Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    SAHARA DESERT TREK

    It was an outstanding trip from start to finish, culminating in lavish isolation to affluent foods and majestic walking with camel drivers and guide through high and low sand dunes and meeting new people within our own group on the trip together with the culture of Tunisia/Sahara.  Enjoyed so much sleeping out on my own mattress under the stars, outdoors with the hobbled camels and nature....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty of the place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was EXCELLENT...Absolutely So!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink...be hydrated.  Wear good, existing foodwear and bring a turban and headgear together with
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A great trip with huge variety from city to desert to coast. Jordan is a very welcoming and special place whether you are religious or not and it is certainly worth a vist  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra is definitely the highlight and this trip gets it right allowing you to spend 2 full days there. You have to go and experience the place as no written words can capture the beauty and history of the place. Camping and camel riding in Wadi Rum were also v special

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader (Khaled ?) was the one who made the trip very special with his combination of knowledge and enthusiasm for his country. He was very patient with what was a large group and everything went smoothly in a packed week thanks to him. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in March be prepared for colder weather as most of us did not take enough warm clothes

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had a great time with a really good group of people from all over the world, thank you.Although I would have liked to have spent more time in the desert I appreciate it's difficult to spend the right amount of time in each part over a week ! 
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Jordan. April is a great time to go if you don't like it too hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was as amazing as everyone says. We loved seeing all the stalls and the camels and donkeys, giving a flavour of what it must have been like when Petra was a trading place. Reading a newspaper in the Dead Sea. Wadi Rum, including the camel ride on the first afternoon. Snorkling at Aqaba just a short distance from the shore, seeing the public beach and then seeing a man ride his camel down the pavement. The church at Madaba.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It may be that our group leader was not properly briefed. He didn't seem to know what was expected of him and didn't know that according to the trip notes we should have had a lesson is bread making and a morning camel ride. (Fortunately we had the opportunity the afternoon before). He did know a lot about the country though and gave some good insights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Talk to your guide abouth the Jordanian view of society and acceptable behaviour (particulary of women). We found it added very much to our holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Great trip, challenging rides and a fantastic way to see Moroocco!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the buzz of getting to the beach on the last day with everybody completing a very enjoyable trip without any major mishap and feeling that we had accomplished some great riding over some really challenging terrain. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A+. Gold Star.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get a reasonable level of fitness and offroad ability before you go. Just riding footpaths or fireroads back home may not be enough. You will enjoy the rides that bit more if you have some confidence in the corners and on very rocky surfaces. Get a rush by letting yourself go, but in as controlled way as possible, as nasty spills are possible. Learn how to fix your own punctures if you dont know already!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Research your flight options, but otherwise I think the trip offers great value for money and riding that cant be found in the UK. Cycling is a great way of seeing a country and avoiding the usual tourist traps, this trip certainly demonstrates that. 
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN SYRIA

    A great holiday as far as it went!Unfortunately ruined by being cut short by Exodus with no real reason that any of our party could think of.We were all thoroughly enjoying it with no sign of trouble,the people of Syria being gracious,friendly and sociable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As far as it went,the visit to Palmyra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Find a non-British tour company to go with .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It appears that other nationals are still visiting Syria with no problems[see tripadvior],so I would like to ask why our trip was curtailed and poor compensation offered!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    A good mixture , with a good contrast of city and mountains. Just about enough time to discover Marrakech and then great trekking in the Atlas Mountains. Unforgettable scenery. The gite is pleasant and the staff very friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The raw beauty of the last long hike - with a swim in a freezing blue mountain lake- .... unforgettable!Tea with one of the villagers, after visiting the school and walking around the village.A Hamam visitn Marrakech; we ended up in a very normal one, not meant for tourists. Once we overcame our inhibitions, we had a great relaxing time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent. A Berber himself, he has inside knowledge of these mountains and the culture.He set a good pace, and was always friendly and pleasant company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    the temperature drops quickly in the evening. You might appreciate having a pair of warm non-walking socks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a shame the flight and transfer were so late. We were rather shattered the next day. Some of us had to change rooms in the Marrakech hotel, as the air conditioning was not working.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    A great experience cycling through varied (and undulating) scenery, wildlife and visiting historic sites. Good back-up and support meant all we had to do each day was cycle. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The blue whale watching trip off the south coast stood out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was enthusiastic and well organised, ensuring each day ran smoothly. The phrases "there will be undulations" and "let's try a new shortcut" essentially both meant severe hill climbing. But he led a good team that ensured we didn't get lost and always had snacks and drinks when they were most needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the days are tough; with the heat and road surfaces they require a good level of fitness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A good way of seeing the country off the main roads generally.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    SRI LANKAN HIGHLIGHTS

    Fabulous trip - my head is still buzzing with the number of things we saw, places we visited, people we met and people we spoke to.  Far exceeded my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many - the bike ride was fantastic - we went through beautiful lanes following a river and looking out over paddy fields, saw some mad lizards, and learnt how coconut milk is made (had no idea!).  We were all in need of some exercise as well after some jetlag and sitting on a bus.We organised with Subesh's very kind help a trip to the tea plantations which was stunning - the trip alone was breath taking then it was excellent fun to learn about then drink tea in the very English tea room/factory.The elephants - on safari, the ride and the orphanage were fantastic - this was a very special thing to be able to do.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Subesh was a rockstar - he was not an experienced guide and, at times, needed a bit of prompting on what the group required (when's the next loo break, how long's the next trip etc) but once I pointed this out to him, he quickly sorted this out.  He was very kind to the group, and by the end of the week I think most of us were very fond of him.  His knowledge of history, culture, animals etc was fantastic and was deliverd in an interesting way.  He also did things such as stop to buy red bananas - very Sri Lankan but none of has had that before.  Subesh was a little reticent to eat with us at first - he sat a couple of seats away but we encouraged him to sit with us.  He was good at getting us from place to place on time.  I hope, with experience, he will learn more about us foreigners!  and hopefully to not take criticism - 1 (rude) person had quite a go at him and he was quite upset, and another (equally rude) person criticised his English (which was absolutely fine) which I think he found difficult.  Really good guide overall.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A couple of domestics - For ladies - take tampons, very difficult to find and when you can they're non-applicator.  You don't need loo roll (as you do in Cuba) - as all toilets have this.  If you're travelling on after the tour, take a torch.If you're not sure about Sri Lanka, go on this tour anyway - so much to see, the people are fantastic and the food was really good.  I had thought it would be like India but found it much more chilled out and great food (and no-one got sick).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We didn't really get very much free time or time for shopping. On the last day we were taken to a department store (Odel) to do shopping but no-one was interested in this and would have much preferred to go to a market to buy handicrafts.   I would also recommend staying on in Sri Lanka after the tour if you can.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF TURKEY

    absolutely amazing trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing and walking the ruins. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arzu was FANTASTIC!!!!! She was great! Knew what she was talking about, very knowledgable, inspiring, and i would love to take another trip with her!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do everything offered!! Even the small, little side things that didnt seem important were!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The driver, Mustafa was excellent!!The hot air balloon ride was phenomenal!! And the driver was amazing!!!! 29 years experience made me feel soo safe!!I thought the last night may have been a little more special, instead of a smoky, loud bar, and i couldnt talk to anyone.In Celcuk, the Hitit hotel was TERRIBLE!!!!!!!! Worst hotel We staying in, by far!!! Dirty sheets, birds nest outside the window, no fire precautions, bathroom door didnt shut, nor did the toilet flush.. other than that, i had a GREAT time!! 
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    I had a lovely break, saw the key sites in Jordan and had an informative guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Wadi Rum was very good, mostly because I had the chance to ride a camel for the first time - and a very pleasant experience it was too! The facilities at the site were OK, but would have preferred either very rudimentary or luxury, the Wadi Rum site is somewhere in between and doesn't quite hit the mark.Petra was definitely my favourite site. It was great that we had two full days as you definitely need this to have any chance of exploring the massive and well preserved site.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled was very good, he mostly directed us to where we needed to be and then let us get on with the exploring. He was always approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wadi Rum - definitely bring your own sleeping bag. There are beds and bedding materials, but you'll sleep better with your own stuff. And don't forget your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Alcohol - unsurprisingly not that common in Jordan, so if you really need a tipple with dinner bear this in mind as most restaurants don't serve it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really great insight into the country, and though the tour is only 9 days you really do get to see the main sites. The Dead Sea was fun.. you are REALLY buoyant! Petra is AMAZING.