Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2009
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

     The landscape, the sights and the Touareg team who looked after us all combined to make this an extraordinary and fascinating experience in a much misunderstood part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking out over the Jebel Acacus at sunset and feeling the silence of the Sahara as a physical presence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was superb. His dry humour, extensive knowledge, tireless attention and sheer organisational ability really made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's surprising how clean you can get with baby wipes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Read the trip notes and just go. You'll have a great time!
  • Reviewed April 2009
    Anonymous

    ZAMBIAN ADVENTURER

    A fantastic trip which had constant highlights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nearly every day produced an inspirational moment! Canoeing along the lower Zambezi was a magical experience with the odd heart in mouth moments, due to the hippos and elephants.  Victoria Falls was spectacular due to the Zambezi being at its highest for over 50 years - do go back in the evening if it is a full moon to see the lunar rainbow (non of us had heard of it either!).  Flying over the Falls in a helecopter is very special.  Walking with lions (an optional activity at Livingstone, not mentioned in the trip notes) this was very well organised and a breathtaking experience as we were able to stroke the lions and really feel the closness of a wild animal - wow, I'm still quite overcome by it all!  Chatting to Joseph the owner of the camp site on the Kaufe river - just wait till you hear his laugh!  Everything else was just as good, but the above were the highlights for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris was one in a million - chatty, friendly, knowledgable, good fun and 'in charge'.Humphrey, our cook is welcome to come and cook at my house any time.  The meals were superb.Oliver looked after the truck and helped with all the chores and what a dancer!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a good sized day sack - you have to pack an overnight bag twice and non of us were aware of that.There are many more activities available at Livingstone as well as those mentioned on the trip notes.  Many were booked up by the time we arrived - pre-booking might be an idea if you desperately want to do something.Whenever you are offered drinks on a game drive or boat trip check how much they are, or if they are included.The 8 hour wait in Niarobe is a killer on the journey home - down towards the exit there are comfy sofas and carpet to sit on + few people.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the most exciting trips I have been on - of course the group always helps, but the itineray was the clincher.  Don't let anyone tell you there is nothing to see in Zambia - the country has everything.  Enjoy!
  • Reviewed April 2009
    Anonymous

    DARJEELING, SIKKIM & KANCHENJUNGA

    Remote is the word that best typifies Sikkim. Remote from the world stage as an independent nation until 1975, remote in the sense that it is tucked away in the north east of India, nestling between Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal, and remote because it simply takes so long to get there.An internal flight to an Indian airport you’ve never heard of, then two days in jeeps, one of which is spent on tortuous roads that sometimes disappear due to landslides, then a two day walk in through steep forest paths, with some 2000m of ascent before the massive white bulk of the Sikkim Himalaya finally reveal themselves.It’s a beautiful area, unspoilt, and with relatively few other trekkers sharing the trails, but you need to be aware of the weather patterns in this part of the world. Early starts, determined walking to your next destination, and then anticipate rain, sleet, snow, cloud or fog anytime from 1400 onwards!In my view, this trek is best suited to folk who have trekked in other parts of the Himalaya (or other high altitude regions of the world). I would not recommend it for first timers. There’s some big ascents and descents, some very cold, damp nights, and although the food throughout was excellent, you do need a predilection for Indian veggie food.One for the connoisseur. If you’d like a more detailed diary of the trip please go to http://colinstump.blogspot.com/2009_04_01_archive.html
  • Reviewed April 2009
    Anonymous

    LIBYAN DESERT EXPLORER

    Simply put - a brilliant holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm a big fan of camping, rock art and Roman ruins.  This trip pressed all the butttons.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was an excellent group leader. hundred per cent performance - loved his country and could communciate this and enhanced the experience by his in-depth knowldege on history, geology and Roman history. His guided tour of Leptis Magna was particularly good. He made arrangements to celebrate the wedding anniversary of one of the couples on the trip that made it very memorable all round.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    An appreciation of rock art and sand would enhance the experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The campsite on the last night - basically a fly-blown rubbish tip - was perhaps not the best.  I camped in places like this with Encounter Overland in the 80s - which is one of the reasons we never used them again.
  • Reviewed April 2009
    Anonymous

    MARRAKECH & THE OUIRGANE VALLEY

    I had a fabulous time. I loved Morocco. The accommodation was great. The riad in Marrakech had real character, and the auberge in the mountains was quite the loveliest place I have ever stayed - the rooms were basic, but the gardens, the pool and the mountain setting were amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The smell of the orange blossom in the Bahia and Badi Palaces was divine. Seeing the beautiful crafts the children make, and the good work being done, at the Terres des Jeunes project.  Arriving at the mountain auberge in its wonderful setting.Walking in the mountains, which were surprisingly green.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was a very helpful, sociable and available guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is so much to see in Marrakech - plan your visits before you go! And nowhere is too far to walk, not even the Jardin Majorelle - the perfect place to visit in the midday heat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I took a chance and booked flights independently months in advance. The trip went ahead and so my flights were safe. This gave me some extra hours to enjoy Marrakech.
  • Reviewed April 2009
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: KAMBEN

    This was a very good value trip, staying in a lovely, family-run hotel in a remote area with skiing from the door.   The skiing was in loipe tracks on an extensive network (we rarely were on the same bit twice in 6 days). There were few other skiers, even on the Saturday. It was very peaceful and the scenery beautiful. It was quite undulating so there was a good variation in uphill and downhill parts on a tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing up onto the plateau above the hotel and sitting outside in the sun eating lunch was great. Getting up there under your own steam is very satisfying.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ros was very friendly, helpful and experienced. Our group was only 4 people so we maybe managed to go further in a day than a bigger group might have done. She was flexible in changing plans or route depending on the weather (and how tired we were).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothing that you can layer on and off as you get very hot while skiing but you can get very cool quite quickly when stopped or if there is a bit of wind. Take a flask as the hotel fill it (for free) with tea/cofee/juice.  You get plenty food as the buffet breakfast is also your takeaway lunch for you to make up your own sandwiches.  The hotel rooms were fine and there were plenty comfy seats in the lounge areas.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The brochure  price might make this trip look expensive but there was nothing and nowhere to spend any money once there so it was very good value.It would be better if this was a Saturday - Saturday trip. There didn't seem to be any advantage in having Sunday flights. 
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous

    SAHARA DESERT TREK

    A truly amazing experience!! Our guide, Mahommad is very knowledgeable and has taught us alot during our trip. Tunisian soup is something you could die for every night even it was not cooked using an electric or a gas cooker, just purely simple very traditional cooking method yet is still extremely tasty and healthy! Lots of hard work trekking in the desert for days and days but when you see the stunning view right in front of you, it makes the whole journey worthwhile. Words could not describe all the amazing things I have experience during my trip, you have to go and experience it yourself!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last night at our last campsite in the desert, the full orange moon and the clear bright shinning stars lited the whole sky is something so spectacular and so amazing. Having hot soup and Tunisian cous cous round by the warm fire with the whole team mates, looking up the sky full of twinkle stars and having camels wandering around you, chats and laughters among us. This is truly an unexpected spectacular experience that I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammod is amazing with his knowlege of geography and history. Looked after us very well and make sure that all our needs were taken care of. I love his every morning classes with us that he has got all our attention and we have learnt really good lessons from him.A very respectable tour leader though quiet at time but he joined in to have some fun with us appropriately.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember to pack lots of wet wipes, e.g. toilet wipes, body wipes and hand wipes and compeed blisters plasters as you will need it in this trip, and anti bacteria hand gel. You don't get to have a proper wash when you out in the desert so go prepared and you'll enjoy the rest of the whole trip. Don't pack too much clothings, travel light. 20kg rucksack is not required, just use a light weight backpack that is enough to carry 2 litres of water. As this trip requires lots and lots of walking every day, you don't want to carry a big rucksack to weigh you down. Best time to travel is between November to end of March when the weather is cooler during the day but it gets extremely cold at night, so wrap up warm especially if you are sleeping in an open big tent (that sleeps 8 people).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Change your Dinar currency only when you arrive at the Tunis airport and remember to change it back before you depart at the airport. Euro is the main popular currency in Tunis airport, so make sure you have enough to shop at the airport duty free. If you loved spicy, e.g. chillies, don't forget to give Harrisa chillies a go! Must give the Tunisian soup, the briq and the Saharan bread a go!!! At Matmata, got to try another kind of bread which you to dip it with honey and olive oil, you'll get it when you walk in to a local family house. This is their way to welcome you to their humble home. You have not been to Tunisia if you don't try any of their local food when you are there!
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WINTER ACTIVITIES

    A good range of activities, with, generally, appropriate standards of instruction; the one exception was cross-country skiing, which entails a lot of falling over for novices, and for which patience is required on the parts of both learner and teacher. The hotel was comfortable, and the staff there worked hard to cater for a particular dietary restriction.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight of the trip was the day spent husky-sledding - a wonderful experience in glorious weather.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable in this case, as, with a group of just two people, a leader was not required. This was not an issue except at two points, when things went wrong: at the start of the trip, when our luggage failed to arrive at Kajaani airport, and at the end, when it seemed as though our early morning taxi back to the airport was not going to show up. On both occasions, it would have been useful to have had someone around who could lend a hand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Finn Air appear to have some difficulties checking luggage from London through Helsinki to Kajaani. Each incoming plane to Kajaani seems to carry some "RUSH" tagged bags - evidently delayed in transit - and the official responsible is quick to dispense small collections of toiletries, intended to give some temporary help to luggage-less travellers, which suggests that our own experience is not unusual. On that basis, it's worth considering what is packed as hand luggage, within the limits prescribed by the current regulations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's worth a quick walk up the road from the hotel to visit the "Winter War" museum - it's hard now to imagine this quiet area of woods and lakes as a war zone, but I think it adds to the trip to know something of the region's history.
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING AT RONDABLIKK

    Great location, views, hotel, food and guiding. Only thing that just prevents five stars is need to ski quite a way to get much variation in trails, and the way back to the Hotel is uphill. Maybe that's nitpicking. Would say 5* for beginners weeks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being amidst so much snow - taking lunch around a wood fire outside or in the tepee.Dogsledding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One of the best I have been with on any trip of any kind. Confidence-inspiring, fun and an excellent teacher.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not specific to this trip, but as always it's worth getting fit before you go.Take advantage of the food. I did and still lost three pounds!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A satisfying and memorable trip. Hard work but fun, rewarded by just enough luxury. The experience of being 'out there' balanced with interesting local culture.
  • Reviewed March 2009
    Anonymous

    SINAI TREK

    This fell sadly short of Exodus' usual standard.  The local company was not supervised and let them down badly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beauty of early morning sun on the mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A well intentioned very young man who had been dropped into a task he was completely ill eaquipped to fulfill

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check very carefully that this trip has been reassessed and reorganised and will be carefuly supervised before signing on. Its a stunning area well worth a visit

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some Exodus trips are excellent. Such a pity they do not seem to be concerned to maintain a consistent standard.
Call us on 0208 772 3936