Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    TIBET EXPLORER

    An amazing experience fulfilling a long held wish to visit the roof of the world, the abode of the God-Kings. Lhasa was even more interesting than previously envisaged - an intriguing city - tightly supervised by the ever watchful ( but very young) Chinese military. Lake Namtso was serenely beautiful and the epic drive back to Khatmandu an unmissable experience. Tightly packed with unforgetable memories too mant to write here. The walk from Rhombuk monastery to Everest base camp was a bit of a challenge but a huge sense of personal achievement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking with he pilgrims - at the monasteries and around the sacred Lake. Just amazing, sharing their experience, they have no material wealth but this huge need to demonstrate their faith.Visiting the Dalai Lama's summer palace - having read Harer's books - then I was actually there! Seeing Everest for the first time, then the next day enjoying walking to Everest base camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gum was a lovely man who led us very ably in two difficult countries. We are indebted to him as a grand facilitator of a grand trip.Dram, who was our guide in Tibet - again a marvellous fascilitator in an occupied country. A difficult job - keeping us nosey people safe - but ably achieved by an experienced man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to your Group leader. Tibet is not a free country , he does not make the rules but he helps you stcik to them and thus keeps you safe.Having said that, the freedom to wander at the various camp sites is just ace. Don't foget a pen to fill in all those FORMS.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I know this seems daft. I have been on many trips with Exodus and other companies to many far off places and never had seat belts -  BUT we were using fairly modern land cruisers in Tibet but no seat belts were fitted?? Well even more oddly they were half fitted. The front seat had a belt but no housing for it?We may have felt a little more safe on the hairpins with drops of hundreds of feet But then again ...
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN THE SLOVAKIAN TATRAS

    Enjoyable trip, with spectacular scenery and some hard days walking. Kracow is great for sightseeing and an evening out at the end of the trip. Very nice hotel there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of one of the Tatras peaks, with perfect weather and perfect views. Good wildlife;Chamoix and marmots

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good and personable , although  not quite forceful enough, as to group discipline on the tougher days,particularly with  a couple of members of the group who insisted on going at their own (too fast) pace, which caused the group to spread out, and on occasions caused distress for those at the back ie the less fit and confident, who felt they were being left behind.  In less than perfect weather this could have been a serious problem. As it was (I'm an experienced mountaineer) I took it upon myself to back mark and look out for them. One group member became seriously distressed, and the leader was oblivious to this being a long way ahead of the tail. I had to sprint up (not as easy as in my distant fell running youth!) to catch and alert him.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the walks on this trip are quite tough, not because of exposure, length or steepness, but because these mountains are granite the paths are bouldery and rocky, which can be tough on the legs, especially the knees. We had ideal weather. in the wet these parts would be very difficult going indeed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    it is a shame that most  of the routes are linear, up and down the same paths, rather than circular. For variety it would be good to see another part of the range on one day, rather than starting and finishing at the mountain lodge.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    I enjoyed the trip to Egypt for the culture , the history and the guiding.  What I didn't enjoy was the trip "infastructure".  I though the Pyramid Park hotel was vile.  The rooms, while simple, were not that clean, I had water running down my bathroom ceiling through the electrics and had to move rooms, the hotel had a bonfire outside the far rooms each morning and evening pouring acrid smoke into the rooms.  The hotel food was basic at best and unpleasant at worst.  The staff were obsequious.  Each evening there was the worst sort of live music by the pool which was so loud that you couldn't sit there.  I had to share a double bed with Leslie Taylor who I had never met before.  However, that was nothing on the Boat!  The boat smelt like a filthy pub and the public areas were grotty.  We had been told there was a gym and pool.  There was a tiny wee pool and the gym was absent (unless you include a grubby room with a small amount of broken equipment. It was a joke.   The rooms however were okay.  You need to go up market a little.   We also had to stay on there a night before travelling and it would have been better to have been in the Basma although I can see that might be hard to arrange.The Basma hotel and the Luxor hotels were okay. The hotel in El Gouna could have been better as the rooms are very small for two people but it was clean.  Please tell your visitors not to use the beauty palour in the hotel as it is a sham!There was rather a lot of stopping off at factories to see local crafts which was actually a stop off at a shop so we could be sold stuff.  This happened for Perfumes, Paparus, Carpets and Alabaster amongst others despite the fact we specifically asked not to.   The South Sinei/Exodus Reps were okay in Cairo and Aswan but most unpleasant in Luxor.  They were there obviously just to collect up the money from all the additional extras and showed little interest in our wellbeing (except Mohammed in Cairo who was great). We were most upset that on a couple of occasions were were told   the price of a trip had gone up on returning from a trip and not before.  This is really most unfortunate.  Not only are there so many extra charges but to get told that you need to pay more after the trip was the straw that broke the camels back on a couple of occassions.  We all agreed that in such hot conditions Exodus should supply bottled water for its visitors, at cost.  We were offered it in the minibus in Cairo but it was lacking elsewhere. I certainly wouldn't suggest Exodus to friends and indeed have urged friends to use caution when booking these types of trips.  Certainly for the quality of the local staff, hidden extras and basic standards in hotels.   I would be very wary of using Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without doubt the visits to Kom Ombo, Philae and the Luxor museum stand out.  But Abydos and Denderra were similarly spectacular.  The Cairo museum was a wonderful start to the trip and put so much in perspective for later on.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader (Mohammed Al Ghounemy) was excellent.  He was enthusiastic about the subject and keen to get us all involved in understanding the modern and ancient culture.  He was young and energetic and kept us all engaged.   He also tried to smooth the situation with the local reps from SST/Exodus who were, on occassions, rather parasitic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go prepared to be mentally and physically (if travelling in the hot season) tired.  There is so much to see, so much to do and learn.  Do some reading up before you go to get the most out of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    While I loved Egypt and enjoyed the holiday I felt it was despite Exodus not because of it.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    SPITZBERGEN EXPLORER ON THE SHOKALSKIY

    Fantastic holiday. Very well organised, and a feast for lovers of the environment. Wonderful landscapes, amazing skies, clarity of light, an abundance of birds, snow, rocks and ice, jewel-like flowers, and silence. Nature on the edge - tough but beautiful. A photographic heaven.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The polar bear on ice, first seen as a blob in the distance, and then slowly, gingerly, the captian edged our boat ever closer, forcing our way through the ice, until we saw her clearly, feeling her way carefully along the thinning ice, then lying in wait for a seal to appear. Then after a while she rolled on her side, stretched and yawned and waved her massive paws in the air as if performing for our benefit, then turned round and watched us watching her. Eventually she seemed to get bored and fell asleep, until some low flying birds disturbed her, and she heaved herself up, and slowly made her way towards the water's edge and swam away....(But perhaps he was a he.) And on the last day, when we came upon the arctic fox carefully sucking out the birds' eggs he had stolen, then trotting nonchallantly about, without a care in the world. And finally, the auk colony, clustered together on the cliff edge, seemingly egging each other on to jump off and fly, before the others all followed on in swoops and dives, only to return and start again. Magic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody and his team worked incredibly hard to make this an enjoyable and successful holiday. All were very friendly, helpful, interesting, hugely knowledgeable, with large reserves of humour. It was hard to say goodbye, and I was left with a sense of wanting to do the trip all over again, with all the same people on board...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect to see polar bears close up with cubs. (I did.) These sightings are very rare.Don't worry about travelling on your own. This was a very sociable holiday, where everyone mixed and socialised together.Usual advice - bring lots of thermal layers. Ski clothes are great, gloves, hats, sunglasses, and lots of warm socks are a must. But bring some T shirts and light-weight clothes too, for when you are indoors. The boat is very warm.Leave your books behind - you won't have time to read them!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus has done it again - a brilliant holiday! And thanks for the brilliant DVD, so even if your own photos don't work out, you'll have these to remember it by. I had no idea that there would be so many experts on board as part of the crew, giving lectures on the history, geology, polar bears, birds, plants, and the different kinds of ice. And we were also especially lucky to have Angie and Jonathan Scott and Chris Packham on board, all superb wildlife photographers, spoiling us with entertaining presentations and stunning slideshows of their own work, as well us giving us helpful advice and commentaries on our own photography.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    KERALA ADVENTURE FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Our journey was truly amazing made more so by the knowledge and experience of our guide who was able to take advantage of events and matters of interest arising in the moment. With the help of our expert driver we would stop at the side of busy roads to see festivals unfolding, investigate cashew nuts growing and see cows being washed in a river to name but a few.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps the place that will stay with all of us was our trip to Munnar, high in the hills, surrounded by tea plantations and cool fresh air.  We were particularly taken by the way everyone smiled!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was Souresh's understanding of how incidental moments contained the essence of his country and how they would capture our interest that made our adventure so spontaneous, fresh and feel somehow unique to us. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light and think about taking a hand held fan. Suggest that you don't leave buying souvenirs to the end of the trip as it proved to be quite pricey in Kovalam.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would also like to thank Souresh and Sebastian and all the other guides who supported the tour for their genuine care and kindness they offered our children. I could see that the children's welfare and safety was paramount to them. Thank you once again you made your beautiful country even more magnificent by being able to see it through your eyes.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    PICOS MOUNTAIN BIKE CYCLING HOLIDAY

    A great trip to a really stunning area of Northern Spain. Brilliant biking, great company and guiding. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final day down the Bull's Back - couldn't believe there could be so much down hill - and then more! It was pretty scary at times but stunning scenery and hidden villages, great lunch  and a great group of people - just a perfect day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great - Jim owned the hotel we stayed in so was very knowledgeable about the local area - and put this to really good use - took us to some great mountain biking areas that we'd never have found if we'd travelled independently. Jules was our cycling guide and was very good - relaxed, not a speed merchant but very encouraging and good fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're not too confident on technical downhills get a bit of practice before you go - you will enjoy it much more - then book it - it's a fantastic trip to a wonderful area

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Best mountain biking trip I've done - go for it!
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    FLEXI ACTIVITY: PICOS DE EUROPA

    The activities were brilliant, the accommodation and location and the food was great, everyone was very friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After not doing it for some years, realising that I could still crawl through the caves on my stomach, climb the rock face and abseil down the waterfalls - a real feeling of achievement at the end of each day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant at encouraging all four of us to achieve far more than we would have been capable of on our own. Very patient, pitched all the instruction at just the right level for our abilities and experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have confidence that you can do the activities, even if you haven't done them before.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was just the right holiday for two parents and their almost left home young adults to do everything together.
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - SHIRA ROUTE AND ZANZIBAR

    I'm actually short of words to describe how fantastic the Kilimanjaro part of this trip was. I didn't make it to the top (it seems my body is quite keen on oxygen) but if they phoned me up and told me I had to do it again I would jump for joy! Awesome. Zanzibar was lovely but nothing compared to the Kili trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I couldn't pick one moment that stands out as inspirational - there was something every day. It sounds a bit pathetic but, getting out of the tent each morning and seeing the vast silent wilderness around you and spending the day walking in it - just you and your guides - for me it was exquisite.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic - and his second in command - they were both friendly, fun and knowledgeable. I felt completely confidence in them at all times - and there are times out there when this is hugely important!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Baby wipes and thermals! Washing is tricky and the nights are unbelievably cold (colder than you are imagining right now!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is any tiny part of you that is considering this trip - do it - or at least just the Kili trek. It is spectacularly fantastic! I want to do it again!
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    CILENTO & AMALFI TREK

    A lovely varied holiday, with a very attentive guide, who ensured we had a great time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a boat trip along the Amalfi coast and visiting the beautiful Ravello were real highlights of the trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowlegeable and enthusiastic about the area.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food and particularly the ice-cream were fabulous
  • Reviewed August 2009
    Anonymous

    LAKE CONSTANCE LOOP CYCLING HOLIDAY

    We enjoyed the cycling (despite the heavy rain on 2 days) although the route was often through residential areas away from the Lake that were not so scenic. The route notes were often not detailed enough and, due also to the lack of signs in Konstance, our first day was difficult finding our way to Gotlieben. One of the hotels was very run down and basic, although one was exceptionally nice with lovely buffet breakfast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lovely views when cycling right next to the Lake and near the mountains. The best non-cycling event was going up to the top of Pfander mountain in a cable car and the wonderful views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    n/a as self guided trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure take wet weather gear with you every day as weather can change very quickly. Know a little basic German language and take a phrase book as we found few people spoke alot of English & all restaurant menus were in German. Find out times of ferries/buses/trains in advance if possible to save lengthy waits. Ferry from Gaienhof only went every 2 hours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hire bikes were not very good on the slightest of slopes. If I were asked to recommend a cycling holiday, I would say the one in Loire Valley, France was much more enjoyable and scenic.
Call us on 0208 772 3936