Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    One of the best Exodus trips I've been on and I've been on quite a few; a fantastic welcoming country, with great scenery and tasty food, and the itinerary was exceptional. Not a trip if you want a lazy holiday !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thing that most inspired me and restored my faith in `humanity` was the welcome from the people, especially the children who waved and shouted hello wherever we rode. The riders in the Tour de France couldn't have had a better reception.The opportunities to undertake other activities was better than expected, and included snorkelling, parascending, kayaking, as well as a cookery lesson. And the overnight cruise in Halong Bay was superb.And the cycling wasn't bad either, with one awesome and some moresome descent of 30 kilometers !Mind you, it did get pretty hot as well; and when it rains, you know it, but carry on cycling anyway 'cos you'll soon dry out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi Nguyen, was very hard working; always available to help or translate, well organised and a dry sense of humour.  Both himself  and his team couldn't be faulted.Apparently he is very good at kareoke as well, but that's just his opinion!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it, and enjoy !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't wait too long to go to Vietnam, as it could soon get too westernised and lose some of it's beautiful charm.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    A great trip for those who like to stretch their muscles amid stunning backdrops. The walks varied in length and steepness, but were very achievable with a good starting level of fitness. Lots of fun being in a group, with constant chatter and altitude-induced fits of giggles!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Toubkal was an obvious highlight - the steady trip up, the views from the top, and the scree running on the way back down. The mountains were beautiful, and the sunsets and stars also spectacular. We also had some great meals cooked for us on the road, and exploring the local food stalls on the last afternoon in Marrakesh gave us some unusual culinary experiences!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed was an excellent leader - patient, friendly and organised. He kept the group together well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for dorms, early starts and the occasional tepid shower... but when approached with the right spirit, it all adds to the experience. Also - buy proper walking socks. They're the best!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    Fantastic location deep in the bush. The camp is unfenced so we had the wildlife 24/7 and as this is a photographic safari you can stay with the animals, if they are doing something interesting - you're not racing from beast to beast with a tick list!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last morning we found a cheetah beneath a thorn bush with two week-old cubs. To watch them and then to see her stalk off a howling jackall was a real taste of 'wild Africa'

    What did you think of your group leader?

    So entertaining and yet brilliant at helping us to take good photos. Anyone who has been on a holiday with Paul Goldstein will know exactly what I mean!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack sun block,insect repellant, plenty of memory cards and batteries plus anything you could take to boost your energy levels!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly recommend this trip...it was worth every penny
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    A TASTE OF CUBA

    Very good programm, the guide was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    visit with the catamaran to an island

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit to Varadero even only for lunch on the return
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    SICILIAN VOLCANOES

    What a trip with fantastic scenery, great food. Well organised and walking was at a fair pace for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the explosions from Stromboli in the dark, and free-falling down Etna - never experienced anything like it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Second to none - a local guide who was extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE TATRAS

    My first cycling trip and I'm glad I decided on a moderate grade as there were a lot of hills - but at least you come down once you've gone up. The accommodation and leader were excellent, the meals were cheaper than expected, the extras were good - pity the weather couldn't be ordered, but at least it wasn't rainy or too hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great moments when the clouds cleared and we could see the mountains we were cycling round.The caves are really good, as was the folk museum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent on the whole but did rush us a bit on some of the stops in places of interest. Was well organised but able to be a bit flexible as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's hilly!You don't need to carry a rucksack, bags for the bikes are provided and the support vehicle is never far away.Some days end quite early and if you go late in the season as we did some local services are not fully operational, so make sure you have things to do if you don't want to spend all the time in the bar.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful cake shops!Would recommend Exodus
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    We really enjoyed this trip to an unspoilt region of Greece where there were very few foreign tourists. We had good company, good food and Mythos beer. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beach at the end of the Demosaris Gorge was spectacularly wild and scenic and like other beaches that week, completely empty.The marble columns at the quarry on Mt Ohi looked as if the Romans had just recently abandoned them and were in a wonderful setting. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was a capable organiser, had sound knowledge of the island and was good company both on the walks and in the evenings when we all went out together. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full days travelling both to get there and to get back. This is because of the difficulty in matching plane times to local buses to ferry sailings. It is a price worth paying to get to a resort off the usual tourist track

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel Galaxy was clean and comfortable, staff were helpful and Ricky was a charming host. Karystos is a lovely town with two good beaches for swimming after a days walking in the hills
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

    Have you swum with penguins (and cormorants, iguanas, turtles, sting rays, sharks etc etc)?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife on this trip is absolutely first rate. One snorkelling session I played with two sealions and swam with cormorants, marine iguanas and turtles. The cormorant even gave me a gentle bite on the leg. Another snorkelling session was spent swimming besides a penguin. On the equator of all places! That was shortly after swimming along with a diamond sting ray. The wildlife on land is also wonderfully unique. The blue footed boobies doing their dancing was a delight. Walking round a corner and literally tripping over a pair of Galapagos Hawks or a sealion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader (Monica) was very knowledgable and did a good job. The crew on board the boat also made us very welcome. Gloria, was our main guide in Quito and she was also very nice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It has been said before, but take plenty of memory cards. I took 4,000 photos and half an hour of video. I always find 2 DSLRs to be a good combination. Despite the wildlife being close, I was glad I took my 50-500mm lens. The sun in Quito is very strong and also on the boat. I also took an underwater camera, it was a good investment. Of the 4 of us on board, I was the only one not to suffer from the rough seas. You will eat very well on board the boat. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst in Quito I would recommend a day trip to Mindo to see the cloud forest and humming birds. The cable car is also worth a trip along with the Foudacion Guayasamin and the Castilla del Hombre. The old town is also fascinating and included in the itinerary. Quito restaurants worth a try are La Canoa, Mama Clorinda and Mare Nostrum (all walking distance from the hotel) and Hasta la Vuenta, Señor in the old town (ask Gloria for directions). All serve local food. I had such a good time I will probably return in April. This trip was the western islands. My photos can be found at:http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidnunn/collections/72157627697973450/ 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    An absolutely awesome holiday. So many different and exciting activities packed into one week with a terrific guide Maho.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being the oldest member of the group at the age of 55 but being only 1 of 3 people out of our group of 15 to cycle up to the top of a mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho is the best.  He is a terrific man with many skills . Always puts Safety first and spends a lot of his own personal time with the group to ensure everyone has a great time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate, go ahead and book it. This is a holiday of a lifetime. I have been on this same holiday 4 times now and it won't be my last.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I find the local Turkish people in Kas to be extremely friendly. There are also many nice restaurants and bars to sample.  When I am on this holiday I don't want to sleep, I just want to savour every moment night and day.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    RODOPI MOUNTAINS

    This was our 13th trip with Exodus and one of the most enjoyable. The walks were varied and leisurely and were easily altered to accommodate weather conditions. I was amazed at how well our friendly group of 16 gelled in just a few days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Digging potatoes with friendly villagers and sharing their lunch.Chickening out of the walk on a rainy day in favour of the Spa in Devin - a very good choice!Sofia was more interesting than I remembered from 20 years ago (unsurprisingly) - worth a longer visit.The cave dwelling was fascinating.Watching the cows come home to the village without any apparent supervision!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Svetla obviously loved the region and shared her enthusiasm with us. She was very helpful in sourcing local produce and crafts and taught us the rudiments of Bulgarian dancing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks were a little shorter and a lot gentler than I was expecting. I'm not sure this trip is a B grade but I suggest you just go with the flow and enjoy a leisurely beer or two back at the hotel. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel rooms were immaculately clean and quite spacious with plenty of hot water for the wet room shower. The food was plentiful if a little bit repetitive - potatoes, eggs, cheese, cheese, cheese, tomatoes and cucumber - the wine and beer pretty good and really good value. The only slight downside was the lack of anywhere comfortable to sit indoors for a pre supper drink or chat. As we were there at the end of the season, it was a bit too cold to sit outside in the evening.  
Call us on 0208 772 3936