Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - NORTHERN CIRCUIT

    Anyone can suceed anyone can fail. We have done both, do not be scared, go for it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Barafu hut, when we knew we were going to reach uhuru, truly amazing Watching Doinyo lengai eruptSun up at Stella point, Seeing the summit sign from about 500m awayThe PORTERS & GUIDES, what they carried, what they wore, what they ate, their whole attitude. You cannot fail to be inspired by these young lads.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mathew, what can we say! Mr smiley, a clever subtle way about him, always close by with a sharp eye, he missed nothing and asked everything. His determination to help get us all to the top was truly genuine.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The most important factor of making it to uhuru is self  belief, and drinking, drinking and more drinking (water that is) somthing stronger goes down very well after !As tempting as it is try not to use plastic drink bottles as hot water bottles (the lads will be glad to fill them for you) Well its a great idea until you sit on it !!! after having placed it in your sl bag to warm it through. Still it was fun trying to squeeze into 1 bag.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having attempted Kili in jan 2007 taking the Rongai 5 day trek ( with a different tour operator) and only reaching Kibo we were delighted to discover the N curcuit 9 day route appear in the Exodus newsletter. most of us got some form of altitude discomfort at some stage but with the extra time on this route it gives plenty of time to recover and adjust. The N Curcuit also offers 2-3 days total solitude from any other form of human life, terrific views of the plains, every angle of Kili possible, great views of Mt Meru, and if lucky Mt Doinyo Lengai erupting clouds of ash. In breif the Northern Curcuit route is an absolutly stunning route from start to finish with the best chance of aclimatisation with different breathtaking views every day,and allows time to fully apreciate this stunning mountain. The hotels at start and finish are also georgous. Thank you to Exodus for making this exelent trip possible for us.  
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    MARRAKECH & THE OUIRGANE VALLEY

    A good short break.  I like these short options, especially when they include a bank holiday day off!  More please

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being in the Atlas mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    ok

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels - the hotel in Marrakech was very disappointing.  It was significantly more than the 15 minute walk from Jmaa el Fnaa Square (promised by the tour leader).  It was used by family tour groups from all over Europe so the depressing pool area was overwhelmed with families who never seemed to go out, noisy kids screaming and echoing up the courtyard.  Very poor breakfast buffet. Slightly dingy rooms, either over the road or the pool, either way very noisy.  Marrakech is now full of lovely riad type hotels in the centre of things, not all expensive - so why do you use this hotel?? In total contrast, the hotel in the mountains was fantastic!  Beautiful setting, mostly peaceful swimming pool area, fabulous rooms, very nice staff and good food.  Could, and might in the future, spend several nights there.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    It was a good holiday, my fourth with Exodus and a first for my male companion.  Well organised and enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a go at Kayaking for the first time and enjoying it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good, friendly and well organised. Always there if we need any help and encouraged good team work from us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go to Turkey take a plug! the hotel didnt have them.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    NANDA DEVI & TRISUL

    Nanda Devi and Trisul trek involves 2 days of train/bus travel at either end to access the trail head from Delhi followed by 10 days moderate trekking in forested/undulating terrain - significant altitude gain and loss occurs each day. The days are not long - no more than 6 hrs on the trail and on some days as little as 3 due to limits on available camping sites- if that could be resolved the trek could be shortened 2-3 days easily. The camp sites are typically meadows and exploring the areas around them can be rewarding. Remote villages, beyond the road system are encountered most days and the trail itself is mostly well constructed stone paths. Birdlife and ( in May) wild flowers are in abundance but wild animals are rare. The mountains are only glimsed most days , until day 9 and 10 which for me were the highlight.Titling the trek as "Nanda Devi and Trisul" is somewhat misleading as Nanda Devi is visible only on day 9 &10 and then only if cloud cover is not present whereas Trisul is frequently visible.Overall  a great experience especially the remote villages, wild flowers and bird life, though not the alpine experience I had imagined....
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    MARRAKECH & THE OUIRGANE VALLEY

    There was too much Rushing ...... and not allowing for the 'slowest' members of the Group (which was not us).With better Hikes planning the whole thing would have been much better ..... for example - 1st afternoon Hike should have been much 'easier', then there would have been no need to reduce the next Full Day hike to a half-day ramble.1st-timers to Marrakesh need more alerting to what to expect ...... plenty of Tips could have been given in advance, which would have made the experience much better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Hotel in the Atlas Mountains was superb

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Too much RushingSpent too much time talking to his mate & on his Mobile ..... should have cared for the slowest members better.Bad start by badly exagerating the walk to the main Square (35 mins running NOT a 15 min walk)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Speak to someone who's been to Marrakesh before - it's Unique ..... but be prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd do it again .... but would be a bit vary of what the Guide says
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    COOKING IN CHIANTI

    Villa Fabbroni was absolutely wonderful. Sergio & Stefano were excellent hosts, they really couldn't do enough for us! The course itself was really interesting (they even supplied a genuine Italian Mama for the pasta section!) and covered all the basics well given the time allowed. Before the last session, which was to consist of Tiramisu & Biscotti, we were given the opportunity to ask for a couple more recipes to be added on (having tried Ribollita (soup) during the week this turned out to be an interesting addition to our Italian cooking repertoire).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Villa Fabbroni & discovering we’d parked next to a real live orange tree! Add this to the olive & lemon trees and we were definitely in Bellissima Toscana! Florence was amazing, particularly the Duomo & Campanile, the original statue of David at the Accademia Gallery, & Botticellis ‘Birth of Venus’ & ‘Spring’ at the Uffici Gallery.Siena was the best place ever for shoes & handbags, quality you could spot a mile away without the huge price tags you’d find in Dublin or London!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knew his stuff, brilliant driver!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to visit the Uffici gallery in Florence ask at Villa Fabbroni as soon as you get there for your ticket to be booked in advance on line (you’ll need a credit card). This not only guarantees you entry but means you don’t have to queue for what could turn out to be literally hours!Be prepared to take loads of great pictures (but unfortunately not in the Uffici or Accademia galleries)!
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    A superb way to see Egypt -I would definately recommend this tour to anyone who wants to know about ancient Egypt and see some seriously amazing and breathtaking sights.  The knowledge of our tour guide (George) was second to none.  The holiday was made even better by the fact that the group all got on well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many incredible sights.  I think going to the Valley of the Kings brought so much together - it just made me really stop and think how on earth did they dig them out, prepare the walls, sketch, carve and paint the hieroglyphics......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A really great guy - very knowledgable, very personnable and he did really well to deal with all the different personalities in our group and problems that arose.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a great way to get to know ancient Egypt.  Sometimes it can feel a bit of whistle-stop tour, but George did see that we got time to look around everywhere we went.  You do get some free time to either explore the town you are in or to just relax by the pool - you can get a bit 'templed out' but its worth it.  There was a heat wave when we went (38C in March in Luxor - way above average temps) and it was really hot, so be prepared.  Make sure that you have plenty of film or a large memory card - I came back with over 800 photos!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus trip - and I have another booked and another one planned.  Travelling as a single person can be hard and I was apprehensive before I went about the people, but I had such a great time.  I'm looking forward to my next Exodus holiday - and hope its as good.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF EGYPT

    An excellent tour to see the main sites of Egypt in a short time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Tutankhamun's mask at the Egyptian Museum, the pyramids, the temple at Karnak, Abu Simbel, the felucca trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Randa was excellent.  She took the group out to local restaurants in Luxor & Aswan, instead of eating in the hotels,  which added to the whole experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the BA flight if possible, the timings are much better than the KLM flights.This holiday does pack a lot into a relatively short time. There are some early mornings and sleeping on Egyptian trains is not always easy so it can get quite tiring at times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The organisation of the exodus reps in Cairo, Luxor & Aswan was excellent. Egyptian trains do not always run to time and we had two hour wait at Luxor. It couldn't be avoided as we had to be at the station at the correct time according to the timetable but it was annoying.However, this was an excellent holiday which exceeded my expectations.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF EGYPT

    It was far better than I expected, we got to so many sites and our leader was responsive to requests in the group for special visits and the intinerary was not as rigid as I had expected !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going down those 140 steps into the heart of the SAQQARA pyramid and I was the last one to come out - just wonderful to be so far down and not another tourist there to disturb such peace!   Then someone in the minibus read out their guide book afterwards - the electic supply inside sometimes failed so it was best to take your torch with you.  I had to give my hat badge to the Egyptian policeman outside as a token of this visit - he said "One English Pound" but I said it was free as a gift to him. No Baksheesh did I ask for!!!!!!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was good!  I could not praise her more highly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be flexible in your needs, respect the Egyptians but be prepared to bargain aiming at 50% of their first asking price then try walking away to see if they will reduce price further!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was in Egypt on the Suez Canal in 1953/4 and had one trip to Cairo and to the then dusty Museum.  Said I would never go back there but glad I went back again in 2008: everyting was so much better but cant wait until they build that new National Museum to improve the labelling, lighting and displays.
  • Reviewed May 2008
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VENICE AND VENETO

    Really enjoyed the self-guided option having always been on guided cycle trips in the past.  It was great to go at our own pace and stop whenever we wanted to.  We liked the cycling through countryside during the day, and then staying in towns/cities at night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I wouldn't describe it as inspirational but highly enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Didn't apply to us as we were on a self-guided trip, although the rep from Eurobike (the local organisation that Exodus use) was very helpful and efficient. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of Venice which is a complete rip off unless you really get off the beaten track (be prepared to pay 1 euro to go to the loo in the centre!!)Have picnics rather than going out to lunch - often more enjoyable and far cheaper.  There are lots of pretty roadside spots to stop.The Exodus recommended restaurants that we tried were very good.  We also found many others by just wandering and taking pot luck.  Outside of Venice the restaurants are of a high standard and still represent value for money despite the poor exchange rate at the moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the whole an excellent trip.  I would however say that Albano Terme wasn't worth a night - it's a very modern spa town with nothing to do other than go to a thermal bath (which is like a public swimming pool only with spa water!).  We would have preferred to stay in nearby Padua.  The hotel in Vicenza (The Europa) although a good hotel, was 2.5km outside of the town which was a little too far, particularly when the hotel receptionist told us that buses stop running into the centre at about 8pm!!  That wasn't actually the case, but the route does change later in the evening so your journeys there and back are different and can cause confusion if you are not sure where to get off.  The bus drivers were generally helpful and some speak English.  It's probably also worth mentioning that the hotel was right in the centre of the red light district - not obvious by day but blatant by night! 
Call us on 0208 772 3936