Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    THE OMO VALLEY

    Escape from the predictable routine of your everyday life, broaden your horizons and prepare for some memorable experiences. The Omo Valley has it all from Hamers to Hippos, Mursis to Maribous and they're waiting to meet you! All of this takes place against an amazing scenic backdrop with the mountains rising abruptly from the plains of the Rift Valley and elsewhere the patchwork of terraced hillsides like a manicured artwork. For sure there are some discomforts- you will feel too hot and dusty at times, you may eat something you don't like and you may find there's no hot water at your hotel because they forgot to switch it on! But it's a small price to pay for some experiences of a lifetime...  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1) Watching the Hamer bull-jumping ceremony: an amazing and genuine experience, witnessing a very special community tradition. No-one minded us being there, but it certainly wasn't done for us- the perfect combination.2) The awesome scenery of Nechisar National Park and the Chamo Lake cruise to spot hippos and crocodiles at close quarters.3) Strolling around the tribal markets to see local trade and commerce in action.4) Visiting remote tribal villages off the beaten run (eg Omorate) and seeing inside villagers' houses.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gebre handled a challenging tour (he may also say a challenging group!) well to ensure we fulfilled a varied itinerary and got in a few bonuses. Main criticism? Lunches often too long because local restaurants and even a bigger hotel in Awassa couldn't cope with a large group descending. There is a need to think ahead- either order food in advance or visit local markets/ shops instead and picnic, which would actually enhance interest further.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is an amazing trip if you approach it in the right spirit. Be flexible and open-minded, accept some discomforts on occasions and you'll love it! Don't get rattled by local "hassles"- just pay a few Birr, buy your bananas, take your photos and accept the "services" of a child who wants to take you on a guided tour of the market! It's part of the experience and remember you probably have more money in your back pocket than they've seen in their entire lives! Without wanting to sound anti-social you should also break away from your group at times and walk around the local market or village on your own or as a couple: you'll experience far more, meet more people and break down the "them and us" barriers more successfully.Make an effort to talk to the local drivers and chef: they can be great friends for the duration of your trip and have much to add by way of local knowledge and stories.Minimise luggage: clothes can be washed at camp for a pittance; just take one warm fleece for Addis and you DON'T need a sleeping bag- just the inner lining is enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've said enough! If you want lazy, easy, pampered holidays that leave you scratching your head about what you've actually done with your precious time when it's time to go home or back to work- forget it! If you have a healthy enquiring mind and crave new experiences, new discoveries and big adventures- go for it!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC KENYA SAFARI

    This was my first wildlife holiday. I was totaly blown away by the wildlife and organisation of this trip. Our competent team in Kenya did an amazing job to keep all happy! We spotted all the wildlife Kenya is famous for except a leopard.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many.... 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    sdf

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    sf

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    f
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: KVITAVATN

    Back for another year of Kvitavatn magic and yes it just gets better. It is an infectious place, keeps pulling you back.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilse and Mary are the greatest team, they are both a pleasure to ski with. Teaching is gold star standard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go, you will not be dissapointed.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC CIRCLE QUEST

    The journey to and from Ushuaia was long and tedious but when we got on the boat things improved immediately.  The journey across Drakes Passage to the Antarctic Peninsula was a bit rough and I was sick until the Doctor gave me some very good pills. Once there it was calm.  we started at King George Island and went south, calling at various Islands as we went.  There was floating Ice and Icebergs everywhere.Everything was black(rock) or white (Ice). We saw nothing green after leaving King George. The only other colour was a bit of yellow (lichen) and some red stain on the snow.  The scenery was everywhere spectacular. Ice Cliffs with blocks breaking off and black rock precipices.  There were a few rocky beaches and one black sand beach.  We were loaned Wellington Boots and given a heavy, warm waterproof jacket for use on the zodiacs and on land.  In antarctica they were very useful and necessary but I don't think it will ever be cold enough in Enland for me to wear it again. There were penguins everywhere.  we landed at one colony and I have never seen so many creatures of one species together at the same time.  They smelled awful.. We crossed the antarctic circle and tried to land at one of the scientific bases but it was too rough. We went back north and paused in Paradise Harbour. Here it was fantastically smooth and peacefull. We saw an occasional Whale and some of the party went on a zodiac cruise to where there were some spectacular grounded icebergs. There were also seals and lots of birdsWe landed at one scientific station and I climbed a low cliff and looked into the water. I could see a penguin catching fish under the water.  On land the penguins were clumsy and awkward, under the water they were incredibly quick and active, darting here and there like dragonflies.On the last day we went to Deception Island.  This is a flooded volcanic caldera.  We entered through a very narrow entrance called 'Neptunes Bellows' and  landed just inside the entrance.  Inside the caldera, the water was warmed by volcanic activity and some people went swimming. Sadly, one thing I hadn't brought was a bathing costume.Finally back across Drakes Passage to Ushuaia, much smoother than the way out and we saw Cape HornThe journey back from Ushuaia was awful but that was British Airway's fault not Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Deception Island

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was marvellous

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm waterproof trousers.  One hint that I was given was to bring a clip to attach something colourfull to my pair of boots so that I could spot them amongst lots of similar pairs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful holiday, but Spitzbergen gives you much the same scenery and the journey is much easier
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH INDIA EXPLORED

    Great trip, plenty of variety,good food and hotels.Transport comfortable as some long journeys were made.Well looked after by the knowledgeable tour leader.Good contrast between temples,architecture, scenery and wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Thanjure temple at sundown.  Otters and wild elephants in Periyar wildlife park.Good cheap indian food.Friendly local people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gopal was knowledgeable on all aspects of India, from the thousands of gods to the present political situation.Always eager to please.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sterling as it is easy to exchange,best rates outside of hotels.Travel light with easily washed and dried clothing. You have to be willing to try curry, other foods are available but limited choice. Great for vegetarians.Speak to the local people. Western alcohol is expensive and not readily available. Local beer is fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very different from North India and well worth going to.If your schedule allows  think about having a day or so before and after the trip in Cochin. The Grand hotel has memorable food and it is easy to get over to Fort Cochin by ferry for 3 rupees.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    I didn't know what to expect when I booked this holiday with a friend ... but wow, I can honestly say this has been the best holiday of my entire life (and ive been on quite a few!).  This was an adventure of a lifetime, one that I loved from the moment I arrived.  Ive never had holiday blues so bad before - I want to go back, NOW!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many moments where I stood back and thought 'Wow, life can't get much better than this'.  But one of these moments that I will never forget was during the full day husky trip.  After a couple of kilometres my team of huskies settled into a steady pace (I didnt have to hold on so tight at this point!!), I took a look at the breath taking scenary, breathed in the fresh air (was minus 32 that day!) and thought 'I am truely the luckiest person alive!'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader(s) I had (Hannah and Ollie) were AMAZING.  Absolutely second to none.  I cannot fault them in anyway.  They worked so incredibly hard, yet made it all look so easy - and constantly made me feel like I was part of their family!  I cannot credit them enough - if there were an award, it should, without a shadow of doubt be awarded to them.  They helped make my adventure truely amazing - I will never forget them or all the new skills they have taught me!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to take plenty of layers.  The kit provided wasnt warm enough for me, but I took my own gear anyway - so was fine.  I advise 2 pairs of gloves at all times, wool socks (2 pairs at a time) and those hand warmers that you shake and keep your fingers warm for up to 10 hours.  They were worth their weight in gold, because it could get extremely chilly over there during some of the activities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't add anymore, other than this has been the best adventure of my life!  I would love to work there myself it was that much fun!  Thank you Hannah and Ollie, this was a special trip for me and it truely exceeded all of my expectations!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    This is a fantastic holiday for meeting new people, trying new things and experiencing the beautiful Alps. The skiing, snowshoeing and other activities provide a good day's workout but also allow plenty of time for relaxation and appreciating the stunning surroundings. It's a real spirit-uplifter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was a bit apprehensive about the dog sledding. When we arrived, the huskies were excitedly howling and the slope looked steep. 'Phillipe' commented on the icy conditions and said that the men should drive the sleds first as the dogs would be too much for the ladies! When my turn came to drive the sled I was convinced that I would come flying off but managed to stay on and enjoy the exhilarating ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver and Elaine are superb hosts. Oliver had us all cross country skiing after half a day's practice, and most people had never tried it before. We even mastered both classic and skate methods. Oliver has a knack for making people feel good about themselves so that you're not self conscious or worrying about your technique, you're only focusing on moving freely and enjoying it. And when we came back from a hard day's activity Nog (the cat) was waiting to greet us, there was a huge cake in the upstairs sitting room and, to follow, a delicious three course dinner cooked by Elaine.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would not recommend eating large amounts before you go on this holiday as you will find that you can't resist the afternoon cake, even if you try very hard...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get in quick and book this holiday! Hopefully Elaine and Oliver will continue to run this holiday for a very long time but in case they don't I would book it now. No matter what age you are, you will enjoy many laughs, the best dinners you've had for a long time and lots of encouragement with your skiing. And having sampled the atmosphere of the nearby celebrity bar at the Granges D'en Haut, I can honestly say that the hospitality at Chalet Savoy is far superior.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    The place, the people, the guides, the driver, the coach, all great and music everywhere. No crime, no litter, no advertising was so refreshing. The people are so resourceful, as they have to be to survive.   Long periods of travelling albeit in lumps of about 90 minutes but still leaving one a little too tired to enjoy everything on offer to its potential.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Havana, Havana, Havana. In realistic terms you get a day and a few hours to check out this wonderful city. Arts and crafts everywhere but especially a warehouseful down by the docks. Museums, music and cafes everywhere. Safe as houses - and, with a few exceptions, all walkable. Trouble is you want to stop and absorb the atmosphere, enjoy a drink. check out the band, or view the art. Each of the treks has its own virtues and well worth the effort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony our tour leader was everything you need. Knowledgeable, passionate and patient. If he didn't know an answer, he told you so; but invariably after a call an answer came. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As with the other reviews of this trip, be prepared for long bumpy periods on the coach. It is air conditioned and comfortable. The driver does as many sideways miles avoiding potholes and other lumps in/on the road / track as he does forward miles. Average speeds are therfore low by comparison to roads at home.Don't forget to pack the mossy repellant and fly killer. Mosquitoes are pretty voracious in and around Baracoa in particular. A quick blast from a small aerosol fly spray will stop them getting you whilst you sleep. The only shops, in the normal sense, are at the hotels and therefore shopping oportunities are limited so buying stuff we take for granted may be difficult. Be prepared to realise Cuba only has its own identity since 1959.  UK mobile signal coverage was good at hotels but a little iffy elsewhere. Arm yourself with low denomination currency, pens soaps etc - especially if you are a photographer. It is not a cheap place for the tourist but the 'Trip Notes' advice on cash to take is pretty much spot on. Also be aware that the airport Codeca does not have pound or euro coinage so you could be left with a few convertible pesos if you leave it to the departure lounge to sawap your money back.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another Exodus trip that will be appreciated for a long time.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: DOBBIACO

    A good balance of activity and relaxation, varied routes and views, friendly relaxed atmosphere and comfortable hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just all of the wonderful views, oh and improving my skiing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was calm and reassuring and made sure we had the best of the area and a good all round holiday experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When on holiday with a group, be prepared to mix and be sociable. Everyone has something interesting to say.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus holidays always depart from London airports. It would be helpful if transfers to and from resort could be more accommodating for those arriving and returning to airports in other parts of the country and Scotland. Little account seems to be taken of the fact that not everyone comes from the south.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Although the weather was extremely cold we were always busy. The setting was beautiful: the activities varied with lots of choice. Food was excellent and plentiful. The staff were fantastic - hard working and helpful. A sauna and hot tub were always there at the end of the day before a delicious dinner. This trip at this time of year is a real boost.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     I loved it all but personal thrills were ski-ing for the first time on fresh snow and spending a day on snowmobiles going up to a spectacular viewpoint and homely cafe enroute.After a day of wilderness skills and the creation of a cosy igloo we ate and cooked pancakes over a fire in the forest - perfect!  Not forgetting that roll in the snow after the sauna and hot tub....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    No Exodus leader for this trip. The local guides were exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own thermal underwear and socks and something to cover your face and neck. Also you might find a large towel useful. Games for the evenings are good too. The only seating is around tables on hard dining chairs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go for it. Try everything. The more you do the more you enjoy.
Call us on 0208 772 3936