Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KERALA & TROPICAL INDIA

    Loved it, particularly the 2nd week once we'd entered Kerala, which was as beautiful as I'd imagined. Lots of early starts, and some long cycling days, but always with the support vehicle for anyone in need, and friendly 'hi's' from local children as we cycled passed, and a wonderful day on the house-boat and final day on the beach to round it all off.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. The ascent to Ooty. Not for the faint hearted - a 2 hour slog up hill but a great sense of achievement at the end. 2. The descent from Ooty - an amazing and beautiful downhill ride crossing over into Kerala.3. Sunset on the houseboat; early morning on the houseboat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group was led by 3 incredibly patient people - Vishnu, the main group leader; Safi - main bike man; and Shibu in the bus. They worked really hard behind the scenes to ensure we could relax as much as possible, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Putting away bikes each night, getting them out and loaded with new water bottles each morning, organising and running the kitty for meals and tips, and looking after us at our frequent coffee/tea stops en route.  They deserve particular thanks for the way they coped when, due to an unfortunate and serious accident one of our group had to be taken to hospital. Vishnu stayed with them at the hospital for a few days and Safi took on the role of group leader as well as main bike man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hotel at Ooty was freezing cold - take some warm clothes, ask for an electric heater for your room. Best options for your free afternoon in Ooty are the Botanical Gardens or the Rose Garden. If you are not sure about the trip to the Orphanage - do go. It is not at all voyeuristic and the children at the orphanage will be excited to see you, and at the end you can make a donation if you wish.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF TIBET

    This was an absolutely fabulous trip and lived up to all our expectations and leaves us with some amazing memories that will last a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everest ! seeing it for the first time was breath taking - having said that , every day had its high point whether it was sitting at base camp, taking in a view over the mountain range, a lake , a monastery or the potala palace there was never a dull moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Keshar was brilliant - great company and kept us well informed what to expect and how to prepar for the days adventure.  His local and wider knowledge added a great deal to our experience.He really looked after us, and dealt with our questions and queries quickly and sensitively and we hope to travel with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't just think about it - do it !  I'm sure you will be glad you did.  There are many schools of thought regarding medication especially for altitude sickness and all have valid view, but for me anyway,  I would say take something with you - that way you will be prepared should you need it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very very lucky with our group, we all seemed to get along so well - and it made the trip even more brilliant. We thought Exodus were great and would certainly book with them again.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    Can see why people fall in love with Africa and never want to leave. First time in Africa and did the trip from Kenya to Rwanda. Always something new to see along the way. Okay, at times there were long periods on the bus travelling from area to area but you can let the landscapes and people entertain and amaze you along the way. Be prepared to wave a lot. Safaris, early morning ballon trip over the Masai Mara, white water rafting down the Nile and gorillas. Magic!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the early morning ballon trip over the Masai Mara (you must do this). Taking off at sunrise. Looking out over the plains with giraffes, elephants, hyena, zebra etc. Landing and breakfasting amongst wildebeest and zebra. Then safari through empty park. The gorilla trip was incredible. A bit of a trek through the jungle and then your with the gorilla troupe. Our guide Francois was brillant. His prep talk about the gorillas was hilarious especially about their 'jiggy jiggy' sex life. He taught us gorilla language. I couldn't believe how close we were to the gorillas. They didn't seem to mind our presence. They were gentle but you could sense their strength. You are only allowed an hour with the gorillas but it was an hour you will always treasure. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Ameous (hope that's right), who was great. He was always on hand to help and answer any questions no matter how ludicrous. On occasion he had to think on his feet as situations arose but was very adept at handling and smoothing things over. His colleagues Francois (assistant) and Leo (cook) were both fantastic as well. Francois's handling of the tricky road conditions at times was brillant. Leo's cooking was exemplary and kept us all well fed with great meals. They all worked together as a great team. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If possible get in the showers early. Be prepared for Lake Mbaru! Avoid the tourist traps at the first stop at the Rift Vally in Kenya. Better buying souvenirs from the Masai. Be prepared to haggle within reason. Do the ballon trip. Visit the orphange at Lake Buyonyi. Didn't go to Jinga other than quick stop for cash but told it was a great place for a walkaround. Very laid back. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hope you have a wonderful time as I did. As I've said above it's a magical place. So much to do and see. The Exodus crew were fantastic. Highlight was the gorillas. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KENYA & TANZANIA ADVENTURE

    A well balanced trip with an exhausting start (driving, tent) but with absolutely fabulous game viewing and topped of with 4 relaxing days in Zanzibar.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The game drives definately were the highlight of the trip. Our group was fortunate enough to catch a glimpse of the elusive Caracal which even our group leader had not seen since some 10 years. There was surely no lack of other predators either, including a pack of lions feeding on a zebra - be honest - that's really why you go on safari, not ?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sympathetic and very knowledgeable on the area and wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not a 'total relaxation' vacation. Certainly the long drives, building up, taking dow and the sleeping in the tents in the first part of the trip are quite exhausting. Although I should admit that I had never slept on a travel mattrass in a tent before so I was a real novice explorer and I may have underestimated that part. ;-) The beautiful landscaptes you are passing trough and all the game viewing totally make it worth it though, and the trip is topped by 4 really relaxing days in Zanzibar to get you back on your feet. So this brings back some balance to the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Oh, you should definately buy enough beers/drinks for the nights you are spending in the serengeti/crater. It gets dark really early there and there is no bar, so unless you want to hit the sack at 8.30pm you shoud stock up.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    I booked this trip as I would be celebrating a special birthday whilst away. I wanted to go somewhere that I would always remember. I can honestly say that this trip did not disappoint, it far exceeded any expectations. Oulanka National Park was one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited and in the snow it was truly magical. I enjoyed every moment I was there. The trip was well organised and the staff were brilliant. I would highly recommend a visit to Oulanka in the winter or summer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snowshoeing to Castle Rocks on my birthday. Just amazing and unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, enthusiastic and obviously loved the environment in which he was lucky enough to work and wanted to share that with the people visiting. The perfect host.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the time to go out and explore on your own and experience the quiet forests.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL WINTER CLIMB

    A great trip that was made all the better by picture perfect weather and good company. Reasonably challenging walking in some of the best scenary on the planet. Marrakech is an amazing starting and ending place for the trip - initially somewhere I thought would just be a place to pass through but it is a fanastic city full of culture. Well worth exploring - especially if you enjoy shopping.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Toubkal was inspiring but Jebel Ouanakrim was as rewarding and more of an enjoyable climb if not a few metres lower.Standing on a summit is always a highlight of this type of trip and the trip included two summits which both posed different challenges.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two Mohameds worked very well together - utlising their different skills. We were made to feel very welcome by all of the team and despite Mo2's limited english, he joined in with card games, evening activities and took us to dinner on the final night - a real character. Mo1 was brilliant, keeping everyone together and recognising that we all had our better and worse times on the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip in the winter! Such magical surroundings whilst the whole area is covered in snow. Don't worry if you have no previous experience of using crampons or ice axe - there is plenty of opportunity to get used to them and by the end of the trip it feels strange walking about without crampons!The refuge is very basic and standards of hygiene are not great in the bathroom areas. This is fine as long as you are expecting it - read the reviews and the trip notes as they do mention this. Hot water is available at times but is very limited. Shower when you can!Take chocolate - thanks to the rest of the group who all came really prepared with lots of great quality chocolate to share. This was really great each day when we stopped - especially at the summits.Alcohol is really hard to come by in Marrakech and generally very expensive. A little research can find places to get a drink but don't expect restaurants to have alcohol readily available - especially near the main square.Take gaiters - although they are only optional on the trip notes - you will be walking in deep snow so invaluable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The fitter you are the more enjoyable any trip like this is. This trip is rated as Tough purely because you are in crampons and ice axes are used every day. This seems a high rating for this trip compared with other trips.Fantastic value for money and extremely well organised. One very slight niggle - we didn't have a welcome meeting until 30 minutes before leaving for the mountains on day 2 - we all felt we would have preferred a welcome meeting/briefing on the evening of day 1 so that we still had the morning of day 2 to get any additional supplies and also spend a bit of time getting to know each other after meeting formerly.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NEPAL

    Wow, booked this trip on a whim and what a wonderful whim it was.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    6am woken by a Sherpa knocking at the door.  "Come see the sunrise over annapurna II".  Stagger out of bed, grab camera, open door..........  There are some places and moments in the world that make you feel small and insignificant, this was one of them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chandra was amazing.  I've never seen anyone smile so much!  He loved his country, it's people and all the quirks that go with travelling in Nepal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a go with the flow kind of a trip, accept that and you'll fall in love with the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Beware the public toilets are shocking.  Alcohol gel is a must.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    great trip - superb organisation and just the right mix of trekking, sightseeing, relaxing and shopping!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    can't decide between the breathtaking views over the Atlas mountains, chilling out with the group in the comfort & sunshine on the balcony after a hard mornings trekking, the joy of making it back after the super-long trek to the lake or seeing all the souks and sights of Marrakesh.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yahia was great. helpful, punctual, considerate of the slower walkers, and a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    take some water purifictaion tablets so you can refill your bottles, take really comfy walking shoes as you're in them a long time!, bring some warm clothes if you're there at Easter as the nights get chilly, and don't forget your waterproof!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! you won't regret it. It's a great trip - amazing photo opportunities, lovely people and wonderful and friendly hostel in the mountains with great food!! :)
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGH PASSES OF EVEREST

    An absolutely stunning trek with stunning views, great leaders and a good group of people. The only letdown was the quality of the lodges.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Gorki Ri + Kala Patar - absolutely takes the breath away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb  - always very helpful, good knowledge and always cheerful . I couldnt fault him at all and would thoroughly recommend him + his guides

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it - the views are life changing. take lots of warm clothing

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the biggest letdown was the quality of the lodges - I was expecting basic, but some were beyond even basic and the variety  + quality of food was more basic than I expected, but this wouldnt deter me at all and I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone  -SUPERB!!!!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL, TITICACA & NAZCA

    An absolutely fabntastic holiday, well planned and our guide just made this so enjoyable. I've never been on a holiday where I got to see so much - I enjoyed every minute of it and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to go and explore Peru.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment for myself was walking through the sun gates at the end of the Inca Trail and the first moment I saw Machu Picchu. Its been a life long dream to see it and after four days of hiking along the trail, it was so worth it to see it for real. It definitely did not disappoint and I've never smiled so much in all my life - a truely fantastic moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was superb - he really made the trip. He was so caring and was constantly asking if we was ok or needed anything. he was really passionate about the history of Peru and gave us so much information and made it a really enjoyable trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The altitude is probably the biggest thing to overcome. Drink lots of water and cocoa tea and remember to take it easy for the first 1-2 days. There's no rush to see everything and you will appreciate aclimatising first down the line.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a once in a lifetime trip for me and I have lots of very good memories as well as photos to remember it by.
Call us on 0208 772 3936