Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    Very enjoyable holiday. Tougher in terms of difficulty of terrain than I was expecting. Didn't enjoy Marrakech as much as the mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Mt Toublkal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very friendly but I also had complete confidence in his abilities to lead the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking sticks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    THE POLISH HIGH TATRAS

    The Polish High Tatras was a challenging trip with incredible views and a lovely atmosphere.  The mountains are spectacular but busy at times.  Well worth it though!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our first attempt at climbing with chains was a particulary proud moment for me.  It definitely got the heart racing from the start with narrow ledges and very steep long drops.  It felt brilliant to reach the top and take in the view knowing what you have just achieved.  Our group was great - friendly and laid back.  It was good to be with such a supportive, helpful and 'professional' bunch of people!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What a character!  You often find that the guide can make a big difference on the enjoyment of a trip like this and I think we were very lucky.  She had an excellent knowledge of the Tatras and obviously loves the area.  She quickly gained an understanding of the abilities within the group and was able to both challenge and support us.  She was particularly good at this on the chain sections of the walk.  The huge number of stories and anecdotes she had were both interesting and amusing at times.  She showed a great sense of humour but was strict when it was needed.  I have definitely come back with a greater knowledge of Poland thanks to Theresa.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are worried about heights think carefully about this trip - there are a couple of days when it can get a bit exposed in small sections.  It all adds to the challenge though.  Pack carefully for the actual trek - you can leave stuff in Zakopane.  I was pleased I had taken sandals to the mountain huts as the last thing you want to do after a shower and change of clothes is put your boots back on!!  Travel Scrabble and a pack of cards are always fun!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitely a trip I would recommend to friends.  The Tatras were the best part but Krakow is pretty cool too.  It seems like a chilled out city and its easy to get around.We visited Auschwitz on the way back to Krakow.  This is a sombre and and difficult place to be but I am glad I went.  It certainly is a place people should visit, if they have the opportunity, to either pay their respects to the people who were imprisoned there and/or to understand better what went on.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    The Tuscan scenery was amazing and the walks fantastic. The agroturismo was in a beautiful setting and Mama's welcome was very warm and friendly. The food was good and often using home grown produce. I can especially recommend the home produced sun dried tomatoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from many of the walks were stunning.The visit to Lucca on the day off is to be recommended-it is a beautiful city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz, the group leader was fantastic. She was helpful, interesting and seemed to have a genuine passion for her job and love of the Tuscan way of life.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    This was a fantastic holiday.It coverd  the highlights of a very big country in a relitivly short period of time.The experience was  as varied and interesting as the countryand people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This has to be seeing Machu picchu apearing out of the mists in the earlymorning , well worth the early start and climb.  There were lots of other inspirational moments too , like a local fiesta on the islands , seeing the Andes in all their varied moods .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was fantastic. Someof our grouop wereun well and he reallycouldn'thave done enough for them .He reallylooked afterus very well.He was very knowledgable about his countryand obvioslyloves Peru.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take dollars and sols as some extras can only be bought in dollars. I would recomend the early morning tripto Machpicchu. You may not seesunrise ,but walking at that time of day is lovely and the mist often clears,so you still get good views. Go with an open mind and take oportunities when they arrise. The weather is very changable so don't give up because of mist or rain ,it's likely to change soon.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a very good introduction to lots of different areas of Peru. Be preprared for lots of walking , steps and early starts.The roads and bus were very good. I would recomend the jungleextension .It gives yet another aspect of this fascinating country
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    A fantastic trip! As this was my first Exodus trip (or any kind of adventure holiday) I didn't really know what to expect but we saw so much and it was so well organised that this has been my best holiday yet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourite day was the one where we cycled through the local villages and countryside and stopped for lunch at a house. (fantastic curry). We had a coconut break at a local farm where we watched a man climb a tree to get our coconuts and were shown how to make the milk. It was these little things which made the trip a little different. The temples and heritage sites are great but experiencing real Sri Lanka was even better. I was amazed by the Sri Lankans attitude to visitors. Everywhere we went people would be smiling and waving (even as we drove past on the coach). They really like having tourists and we were asked many times what we thought of their country. Beautifull was always the answer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was so well organised. He took all the stress out of the trip for us brits who have no idea how to tip, or when to tip (althought we did have a go at bartering  in the towns when we had the chance). Snacks appeared  on journeys and Roshan was always calm and informative (even when the bus broke down and a new one just magically apperared when we got off the train). The trip ran like clockwork and not only that, but he's a really friendly guy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy! Do all the extra activities that you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I have already said, I didn't know what to expect but the hotels far exceeded my expectations. They were all clean and of a good standard but some were amazing (Sigriha was my favourite). The vast majority have pools  and the food is also to a good standard (Although I've now eaten so much curry I don't think I will be eating it again for quite some time). Watch out for the monkeys!!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF VIETNAM

    An interesting and actvie tour of vietnam. The guide was informative and funny, and the vietnamese people warm and friendly. A great country, and a great way to see it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments, from visiting Ho Chi Min in his mauselium, to drinking Granny's "special" rice wine. From a visit to a buddist orphanage to scrambling along the cu chi tunnels to cycling in the Mekong delta. Lots of great memories!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A highly amusing and knowledgable group leader, who kept us all in check!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to come back a few pounds heavier, as vietnamese food is fresh, tasty, cheap and plentiful! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Expect to get wet, as the rain can get heavy, but also to have the sun cream ready for when the suns out. And it can be very, very humid, so keep drinking water, local beer or rice wine!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE FJORDS

    A great escape! The trip was appropriately graded: the hikes were just challenging enough to make it feel like we'd earned our suppers! The food, service and accommodation at Nes Gard were first class - well above expectations. Asbjorn, Mari and their staff were wonderful. Eric was a fantastic guide too. We enjoyed ourselves very much!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    Fantastic introduction to whitewater sports!

    This is a great trip with lots of different activities thrown in to make sure you never get bored.  The Slovenian Alps are stunning and the emerald river on which we did most of the activities is straight out of Narnia (literally - one of the movies was filmed here).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hydrospeeding is the most fun you can have in whitewater...assuming you're a strong swimmer and don't mind a few bruises.  It's the nearest you get to being part of the river itself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the guides were excellent and spoke great English.  They were all super competent on water and made everyone feel safe at all times even if they were total beginners.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some of the activities to be a little tame if you have done them before - this is very much a total beginners trip!!  It is possible to book more advanced kayaking and canyoning later on in the week though if you haven't had enough adrenaline. Take sunscreen and use it!  Be prepared for the fact that the water is very cold even if it's very warm on dry land.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make the most of the free day.  If you're feeling really energetic you can hike up Mt. Krn, which is the tallest mountain in the region and dominates the valley.  There is a hut near the top selling drinks and snacks and the views are unparalleled by anything else on the trip - even if you decide to go paragliding, which is also an excellent addition.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    GRAND TRAVERSE OF THE INDIAN HIMALAYA

    A great trip. Physically demanding, particularly in the early stages with altitude adaptation still occurring, but rewarded with great views and a real feeling of achievement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Parang La, with fresh snow on the ground and spindrift in our faces as we waited for the path to be sufficiently cleared to coax the horses up and over.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie is a real expert on the region, and experienced enough to cope comfortably with all the problems that arose, from runaway horses to blocked passes. She also has extensive knowledge of all the cultural and societal nuances of the region. Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be fit before you go, and preferably have prior experience of altitude effects.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As the brochure says, this is a trip for the connoisseur. Despite being an high altitude desert, where there is water from snowmelt and rivers there is greenery, but most of the landscape appears barren initially. It needs closer inspection to see the plant and animal life. The day / night temperature swing is very large, so you need equipment to cope with the range
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    THE POLISH HIGH TATRAS

    Excellent trip, spectacular views, an amazing guide and a great week, capped off by visiting a fab city. My second exodus trip and certainly not my last. If I had one issue, it's that it was a little busy but that is more a reflection on the beauty and popularity of the area, rather than anything else.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The guide providing constant snipets of information and good jokes were always great moments. The flexibility in the approach to the walking people were allowed to go at their own pace but not get separated. Some challenging walking with great panoramas and the fact that we saw a large amount of the tatras in a very short period of time. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great, and an absolute character. Full of life and clearly very passionate and knowledgeble about the area, I strongly suspect had it not been for the guide the trip would not have been quite so good. She catered to the needs of the entire group, supporting the less confident group members during the more challenging chain sections on Rysy and near the Eagles Pass.  She told many great stories and worked hard to teach the group about Poland and the Tatras on a historic, geographic and social level. As well as telling a number of funny jokes & playing a number of excellent scrabble words. Thanks Teressa for all the lol's. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a big bag as you can leave stuff in the hotel, this was my big mistake. Make sure you have a pair of flip flops for the evening, you won't regret the weight.Make sure you take a compliment of warm clothes it can be cold at times. This is certainly a challenging trek and some of the chain parts are very exposed make sure you take a head for heights. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have fun and try and pick up the lingo ask your guide, the locals love the effort.  We did the cycle tour of Krakow which was ace and showed us so much of the city in a relatively short time and I would really reccomend this. If you have the chance stay a little longer in Krakow as there is lots to see. 
Call us on 0208 772 3936