Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The wildlife was spectactular

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being so close to the wild animals, I never imagined that this would be possible.Camping in the wild, this was the real Africa for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent, I have never encountered such a dedicated and knowledgable guide before..He made the trip for me

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to rough it, remember this is a basic camping trip. don't expect luxuries There are some long drives and often we had to be up by 5.30am...But all part of the fun

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the most memorable trips I have ever done
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A stunning but bizzare mixture of scenery, architecture and culture

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the classic cars in Havanna.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joel was fantastic, very knowledgeable, looked after all of the group and made sure everyone was fully informed and happy.  I would definitely recommend him as a top class Exodus leader and tour guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No, all the notes in the Exodus pre holiday pack were sufficient.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic holiday and very happy with the Exodus experience.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A very worthwhile trek, with the Aneto climb hard but worth the effort

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip in its entirety

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and was oustanding in pacing the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely be hill walking fit with well broken in boots

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To have the Mulleres Pass and Aneto days back to back  is a hard ask. If possible I would rearrange this part of the trek.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    All aboard the Andreas

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving by water at unknown destinations each dayBeing anchored off shore and diving with my son into the deep clear warm waters of the Agean My son making friends with some lovely children on board

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was very competent but more focused on adult holiday activities 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the sleeping accommodation is very restricted and potentially a real issue if you are a 'big' person.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Eating arrangements were generally too rigid for me and the restaurant meals too long and drawn out My son wants to go again!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Unforgettable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the view from Kala Pattharthe view from Gokyo Rithe view of Ama Dablamthe view of Cho Lhatsethe view of Tawoche...too many superb views to mention 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhakpa (and the whole support team) were very well organised.He went out of his way to make the trek a success.  The highlight was the visit to his parents in Namche. His father is one of the last two surviving high-altitude sherpas from the 1952 expedition.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your camera! Make sure you have enough batteries etc. You'll want to capture every moment. Visit the Bakery in Namche for great cakes.Visit the bookshop in Gokyo (a real gem)Great views of Kathmandu from Swayambunath.Most goods can be bought at Namche but watch out - I bought a well known brand sun cream that I' m convinced was a fake copy ( it was great for cooking chips but did nothing for my sun tan).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't skimp on the bonus for the porters - they deserve every penny.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Still smiling after 5580km in a truck!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A selection: Wild camping beside glacial streams, zip lining across a river, kayaking in pucon, sliding down snow-covered volcano on backside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She had endless energy and enthusiasm, a sound knowledge of the area and great organisational skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose this sector if you can ... it was fantastic and one of the better sections in S America as far as I can gather from friends who did more than one sector. Make sure you have a good sleeping bag. Think about learning some Spanish before you go. Opportunities for charging battteries can be few and far between so taking spares for camera batteries is helpful. Do as many of the available excursions as you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I understand that Exodus are considering removing overland trips from their itineries. This is a real shame as the trip appeared to be of a higher quality than some of the other companies doing the same route.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Gokyo - another world

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the little village of Gokyo we walked up to the Namaste lodge and after the customary welcome tea we went to our room and were stunned by the view. Our room, on the first floor of the lodge, looked straight out onto the lake and the mountains behind. The last rays of sun, mist and cloud all played across the water. We have never seen a view so beautiful anywhere in the world, and this was just looking out of our lodge window! The next morning the trek to the top of Gokyo Ri was hard but a superb challenge. All our group made it to the top where we took photographs of the peaks, Cho Oyu, Everest, Lhotse and Makalu and of course the amazing Ngozumpo Glacier, and then photographs of each other posing in front of the said peaks. It is hard to describe the view from Gokyo-Ri; it made any difficulties we had encountered seem trivial. We were so lucky to have both good weather and this view against a background of pure blue sky but after about an hour or so the cold started to bite and we decided to go down. As we set off another small group of trekkers arrived; what a great day, we had even had the summit views to ourselves!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Lakpa, charming, attentive , calm and always in control of the situation. It was also obvious that he was liked and respected by the sherpas and yak men and he took care to see that their needs were also met, which we thought was the sign of a good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are thinking of a holiday like this and wavering, take my advice and do it! At times it may be hard and uncomfortable but the average person can do the Gokyo trek and will never regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed this holiday and another Exodus holiday, the Annapurna Circuit which we did a couple of years ago, so much that I decided to upload my journals and some photos of the treks to a webpage. I hope it will be useful anyone thinking of trekking in Nepal. See: http://homepage.ntlworld.com/daniel.f/index.htm
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Meet our Eastern European neighbours

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a fifteen piece Jewsih band rehearsing for a festival in the Jewish Quarter of Krakow

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I think this was her first time leading this trip.  She was very conscientious but found it difficult keeping all the group on the right track given the variation in cycling speeds.  She could have done with a support guide to cycle at the back.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Slovakia is a hilly country and although the trip notes say they avoid any long, steep hills there is a 6km climb on one day which took the group between 45 mins to 1 hour.  So you do need to be fairly fit and if you don't like hills this isn't the trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes provided were of a very poor standard - but I'm sure they will have sorted that out before their next trip and won't make the same mistake twice.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Great trip, leaders gave us the best chance possible of reaching the summit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the crater rim of Kilimajaro.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders were great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be an advantage to advise future travellers on the Kilimanjaro trek that because their water will be boiled they should have metal water bottles or robust plastic ones. Naively I assumed the water would be boiled then cooled but of course the guys don't have space or spare pots to cool water in. The cook did give us 3-4 water bottle refils per day which was great so even a 1 litre metal bottle would have been enough.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Cheekyman (A friendly term for the Jackal)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful changing landscape The complete feeling of escapismThe amazing wildlifeThe whole camping experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was a local guide from Windhoek with a big smile and a wealth of knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of film and a long lens for wildlife.Try sandboarding at Swakopmund it's great fun!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall we had a brilliant trip definitely one of our best.
Call us on 0208 772 3936