Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE TATRAS

    First experience on a cycling group holiday and it was excellent. Good roads (mostly pretty quiet, better surfaces than I'm used to in UK), good group, good food and drink, good scenery - only thing was the low cloud on the mountains didn't let us see too much of the scenery. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of some pretty big hills - a great sense of satisfaction and anticipation of going down the other side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erik was excellent - enthusiastic, informative.Gave us the option of an extra few km to a lake on the last cycling day, which we all agreed on and appreciated, especially when the clouds broke up and actually let us see the mountains. That day would have been too short otherwise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about not being able to keep up - speeds from fastest to slowest in our group were very variable, but everybody could go at their own pace and it never took long for everybody to get back together at the breaks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pleasantly surprised at the low cost of food & drink in Slovakia!Extra excursions (some included, some optional) were a good part of the holiday. 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    TUSCANY: CYCLE SIENA & CHIANTI

    This trip was a great balance of exercise, culture and all round fun. The accommodation was very good too. No surprise to learn there were lots of hills, but the pacing was good for the slower ones like me, and the support was excellent. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had a very good group - guides and fellow travellers. This helps a lot, but in the end it's the quality of the itinerary that makes or breaks a trip, and it was in my view a very good one. I particularly liked the way it was set up so that we had one night in the starting point hotel, then 2 nights each at each hotel with loops on the second day at each. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guido was excellent, as was Emanuele. Both thoroughly decent people, with excellent local knowledge and always ready to help. Their recommendations for, and organisation of, meals were much appreciated. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take less warm clothing if you go in mid September. My cold weather gear came back with me entirely unused. Do some hill training before you go. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I recommend this trip to anyone who wants a relatively relaxed touring holiday but wants a bit of a challenge to go with it. 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    If you don't like to sleep much on holiday, don't mind getting really dirty, are not afraid of strange noises in the night, and want to stimulate all of your senses, then this is the trip for you! From start to finish the trip was perfectly organised, by a team dedicated to getting us to take better pictures than we thought possible, and everything served with a smile! Impeccable, inspirational, unforgettable!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As a beginner photographer, it was easy to feel intimidated at first, but Paul and the rest of the group made me feel at ease. I saw 23 species of animals which I had never before seen in the wild, and took over 2'000 photos! The most inspirational moment was seeing a male lion being mobbed by hyenas at 6am and hearing the collective howling of the pack. I will never forget that sound. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein is nothing short of a force of nature. He runs a boot camp for photographers. If your ego is easily bruised, it would be best to choose another trip. However, you have to admire someone who denies the existence of time and space (as in cursing at everyone when it takes more than 5 minutes to cross 20 km of off road terrain). This trip is not for the faint hearted, or the prudish, but if you want to be pushed to your limits, then Paul is the best man to do it with. In a very weird way, he grows on you, I guess that is why all the other members of my group were repeat travellers. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sleep before you come, bring warm clothes for the chilly mornings, bring high factor sun screen, bring more memory cards than you think you will need, be prepared to go with the flow...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Emma and Darren are charming, the Masai staff are extraordinary--they never stop smiling. They remembered every one's name from the first day...how is that for amazing! And you have to admire the Masai driver guides who can spot animals from incredible distances, and who can drive those land cruisers through absolutely anything. Food was great, and those sundowners...I have brought the tradition home to my house. Thank you to everyone!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    Superb Expedition, 8 days camping on the mountain in 'different' climatic zones culminating in a successful ascent of a wonderful mountain with great friends and meeting some new ones as well.  Truly inspirational.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from actually arriving at the summit which was our goal after all! The minute I arrived at Stella Point 5735m on the crater rim, after six hours of steep ascent in the dark..the sun came up as I reached the rim a glorious sunrise the curvature of the earth bieng visible.  An hour later traversing along the rim I reached the summit, euphoria!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Abrahim, superb guy and a great guide, never in your face but always around, if you couldn't see him you could hear him!  Very good organisationally and certainly knew the game, very comfortable on the mountain and his three assistant guides you could see learnt a lot from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a nail brush, dust gets everywhere! Failing that pay lots of attention to your kit it really is cold up there, I recorded minus 20 degrees centigrade on our route up on summit night and that was without the windchill, with a strong southerly (cold) wind blowing. Down jct and good down sleeping bag a must.Respect acclimatisation, go slowly, drink min 4 litres of water a day and be mountain fit before you go. we had a strong team all seven of us summitted preparation is everything.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the seven summits and well worth doing whether you are a climber, walker mountaineer or someone whom just likes physical challenges! A beautiful complex mountain on a wonderful continent, the people and local people we met were great.Exodus..and East African guiding Company everything went like clockwork no complaints whatsoever tremendous trip I will not forget in a hurry.Finally, Food on the mountain was fantastic no worries there at all!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & BEACHES OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

    Absolutely fabulous trip, far exceeded our expectations. it was one fantastic day after another with new experiences and sights every day. Great local guides whose enthusiasm and knowledge really added to the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many it's difficult to choose the best, but take any of the following...- Kruger National Park - more game spotted in the first two hours than we could have hoped to see in the whole holiday!- Antelope Park - walking with Lions was even better than we expected from seeing the TV series 'Lion Country'. Elephant riding with great guides and an idyllic campsite setting just next to the river.- Mozambique - Beautiful, picturesque and deserted beaches and the friendly smiling faces of all the people we met- Hwange Game Park -  Incredible game viewing at the waterholes and the Painted Dog conservation project- Great Zimbabwe Ruins - would love to have spent longer there, incredible architecture!- Rhino stalking in Matobo Hills - a full day of action with a dedicated and enthusisatic hunter/guide - Victoria Falls & Zambezi - a perfect ending to an adventure packed holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a team of three who all contributed massively to a great holiday experience, are really proud of their country and keen to ensure that everyone has a wonderful holiday. Crispen is a very knowledable and enthusiastic guide who managed the whole tour with fun, kindness and attention to detail that absolutely could not be faulted -  a fantastic guy who is full of anecdotes.JB is probably the best driver in Africa and he is incredibly diligent and practical - his helpful nature and calmness showed itself many times each day, making things like border crossings very smooth.Kelvin never stops smiling! He always made sure that we were well fed and he operated with quiet efficiency throughout making sure that everyone was happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack as little luggage as possible, early starts and camping mean that clothes etc need to be well organised. Must get Mozambique visa before you travel to save time at border. Take plenty of DEET insect repellant and memory cards for your camera.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous holiday one we will remember for the rest of our lives - a great range and variety of activities each day - we were never bored!!!A great group of fellow travellers added to the fun of the holiday - Many thanks!The staff at Exodus in the UK and the fantasic guides in Africa were second to none. We were so impressed that we have already booked another holiday with the company!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    One of the best Exodus trips I've been on and I've been on quite a few; a fantastic welcoming country, with great scenery and tasty food, and the itinerary was exceptional. Not a trip if you want a lazy holiday !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thing that most inspired me and restored my faith in `humanity` was the welcome from the people, especially the children who waved and shouted hello wherever we rode. The riders in the Tour de France couldn't have had a better reception.The opportunities to undertake other activities was better than expected, and included snorkelling, parascending, kayaking, as well as a cookery lesson. And the overnight cruise in Halong Bay was superb.And the cycling wasn't bad either, with one awesome and some moresome descent of 30 kilometers !Mind you, it did get pretty hot as well; and when it rains, you know it, but carry on cycling anyway 'cos you'll soon dry out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi Nguyen, was very hard working; always available to help or translate, well organised and a dry sense of humour.  Both himself  and his team couldn't be faulted.Apparently he is very good at kareoke as well, but that's just his opinion!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it, and enjoy !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't wait too long to go to Vietnam, as it could soon get too westernised and lose some of it's beautiful charm.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    A great trip for those who like to stretch their muscles amid stunning backdrops. The walks varied in length and steepness, but were very achievable with a good starting level of fitness. Lots of fun being in a group, with constant chatter and altitude-induced fits of giggles!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Toubkal was an obvious highlight - the steady trip up, the views from the top, and the scree running on the way back down. The mountains were beautiful, and the sunsets and stars also spectacular. We also had some great meals cooked for us on the road, and exploring the local food stalls on the last afternoon in Marrakesh gave us some unusual culinary experiences!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed was an excellent leader - patient, friendly and organised. He kept the group together well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for dorms, early starts and the occasional tepid shower... but when approached with the right spirit, it all adds to the experience. Also - buy proper walking socks. They're the best!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    Fantastic location deep in the bush. The camp is unfenced so we had the wildlife 24/7 and as this is a photographic safari you can stay with the animals, if they are doing something interesting - you're not racing from beast to beast with a tick list!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last morning we found a cheetah beneath a thorn bush with two week-old cubs. To watch them and then to see her stalk off a howling jackall was a real taste of 'wild Africa'

    What did you think of your group leader?

    So entertaining and yet brilliant at helping us to take good photos. Anyone who has been on a holiday with Paul Goldstein will know exactly what I mean!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack sun block,insect repellant, plenty of memory cards and batteries plus anything you could take to boost your energy levels!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly recommend this trip...it was worth every penny
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    A TASTE OF CUBA

    Very good programm, the guide was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    visit with the catamaran to an island

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit to Varadero even only for lunch on the return
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    SICILIAN VOLCANOES

    What a trip with fantastic scenery, great food. Well organised and walking was at a fair pace for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the explosions from Stromboli in the dark, and free-falling down Etna - never experienced anything like it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Second to none - a local guide who was extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip!
Call us on 0208 772 3936