Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Fantastic Off Road trip. Really varied terrain. Some big climbs but lots more super fast descents. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the optional single track. Also cycling through the palmeries was a real highlight; I couldn't help feel that i was cycling through paradise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was first class. She knows the routes and the country like the back of her hand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take a small pump with you if you have one. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    What a trip. Go and enjoy the amazing downhill.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - SERBIA

    An almost tourist-free land. A fantastic ride through flat farmlands and up into the Djerdop Gorge for fabulous views over the Danube.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people were so welcoming and friendly, I couldn't have asked for better hosts at the local guesthouse. The food was fabulous, all the fresh fish you could ask for locally caught from the Danube. A highlight for me was the self-sufficient farm where we had an amazing lunch followed by wallowing under a walnut tree on hay bales soaking up the late afternoon rays. Not just your average cycling holiday, Serbia has such a rich and fascinating history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader and driver were unrivalled in their knowledge of Serbian history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sun tan cream, it can get very hot! But don't worry the driver is always on hand with plenty of water supplies!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this trip for all types of cyclists. The flat roads means that even Sunday cyclists (like me!) can cope with the days riding.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    GET INVOLVED: ZAMBIA VOLUNTEER

    Absolutely unbelievable experience, the warmth and hospitality from the locals who have nothing is staggering and puts our lives in the UK into perspective.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the trip was the enthusiasm and warmth of the local people, they truly want to help themselves, they just need to be shown what to do and they get on and do it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy is fantastic, his dedication and hard work is obvious to all, however I do question his taste of peanut butter and bacon together for breakfast.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and be prepared to help, you can choose what you want to do and the amount of work to do, whatever you do whether it is teaching the young children or digging ditches the feedback and warmth and gratitude from the locals will have you in tears - vowing to return. Please take as many toys , sports equipment and old clothes that you can cram into your cases - I guarantee they will be almost empty on your return to the UK.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Kasalu village is approximately 30 Km from the capital city Lusaka. Lusaka is like any western city with petrol stations, traffic lights and supermarkets etc. However in Kasalu they have no electricity, no running water and no cars, with bicycles being the only means of transport.  I would defy anyone who goes on this trip not to be emotionally moved and inspired by the villagers of Kasalu, making a second trip a certainty. We have achieved so much in the last couple of years it is impossible not to go back and see what else has happened in our absence.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    COLOURS OF RAJASTHAN, INDIA

    A whistle stop tour of the main highlights of Northern India on this very crammed itinerary. You see lots, but you also see alot of the inside of a coach!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Tigers in Ranthambore, the Taj Mahal at dawn and seeing it change colour, dinner in Udaipur overlooking the lake  and city palace.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Got us safely round, and took care of everything. A bit of a lack of understanding as to what appeals to his clients but nothing serious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are lots of India trips out there so think carefully about which one you book. This in my opinion is a full 14 day trip condensed down. There is no time for relaxing, casual shopping or sitting in a cafe and watching the world go by. You go as a group everywhere and everything is pre-arranged. The group had a (minor) mutiny twice and slipped the leash to go out to dinner in Udaipur (as opposed to stay in the hotel for dinner) and to hit the bazaars in Jaipur for some shopping. It's hard to be too down on this trip as you see and experience some amazing things but just book it with your eyes open. If you are well travelled or have been travelling on your own you may just go a little stir crazy in such an controlled environment.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP & GOKYO LAKES

    I throughly enjoyed the trek, it was the experience of a lifetime. So many memories I will never forget. The expertise of the Exodus guides was certainly an integral part of the enjoyment of my trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The summit of Goyko Ri, with the exceptional panaromic views of the mountain. This was a particularly challenging walk as it snowed the day before our hike up to the top. But this made it all the more beautiful and rewarding as we slipped at slide all the way down!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhakpa Tenzing Sherpa was an excellant leader. He made everyone feel safe, well fed and looked after. He made the trek extra special for us by letting us meet members of his family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To hire kit in Nepal from Shona's Trekking gear, as its very reasonably priced and good quality equipment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The price of the trek is quite expensive. I was pleased that we had the choice of food and could budget for our own food, but I felt the price of the whole trip should have reflected the fact that accomdation is very reasonably priced and no equipment was provided by exodus (such as crampons!).
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    A very enjoyable trip which was well organised and provided a great opportunity to experience much of what Jordan has to offer in a short space of time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was so much that I really enjoyed about this trip that it is hard to think of one moment.... The best thing about this trip was that you get to experience so much in just over one week. There is the cycling, a bit of culture and history, hiking in Petra, the camp in Wadi Rum, floating in the Dead Sea, snorkelling in the Red Sea, experiencing a Turkish bath..... a really good trip if you want to see as much of Jordan as possible and only have a week to spare.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Zuhair, was very enthusiastic, knowledgable and full of weird and wonderful stories. He also provided much entertainment showing off his Arabic dance moves at lunch stops. Very good fun but also took his job seriously at the same time, ie if there was a problem he would do his best to solve it for you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There was not as much cycling as I had expected, ie. there were four days where you only cycle for a couple of hours (and the cycling is pretty easy with just a couple of hills) and only one 'proper' day's cycling.    There are a few climbs and one fairly steep descent on a rough road, but nothing that would challenge an experienced cyclist.   This was not a massive problem for me personally as my motivation for booking this trip was to explore Jordan and the cycling was more of an added bonus, and there are plenty of other activities as well as the cycling.  However anyone who's priority is to do lots of cycling might be a bit disappointed - for example in Petra you spend much more time hiking than cycling.  If you are going as a couple make sure you specify if you want double beds - the couples in our group only got a double bed for one of the eight nights and twin beds the rest of the time.  It is cold in November, take lots of layers and definitely take a sleeping bag for the Wadi Rum camp. Take a torch as well!  
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST TRAILS

    A fantastic trek in a great country. The mountains are breathtaking and the scenery is amazing. The people of Nepal are so friendly. Khatmandu is an experience. Can't wait to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The awe inspiring Himalaya. The Sherpa people's way of life. Not seeing any cars for 8 days, bliss. Our oldest group member Les Weis, hope i'm still trekking at 80.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prasant was brilliant. He took care of us like we were his children. He always made sure we were all ok, from organising our meal orders to strapping up a group members twisted ankle. We returned to our lodge after our end of trek night out at the Irish bar in Lukla, to find Prasant pacing the hall ways worrying that everone would not get in on time before the doors were locked, bless him. His knowledge of the area is very good. On our last night in Khatmandu at the Rum Doodle he had everyone dancing. Prasant and his team were a joy to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all kinds of weather you never know what it will do. It was a lot warmer at the beginning of October than we expected.Take ear plugs, the walls in the lodges are very thin. For those of you who pick up a cold, tissues and strepsils are sold in all the little shops on trek.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't worry if your veggie, there's plenty of choice on the menus. I had something different most nights.The western loo is becoming more easy to find, we had one in every lodge we stayed in.  
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Having not done a holiday like this before I didn't know what to expect but it surpassed all my expectations, every day brought the most amazing experiences or stunning landscape - it was truly spectacular!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are way too many to name just one inspirational moment - standing on top of Sigiriya Rock, watching and feeding the elephants at the elephant orphanage, The World's End at Horton Planes, the train ride to Banadarawela, the stunning tea plantation landscape and the wonders of Yala National Park name just a few of the amazing moments we experienced on this fantastic holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was excellent, organised, easy going, knowledgeable and friendly - the perfect tour leader and a leader that got no end of compliments from the seasoned group travellers from within the group!  An excellent tour leader who helped make the holiday what it was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good walking shoes, plenty of shorts for the walking portions of the holidays (though for the temples you need to cover your shoulders and your knees).  Ladies you may want to take a dress and chaps may want to pop a jacket into the mix for one of the evening meals (I'm not sure that the accommodation is the same all of the time but you may just need it). Take plenty of deet bug spray and lots of memory cards for your cameras.  Beware of local animals - especially at the hotel on the South Coast - don't leave items un attended on sun beds or put put items of clothing out to dry on the ground floor terraces as you may find the animals take a liking to them and you won't see them again (I lost my walking shoes!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an absolutely stunningly, amazingly, spectacular trip and has totally given me the travel bug.  I can't wait to head off again and see more of the world.  The island of Sri Lanka is beautiful in every way, the group I travelled with and the tour leader made every moment special, the food and the accommodation were great.  Once you arrive you'll not want to leave.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE SILK ROAD

    Exciting trip, enjoyed the rail and bus travel, with the local people, through spectacular scenery, the desert cities, especially Kashgar, where there is a terrific buzz. Would have liked more time in Kashgar, actually.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional trip, which I suggested, along the Karakoram Highway, to Lake Karakul. To see the lake and the snow-covered mountains was like a dream come true. Of the planned trip, the Crescent Lake in Dunhuang was wonderful, as were the sand-dunes. The animal market in Kashgar..... the wall at Jaiyuguan, with the snow-covered mountains in the distance....making contact with local people, especially in Xinjiang...saying "Salaam aleikum"....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were very knowledgeable, and really wanted us to have a great trip in their country. However,  it was a difficult group to lead, as there were tensions between some group members, which was obviously hard for the leaders to deal with.The leader we met, for the final evening, when we arrived back in Beijing, should have been given a lot more information about us and our flights, times, transfers, terminals etc. He knew absolutely nothing, and this led to some real anxieties and more tension! It was really quite shambolic! Although all ended well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO FOR IT! Bring your own mug, teabags, coffee for train journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would do the whole thing again tomorrow! But with a harmonious group! Some people, however, were disappointed that they could not visit Tienanmen Square, as it was closed for a bike-race. The leader should have  known this , and made alternative arrangements for this visit. Some of the optional tours we found too expensive. For example, a visit to the Beijing Opera for the two of us, almost £60, was excessive, as was the visit to a village, with lunch, which set us back £50. We felt that the optional day-time trips were very good, but  should have been included in the itinerary. And why were all the toilets at the yurt camp at Heavenly Lake, locked??
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    First time travelling with Exodus....certainly will not be the last!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being woken up at 4.45am one morning in the cold with a cup of tea from the porters.  We were above the clouds and got up to watch the sunrise over snow capped mountains with a blanket of cloud below us.  Dont see that every day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not have asked for a better guide.  Juan Manuel Diaz was lively, funny and chock full of information both local and about Inca civilization. There was nothing we asked he did not have an answer for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was the first time I have been camping.  Personally did not get on with a 'mummy' sleeping bag, friends insist on them but I found it claustrophobic and cramped.  Other than that had a whale of a time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trek, had a great group with 9 other trekkers, 2 of them were friends that travelled with me but by the end of it we were all friends anyway.  The sight of Maccu Picchu when we walked through the sungate was astounding, after a 4 day trek we had made it!!  Also we were very lucky with the weather, I think we had only about 2 hours of rain in total.
Call us on 0208 772 3936