Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    Cycling was easier than I thought it might have been, at 50 I feel I have time to notch up a few more trips like this one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Optional tour to the floating village- almost didn't go after a day spent sight -seeing but this was better than Angor Watt!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was fantastic, dedicated to getting the best out of the trip for everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There were a few on our trip who hadn't really cycled much before  and they got on great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Already asked for the cycling brochures to be sent !!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN MADAGASCAR

    A good all-rounder of a holiday - mixture of excellent landscapes to walk in, villages/ towns to explore and culture to experience.  Good blast of exercise spread throughout the 2 weeks, topped off with a day at a beautiful pool, right on the Indian Ocean.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     The lemurs were wonderful, especially when they came around the tents in the evening you could really see how they interacted with each other! And the chameleons, you got at least one an hour just on the paths we were walking along.And finally, after all the hard work trekking, the day by the pool relaxing was a particularly inspired entry in the trip itinerary!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group Leader Solof was a great guy. Really knowledgeable about the whole country and couldn't do enough to ensure all clients had a great holiday.  The other walking guides and camp teams were also great  - made all parts of the walking and camping run smoothly and put on some great entertainment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Real good mix of a holiday so be prepared for the changesSome long travel days to get around the country - though these are helped with interesting stops, followed by  days all on foot.Accomodation varies between hotel and one-man tent, all great quality - do take an extra soft bag to split luggage for camping.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking of a holiday here then go now!  Tourism is still in its infancy and the country can be experienced without major western influences spoiling it.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    Had a fantastic holiday with our excellent guide, Gopal. Saw amazing temples, forts and palaces in Jaipur, Delhi, Agra and Varanasi. The local culture including pottery, farms and weaving was worth every minute. All in all an amazing holiday never to forget. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Taj Mahal at sun rise was a surreal moment and one I'll never forget as well as the evening prayers at the Ganges river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gopal was fantastic, helpful, polite and very informative - he knew his stuff!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy and make the most of it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the most enjoyable and fun adventures I have ever had full of action, culture and hip group of people - really easy group to get on with - and our tour leader Gopal was awsome.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    This was a truly amazing experience, with a group of like-minded people.  Although we didn't know each other before this trek, the group became a real 'team' and there was a great sense of achievement for us all in reaching Basecamp together.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Naturally reaching Basecamp was extraordinary and very emotional, however there were many inspirational moments along the way - actually reaching (and leaving!) Lukla,  the buddist monk prayer meeting at Tenboche with stunningly clear views of Everest, the end of trip party, the celebration in the Irish Pub at Lukla and our final lunch in Kathmandu Guest House were all very memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ugs and his team were exceptional.  They shepherded the group throughout the trek, brought us tea in the mornings and in one case took over the kitchen duties!  They really made our trip and truly engaged with the group - particularly at the end of trip party!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tough challenge, but if you have endurance and determination, you will almost certainly succeed.  Think about taking Diamox with you - there were many differing views on the use of this drug, but I for one was glad that I took it - albeit only half a tablet per day for about 6 days.  It gets very cold as you go higher - a decent sleeping bag, thermal liner and down jacket are essential!  Walking poles were also a real benefit.If you can afford it - pay the single supplement for the hotel in Kathmandu - it was lovely to revel in the en-suite shower after 16 days of sharing accommodation and taking turns!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The feeling of standing at the bottom of the top of the world was truly awesome - feel the fear and do it anyway!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

    This was our second Exodus trip and like the first it was oganised and managed really well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The coastal views in Madeira were spectacular and the levadas are a feat of engineering!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joe Olim was excellent.  A good blend of knowledge and humour, he went out of his way to ensure our enjoyment of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to have the trip itinerary changed (as ours was) to accomodate path closures, high winds and very wet weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An enjoyable first visit to the island with easy walking. If you like sea food there are endless possibilities!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    BORNEO WILDLIFE DISCOVERER

    One of the best holidays I have ever had, our rep Mr Lee Teck Seng was just the best rep and friend to us all. He made every person feel individual and important

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To see a wild orangutan in the forest were they should beand a sighting of a wild Cloud Leopard with Cub

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Just wonderful he really made our trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The people are so friendly
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Beautiful scenery, stimulating company and a kind, well informed guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk of the Gods was physically enjoyable and spiritually uplifting. I also enjoyed my free day which I used to discover the wonderful archaeological  treasure troves, the   architectural diversity and   the  spectacular and shabby grandeur  of Naples.    

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was professional, gentle, knowledgeable and intuitive. I  particularly liked her low key, confident style of leadership which commanded respect and appreciation while at the same time her presence was unintrusive and  measured.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A level of technical competence is required in relation to ascending and descending a considerable number of uneven and varied sets of steps which can last over twenty minutes at any one given time. Go at your own pace and be confident enough to invite others to pass you out so that you don't feel presssured.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed this trip and would recommend it. I found the hotel safe, comfortable and convenient. However,  although the food was plentiful and at times interesting, I  found the evening meals slightly bland as frequently  three of the  four courses consisted  of  various forms of pasta.   
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST: POMPEII & PIZZA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    We had a great time and would definitely recommend this trip to friends and family. The children were entertained throughout which meant we were happy too. The week was mixed with fun activities for the children (and adults), such as cookery demonstrations, pizza making and ceramic painting, as well as sight seeing key places along the Amalfi coast. Eduardo our Leader was fabulous - a real character. He looked after us well and make sure we were all content.  Highly recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Doing the 'walk of the Gods' with the most breathtaking views. Our reward for reaching the top was to eat a wonderful village feast prepared by one of our Eduardo's friends on the veranda of his 200 year old stone cottage.  Pompei was also amazing. The most intact Roman ruin I have ever seen with breathtaking views of Mount Vesuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo is a fantastic leader, a very warm character, great with the chilldren and adults alike. He knows everyone in the village - or so it seemed. He guided us all week and dined with us every evening. A wonderful person. I have nominated him for a leader award.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some layers as we had one or two chilly days but generally the weather was great.For those who don't travel well (like me): be prepared for windy coastal roads and some choppy boat journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel we stayed at was great. Run by two brothers and their familes we were made to feel very welcome. Food was lovely.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    A MUST for all travelers!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely there was not only one. I believe I had several inspirational moments: riding through the nature, getting so close to local people, crossing the borders, experiencing a lunch in a typical house in the Mekong Delta, discovering ancient temples and understanding much better one of the saddest historical events for the humanity. Moreover, can you imagine that I had the best ice-cream ever, and outside Italy? 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was just awesome! I traveled quite a bit before, but never under such a perfect organization. I was amazed about how complicated was the logistic (bikes, supporting vans, stops, ...) and at the same time how well organized was the support team. Thanks once again to the group leader! a big thanks also to the local guides: necessary to discover their countries! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the views - racing with the bike is fun but you risk to miss the details of the surrounding :)Don't forget: to drink a lot (camel back is a nice hint), to bring cover gel for the bike saddle, and if you can a basket to store easily your camera!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's unmissable trip! 3 countries in 2 weeks, so diverse inputs and experiences - and a lot of massages!
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    Good trip. Really enjoyed it. Overall was a good taster to India and Nepal

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taj mahal is worth it. Had wondered if the crowds would diminish its splendour but no - was beautiful.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jitu was comedy and eased our way round India and Nepal. Thought he was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    its a bit of a full on trip. Also if you don't fancy the 10 hours on a bus between Pokhara and Kathmandu and want an extra day at either location there are fairly cheap flights between the two daily

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Ok - lets talk Elephants. My whole group decided to not go on the elephant safari as we were not happy with the way the elephants were chained. Appreciate they are well fed, not over worked etc but they had two legs chained together so tightly they couldn't move at all. The baby elephant had its front legs chained together so tightly to get to its food it hopped like a rabbit. This is not exodus' fault. Nor should the elephant safaris stop as its an important revenue stream for the  farmers and I'm sure the tourism helps contribute to the cost of conservation - ride and elephant, save a tiger. however, if we truly want to embrace responsible tourism we should encourage exodus and other tour operators to ensure the farmers know that we'd all prefer it if the baby elephants were penned with their mother (no need to chain as the babies don't go far) and that westerners would prefer to see the elephants chained by one leg to a stake so as to restrain them but not to limit their natural movement by chaining their front legs together. Happy to discuss.
Call us on 020 8772 3936