that are not on the trip notes, so definitely take a bit more money with you to make sure you get the most out of your holiday, you don't want to miss out on anything.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think its safe to say that I was pretty happy with the holiday, I have run out of superlatives to use!  The memories will stay with me for a long time, I'm certain of that.  A fantastic country, I'll definitely return one day.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA EXPLORER

    This was my first trip with Exodus.  I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, the people and the country.  The only downside was  a few things that were promised in the trip notes or by the guide, but that we either didn't have time for or weren't running.  The accommodation was alright for me, but I can understand it was a bit lack lustre for others who are used to more luxurious surroundings.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the roman sites of Dougga, Sbietla and El Jem were wonderfully interesting and the most complete remains I'd seen so far.  The night in the desert was cold, they'd had snow the week before, but still awesome with the fabulous sunsets and sunrises. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amine our group leader is to be highly recommended.  He tried very hard to sort everyone's issues or desires out, usually succeeding.  He was a lovely chap and full of interesting information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of warm clothes if you go in February, especially for the night in the desert.  Other than that just enjoy the variety that Tunisia has to offer.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    Wonderful walking in forested and farmed mountainsides.  Superb views from Poon Hill at sunrise, and expertly led by the guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Being on Poon Hill at sunrise (since we didn’t get to MBC or ABC).  Taking the time to stop and soak up the atmosphere of the mountains – all you have to do is find a gap in the walking group, or take a moment in the afternoon away from the lodge to sit, watch and feel the presence of the mountains. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prem was outstanding!  Probably the best group leader I’ve had.  Always thinking ahead so that everything ran smoothly for the group, from organising rooms, porters, and food to our change of plans following the decision not to attempt to reach ABC.  Very knowledgeable and easy to talk to, he always has a smile and a desire to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your time, enjoy, stop to look and listen.  There is no rush at all; it’s a sensible itinerary with ample time to look for wildlife en-route or get to know your fellow travellers.  Be prepared for all weathers in one day, and take sensible boots to help give good grip on snow and ice on steep trails.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

      We didn’t get to ABC or even MBC.  This was disappointing, but the whole group understood that our safety was more important than trying to reach the objective.  Bad weather had caused a lot of new snow and resulted in many avalanches – we saw several in a few minutes and had to cross one debris fan.  It was obviously too risky to continue.  It’s a shame but as Prem said ‘that’s nature’.  He arranged a slower exit from the mountains that took us to some pretty and interesting villages.  Having been to the Everest area a couple of times, there are some distinct differences between the Annapurna area and the Khumbu region.  There are more terraced hillsides, more wildlife, and fewer monasteries and prayer flags in Annapurna, and the area is more geared for tourism – the lodges are all great, but for me a little too comfortable with standardised menus and some with plastic chairs and even umbrellas.  I think it is a more popular trekking area and as a result has more home comforts on offer.  Maybe that’s a good thing for some, but personally I prefer the charm and relative remoteness of the Khumbu where life is slightly more authentic and you have to fit in to the environment, rather than the environment being tamed for your convenience. 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    It was a wonderful experience. Great cycling and a varied itinerary gave us a good feel for the place and its people. Vietnam is a luscious country, moving forward from the horrors of war to the magic of peace.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Hai Van Pass was exhilarating, as was cycling downhill from Dalat. Views were stunning, and every effort worthwhile. Swimming in the warm China Sea, kayaking in Halong Bay, watching peanut farmers harvesting their crop, crawling through the Chu Chi tunnels, were but a few of the interesting times we enjoyed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long, our leader, was first class. He was well informed, cheerful, easy going and had a great sense of humour. He seamlessly took us from Saigon to Hanoi, ensuring we were well fed and watered, and responding to our individual requests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and enjoy the experience!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was great, supportive and friendly. Whether you travel solo or with others, you'll probably find the fun and companionship adds an extra dimension to the holiday.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    SAHARA DESERT TREK

    full clear tunisian nights in Sahara  lively campfire berber/cringeworthy uk songs ie head shoulders knees and toes warms by people in group. Unleveaned bread sand everywhere,quite nights when outside djerba port/town,warm natural spring on last day before  going back to modern hotels airports ps tall snad dunes. 4 days in dunes, a trip across dhjerba ferry,4x4s stopoff at small cafes. wake at 7:30 set off for 4/5 hour trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having five days without city lights noise sitting round campfire plus impromtu dancing round fire with local guide(s),warm flat bread also saw way out back of beyond cafe's in said sahara,short camel ride. good food.basic bedoin tent seeing shooting stars warm natural oasis spring to cool off in. turbans seeing a old fort.sunset/sunrise with camel(s) in picture

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohhamed was friendlyhad no hassle from within the walking group knew right speed to go walking knew small amount of the Sahara but needs more book materials to gain futher knowledge and has good work ethic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn some lyrics to well know music and take basic /minimal amout of clothes to save packing and re packing holdall.take card games ie uno.playing cardstake a small gift to give after final to last day of trek Decide a fair overall tip to porters/chief guide/cook and hand to chief guidewhen at  start/end of hotel you will as usual get locals trying to get you into their shops/sell fakes/car rentals or get free beer for which in their country is mostly muslim and forbids to drink alcohol  only hotels/airports are licensced to sell alcohol to touristsSand will get everywhere.wolly hat/sun hatthermalssuncream spf20 or higher

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    just chill and enjoy good company both guides ans fellow travelers.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & WILDLIFE OF UGANDA

    This was a father and son holiday to celebrate a major birthday. I had a great time, Uganda, the wildlife and the scenery were stunning. The drivers/guides were excellent. However, the accomodation left quite a lot to be desired.  When I booked this trip it was a Premium trip and I had wanted the luxury of good lodges. I did know before I went that the trip had been downgraded, but had been told that most of it was still comfortable hotels. However, some of the alternative accomodation that was used was unsatisfactory and below an accepatble standard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the gorillas, followed by seeing the chimps, followed by two fantastic boat trips where we saw hippos by the hundreds, elephant by the dozen, numerous crocs, water buffalo, eagles, kingfishers, and on and on!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two local African driver/guides.  There was no Exodus leader.  This trip is very new.  I think we were the third trip.  The trip would certainly have benefited by an Exodus leader having undertaken the trip before it was sold to the public.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The activities are nearly all truly excellent.  However, some of the accomodation was a bit down market; 1* or 2*.  One was 3*.  So be prepared for some basic overnight stays. Take a good working headtorch!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it! A fantastic country and the Gorillas are worth the entire trip. But be prepared for some basic accomodation.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    Had a fantastic time . The people in our group plus the guides made the experience unforgettable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    there were so many if would be hard to pick out one

    What did you think of your group leader?

    he was brilliant as was his assistant and the yak man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    just enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    looking forward to the next one
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: DOBBIACO

    Lovely very comfortable hotel run by a family creating a friendly, home like atmosphere. Sarah and Rita are also   fun and helpful - making me (a single traveller) wanting to go back year after year. Great group company, endless trails, wonderful scenery and a five course evening meal to finish the day off. Just great!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer beauty of the Dre Cime and the Fichleintal and being the first to ski on freshly groomed trails.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Inspiring, motivational, fun and pitched everything exactly at the right level for each member of the group to progress them to their best. Such a lovely person all round.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go and try it!!! You can do it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Superb holiday all round - this was my third time and I would love to go again and again.
Call us on 0208 772 3936