Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF EGYPT

    An excellent tour to see the main sites of Egypt in a short time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Tutankhamun's mask at the Egyptian Museum, the pyramids, the temple at Karnak, Abu Simbel, the felucca trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Randa was excellent.  She took the group out to local restaurants in Luxor & Aswan, instead of eating in the hotels,  which added to the whole experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the BA flight if possible, the timings are much better than the KLM flights.This holiday does pack a lot into a relatively short time. There are some early mornings and sleeping on Egyptian trains is not always easy so it can get quite tiring at times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The organisation of the exodus reps in Cairo, Luxor & Aswan was excellent. Egyptian trains do not always run to time and we had two hour wait at Luxor. It couldn't be avoided as we had to be at the station at the correct time according to the timetable but it was annoying.However, this was an excellent holiday which exceeded my expectations.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF EGYPT

    It was far better than I expected, we got to so many sites and our leader was responsive to requests in the group for special visits and the intinerary was not as rigid as I had expected !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going down those 140 steps into the heart of the SAQQARA pyramid and I was the last one to come out - just wonderful to be so far down and not another tourist there to disturb such peace!   Then someone in the minibus read out their guide book afterwards - the electic supply inside sometimes failed so it was best to take your torch with you.  I had to give my hat badge to the Egyptian policeman outside as a token of this visit - he said "One English Pound" but I said it was free as a gift to him. No Baksheesh did I ask for!!!!!!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was good!  I could not praise her more highly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be flexible in your needs, respect the Egyptians but be prepared to bargain aiming at 50% of their first asking price then try walking away to see if they will reduce price further!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was in Egypt on the Suez Canal in 1953/4 and had one trip to Cairo and to the then dusty Museum.  Said I would never go back there but glad I went back again in 2008: everyting was so much better but cant wait until they build that new National Museum to improve the labelling, lighting and displays.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VENICE AND VENETO

    Really enjoyed the self-guided option having always been on guided cycle trips in the past.  It was great to go at our own pace and stop whenever we wanted to.  We liked the cycling through countryside during the day, and then staying in towns/cities at night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I wouldn't describe it as inspirational but highly enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Didn't apply to us as we were on a self-guided trip, although the rep from Eurobike (the local organisation that Exodus use) was very helpful and efficient. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of Venice which is a complete rip off unless you really get off the beaten track (be prepared to pay 1 euro to go to the loo in the centre!!)Have picnics rather than going out to lunch - often more enjoyable and far cheaper.  There are lots of pretty roadside spots to stop.The Exodus recommended restaurants that we tried were very good.  We also found many others by just wandering and taking pot luck.  Outside of Venice the restaurants are of a high standard and still represent value for money despite the poor exchange rate at the moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the whole an excellent trip.  I would however say that Albano Terme wasn't worth a night - it's a very modern spa town with nothing to do other than go to a thermal bath (which is like a public swimming pool only with spa water!).  We would have preferred to stay in nearby Padua.  The hotel in Vicenza (The Europa) although a good hotel, was 2.5km outside of the town which was a little too far, particularly when the hotel receptionist told us that buses stop running into the centre at about 8pm!!  That wasn't actually the case, but the route does change later in the evening so your journeys there and back are different and can cause confusion if you are not sure where to get off.  The bus drivers were generally helpful and some speak English.  It's probably also worth mentioning that the hotel was right in the centre of the red light district - not obvious by day but blatant by night! 
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    A fascinating country, a great combination of spectacular desert scenery and cultural sightseeing.  Also a very friendly and interesting modern country.  A lot of driving but it is worth it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me camping out in the remote Acacus mountains and climbing the nearest hill for the views at dusk and dawn.  Also the forum and basilica in Leptis Magna is breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Reasonable.  Well organised and knowledgeable but briefings became more sporadic as the trip went on, with inadequate or inconsistent information provided.  However the desert team were great, as were the local guides employed (esp. Ghadames - great tour) and the policeman was a laugh too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are an active type take a pair of running shoes - early morning runs in the desert are fantastic and makes all the driving seem more bearable.  Be aware in April that if the wind comes from the south it can become incredibly hot in the desert between 11 am and 5pm!  However if the wind comes from the north it can be quite cool.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus - how about having a section on your review form for comments on the itinerary please?Generally this was a great trip, seeing most of the major sites in Libya.  On the first day though it would have been good to have an extra hour at Sabratha rather than driving straight to Gharyan for mid afternoon which is a depressing place with little to do.It would be good to cut down on the amount of disposable plates/mugs/cutlery used and to stop bus drivers leaving the engines running for hours while idle to make this trip a little more environmentally friendly.  Tricky I know as these issues do not seem to be at the fore yet in Libya despite an obvious rubbish problem.Agree with previous reviewers about trip notes needing a bit of revision.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA: SAHARA DESERT TREK

    This is an amazing experience in an extraordinary landscape but beware of the extremes of heat. The team spirit was an incredible support in soaring temperatures.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars was a highlight (as long as you dont mind insects). The sight of the oasis from the dunes and swimming in the spring were very welcome.A cool (ish) "fanta" or "Coke" in a small desert cafe after drinking hot water for three days was like nectar from the gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very informative about the wildlife and geography and was very supportive when a couple of us were finding it hard going in the heat. Sometimes I would have liked a little more information when plans needed to be changed but I think that the abnormally high temperatures had taken both our leader and the drivers a little by surprise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the full range of temperature. We didnt need our warm sleeping bags or thermals but an insulated water bottle and some cooling sprays would have been useful. Dont under-estimate how much your feet will swell in temperatures around 50C- take thin socks and lots of blister treatment. A few light weight luxuries like a fruit sweet or a mouth wash may help to quench the thirst.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip was much harder than I anticipated because of the temperature. Although this was abnormally high, according to the camel drivers and leader, I think the range should be emphasised more in the trip notes. We were all much more prepared for cold nights - which we didnt get - than for very hot days. The walking isnt difficult but unless you enjoy hot temperatures this trip is probably more relaxing earlier in the season. This was a challenge and you learn to rely on others and yourself in a wonderful environment.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    VALENCIA & VALLS DE LA MARINA

    I was the youngest person on the trip and it was great that when I booked the holiday that your guys told me that beforehand.  Thanks.  The hotel is great.  Brian and Pat are really nice but I did get the impression that they are having a difficult time because you have reduced the number of trips to them recently... or that was the impression that I got.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the holiday was on the free day when we went to the top of a very high mountain... we soon realised that we were perhaps out of our depth, nevertheless, we managed it and it was brilliant..!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a chap called Donal - Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, try and ask Exodus for must more friendly flights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The flights were ridiculous!  Especially the flights back.  As I mentioned earlier - I was the youngest member of the party at 35 years old.. and it was just heartbreaking to see people twice as old as me, after such a lovely holiday, sitting in Gatwick airport trying to get some sleep on a plastic seat because the flights were at such unsociable hours - I think we reached Gatwick at 0120.  Please try and change this!  Many thanks,
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    The trip was better than we expected although we wouldn't want to do the 12 hour drive to Sabha again! Overall it was a truly amazing experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting at the top of a sand dune in the Sahara watching the sun going down and the moon coming up. Exploring the Acacus mountains and seeing so many different rock formations.Sleeping out in the open, tucked up in our sleeping bags under the desert sky so full of stars.Visiting the old town of Ghadames and being taken through a traditional Libyan home with its beautiful decorations.   I could go on forever!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was knowledgeable but we sometimes had to coax information out of him rather than it being readily forthcoming.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!Be prepared to keep your arms and legs covered when asked. Travel trousers that can be unzipped in to shorts are ideal likewise shirts with sleeves that can be rolled up as dress is more relaxed out in the mountains and desert.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bring your own toilet paper!! And don't expect to keep your holdall tidy!!
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HOVDA MIXED ACTIVITY WEEK

    A good introduction to a variety of activities. Friendly and flexable approach allowed all in the group adjust their involvement to suit for personal preferences. We will definetally be back to Scandinavia next year and would not hesitate to use Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1 - Beaming sunshine from a strong blue sky over a far reaching landscape of pure thick white snow, trees and mountains while gliding along the cross country skiing tracks.2 - Catching a glimpse of an arctic hare while snow shoeing on a heavily snowing day then dropping my bag and 'running' after it with my camera hoping to get a photo of such an elusive animal. I never got the shot but did get a lesson in how physically demanding running in 2m deep snow in snow shoes is!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helen did a great job of coping with a very wide range of abilities in our group. Her technical skills in the activities were clearly outstanding, and critically her people skills and ability to teach to beginners were very strong.Reassuringly we always felt our leader was prepared to go beyond what was basically required of them and appeared to genuinly care about making the holiday enjoyable for the individuals as well as the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ski goggles are not essential - most in our group just used sunglasses.Full gaiters are not essential - we found 'inner-gaiters' on modern ski trousers were perfectly adequet.The 'optional' rail trip to Flom requires a day of activities to be missed and now costs well over £100pp.The Hovda Fjell Hotel is excellent and the owner is very friendly and speaks English.The Hotel can do vegitarian food, but it is not particularly exciting.The drinks in the hotel are on a par with what you would pay in a decent inner London hotel (ie not particularly cheap)The Hotel has free wi-fi internet access in the reception area and lounge.The bathrooms in the hotel rooms have heated floors - if you leave them turned on and lay wet socks, boots, gloved, etc from the days activities they are perfectly dry by the morning!The spacing of the seats in Scandinavian Airlines economy is more than UK airlines and therefore much more comfortable for people 6ft+ with long legs (ie me!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We used our 'free time' day to go into the local town - Gol. It wasn't particularly interesting and the timing of the busses meant we only had 1 hour there. I would recommend it if you want a break from the main activities.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    EVEREST TRAILS & CHITWAN

    Amazing views of Everest and other 8000 peaks, from Tawoche Hill @ 5000m.  Temples in Kathmandu, was an  eye opening experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trek was amazing, we had clear days with views of Everest on 4 different days, although this trek was at altitude the pace ensured that we acclimitised and reached our 5000m goal.  Sitting at 5000m watching the clouds roll in and enjoying the views of Everest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, Chandra was very knowledgeable & helpful.  He smiled throughout the whole trips.  His team supporting him on the trip were also very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Become a veggie on the trek, we did and no-one in our group got stomach bugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did 2007 itinerary with the Chitwan extension.  The highlight of the trip was the 5000m climb, I think this should be added back into the trip and the trip grading amended accordingly.  Replacing with the Chitwan is not a fair swap, although we enjoyed the Chitwan we enjoyed the trek more. 
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    Yes, it was brilliant and unforgettable, and quite different. We were a successful group, and made friends happily.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many. Evenings in the desert, Roman cities, cool ancient oasis towns.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Truly excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't believe the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have three criticisms of Exodus over this holiday, all to do with information sent in advance: the flight was not long haul, so did not need three hours check in time; we had to erect and dismantle our tents, contrary to the statement sent to us; there was no toilet tent, just the wide outdoors. This presents real difficulties to the elderly, who can find squatting difficult. These are serious faults.
Call us on 0208 772 3936