Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    wide range of interesting activities , made a lot of fun by an excellent group

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    several - I hadn't known I would be abseiling down a 50m sheer cliff beforehand! Kayaking was absolutely beautiful , challenge of 1st scuba dive on another day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    good sense of humour , got lost once during the bike ride (we all met up later) and the canyoneering was slow , but safety must come 1st

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    we were the oldest in the group (50s) but were  able to keep up & thoroughly enjoyed itTurkey was a pleasure - had a different feel to standard europe , people very friendly , beautiful scenery , interesting food

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    have a go!
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP & GOKYO LAKES

    This was a brilliant trip and offers a more interesting walk than just going up to Everest Base Camp and back the same way. You walk round in a loop so each day is different and the view from Gokyo Ri is not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was brilliant to complete the whole trip - Gokyo Ri, Cho La Pass, Everest Base Camp and Kala Pattar. Seeing Everest for the first time was amazing and then seeing it up close from Kala Pattar was a real highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nothing was too much trouble for Pasang. He was a brilliant leader and was seriously tested on our trip. Due to bad weather in Lukla he had been stuck there for 5 days with a school party. Shortly after they left our group arrived. We were also 2 days late because of the weather but Pasang changed our whole intinerary and fit a 15 trek into 13 days. He got all of our group all the way round the trip and made us laugh along the way. I couldn't have asked for a better person to lead our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You are very likely to come down with a cold and cough so make sure you have cold and flu medication and lots of strepsiles and throat sweets. The tea houses all have thick blankets and duvets so a good synthetic sleeping bag is fine ( a down bag is not essential). I down jacket did come in handy in the evenings and on several of the days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a fantastic trip but it was hard work. I would recommend this trip to anyone but you need to have a strong desire to do the trip yourself. It is hard work and some of the days are very long so you need determination to do the trip but the rewards are worth every penny and every step. Exodus were fantastic as well. We were delayed by 2 days because of bad weather in Lukla but Exodus kept us up to date all of the time and did all of the negotiating at the airport and ensured we got to Lukla on the first day the flights were going again. Exodus are clearly well connected in the area and all of the tea houses they use are a good standard.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    A diverse tour that took me to cities, mountains and villages, highlighting the wide range of Moroccan culture from sheep and goat herders, Berber people and progressive city life - something that would have taken a month to do on one's own.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Berber Villiage in the High Atlas. The Gite we stayed in was the most sparse accommodation of the trip, with mattresses on the floor and communal bathroom/showers, but with warm Berber blankets and good food. Hot porridge in the morning, a fabulous pasta and salad for lunch, and delicious tajines for dinner. Our visit to a Berber home for strong, spicy Berber coffee and sponge cake was an experience that doesn't come around often, if at all. I felt honoured to be invited into this home. Our guide Mustapha provided all the details on how people live in the High Atlas whether we were relaxing together, eating or walking through the village and the surrounding area.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mustapha was friendly, caring, genuine, and kind. He is proud of his Berber heritage and was happy to explain it all to us as the two week trip unfolded. His patience was exemplary as it's tough juggling 14 people's tastes and wishes. When I mentioned to him it was sort of like herding cats, he just smiled as if it was no trouble at all. He went out of his way numerous times to make sure we were comfortable with our questions answered, sometimes over and over again. He even came back to visit my partner and I in Marrakech after we had been travelling on our own for a week. He had previously helped us book our last night of accommodation in a Riad off the Jemaa el Fenad, which made me feel much better that I knew where we were staying on our last night in Morocco. You have a first rate guide in Mustapha and I hope he has an opportunity to travel himself, perhaps on a complimentary Exodus tour! He deserves it. I consider him a friend and hope to stay in contact.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm clothing for the High Atlas and don't forget your sleeping bag. Sunscreen is more important than you think, even if you're travelling during the cooler months. As a Canadian I was introduced to the Moroccon sun  - real sun that can burn (but only slightly because fortunately I had 30 SPF on - another traveller wasn't so lucky) regardless of the temperature outside.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Now that I'm back home, I can honestly tell my friends that I really got a chance to see Morocco. This was my first tour ever, and I found Exodus to be the right mix of both easy and rough and ready travel. I liked the pace of the two weeks, relaxing into a routine of rising early for breakfast, ready to hit the road by 8am, a few sites along the way, at our next destination by late afternoon and dinner around 7pm or so.I have learned that tours bring people from all over the world together to learn about cultures often far different than our own. It opens our minds, sets our prejudices aside, and allows us to learn that people everywhere are more alike than we often realize.   Thank you for allowing me to find my mode of travel!
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER THAILAND, LAOS & CAMBODIA

    This was a well planned trip giving a taste of Thailand more of Laos and Cambodia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to choose one thing, meandering along the Mekong was pretty stunning and visitng the villages a reall insight.Cambodia and its recent history was upsetting but I am glad I have visit this area, the people are so friendly and willing to talk, it was really noticible the no family came through that time untouched... the killing fields took my breath away. The delights of Ankor Wat was stunning. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One of the down sides of visitng 3 countries we changed guides frequently. Pan in Laos deservise a special mention as he had excellent knowlwdge and great sense of fun and was very attentive to his guests needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take small denomination bills!Be prepared to buy from the villages. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very enjoyable trip
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH AFRICAN WALKING SAFARI

    A wonderful holiday which really explores the east side of South Africa. Wonderful walks, great game viewing! Could not ask for more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being 3000m high in the Drakensberg with wonderful views and a sense of achievement getting up the ladder!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader - Bongani - was great. Very organised and a good cook! Quite quiet though so did not learn that much specifically about S Africa as a country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure your plug adaptor covers S Africa as a lot in our group didn't and note that there are two guides on the trip with you all the time so when it coming to tipping them - that is twice as much.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Camping is the best way of feeling right in there with the animals! Great great fun. travelled on my own and felt perfectly safe and well looked after.  
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    An excellent trek but very tough, especially on day2 ( Dead Womans Pass). Be prepared  for bad weather!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Sun Gate - Intipunko and looking down at Machu Picchu

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very helpful and inspirational with first rate knowledge of all matters IncaHowever no provisions for emergencies. With only two guides available when one had to return to base because of someone falling ill there was very little provision for a back marker, and for long periods because of my slow pace i was on my own! More porters need to be trained to take over as guide no2 in the event of this happening. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Grading not as advertised in trip notes. This is an extremely tough and challenging trek and should be rated severe - NOT moderate! and should not be undertaken lightly. Requires a high level of personal fitness and stamina. That said it is an extremely rewarding trek.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would like to see Exodus bring trip notes up to date ref:Airport transfers £20 NOT £10Lima City tours £60 NOT £30

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent holiday. I'm glad you enjoyed the trek and felt justifiably rewarded when you made it to the Sun Gate for that first view of Machu Picchu - it certainly is a high point after 3.5 days of walking!

    We provide two guides if there are more than 8 people in the trekking party, and if one guide has to accompany an unwell client back to a medical post the porters are instructed to ensure that one of them is always following the last person in the group so that safety is not compromised. We also encourage our tour leaders to keep the group together as much as possible in this situation, although this can be difficult if the group members have vastly different walking speeds. Unfortunately, Peruvian guide licensing restrictions are such that guides must complete university in order to be legally registered - the expense of this arrangement, combined with the fact that many porters have not completed formal schooling makes this impractical.

    I'm sorry you felt the trek was tough and should be rated higher - our ratings are based on several factors, including the amount of ascent and descent during the day, the number of hours you spend walking each day, the distance, and the number of days spent trekking. I feel that based on all these factors our "moderate" grading is fair, and it is certainly in line with similar treks which we offer, although I understand that the effects of altitude may make it more difficult. Although I would not recommend the Inca Trail to anyone with no previous experience of walking, I believe that is within the capabilities of anyone of reasonable fitness and does not require special training prior to starting the trek.

    With regard to the additional costs, the price of transfers in the trip notes refers to the cost these services in Cuzco, where the trip starts. Since you flew from a regional airport, it was necessary for you to spend a night in Lima, where higher transfer prices apply. As stated in the notes, the cost of the city tour is approximate, and will vary depending on how many people take the excursion - if just one person is taking the tour, as in your case, the costs will unfortunately be higher, whereas if more people take the tour the price will fall.

    I'm sorry that you felt these aspects of the trip didn't live up to your expectations, or if you felt that the trip notes were misleading, but hope this hasn't put you off travelling with Exodus in the future. Thanks again for your feedback on the trip.

    Tim - Product Manager for Peru

  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    A whirlwind of diverse activities/accommodations/experiences that in 2 short weeks encapsulated a true and deep Moroccan experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Living in a High Atlas mountain gite in a Berber village and touching all-too-briefly on the simple, hospitable, authentic and friendly Berber lifestyle -- simply unforgettable. A close second was briefly experiencing the nomadic Berber lifestyle with camel riding and a night in the desert.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Mustapha is an authentic Berber man and the perfect guide to the real Morocco. He was funny, social, knowledgeable, warm and caring, with endless energy in dealing with a diverse group of travelers and their needs. He took the time to help people individually when needed, and was clearly loved and respected by the many Moroccans who crossed our path. Kudos to Exodus for providing a leader who was the "real deal" for this quintessential Moroccan odyssey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't show too much interest in merchandise in the Fes medina, unless you're clear in your own mind on buying, especially in the leather area. Though the Fes medina is obviously a must-see, these merchants can be somewhat ruthless in their sales approach. I needed help from Mustapha to extricate myself from a leather jacket deal that most merchants would have realized I had no intention of completing. Don't expect too much from the much-vaunted Jemma-el-fna square in Marrakech. Though tourists/travelers pay most of the freight in Marrakech's economy, this square is completely aimed at Moroccans. My anticipation of hearing some authentic Moroccan stories that I could understand was misplaced and, though I take personal blame for this, it nonetheless was disappointing that this important aspect of Moroccan life was inaccessible here. On the plus side, pay no attention to the hype about hawkers here being rapacious. And do purchase some dirt-cheap ginger tea (ask for a little eucalyptus to be added too) here; makes a nice change from the excellent Berber whiskey (aka mint tea).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have 2 weeks to devote to Morocco, this is the tour for you. Though I tend to shy away from tours generally, I came to realize that to accomplish the same on my own would have taken twice as long and involved significantly more hassle, and likely cost too. And I was pleasantly surprised at the depth of travel experience, much of it pretty rough-and-ready, among the tour participants. I will certainly consult Exodus before taking my next 3rd world trip.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGH PASSES OF EVEREST

    It was a tough trip but worth it for the spectacular views, the extraordinary variety in the landscape and constant sense of adventure. I thoroughly enjoyed the hiking every day and the guides looked after us well, making sure we all completed the circuit and were allowed to go at whatever pace suited us. 18 days of point-to-point trekking is hard, especially in November when the nights and mornings are freezing and it's hard to get out of the sleeping bag and pack up the kit bag yet again. We had lovely sunny days though and it was always worth it when we got going.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the tops of the passes and from Gokyo Ri. Reaching Everest Base Camp was a great moment too. To come back to Namche on the way down and look back at the epic journey we'd completed was very satisfying indeed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jangbu was lovely, supportive and inspiring. He was helpful and informative and made every effort to ensure that we all enjoyed the trek and were safe at all times. He and our other guide, Benpa, looked after us as a group and individually. I couldn't have asked for more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can get boring having the same food every day (the teahouse menus are all pretty much the same) so you might want to take some snacks. Take a really warm sleeping bag. If you don't have a good one, hire an Exodus sleeping bag as it can be freezing at night. Ditto for down jacket. The lighting in the teahouse dining rooms is usually quite low so take a good head torch and spare batteries if you want to read in the evenings. A good supply of wet wipes and hand gel will keep you as clean as you're going to get.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't wait to go back there.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    A superbly organised, breathtaking experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing hundreds of humming birds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Despite having done this trip some 120 times before, his enthusiasm and passion for his country, it's history and it's flora and fauna were truly inspirational.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some Imodium - most travellers got upset stomachs at some point on the trip!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If this trip is not on your to-do list it should be!!!
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS: IN DARWIN'S FOOTSTEPS

    This trip gets to the real heart of the Galapagos and is awesome if you enjoy wildlife (mammals reptiles and birds), diverse environment, snorkelling and trekking.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkelling off kicker rock, swimming with sealions and turtles, seeing all the tortoises, penguins, rays, iguanas close up and hammerhead sharks were superb but I think the frigate birds males dispalying on their nests took the prime position.  The trek was totally different and felt very pioneering, especially sleeping next to a live volcano!  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Pablo was superb from all aspects.  He was knowledgeable and passionate about his country, able to communicate effectively but not overload us.  Pablo ensured we got the most out of our trip and really cared about us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is not for the fainthearted.  It is great value for money as there are many early starts, you need to be flexible and accept that if you are in the only hotel on a small island it will not be 5* accommodation but 5* experience and views.  The food was very healthy withh locally sourced seafood, steak and chicken along with loads of fruit.  There are long and fast speedboat trips between islands, up to 3hrs but you get used to them as there is no other option because there are no airports on some islands. If you go before December you really need a full wetsuit and they are pretty cheap from Osprey as hiring did not seem to be simple.  Keep some space for Inca type gifts from the markets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only downside was the Iberia Airlines which were not too bad on the way out with a direct flight from Madrid although the headphones did not work on a lot of peoples sets and the system kept breaking down. On the way back the flight was changed to an indirect flight via Guayaquil which is the opposite direction, we then had to get off the aircraft for an hour, the plane was then delayed for an hour. On the final leg from Madrid to Heathrow there was no seating plan (even though our tickets said we had seats) and we had to get on early to get our seats (although we only found that out as we boarded), the only food and drink available one had to pay for.  Do not fly Iberia they have been taken over by BA.
Call us on 0208 772 3936