Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Every day something completely new!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bryce Canyon was absolutely superb.  The views around every corner are magnificent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sean helped us whenever we needed it, he was very enthusiastic about the area, joined in with group activities and had a good knowledge of  the history of every area we visited.  I couldn't have asked for any more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try booking at least an extra day to visit both San Francisco and Las Vegas.  The itinerary doesn't allow for much time to visit these cities properly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday gives you city life in San Francisco and Las Vegas, the wildlife, forests and mountains of Yosemite.  The colour of Bryce and Zion Canyons and the vastness of Grand Canyon with much in between, enabling you to experience a whole range of different geology, cultures and panaramas.   
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I'll never be so relieved to get to the top.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A great trip with excellent well informed and organised Spanish speaking guide/leader. Very good food and comfortable well equipped rooms.  Good company. Really good after hours things to do; wine tasting, guided town tour and visit to Santo Domingo de Silos monastery for Vespers. Never a dull moment. And a trip to Burgos to ease the aches and pains.Lovely countryside, villages,hills and valleys, cliffs and rivers and a mountain or three to climb. But definitely more of a grade 2++ than a straight 2. We were exhausted by the end of the week. The best time to go would probably be last week in September as the local saints are celebrated all week with various events every day. See the Covarrubias website at ecovarrubias.com for details including weather and much else. There were two romerias the week we there (early September). Go while you can.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. See above. Probably the best leasder we have had so far.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do plenty of training before you go as it is quite hard work.  Easy jet do cheap flights from Liverpool  to Madrid but you will need to go Friday or earlier as ther are no suitable flights Saturdays. But a couple of days in Madrid is a good way to start the holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Suspected  bed bug in room.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Where are the PBs?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Calving icebergs - watching the spray then the multitudes of birds eager for the new food which has been stirred up.Sitting for an hour, waiting for a motionless polar bear to raise its head - the cold did not matter.Being part of the walrus' environment.Sunshine at midnight.  Exciting zodiac rides through ice, waves and spray.Elation at simply being there - at the top of the World

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were without exception excellent.  Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and even the most simple questions were answered with gravity and sensitivity.  They were also great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take care on the tundra - it can at times give way and leave you feeling rather wet and cold!Layers of thin clothing will make dressing for the cold easier than thick, heavy sweaters.There were loads of wellies on the boat, so save yourself the bother and weight of taking any with you.Don't expect gourmet catering - the food on board was adequate, but somewhat unmemorable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful experience - a pity the polar bears were so 'shy' and unwilling to show their faces to us as often as we had hoped.Magnificent skies - even amateur photographers can create breathtaking images.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    bittersweet!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Iguassu Falls

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I travelled from Quito to Lima then La Paz all the way to Rio (but not quite!) on the overland truck with Ant & Tubbs. They were great fun & got us through some hairy moments due to the extreme conditions during a Patagonian winter.  Unfortunely I fractured my back in 2 places when we were kayaking in the Pantanal, I was lucky I had Ant with me who ensured I was looked after in what was a very frightening situation for me. At times during the trip we had some challenging characters join us & they handled themselves very well & managed potential clashes of personalities!Thanks guys for a great trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get good insurance!! ...luckily I did!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Even though my trip came to a painful end, I had a great time & as usual, Exodus & its staff have been great...I am sad to learn Exodus are stopping overlanding, that seems a shame.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The uphills are a killer - but worth every minute

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day in the Spanish Pyrenees started with a 4 hour climb in hot sunshine. I have to admit to a bit of a sense of humour failure (and sunburn) at about hour two, but the long sweeping descent through wild flower meadows and across beautifully cool rivers was just stunning, and the mornings pain was soon well forgotten.Every day there was always the promise of a cold beer at the end, enough to keep anyone pedalling!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very down to earth, it felt like he was one of the group, rather than an 'us and him' mentality. I think he found the hills a bit of a struggle too, but showed immense patience with my slow pace both up and downhill! He also didn't seem to mind my abuse at making us climb for FOUR hours!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It will hurt if you're unfit, but don't be worried if you haven't done much mountain biking before - somehow terrain you would never have contemplated back home seems possible. Our group was of varied ability, but we all managed the same routes, if at slightly different paces, and if it got too tough you could always get off and walk that section.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Chalet basic but comfortable, food excellent and lots of it.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    My first holiday with Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That we got to visit places that I could never got to on my own - and I never felt 'alone' just because I had booked on my own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent local knowledge and motivated; approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    don't hesitate booking a holiday by yourself - i was made to feel so welcome.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Could not stop raving about what a fantastic time i had on my return; and the things that remain are:- where can i go next with Exodus?! (am still trying to prioritise where to go next)- it is the only holiday where i put on weight despite walking each day - because the food was superb- have bought recipe book from the place and still cook dishes- am pleased that the company gives some regard to environmental matters - please continue to build on this - as sustainable travel is no longer a 'nice to do' but essential, as well as a competitive business issue. Can Exodus provide a mechanism whereby customers can offset their flights as part of the holiday cost? i.e. easy to do on your website or indeed include in the holiday cost as a matter of course (for those who are flying with Exodus completely) with an option to opt out  - and invest that in projects overseas to e.g. install solar lighting in developing countries, - if Exodus does not indeed do so already.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The holiday of a lifetime

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being amongst high mountains and getting wonderful views of Everest. Meeting the Sherpa people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent-took great care of all of us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have good medical advice

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderful trip but was harder than we expected becuase of the exceptional snowfall and icy conditions underfoot. Think carefully about the time of year to go.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    One of the most memorable trips I've ever done

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess that when most people think of Peru they think of Macchu Picchu.  Whilst this was undoubtedly the star of the show (it will definitely live up to all your expectations) there is so much more to Peru: stunning Andean scenery, clourful and friendly people, surprisingly delicious food and the amazing amazonian rainforest.  If you want a taste of what Peru has to offer but only have 2 weeks, this trip would be hard to beat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader was excellent.  Friendly, easy-going but well organised.  The trip ran smoothly and followed the itinery with very few delays.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a hat and plenty of sun-screen for use in the Lake Titicaca area.  At the high altitude the strength of the sun can very easily cause sunburn if you're not careful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For a real challenge do the 1 day trek on the Inca Trail from Km 88 to Macchu Picchu.  There may be times when you question your sanity (I know that I had several of these moments) but the view of macchu Picchu from the Sun Gate (not to mention the feeling of acchievement when you get there) is unforgetable.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Fire and water

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all pretty amazing: climbing up a volcano in Guatemala, swimming in the warm seas off Roatan, white water rafting in Costa Rica, seeing red hot lava streaming down a volcano while having dinner on a hotel terrace in La Fortuna, watching baby turtles hatch on the wild beaches of Tortugero, catamaran trip in Bocas del Toro, where we snorkelled and saw dolphins playing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very organised, approachable and good fun. Had valuable local knowledge of activities and places of interest to see in all the different areas, including the best restaurants and bars!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's great if you know a little Spanish. I wish had learned before I went; I think it would have added more to the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Unforgettable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I travelled as part of a group of ten friends to Kilimanjaro this year and it was amazing for every one of us.  The fact that we all left the mountain friends is testament to the amount of support we got from the local operator, Exodus uses.  It was amazing that we all made it to Kibo Huts and all started the final climb.  Unfortunately, AMS got the better of some of us, but most made it to Gilmans point and further to Uhuru Peak.  We certainly owed our success to the motivation and care our guides and their team, provided.  Tanzania is a beautiful country and I would definitely go back to visit.  The Chaggar and Masai people are most welcoming and have a great sense of humour.  We continue to miss our guides, who became friends.  Though we are sure they are busy safely escorting other parties up and down the great Kilimanjaro.  The hotels we used were all safe and clean, perfect for one nights rest before and after the mountain.  The fact that they managed to launder all our mountain stained clothes in less than 4 hours ready for our 6am departure was a real bonus!  Enduring memories include the clear views of the starlit heavens, amazing!  Sun rise above the clouds.  The guides and porters, and knowing that given all the conditions you got as far as you could go.  The rush of oxygen as you descend the slopes gives you an elated feeling that you carry with you for weeks to come.  Unforgettable!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An amazingly strong person, both physically and emotionally.  Humbling. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to get very very dusty.  Also, AMS really does randomly effect people.  Though if you have a prediposed disposition, expect it to flare up as you will be at high altitude and will be expending a lot of energy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to Exodus for taking the time to choose a well regarded local operator.  All out team appreciated the hard work the guides and porters put in.  More work can still be done for better equipment for the porters as there is still heavy reliance on donations, which are not of uniform quality.
Call us on 020 8772 3936