Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A great experience.  An excellent itinerary, a great guide, a good group of co-travellers and a fascinating country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Either seeing a tiger in Ranthambore park or the trip to the Taj Mahal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  Everything was really well organised and our every need was taken care of.  Our guide was very experienced and his knowledge of the places we were visiting was great.  The little things that our guide did were able to turn what would have been a good trip into a great one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is quite fast paced which may not be to everyone's liking.  I would recommend taking sufficient warm clothing if you travel during the winter months.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you haven't been to India - just book yourself on this trip!
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL WINTER CLIMB

    This deserves the challenging rating The notes aren't correct you spend three nights at 3200m You ascend 1200m on the first ascent but don't lose 900m as the trip notes sayOther wise they are OK So it is a night in Marrakech, a night at arounf 2000m, 3 nights at 3200m, then in revers a night at 2000m and a night bak in Marrakech I normally do circular walks - however this works given the terrain - one way in one way outLocala told me it looks most beautiful at the end of June early July - well it looked stunning in winter and it was great winter walking  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing the ranges of mountains beyond - I don't know why but I though it was going to be desert - the region is far more mountainous than I had realised

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The team leader (Mohamed) the porters, cook, and abdullah (guide0 were all fantastic - wish i could have them on every trek!It is worth brushing up your french for when explanations in english don't quite work 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The kit bag is a single trip bag - most failed at one end if the big handle was used - the bag is not ergonomically designed - a ruck sack is better...That said I am going to use the kit bag t store old gear because its shapes means it uses space efficiently in storageUse exodus - they use local guides and leaders with an abundance of knowledge - I don't think a question went unanswered...Haggle in the souks - don't pay the first thing they ask for - if you wouldn't pay 50% of where they start walk away - your best haggling is unlikleyt to get you much better than 50%Don't eat in the square when they are warming up yesterday's left oversBeware that everyone that approaches you is likley to want money from you - its not your charm... 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the title is misleading - this is a winter ascent - not a winter climb - although there are opportunities to ice climb etc they are not part of the itinary - I know it may be sematics to some - but this is a winter trek with several good ascents - rather than a climb which to me means using arms as much as legs... Many people take trekking poles - a long handled ice axe (or two) would be better Take your own crampons - those you hire have seen better days.   Drink lots of water - it is the only way your body can get rid of the excess carbon dioxide - if your wee isn't like fine champagne then drink more water  
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    A brilliant trip which was well planned, Dahn was an excellent guide who knew the best places to eat, drink and shop.The trip was hectic and none stop but we crammed so much into two weeks I would not have changed anything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational, each day was as good as the next, bathing in the sea before lunch on the beach at Dai Lanh was brilliant as were the tunnels at Cui Chi, the Victoria Spa resort was like paradise after a hard day cycling and managing to cycle the whole of the Hai Van Pass was a blast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant he made the trip, he was funny and friendly with a great deal of knowledge, he had contacts in every city and we ate at some brilliant restaurants which he had arranged. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothes for Hanoi, dont overpack as you never get to unpack your case make sure you have plenty of clean cycling clothes, there are laundry days but you get very dirty from the roads.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was our first trip with Exodus I cant say enough about how brilliant this trip was, I find it hard to belive that any other trip could be better, Exodus have a lot to live up to.The only complaint is the flights back, I found it poor that half of the group had a much later flight from Hanoi to KL than we did, even though we were all catching the same flight into Heathrow, this resulted in us missing half a day in Hanoi and spending it in KL airport, not good, we then met up with the rest of the group who had spent the day enjoying Hanoi while we sat around at KL airport for 8 hours.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KONIG LUDWIG LAUF

    A good trip, but very expensive for what it is.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent group leader.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTICA, FALKLANDS & SOUTH GEORGIA

    A truly wonderful experience. It was a privilege to have had the opportunity to visit such an awe inspiring part of the world, and to have been made aware of the importance of keeping Antarctica and its wildlife in its present state for future generations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sounds and smell of a penguin colony.Visiting Shackleton's grave.Kayaking amongst the ice with seals and penguins alongside.Icebergs.The total lack of fear of humans shown by the wildlife.The clear air.Watching the albatrosses following the ship.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was a charismatic and dynamic leader. His daily roundups of the day's happenings and the next day's programme were inspiring and amusing. He was well supported by a team of knowledgable and enthusiastic expedition staff. The educational programme covered a wide variety of topics and was superbly delivered.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the trip of a lifetime. You will come back with a changed view of the world, having seen so many different landscapes, seen so much wildlife, met so many interesting folk from around the world (our trip had 15 different nationalities) and learnt so much through the educational programme.The ship (Sea Spirit) and its crew were excellent.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Wow! What an amazing holiday. Such a beautiful lush country, full of bright colours and friendly, smiling people. I loved every minute. It's definitely a very varied trip, with something for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The bike ride was a highlight, as it gave us a chance to get close to the locals. The train journey was great fun, the elephant ride was worth every penny but the most inspiring was seeing an elephant in the wild, not even in a park, just ambling across the road, it was very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was fantastic with "maximum tolerance"! He was very patient, helpful and knowledgeable, with a great sense of humour, which he needed, with 16 of us!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Missing a night's sleep to climb Adam's Peak was hard but well worth it. However, it's very cold at the top, so wear trousers and take a fleece... or two!Mosi repellant is definitely needed, especially by the coast.I think it's important to know that the Whale watching costs an extra £50.00. Perhaps a little pricey but I was glad went, I got to see humpback whales and dolphins.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was my first Exodus trip and will be recommending it to my friends. It was seamlessly organised and the hotels were phenomenal, well maybe not the first one, but they just kept getting better and better!. My favourite was Hotel Sigiriya with it's spectacular buffet. I feel very lucky to have shared my first holiday in 3 years, with such a lovely group of people!. 
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE KERALA & TROPICAL INDIA

    A trip which is impossible to summarise.  Ok - let's try - GREAT SUPER FABULOUS.  Two months since I embarked on it and I am still thinking fondly of my experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - Seeing three tigers in Bandipur- The descent from Ooty- The friendly, smiling & accommodating people; we here in the UK really could learn so much - The South Asian drivers - on the whole surprisingly respectful to the two wheeler- Kerala Backwaters- Varkala chill out over New Year post tour end.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Attentive, caring, courteous, GSOH, intelligent, flexible, informed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    One does require a good level of fitness to get the most out of this trip.  The climb up Ooty is, of course, character building and testicle breaks are obligatory even with the best cycle shorts.  There are other days too which say even on the flat are pretty full on due to the heat of the day very evident even in South Asia's winter and also, quite simply, the distances being covered.The application of sense on the roads is required but do not fear.  Cycle defensively, use your eyes to the max and above all watch out for pedestrians too who often just step into the road at will.  But also remiember, it is only for a minority of the time that highways are actually used. The accommodation is, on the whole, very good and I understand the first hotel I had the misfortune of staying at in Mysore with Exodus has now been changed due to consistently very bad reviews & experiences.If possible, as well as staying in Varkala at the end for a few extra days, perhaps also consider coming a day or two earlier to Mysore.  It is a lovely city to walk around in - how often can one say that about a large settlement in India?!  I can recommend the Hotel Metropole if you are prepared to pay a bit more.  Also you will be fresher for those early cycle days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have noted a few earlier entries and regret to read that some have experienced serious to less serious injuries.  I would kindly suggest that the combination of a two wheels, tigers, steep uphill gradients, elephants, cars, animals, very steep downhill gradients, king cobras, potholes and pedestrians may create some danger.  The notion that somebody can come on this kind of holiday in South Asia and not expect there to be an element of danger along with roads that do not match the French autoroute does baffle me.  India does not have an especially celebrated health & safety branch.I am also asthmatic.  It is surely obvious to ensure one has their medication to hand at all times and of course if the condition is severe then a mask may also assist.  It is India.  It is not Iceland.However, I do advise Exodus to reiterate some points again & again in its descriptions.  We live in a litigious world.Btw - the reference to king cobras, tigers and elephants are not likely to impact your trip.  More's the pity!
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: DOBBIACO

    This was the second year in a row for me in Dobbiaco, so I already knew what to expect. We set off for a different route each day, enjoyed varied terrain, weather and snow conditions. The routes were well planned, with cozy places to stop for refreshments, and spectacular scenery. Comfortable accommodation, friendly staff and delicious food at the Tschurstschenthaler Hotel, and a superb leader, Albert Callewaert. 
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO MUMBAI

    THIS WAS THE FIRST OF THIS TRIP. It was a pilot study which needs some small adjustments. Further time was needed at Jodphur. We also spent far too much time in an uncomfortable rickety bus even by Indian standards. I say this after experience of other Exodus trips in India. There were also too many organised shopping experiences. This group who loved shopping were saturated. The chance to eat at road side stops was good as the food was very cheap and well cooked. Generally an excellent trip but the choice of extending the tour of Rajastan to Gujurat needs rethinking where I believe that we misssed important cultural aspects such as the textiles. Both museums were closed in Ahmedabad on a Wednesday. This was shear bad planning. Meanwhiole friends tell me that we didn't see many important textile experiences elsewhere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be the tigers seen at Rantambore.salt marshes at the Ran of Kutch  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Generally he was really good with a positive attitude which inspired the rest of the group. We all got on well I think.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a cushion if you want to see wild life. It was -5 degrees in Agra so bring warm clothing as I wore my only fleece for over a week.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are still in India at Kochi in 33 degrees of heat so it really  is a land of contrasts
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KONIG LUDWIG LAUF

    As usual the logistics of getting from glasgow to Innbrnck over two days worked like a well oiled sewing machine and it was the same on the return the bonus was my ski luggage bag( 1 bag) went from glasgow straight through to Innsbruck and no charges. The holiday and the hotel was first class with a warm civilised ski room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For myself if there is a race it is the race day.I think Oberammergau is a great skiing area with a lot of easy flat loipe some hilly downs quite short with good run outs and nothing to difficult for most skiiers. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric and Heather are excellent always helpful and a good laugh.I am not sure if it was not for Eric wither there would be any race holidays. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plenty of thin layers and carry something to drink.I If you are carrying skis with a well know british air line make sure its a big bag that you can get ever thing into including  your boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would like to see more race holidays in the future.
Call us on 0208 772 3936