Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    TRINS: THE AUSTRIAN TYROL

    Great walking in a very beatiful area, it was lovely to see so many flowers normally only seen earlier in the year in other areas. Afternoon tea was an added pleasure

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking  under the snow, seeing the chamois  and marmots and enjoying visiting local villlages in the Tyrol

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris was a great leader, with lots of local knowledge, clearly interested in the area and happy to talk about the area without talking for the sake of talking, always a bonus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go for it just be aware of added transport costs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    great holiday, lovely hotel, great food
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    Excellent holiday, thoroughly enjoyed the week. Five hikes with a variety of sights and different terrain. The Chalet Savoy is a perfect base for this trip and size of group. Food was fantastic (thanks Elaine) and wonderful tour guide Oliver (except the jokes).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Best sights for me were at Lac Blanc, where I would recommend you hike to the far side of the lake for photos, plus on the descent from the Brevent, especially the sights back into Chamonix on the short balcony walk before reaching the midpoint refuge. Oh, and the Billberry tart.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver knows how to run the group well. Very knowledgable and experienced guy, a sheer pleasure to be with. The first two hours on Day 1 seem a little slow, but then you realise that while he is hiking, he is also checking out the group, judging the pace and expertly finding a speed suitable for all. By Day 5, when your legs no longer work, you will realise that a) He is still in front of you and b) He will be doing all this again next week while you recover ! Have to also mention that if Elaine serves the ginger/honey cake for packed lunch, steal/bribe/beg for as much as you can get.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The meeting point for this trip is at Geneva Airport at about 10:30 am on Saturday morning. The Exodus group flight for this trip is the BA flight out of London City airport. This in my mind is quite hard to get to from most places in the UK for say, a 7 am check in.  It is also an expensive flight, plus if you want to drive to the airport, the car parking charges are huge.I flew out on the Friday night instead, Easyjet flight from Gatwick and stayed in the Holiday Inn near the airport. Flight was £105 return, hotel booked on Expedia was about £65 and the next morning my travel consisted of a five minute courtesy bus trip to the airport.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One tip - even though you are flying in and out of Geneva, you don't really need Swiss Francs (unless you stay extra days). Most of the shopping and food places visited are in France with a couple in Italy, so Euros only are required.  Loads of camping /hiking stores in Chamonix if you need the odd piece of kit. The Wednesday is a planned day off. Plenty of side trips, shopping, cable car rides etc etc , or....have a lie in and then grab a late breakfast in town and let your feet recover for 24 hours. The Hottub is calling, so take your trunks or cossie. 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    This was my first Exodus trip and it exceeded my expectations! I have always travelled independently and this trip combined joys of travelling with ease and organisation. There would have been no way that I could have visited all of these sites in the time allotted! Sri Lanka is a beautiful and varied country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Far too many! The Elephant orphanage, White water rafting, yala

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was fab!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    If a well known beer did safaris, then it wouldn't be possible to surpass this one.  The only reason not to recommend it is that it books out so fast that if I say how good it is I may find myself unable to get on the trip again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I love Africa and its wildlife.  I've travelled there quite a bit and seen some amazing things.  However, seeing herds of wildebeest battle across the Mara river is something I will never forget.  First, you wonder, will they make it across?  How will they get out?  Then the crocodiles start moving - and the tension increases even further.  In the wildlife programmes they tend to show crocodiles winning out every time - in real life, they are known to miss - will they succeed this time?  The great thing with this trip, whilst you know you will never forget what you see, you end up with some incredible photos to record it all.  You get to spend the time out on the plains that means you have the best chance of seeing, and photographing, Africa's animals at their most interesting - a black rhino taking a morning stroll, a leopard checking a scent, a lion cub battling to climb a tree stump, a cobra eating a Thomson's gazelle - and much more. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This trip is made by Paul.  His passion for Africa and its wildlife and photography is obvious to all and he is determined to make sure that everyone has a trip they will never forget and that they get to go home with the best photographs they could take.  His knowledge of both animal behaviour and photography makes him a brilliant leader for this trip. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want a trip where you spend as much of your time as possible on the plains of Africa looking to see in real life some of the action you have seen on the wildlife documentaries then I would definitely recommend this holiday.  It's important to remember that wildlife is unpredictable and that therefore it's necessary to be patient - there are times when you may begin to think that every animal in the Mara has gone into hiding.  Overall, you will come away with some amazing memories.  Pack a sense of humour and remember "hakuna matata" and you will have a fabulous time. 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    We had wanted to visit Cuba for some time, and we were not disappointed. The natural beauty of the island, the warm open friendliness of the Cuban people, the musical rhythms everywhere we went, the classic American cars and the rum cocktails all made this a wonderful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had not fully appreciated the place that Che Guevara held in the Cuban people's hearts until we visited the mausoleum at Santa Clara. It was a moving experience. But the walks in the Sierra Maestre and Baracoa were also very beautiful. And there were unexpected surprises too, such as riding on a steam train, eating in some lovely family-run restaurants (Paladares), and putting into practice our newly-learned salsa moves at the Casa de la Trova in Trinidad. All great experiences. We added a week onto our Exodus tour so that we could indulge in some Scuba diving on the colourful coral reefs around Maria la Gorda in the West of the island. Thanks Exodus for allowing us this flexibility.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Freddy was a marvel. He was unfailingly good-humoured, with an inexhaustable fund of knowledge about the island, and a never-ending supply of stories to keep us amused. He found us the best restaurants and bars, and was always there whenever we needed him. If all Exodus group leaders are like Freddy then we will definitely be back. Also a big thank-you to Jose, our good-natured whistling coach driver. Some great driving on sometimes difficult roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! Do everything that is on offer - drink mojitos, learn to dance salsa, prepare to talk to complete strangers. And try to learn a bit of Spanish before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is plenty more of Cuba we would still like to see, but it's a big world out there, and we still have plenty of countries on our wish-list. Once we've done them we would love to return to Cuba. We'd like to see Vinales, and spend more time up in the mountains. So much to do, so little time!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    it was a great experience!beautiful scenery,challenging walks good food fantastic group of people and perfect guide-michael cheng was helpul, friendly and good fun!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing the sunrise at jinshanling part of the wall-what a profound experience and calmness

    What did you think of your group leader?

    the best one

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    just enjoy the experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    thanks exodus for putting so many different people into one great group !i loved every moment of this trip and will be going on more trips with exodus in the future!we walked a lot ,eat a lot,drank a lot,laughed a lot and sweat a lot but this will be memories well lived and enjoyed!thank you
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

    As ever with Exodus we got what it said on the tin,nothing missing and all up to expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing an Albatross land and fly within arms length on to its nest and a seal touching my face mask when swimming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good and was more than aware of the enviroment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do everything on offer even if you are tired.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope Exodus can top this trip.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    Our 4th Exodus holiday and as always it met our expectations and we would highly recommend it. Lovely hotel, small and friendly in a beautiful location with great views. The rooms are simple but very clean and and the food is really great with lots of choice and plentiful. Nobody will go hungry. I do not eat meat and was impressed with the variety of choice of meals that I could eat. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace having a beer after a day walking. The barman is really friendly and provides peanuts or crisps with your drinks. The walking was great not too strenuous but a decent length. We started our walks at 9.00 and were usually picked up in the mini-bus around 4 - 4.30. The people in our group were great, very friendly and chatty which added to the enjoyment of our holiday. The ages of our group were mixed and as usual for an August holiday many were teachers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved all the walks, unfortunately due to the weather we were only able to do one peak.The Cares Gorge is lovely and it was great dangling my feet in the icy cold, refreshing water in the river in Cain before having lunch and a beer. Seeing a Golden Eagle flying over the valley in Inguanzo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jim and Pilar the hotel owners were friendly and helpful. They provide the transportation from and to the airport and also do the drop offs and pick-ups for the daily walks. We were never left waiting very long.Victor our mountain guide was great, a local young man, highly qualified and considerate of everyone. He ensured everyone was safe and told us how much water would be required each day. He had a great sense of humour and always had a story to tell.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that changes in weather will alter the programme of walksMake sure you drink enough water and take heed of Victor's advice regarding filling up at different springs.Take time to walk into the village and visit the Cabreles Cheese Museum.We haven't ever used poles but the majority of walkers had poles so you might want to try them before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did a walk on our free day rather than visit the beach. Jim provided the map and we did a lovely walk visiting the pretty village Inguanzo.A few of the people in our group stopped over at Bilbao at the end of the week which I hadn't thought of but it seemed like a good thing to do. Jim or Pilar dropped them off after they dropped us at the airport. The Guggenheim at Bilbao sounds interesting.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES TO THE MEDITERRANEAN

    The cycling was wonderful although it helped that we had sat nav . Having done lots of Exodus cycling trips I would rate it as moderate rather than easy/moderate.The bikes were fine . The hotels were BASIC

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The costal ride to Tossa on the last day.  Absolutely stunning

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have one as it was a self guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were 2 experienced cyclists and 2 novices and the trip worked well for all  I would eat out even on the nights when dinner is included . There are some lovely restaurants in all of the towns you stay in and all are inexpensive  In the Sant Pau in Barcelona make sure you request a non smoking room .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip would be massively enhanced if Exodus sorted the transfers to Rimoll and from the coast to BarcelonaAlso please please upgrade your hotels
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    KENYA & TANZANIA ADVENTURE

    The trip was as good as expected from the description except for some long, rough days travelling, arriving at some destinations too late to explore. The scenery and people of East Africa were fantastic.  The final few days of R&R on Zanzibar were welcome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The game drives in all parks were exceptional, particularly a personal game drive in the Serengeti (whilst the remainder of the party were ballooning) spotting a hyena and jackal tug-of-war with an unfortunate young buffalo, just killed by the hyena, just 20m from the truck. The bird life was amazing, a personal bird guide is required to identify them all, although Often, the driver, made a good attempt. I made good use of the local motorbike gatherings, hopping on the back for a lightening photographic tour of some of the towns in exchange for the cost of a gallon of fuel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emius was friendly, helpful, very informative and a good conversationalist, offering the right advice at the appropriate time. He was ably joined by Often who had a good knowledge of the bird life and Leo, a master cook, both of whom were resourceful, friendly and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unlike Namibia, where I have also travelled with Exodus, the non-metalled roads can be extremely rough. There are a few long days travelling (10-12 hours) on these very rough roads where the priority was to get to the destination rather than sample the route. I would have liked more scenery to explore on foot during the long travelling days.The Zanzibar dolphin excursion is one to be avoided. What is not explained on arrival at the hotel is that the sea is invarably rough (a 4 or 5 ft swell on the day) the dolphins elusive and swimming with them impossible in those conditions, had we seen any. More importantly, there were no lifejackets in the small wooden boat which went at least a mile offshore. This was a waste of a 6 hour trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed by the friendly people and scenic diversity of East Africa. One of my main interests was the bird life but I was not expecting such diversity. I took a copy of Helm Field Guides - Birds of East Africa by Stevenson & Fanshaw. The description, location maps and illustrations are superb but the variety of birds seen, particularly those small ones, were too numerous to identify!
Call us on 0208 772 3936