Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    great place, great people lovely scenery excellent leader great way to get into a winter holiday if you  have never done one

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the view's and snowshoeing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent could not find a better leader if you tried keep up the good work oliver

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    just book it and have a great time i can not ski but trying to was great fun and so was the snowshoeing
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    I had an amazing time and when I saw my first tiger - - breathtaking.  When he first growled - the earth moved!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Again - having my first glimpse of a tiger in the wild.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - so, so passionate about the tigers and about us guys being able to take exceptional photographs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really, just a delightful experience, and great fun with the cricket!
  • Reviewed February 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    Having been here before I knew a little about what to expect! The trains - well we experienced delays but this is India and the tigers more than made up for a little inconvenience.The Tigers - wow! were we lucky or was it because we put in the time in the Park, had fantastic drivers and accomplished guides - it was a heady mixture of all of the above! The most amazing tiger sightings!The cricket - not a player, oh no! but I became cheerleader for a day - a very memorable day indeed! The match is clearly a highlight for the school and the village of Tala. The Exodus team won - so our cheerleading worked (!) and we got to demonstrate our newly found skills to the school again on another visit!        

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me - it has to be seeing the tigers - I saw 2 on my last trip (2005) with the final sighting being of B2 - the big male. This trip he was my first tiger - and I was so fortunate to spend time seeing him at home in his environment, walking his territory and letting all comers know he was still king (but there is a new kid on the block - and the drivers/guides are already calling him B3!).The cricket is worthy of mention too though and we had a great time at the school - the enthusiasm and committment is there for all to see.  The group - a great bunch of friendly, cheerful people and a lot of fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein is passionate about tigers and the cricket (and photography, of course!!) - you get swept along with it all. I hope I got some good photos - well, at least one for my wall! Balvinder - the local guide - is worthy of mention - he is fab and did a great job getting everyone where we had to be and on time (perhaps he should be let loose with the trains!) and he played cricket! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The travelling from/to Delhi seemed a bit long and tiring but it is well worth it when you get to Bandhavgarh - it is a place that has a sense of peace combined with the expectation of seeing that tiger just around the corner.............    

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An all round great experience - the time of year was right - a little cooler than most would expect for India but tigers are more active then, so ........ we were lucky! I'd do it all again!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    An incredible holiday in every respect. The tigers were magnificent, the group was fantastic, the food was amazing and I have now run out of superlatives to describe everything else

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I saw my first tiger. It was a very emotional experience to feel so totally priviledged. It was the alpha-male whom Paul hadn't seen for 5 years. He was rolling on his back like a big pussy cat but when I looked at the size of his paws I was dumb struck. Couldn't actually take any photos for a while as tears were streaming down my face.The cricket match was also a highlight. The enthusiasm those kids had for their game was great. Everyone put their whole heart into it and it was good to see what the money from previous years has done. All credit to Paul for his passion and enthusiasm for getting this project off the ground and also for keeping it going.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As usual he takes no prisoners but his dedication, enthusiasm, passion and hard work to ensure we all had good sightings and a marvellous time is admirable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take your thermals if going in January when it is really freezing cold first thing in the morning. They were absolutely essential on the morning game drives although they were shed immediately we returned for brunch. A warm scarf or pashmina was also useful for both mornings and evenings when sitting around the fire. Ludkily a friend had just come back from India the day before I left and she advised me to take lots of warm clothes. I may not have had these with me otherwise and would have suffered with being cold

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Remember this is India and things can get delayed. It is nobody's fault. Just go with the flow and don't get stressed about it. That way you will have a great time like we did
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TIMBUKTU & THE DOGONS

    The combination of 3 days relaxing on a pinasse going down  the Niger  towards Timbuktu , followed  by 2 days at the Festival of the Desert -which must be the ultimate in music festivals- and a couple of days going back in time in the Dogon country was not only an adventure - but  a sheer magical experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Festival of the Desert  - enjoying music under the desert moonlight - with Tuaregs, Malians and Europeans all dancing together. Seeing Tuaregs dance to Rap, having camels coming through the camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely excellent - (Yaya Keita) was the best, a true gentleman and a star. He looked after us very well and was unphased by changing circumstances beyond his control.His support  of hard working staff drivers and cook were also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets cold in the desert and by the side of the Niger - made use of  the 3/4 season sleeping bag and liners.  Nearly need the thermals!Take plenty of hand gel.Think of things to entertain the masses of children that greet and attach thems selves to you at every village you visit  - take a ball and play?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In view of the updated threat of kidnap / terriost attack we would have preferred Exodus not to assume we all would have liked treking in the Dogan. In the event we did not go the Festival it would have been nice to think -with local knowledge - visits to  more convential musical venues (clubs  etc back Bamako or Segou etc) might have been possible.Mali is fantastic   it is definitely a Jewel  - the "Cuba" of Africa!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    If a well known Danish brewery did holidays then this would be it! A trip that exceeded all expectations. Excellent guiding, leaders, local staff and drivers that were outstanding. With so many Tiger sightings it's difficult to pick a defining moment! When is the next trip ?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    With so many Tigers sightings I think  seeing the park's Alpha male Tiger B2 coming out of the mist early one morning takes some beating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Local leader Balvinder Singh was excellent always on hand, polite, helpful and courteous. Paul was his usual self, bringing gallons of enthusiasm, commitment and a determination to make sure we all made the most of, if not exceed the photographic bonanza on offer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring plenty of memory cards and a portable viewer/laptop to download too. Buy/borrow the best lens you can afford a 300mm F2.8 with IS/VR/OS wouldn't be out of place.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local accommodation, food and staff were excellent. Thanks to everyone of my fellow travellers for making this a special trip that will last long in the memory and a tough act to follow!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA & DHAULAGIRI

    A brilliant holiday, with no pressure to get to great altitude.  The group was brilliant and the team, porter, guides, kitchen cooks and group leader were exceptional and couldn't do enough to help even when they had to erect tents and cook in the rain.  The views were stunning, even though there was some cloud, and it was so pleasant to be 'off the beaten trek'.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As a regular visitor, the Himalayas never disappoint.  It was good to see the landscape changing from terraced fields to the giant Himalayan peaks.  Even Poom Hill had less vistirs than last time (Annapurna Circuit) and was actually a good experience, but getting out of the tent in the morning opposite some of the big gaints, Dhaulagiri, Annapurna South and Annapurna 1 and looking at the sun rise, with a mug of warm tea takes some beating.  The group was great and the pace was not competitive and everyone got a chance to walk and talk with everyone in the group.  The day up to Kopra ridge was great, a lot of ascent but the pace was just right and the views at the top were well worth it.  The nigfht there was very cold but the local team was fantastic and reacted immediately when gales started to whip up our tents.  They immediately jumped into action to make sure that the pegs were well hammered in.  Next morning, it was all worth it, the views of the mountains were some of the most stunning I have seen.  You felt as if you could just reach out and touch the peaks and walk out onto the beautiful sun kissed banks of clouds......magical.The food was incredible and we all agreed that our cook was the champion chip maker.  There was always more than enough food and so fresh and tasty...even a Christmas Cake was produced.  Talking of Christmas, our dining tent was bedecked with streamers and balloons and outside was a decorated Christmas tree.  Wine and presents rounded off the evening.  I couldn't think of a better Christmas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang Lama was obviously a very experienced leader, with excellent English, a wealth of knowledge about not only Nepal and the mountains, but also his native Bhutan.  Him and the Sirdar, Pasang, ensured that the team worked like clockwork to make sure that we hade everything we needed.  Pasang had a very good sense of humour and made sure that he spoke to everyone in the group  and that he helped his team to make sure that tents were quickly erected, tea was served on our arrival etc.  One day in particular, we had to descend down very slippery stone steps.  The guides were placed at intervals throughout the group and we were all advised to go very carefully and slowly.  If anyone fell, and most of us did, he made sure to call out to see that we were ok.  He also advised the group on where to pick up souvenirs in Kathmandu.I think you have an exceptional team in Kathmandu.  This is my 3rd visit to Nepal with Exodus and each one of the Group Leaders has been very professional, helpful and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO THERE...don't always go for the obvious Everest Base Camp Trip.  This was a trip where no acclimatisation was required, but the views of the mountain were every bit as good, in fact, I think better, than the Everest region, especiallly up at the highest point of Kopra ridge.  You also get a chance to see the lowlands and the rural villages.  It's less tense than EBC, as nobody is wondering about whether altitude or sickness will get them.  I must say that the cleanliness of the kitchen was exemplary and nobody got sick (except for colds).  I did like camping except for the cold, but would advise women and small people to invest in their own sleeping bag (there are ones especially made for women).  Mine was hired from Exodus and it was just much too big and therefore got lots of cold air pockets.  Also make sure that, at night, your camera is in a waterproof bag as moisture does collect inside the tent as I found to my chagrin when my camera got completely soaked at Kopra ridge.  Be mindful of locals, what is acceptable for you may not be acceptable for them. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tipping is always a sensitive issue.  Maybe Exoudus shoiuld consider a tipping supplement to make sure that the teams get a generous amount.  I still cannot believe how much porters carry and yet they always have a smile and a namaste.  It's such as shame that this trip is no longer on offer.  This is one that no other company seemed to offer and a lot of other 'off the beaten track treks seem to have been withdrawn e.g. Langtang, Upper Dolpo, Upper Mustang, please bring them back as I am running out of treks in NepaLIf any of the group is reading this, you were great.  It means so much to have a really good group. Lastly, a big thank you to all the porter, kitchen staff, guides and the two Pasangs.  Without their smiling faces, helpfulness, humour , kindness and experience it might have been completely different!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    Having enjoyed this same trip in 2008, I had no hesitation in booking again for 2009.  What can I say it exceeded all my expectations, both in tiger sightings and in the companionship of a great bunch of fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were lucky enough to have so many great tiger sightings, but tracking the dominant male, B2, throught the mist on elephant back has to be a highlight.  My hands were shaking so hard with excitement that the photos were rubbish, but I will have those memories forever - photographs or not.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our local leader, Balvinder Singh, was terrific. Nothing is too much trouble, from providing bananas on the long train journey to bean bags for camera support in the jeeps, everything is done with a smile.What can I say about Paul, boundless enthusiasm and passion for the wildlife win out everytime.  He wants you to have a photograph you can be proud of and will go to great lenghts to help you achieve it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for early morning, very early, wake up calls!You will take more photos than you expect, so bring plenty of memory cards or a means of downloading daily.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The staff at Nature Heritage Resort are great, as are the driver/guides in the National Park.  Without the drivers' expertise we would see nothing, they seem to have an uncanny ability to know where the tigers are and also once spotted what they will do next.If you love wildlife and photography, don't hesitate book for next year! 
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    This holiday was my first with Exodus but definately not my last! I had the most AMAZING holiday and loved every minute!. I am already planning my next holiday and ive only been back home 3 weeks! The group really gelled together and the rep Elif was FANTASTIC!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    EVERYTHING!! There were SO many highlights! I was lucky enough to spend my holiday with a really lovely group of people who were really friendly, we got on very well and spent every evening together, being a single traveller it was really nice as I never got a chance to feel lonely!. On our free day a few of us got a boat to the Greek mainland, that was a real highlight as the town casta-lorezo( I not sure how its spelt!) was picture postcard and a nice place to spend a few hours! the walks we went on were hugely enjoyable, the scenery was beautiful!- I have been to Turkey twice before but never seen the rural, mountainous part of it before. I also had a turkish bath that wasnt part of the itinery but Elif the rep organised it for a few of us who had shown interest- it was heaven!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elif was FANTASTIC!! everyone in the group had nothing but praise for her! she went out of her way to make sure everyone had a fantastic, enjoyable, holiday! she lived locally, so had tremendous knowledge of the local area which was really nice as we all discovered so much about Kas and local area. She also organised other activites such as the turkish bath, cycle hire for some of the group that wasnt in the itinery. she also organised our evening out for new year, and introduced us to some lovely restaurants/bars which we spent our evenings. she enriched my holiday in all areas!.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the hotel is very close to the local mosque so you can can hear the call to prayer very clearly! especially at dawn! however I soon got used to it and for me was part of the holiday, and sort of missed it!. If like me you go this holiday Dec-Jan time be aware it may be warm and sunny during the day it does get cold in the evening so take warm clothes too!.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I just had the most WONDERFUL experiance ever and would thoroughly recommend this holiday! It had the right mix of everything- walking and sightseeing!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    ICELAND ADVENTURE WEEKEND

    A magical active pre Christmas weekend of clear skies, white virgin snow, pink day light, screaming on the back of a snow mobile, glacial walking all tied together clutching ice axes, cold fingers, blue noses, meals by candle light and making new friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking across the glacier and hearing the sounds of the ice cracking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgable and friendly without taking over. He allowed the group to gel and paced the day according to our needs. Multiskilled: one minute hes leading us across the glacier the next hes cooked a delicious meal for a hungry happy group. He also had a large supply of chocolate covered raisins yum ...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Follow the excellent kit list

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wow: what a great weekend and what a lot was packed into just a few days ...Well done Exodus
Call us on 0208 772 3936