Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Interesting and exhilliarating

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Magnificent scenery and viewstrain journeyswalks with the right amount of flexibility and challenge to suit everyonewaterfalls and glaciers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely excellent.Had great knowledge about the area and enthused us all.Very sensitive to the needs of the group. Very pleasant mannerVery efficient and well organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    no it was all in the brochure

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The sea was wonderful - I have had colder baths!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were incredible, the local hospitality was warm and welcoming and the pace of life was relaxed.  Heaven on earth!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho was obviously a well-known and respected local who had great influence within his community.  His knowledge of both current and historical events ensured there was always a story to listen to - no matter the location.  His matter of fact and flexible approach enabled him to meet the needs of the group - even at short notice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a basic courtesy it is polite to learn some words of Turkish.  It is very much appreciated by the locals and I found it useful at the airport when I had a potential excess baggage issue......  :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The balance between organised outings and free time was perfect.  There was no opportunity to be bored as there was so much on offer in Kas.  It was helpful having the evening briefs as it allowed the group to get together and decide on evening activities, such as dinner together if they so wished.  This is useful when people are travelling on their own and may not feel confident about going out to dine alone.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Don't get caught by the cows!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the trip was definitely the last day. The views as we climbed higher and higher up the side of the valley were breathtaking and the huge vultures (?) circling the thermals at the top were beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Richia Astridge was a very good leader and guide and never lost enthusiasm for the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take wax ear plugs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip. Glad I went with Exodus.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Starry Nights

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stars at night - so so many more than we see in our light polluted world.The freshly baked Saharan bread baked in the sand every morning and night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - every morning we had a "lesson" from him while the other guys packed up the camp and loaded the camels.  The lessons covered all sorts of things like the geography, politics and history of the area, Islam and one day we all learnt how to write our names in Arabic. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the weather.  We arrived in torrential rain and a hailstorm.  The walking is pretty flat and is relatively easy.  The challenge is really dealing with the sudden drop in temperature when the sun goes down in the evening and the sudden rise when it comes up again in the morning. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are a strict vegetarian or vegan this trip may not be for you.  I am a non meat eater as was someone else on the trip and for the first two days (until the meat ran out) our meals clearly came from the same pot as a meat stew/tagine/couscous but without the actual lumps of meat in it.  I can understand the difficulties as there is only really one pot available for the meals and we both decided just to accept the situation and eat it.  There was a vegan in the group who had more difficulties.  After the first couple of days when there was no meat left every meal was vegetarian as were all the lunches. Other than this issue the food was excellent for a trekking trip, hot and plentiful food at night and refreshing salads at lunchtime.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Longest Railway Journey

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although I like trains and train travel, it was with some trepidation that I undertook this journey, knowing that I will be sharing accommodation on a train with total strangers in "Big Brother" fashion! We British tend to like our "personal space" and do not like getting too close to each other physically....... or emotionally.After two days in Moscow, sizing up each other and getting to know each other, we finally boarded the train in the evening. We were an assorted bunch with an age range from 60+ down to 27 and we were from all walks of life. Married couples, partnerships and lonely travellers; all shapes, sizes and colour with different beliefs in life.The first night on the train was obviously slightly awkward but within the day we became like family, sharing food, keeping out of the way when necessary, not disturbing each other and most importantly, piling into one compartment to have a party at night! The Vodka did help matters but it was quite inspiring to see everybody getting on well with each other including associating with our "Non-British fellow travellers".One night we went on a "Night Out" to the Dining Car and had a great time! Very soon we started discussing our personal lives and emotional problems and everyone was sympathetic towards everybody else.I couldn't help thinking that this was a very good "Bonding Exercise". Most of us were in tears on the last day and have been in touch with each other since then.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Catherine Dixon. The whole trip was enjoyable and efficiently managed, thanks to Catherine Dixon. I have travelled with Exodus a few times before and with other companies as well, and have met many tour leaders. Catherine was one of the best, without a doubt. She devoted equal time to all of us and in a way acted like a likeable school teacher, but also took part in the fun by being one of the "boys". We were not over-protected and I think that that was very important to some of us veteran travellers. She was exceptionally well-organised, efficient and attentive. Considering that this was her second Trans-Sib, I thought she was quite knowledgeable about the practicalities of this journey. (I know this because I deliberately tried to trip her up by asking her awkward questions!)She has a good medical knowledge of travel associated illnesses, was prepared for illnesses and emergencies and gave us good advice on prevention of illness especially when cooped up for four days in a small compartment and sharing toilets and food!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Trans-Siberian is fun but do remember to travel light! Russia, Mongolia and China are not "backward" countries (in spite of the impression given by the British media!). There is no need to bring the proverbial kitchen sink along! I would suggest that you only bring what you can carry yourself ( a backpack and a daypack). Bring a mobile phone by all means (for emergencies) but do not use it in the presence of your fellow travellers. (Some of us like to feel isolated and away from the realities of life when travelling!)Food and everything else can be bought at the start of the journey in Moscow or in Siberia and in Mongolia. There is really no need to bring 'Pot Noodle' from home. You will find enough of it on the train! (but do bring satchets of hot chocolate and a travel mug) Do bring Roubles and Yuan with you. You can buy them in your local village Post Office! That saves a little bit of time for everyone else who had the foresight to do so! ATMs do work in Moscow, Irkutsk, Ulaan Bator and in Beijing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Russia, Mongolia and China are vast, with miles and miles of nothing and therefore no medical facilities in between. Also, you are on a train with not many stations in between. Do make sure you are fit to travel.It also helps not to go overboard with the Vodka (none of us did!) especially at train boarding time and at border crossings. There is plenty of time in between!If you are travelling on your own, it makes sense to join up with other members of the group when going out at night in the cities.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Great scenery - but with 11 thousand metres of ascent and descent in 11 days, make sure your knees a

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Pyrenees GR10 walk has a lot of tough climbs. But they're well-rewarded by fantastic scenery. Obviously they are accompanied by tough descents but these are usually well rewarded by civilised camp-sites with showers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hard to comment on leaders because normally there are two leaders who take it in turns to guide or to drive the luggage. Prior to this trip the main leader was injured, so Exodus shipped in superb cook, great camp-host and fantastic character Dave Cannery. He dealt with the camp logistics while the second leader guided the whole of the walk.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure your knees are in good shape! Think of climbing and descending Snowdon by one of the tougher tracks once or twice per day for a few days on the trot.On the night when you wild camp there are animals about. Keep anything that can be dragged off (including your day pack and boots) inside your tent! (They're not safe under your flysheet). Main bags (eg exodus bags) are probably safe if zipped shut...Take your time and enjoy the scenery!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I've lost my heart in Tibet, so I have to go back to find it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the vast emptiness, the endless skies, the mountains, the people we met on the way, the children, serious and playful at the same time!   I read a lot before going there and have read a lot more since coming back, and would recommend this to anyone travelling there.   It helps you to understand the current situation and to be a respectful and sensible traveller. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was great!  He is a responsible, loveable person and he is a great asset to Exodus!I do hope when I travel with Exodus to Mount Kailash next year, that I have the same group leader and local guide !  They worked very well together (hint!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would strongly advise potential travellers to read up on Tibet before going there.I would recommend Tibet,  Tibet by Patrick French and Last Seen in Lhasa by Claire Scobie as both books give you a good understanding of how to behave and when to keep quiet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go with an open mind and an open heart.  It is an unforgettable experience.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Nothing could have prepared me for such an amazing experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to Varanasi.  Atmosphere was amazing---bells, chanting, so many people who were obviously devout .  Boat trip at dawn.Who could fail to be inspired by the Taj Mahal?Every day brought another fantastic experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Shail was so helpful and informative.  He has a wonderful sense of humour and fun.  Poor soul had to look after 6 women.  I look forward to seeing him next year when I go to the "Tropical South".

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be open-minded, take probiotics to help prevent "Dehli Belly", don't look at the hawkers.  Our guides told us not to give to beggars--very difficult.  BE CAREFUL when crossing the roads---there's SO much traffic of all kinds.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No complaints whatsoever.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Totally awesome!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whale watching trip that we took in Tofino was incredible.  I felt incredibly priveliged to watch those fantastic creatures in their natural environment.  Seeing bears, elk, bald eagles, a moose and a wolf in their natural habitat was also amazing.  All the activities we took part in were really enjoyable especially the white water rafting, mountain biking and horse riding.  Kayaking to an uninhabited island where we spent the night on a gorgeous beach was so much fun and gave a great sense of achievement.  As we approached the island we were joined by several porpoises who swam alongside us for a while - awesome.  The scenery at Mount Edith Cavell was stunning and the Canadians were all so friendly - genuinely so.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was great fun to be with and kept us motivated throughout the trip.  She worked incredibly hard to ensure we took advantage of all the opportunities we could.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there is a lot of travelling between destinations so a lot of time is spent on a minibus - take music etc to brighten up your journeys.  Take a range of clothes including thermals, hat & gloves even in summer - we experienced freezing temperatures and snow at one point - in August!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a truly incredible trip that I'll never forget and I made some great friends too.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    My first paraglide!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic coastline, great scenery, holiday had a terrific variety of activities - walking, sea kayaking (my favourite day), visiting archaeological sites, eating (wonderful food), the Turkish people were so friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you aren't used to walking in the heat, it would be best to do this holiday in the spring time when it would be glorious doing the walks. There wasn't much shade and it's difficult to take enough water for the length of the walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the best holidays I've been on and I can't wait to go back to Turkey again. I just wish that Exodus offered more trips exploring trips in Turkey - the 14-day one to Cappadocia etc involves some very long bus drives
Call us on 0208 772 3936