Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    From the minute I arrived in Tanzania, I felt looked after. The hotel stay was brilliant, the guides were awesome, the porters were fantastic, the food was amazing and reaching the summit was the cherry on the icing on the cake! I enjoyed every moment of this trip, it was well organised, with great communication and a fabulous support team! This was an unforgettable trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many parts of my trip that left me feeling inspired and humbled. The work of the porters to completely look after you and support you, the commitment of the guides to keep you safe and get you to the summit, the cooking on a mountain in Africa. The views and sunsets. The people of Africa. I loved it all and feel inspired by the whole trip. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Makeke, was friendly, committed, knowledgeable, thorough and hardworking. He had an omnipresent ability, always there to support but never in your way or in your face. Just always there if you needed him. I will never forget his efforts to get us to the top of Africa, and the emotions he showed when we made it down too! A very nice man who worked very hard for the whole group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

     Travel lightBe as fit as you can be, do some long long walksHave a good sleeping mat and bagMake sure your walking boots are v comfortable and well wornTake lots of baby wipesTake lots of small notes in your currencyKeep a positive mental attitude  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was definitely a highlight in my life. It was something I had wanted to do for a long time and so glad I was in a position to be able to do it. 
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF TIBET

    A great experience, combining the timelss beauty of the monasteries with the imposing presence of the Potala Palace and the sparse, spectacular mountain scenery between Lhasa and Kathmandu ... not forgetting the exemplary support and guidance from our guied in each country ... and of course Everest!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the peak of Everest in the early following overnight snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Nepali leader was fantastic - knowledgeable, supportive, well-organised and friendly; our guide in Tibet was also highly impressive - informative, efficent / organised, making sure everything went to plan, clearly with extremely good contacts in Tibet, and a good person to spend time with. Overall, both made a huge difference to the trip and were, in their way, highlights in themselves. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate - go!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    THE SHADOW OF THE MATTERHORN

    Epic scenery!  Under the shadow of the Matterhorn no place like it.  Great adventure, met some great people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to beat the Matterhorn for the WOW factor!  Trecking around the Glaciers was exhilarating. A great way to escape the hum drum of life back home!  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A real cool guy.  Great knowledge of the area. Inspired great confidence within the group.Each member of the group could walk to their own pace without anyone being left behind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a good camera and get yourself fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my forth exedus trip, and they get better each time!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    ICELANDIC HIGHLIGHTS

    If you like scenery then this is the holiday for you. As well as including the Golden Circle which all weekend trippers to Reykjavik have to do, you see parts of the country without having to queue behind other tour buses. You do however have to get out of the bus and use your legs!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Bassalt columns near VikThe drive over the mountain pass.The walk on Snaefellnaes pennisular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Walti was my kind of leader. He kept the tour going without being in your face - leading from the back. Super chilled out, very knowledgable with plenty of 'true' stories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to get out of the bus. If you want to eat out in Reykjavik then bring plenty of cash. Even at current exchange rates it ain't cheap.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    KERALA & TROPICAL INDIA

    This is a superb trip. We read all of the reviews on it before booking and they say it all. We're going to do another similar one next year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So much of it. Seeing so many locals running out of their houses to greet us every mile of the way. We didn't see another westerner for 12 days. The food was varied, mostly good and fun. WE SAW A TIGER!!! Our guides didn't come on the safari and were dead jealous when we got back as they had never seen one. You really get to see India and its cultures...cycling around little back lanes with music piping out from churches & mosques. Held a snake. Stopped at lots of little 'coffee shops' (not exactly Costa Coffee so don't expect it) where we sat around with locals. Without exception every person we encountered was friendly and happy to see us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Safi, Joe and Shebu were the key to the success of this tour. After day one they were like family...friendly, helpful, encouraging, sympathetic, empathetic, funny, the list could go on for ever. The quality of these guys can not be understated in their quest to make this a wonderful experience for us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We all got saddle sore (still take a gell saddle though) but after the first 2 km each day you just forgot about it. We also had varying degrees of stomach problems but again everyone just accepted it was part of India and it didn't really spoil the fun at all. Ours was the first trip in August and the weather was ideal for biking. Mostly around 30 degrees and occasional rain to cool you and have fun cycling through.The 14 of us in our group was made up of some late 20s, 30s, 40s and us 2 in our mid 50s. Although we are not cyclists and struggled on days 1 and 4, everyone was great and each had their day of triumph. It was not a race and it was not an ordeal...we walked (with 2 others) up Ooty Hill as we couldn't cycle it. The bikes went on the van. It took us 4 hours but it was okay and we were cheered when we got to the top.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were asked if we wanted to do a kitty and we did it. It was roughly £120 in Rupees which we gave in 3 installments along the way (no hassle if you didn't have it that day). It was well worth it, paying for all food, coffee stops, tips, entrance fees, everything else, and made life so much easier. We hardly spent anything else at all along the way. Highly recommend this! Take rehydration salts to help you although Shebu had plenty on the support vehicle behind if you need more. They supply you with endless water so don't worry about that. A platypus was useful. The roads are a challenge with the traffic at times but it turned out to be fun. The locals were 'kind' to us when in heavy traffic. Just don't stop or start suddenly...just keep going in a straight line at a steady pace so they can anticipate where to pass you. You'll need 3 shirts...wick away ones and a couple of shorts with padding. You can get them washed along the way and besides 2 minutes after starting they're muddy again. The kids ask for pens all the time. We stayed on for another 5 days at the hotel in Varkala...(Expedia) the staff were great there too, the hotel small but clean and close to lots of good restauarnts and small shops. Perfect end to a fantastic holiday.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    CUBA SALSA! - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    With two easy going teenagers who have never been out of Europe/US we wanted a "safe" adventure, and Cuba was perfect. We all had the BEST time -plenty of cultural (music -everywhere!), political(Che Guevara! Castro! Bay of Pigs!) , social (ration shps, horse drawn buses, no begging, must crochet), for all of us to absorb and digest, but also lots of holidaying with swimming galore, rum ditto, and brilliant tour guide. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bernado -our tour guide. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Doesn't the above say it all?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take meds for constipation as well as diarrhoea. All that rice! Don't have ice in drinks or drink unpurified water, or salads. Take earplugs as they are so useful in the most unexpected places. Travel pillow was fab. Can get water purifiers on net which are compact. Take lots of painkillers if in a big group as someone always seemed to need them. Take antibiotic eardrops because ditto. I am a doctor mind you. The rum is really nice, and absolutely lethal. They need pens, ibruprofen, soap, shampoo, toothpaste, and tampons (US embargo). 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    August weather was great - rained in the afternoons but actually by then it was a relief! Airconditioned bus was delicious! Kids always go to the back, and that is where the most comfie seats are! As have rests for your feet. So be forewarned.....
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    Overall the trip was brilliant - people within the group within group well I could not of picked a better group!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to a height that really challenged me and my fear - then having support from previously strangers. Really reminds you how many lovely people in the world. The many laughsUsing public toilets

    What did you think of your group leader?

    got better as time went on had a good sence of humour - very supportive

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    universal packing list not that helpful, get fit, think about independant flights to say long travelling times - that don't help that first day of walking.2 walking poleson, , take every oppotunity on offerTry c 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If your thinking about it  just go for it - outstanding beauty. Be prepared for having your photo taken by Chinese people!!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    LOIRE CYCLING WEEKEND

    The Loire cycling weekend was great, only a couple of glitches with the directions provided by Exodus but we worked through them getting back on course and in one case stumbled upon a great Chauteau when we went the wrong way. The bike route was a shorter route of the week trip and the couple of parts that were cut out of the longer trip did not really connect up with the route map fully. As in most things in life there can be several ways to get to the end and we discovered this when a 'turn' was forgotten to be put in our directions. I guess whoever edited the longer route to a shorter route had not done the ride but with the help of the maps provided we got back on track eventually. Exodus had gone to great lengths to make the planned route fairly flat having you ride around any big hills and in one case where a turn was not well described we rode over the top of a large hill thus finding another pretty Chauteau before rejoining the correct route on the hills other side at the next village. No big deal but did make for more fun. Perhaps a suggestion would be to issue (rent option) each cycle group a GPS or Satnav unit with the bike route preprogramed that would help with both the km traveled to the next turn since the rental bikes had no odometers and you had to use your best estimate sometimes on how many km you had gone while looking for that next turn.Loved the trip and the adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 3 accomodation was superb!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Never met him but did speak on the phone as our flight from England was cancelled and the next flight had us arrive late on checkin night. Seemed helpful on the phone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have odometer or GPS/Satnav unit for better road guidance.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    LADAKH: STOK KANGRI CLIMB

    Good introduction to Leh area of LadakhGolden triangle extension is a good introduction to Agra and Jaipur (n.b. in itself there is no extra Delhi signhtseeing - that if you do it must come off the main trip) 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Discovering Mughal dynasty and architecture - learned a lot about the historyTrekking down the gorges above Stok village LehPanneer Tikka Marsalla and Kingfisher Beer 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great guy - very hardworking 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Golden triangle extension is expensive and hard work if like me you are on your own - you alone have to fend off the plans of the guides to distract you to their chosen shops. In particular watch out for the votive offering scam at Fatehpur Sikri - my guide (a sub-sub contractor) I am convinced was part of the scam.  Hemis Gompa - THE gompa in the Leh valley by repute and according to the trip notes - so why was our trek guide allowed to NOT take us to it? (some story about it being too busy commercial) - Exodus needs to sort this out one way or another. If like me you are not a good acclimatiser but are keen on SK summit beware. The trip notes are WRONG. There is cozy stuff about "setting up base camp at 5200 metres" (the old ABC/advanced base camp). This is NOT TRUE - it's not allowed on the SK permit. So be aware you must add an extra 300 metres to your climb - i.e. its not as easy as you might think. There really is NO excuse for this sort of mistake in the trip notes. The fact that the trip will use the normal lower base camp at about 4900 m is very well known.Fancy a beer with your hotel meal on return from Delhi? Oops - Hotel Clarke Heights can't serve it there - while other Indian hotels can (solution - get licence or another hotel !)Oh and don't expect to see K2 - its too far away! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is still a good first trip to Ladakh and the golden triangle extension covers the required bases so do NOT be put off by my observations. There was a lot that was very good on this trip including an excellent trek crew. But remember the trip notes are not accurate - and remeber you are climbing from 4900 metres not 5200. 
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    AEGEAN FAMILY CRUISE - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    The most relaxing holiday I have ever been on. My daughter especially loved swimming everyday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing dolphins Sunset over the seaEarly morning dip in the seaFeeding the fish from the side of the boat with the childrenSleeping under the stars

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manoulos, the captain was the perfect host. The boat is his old converted fishing boat of which he is very proud and  keeps in pristine condition.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a light sleeping bag if you intend to sleep on deck, the temperature does drop at night even in mid August! The cabins are very cosy so pack light, but you only really go in there at night. Swimming/beach shoes are very useful as the rocks have sea urchins but you can buy them in the first town you go to.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love boats, meeting new people, swimming, relaxing, eating, drinking and staring at the horizon then this is the holiday for you and your family. My daughter loved it, especially sleeping on deck with the other children. There was plenty of shade on the boat which was fantastic as I am very fair skinned and managed to keep out of the sun. The breeze on board was perfect especially as the temperatures were in the mid  30's.
Call us on 020 8772 3936