Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    LADAKH: STOK KANGRI CLIMB

    Overall it was a great trip. It was certainly more of a life experience than a true holiday as you will see India in the raw at times.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Stok Kangri in snowy conditions and seeing the Taj Mahal on the Golden Triangle trip extension.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Soham was a great guide and showed very good judgement when making decisions on the Stok Kangri climb. He always set a good pace and made sure that we were properly acclimatised at all times. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maximise your physical fitness before you go on the trip , you will enjoy it more if you do.  Bring walking poles with you. You may not need them below 5000m , but when you get over 5000m using them really helps. The food on the trip is mainly vegetarian. If you are more of a carnivore then bring along some of those dehydrated mountain meals where you just add hot water for the times you feel like something other than vegetarian food.  Bring a flask with you so you can carry a hot drink with you on Stok Kangri summit day.    

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I could not recommend the trip enough, particularly as a stepping stone if you are planning to try bigger mountains in the future.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN MADAGASCAR

    I was disappointed by how few opportunities we had to observe wildlife. From the online itinerary, it seems as if this holiday is about wildlife watching, as well as trekking and seeing the way of life. However, the wildlife we did see was largely incidental, or part of additional excursions that were not included in the trip. And when we did finally get to see lemurs, we were rushed through. If you're looking for wildlife, this is not the trip for you.However, every other aspect of the holiday was fantastic. Our group leader and all of the local guides were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The driver was exceptionally good - very good at anticipating problems and navigating undeveloped roads. The accommodation was fantastic and the food was delicious. The trekking scenery was beautiful and very unusual.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing lemurs (sportive & sifaka) in the dry forest, but this was an optional extra excursion. The day on the beach at the end.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Armel is wonderful - very helpful and well organised. He is passionate about his country and eager to show tourists around and to ensure that everyone gets what they want from the holiday. He worked hard, while making us all feel very welcome and comfortable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take many blister plasters! :) Make sure you have a few euros left for the airport: they don't accept Ariary beyond security, not even for a drink. Pounds sterling are not readily accepted, either. The electrical plugs are all standard european two-pins.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic trekking holiday, but not recommended for wildlife fundis. :) Note: this holiday does not explore any rainforest at all!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    An excellent trip covering everything i wanted to see and do whilst visiting Romania, at a pace to suit all!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To me meeting the Bears in the WSPA sanctuary was incredibly emotional as a supporter of the charity this part of the trip was very special to me and having the oppotunity to see 7 Bears in the wild including 3 cubs was outstanding and a moment i will never forget!!! Nature is always a source of inspriation to me where ever i go and Romania was no different.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cosmin the guide is very knowledgeable, polite and truly passionate about Romania and its incredible wildlife, with good reason. He must be so proud to show people his country and all it has to offer. I learnt a lot from him during my time there and he was able to answer all my questions. Thank You Cosmin :) I would like to mention Katarina & Herman who run the guest house also, what remarkable people thank goodness there are people out there who care so much about the natural world, and who do all they can to protect it. Well Done and what a beautiful, well run guest house.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a huge animal lover i find it hard to understand anyone who doesnt like Dogs but if you have a fear of dogs be warned there are dogs everywhere!!  although all the dogs are all very very friendly, well looked after and love to be in your company, i enjoyed this. I went at the begining of September and the weather was hot and sunny - Take sun cream.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip ran smoothly and Nature didn't fail me (although it never does!) Romania is a truly BEAUTIFUL place of mountains, landscapes, wilderness and wildlife, every inch is a photograph. I love photography and take my camera everywhere but you dont need to be an expert to get a good photo here! This was my first trip with Exodus and as a solo traveller and i would do both again without hesitation. The group was a mix of solo travellers and couples of various ages. The guest house was beautiful, well run, the food served was lovely and the views are outstanding. Cosmin the guide was friendly and knowledgeable and ensured the whole tour ran at a pace to suit everyone. You do need to be a certain level of fitness as you are in the mountains so a lot of up hill, but its worth it. I am vegetarian and this was very well catered for. Romania is a wonderful place and the people are friendly - I could live there and i would recommend a trip to anyone! :)
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC CIRCUIT

    An amazing trip in a beautiful part of the world. All aspects of the tour were enjoyable - the walking, the camping, the company and the food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's impossible to choose one highlight of the trip, but there are a few particularly memorable or inspirational moments worth mentioning...The optional walk from the campsite at La Fouly past Glacier de l'A Neuve to the hut Cabane de l'A Neuve (in a stunning location on a cliff edge) was tiring in the heat but well worth it for the views and for the delicious cake and hot chocolate at the hut.The opportunity to see, and encourage, runners the Ultra Trail du Mont Blanc race (the leaders coming through at the Refuge Bonatti, and many more runners passing us on our descent to Courmayeur).Reaching the top of the cols on several of the walking days - including Col Sapin above Courmayeur, and the optional 'extension' walks up nearby hills to enjoy even better views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham was an excellent leader - he had a good sense of humour and was quietly diplomatic, and catered for the varied demands of the group by suggesting and allowing more demanding 'extensions' to the conventional route. He inspired confidence. Chris, the driver and cook, was also great. All of the meals he cooked were delicious, and he catered very well for me, the only vegetarian on this particular trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget to take a hydration bladder, or buy one in Chamonix on the first day of the trip - it proved invaluable during the hot days of walking, and much more convenient than having to frequently take out a bottle from your bag.It's worth taking sweets to keep energy and enthusiasm levels up and share amongst the group.Bringing a pack of cards and a frisbee helped to entertain us during evenings on the campsite.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The 'collective camping experience' (even tasks such as washing up and packing tents away, when everyone messed in together) was extremely enjoyable and helped to bond the group. It seems that the camping group socialised and bonded more than the 'hotel group' for this reason.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE EMPIRE OF GENGHIS KHAN

    i think that mongolia is one hell of incredable place although it is a really long journey to get there but well worth it when you get there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    there where to many to mention firstly the weather one minute it can be red hot then it be really cold frosty in the morning,also it did snow.The guides eddie and michelle were the best i have ever had made you feel really welcome from start to finish,the drivers cooks where wonderful people,and the cycling but this trip isnt for the faint hearted beware it can be quite tough.Staying in a local boarding school was also a highlight it made me realize how lucky us in the west are .Finally everyone in the group was very easy to get along with and by the end we where like a small family that memory will also stay with me forever

    What did you think of your group leader?

    in one word Fantastic eddie and michelle and all the support team did us proud in my words the best leaders i have had on a cycling trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont let the travelling put you off,also if i was to vist again i would pack lots more warm clothes as it can drop below zero at night

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    yes i think exodus should look at a more direct route to UB as we flew over mongolia to get to seoul,then had to wait 6 hours to get another flight back into UB to me this doesnt make much sense, also maybe you could spent a few more nights in ger camps as having a fire at night was very welcome maybe 7 nights camping and a few more ger camps please.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    A photo opportunity around every corner.  Colours you'll remember forever.  The golden sands of the Sahara, the stunning "Berber" blue, the silver moon and stars over the desert and the vibrant colours of the carpets, slippers and tagines lining the walls of the medinas and the ladies colourful floating robes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Yes, there were a few....  standing in awe at the size and oppulence of the Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca, whizzing around the souks in Fez, Meknes and Marrakesh, sleeping outside at the Sahara Auberge in Merzouga, the sunset camel ride into the Sahara and the sunrise ride back again.  Watching the families enjoying the cool waters of Todra Gordge with those vertical golden cliffs rising high on either side. The peaceful, humble life of the Berbers living so simply and happy up in The Atlas Mountains -  enjoying "afternoon tea" with a family there.  Dodging the seagulls enjoing their free meal whilst fishermen gutted and prepared their catch at the harbour in Essaouria. Tasty Moroccon food... served in family homes and restaurants you'd never find again! ...but guess the most inspirational moment for us was tracking down a beer on arrival in Casablanca on a Sunday evening... yes it did happen and we eventually find one!! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mustapha - a credit to Exodus.  Caring, considerate, informative, knowledgable.  Passionate about his work and his country.  Always willing to assist where necessary.  Always jolly with a good sense of humour....and he found some rather good restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I guess by reading other reviews it's all been said before....Hygiene is the main criteria, so plenty of handgel, tissues, loo roll - although, the loos weren't that bad!.....the bus, yes be prepared for long and short uncomfortable travel.  We had a full complement on board, 16 or us, plus driver/guide.  No leg room on a majority of the seats and not much overhead storage available.  We were with a good crowd and always rotated the seating arrangements.Travel light.. but if you should have the odd fleece no longer required, please take it and donate it to the folk up at Tijhza Village, they have so little and temperatures drop like a stone in the winter months. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another experience - another adventure.  If you've not been to that part of the world nothing prepares you for the sights, sounds and smells - just go with the flow.  Stand and admire the stunning sights of the Mosques, the ancient sights, the amazing construction of the Kasbahs, the hustle and bustle of the souks, the busy market towns.  Listen to nothing lying in the desert at night staring up at the moon and stars, to the call to prayer, the gabbling voices of the traders, to the children's laughter playing in the river... lastly to the guys in the souks who have picked up a variety of accents/punchlines from us tourists.... lovely jubbly!!  Smell the tagines cooking by the roadside, the spices and herbs in the souks BUT take a large piece of mint when you smell the tanneries in Fez!  Go and enjoy the experience.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    HIDDEN GEMS OF SLOVAKIA & THE CZECH REPUBLIC

    Central and Eastern Europe are my favourite destinations, but this was much the best holiday that I have had there. Slovakia is a wonderfully unspoiled country and as untouristy as they come.  It is very beautiful and packed with fascinating places to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bojnice Castle by lamp light, dinner with Gypsy musicians playing, Tatra Tea!!!!  Banska Stiavnica, Mikulov, Lednice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuzana Gašparová is the best tour leader that I have ever travelled with. Full of enthusiasm, a superb command of English and a wealth of information about the places visited.  Her knowledge of the country allowed us to see  a few extra unscheduled locations en route which greatly added to the pleasure of the tour. She was always ready to help and advise evey member of the party. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Exodus do great holidays, however they don't do holidays for people who want to be cossited and to take it easy.  Although this is classified as "leisurely", if you want to see a country, then you have to travel and you have to walk. The journeys were broken down into manageable sections and were not arduous.  The walking was easy to do as it was (with rare exceptions) on the flat.  However we walked quite a distance every day. Travel on the little bus wasn't perfect for someone who is 6'2", however if you want to be part of a small group, then that's what you get.  Personally, I would much rather travel with a small group with all the benefits that the small group size brings.  Research Vienna before you go as there is the potential to spend 5 or 6 hours there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A real gem of a country.  I cannot recommend it highly enough.  If you go once, you will want to return. Glorious landscape and full of historic towns and romantic castles.  Food excellent, hotels clean and comfortable with all mod cons.  
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    I was initaily rather worried that The Inca Trail would be full of hikers and that you wouldn't be able to see Machu Picchu because of the tourists bussed up there each day. I was totaly wrong, it was everything I hoped the trip would be!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational, but I think the openly friendly people that we met in Cusco and on the trail will stay with me the longest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Flaminia was super! The whole group from the hotel to the porters where actualy great, but Flaminia managed to keep a very diverse group ranging in age from 21 to 60+ entertained and interactive

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a Hip flask along. On the last night camping there is nothing like a little "Tipple" to toast and share with your comrades at the meal and congratulate yourself on a great trip. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep your pack light! Those steps are very looooong!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    Great tour leader, well done Victor! Great group of people and a nice selection of varied trekking days all topped off by a wonderful hotel with enthusiastic and very helpful staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scrambling to the top of the twin summits of Mancondiu with its fabulous views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Victor was a top man, great athlete and an inspirational leader for a very varied group with mixed experience and personalities!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For this trip, buy a bottle of whisky in duty free on the way out, it may be Spain but drinks are still extremely expensive! Still getting over my bar bill!!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nice trip, well put together itinerary so top marks Exodus (now where's my £5 for saying nice things)!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    HIKING IN THE CANADIAN ROCKIES

    Amazing!!!!! Thoroughly Recommeded! You won't beat the spectacular scenery of Banff and Jasper National Parks. Weather, leader and group all first class.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Travelling up the Icefield highway it was lakes, glaciers and mountains 360 degrees as far as the eye could see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, let's hope you get Renee as your leader if you go on this trip. She knew her stuff, thoroughly competent and her cooking was delicious. Plus she joined in the banter around the campfire (and half managed to understand some Yorkshire folk!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of the walks are quite long so you will probably enjoy it more if you are quite fit. I have done many trekking holidays before and this was equally energetic, the walks are mostly circa 20km and involve plenty of altitude gains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hope you have a good a holiday as i did!
Call us on 0208 772 3936