Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    NT NT

    El Camino trek

    This trip will give you a taste of the Camino. I would encourage you to slow down and experience the Camino as a peregrino, rather than race to the lunch stop or the hotel at the end of the day with your head down. Lift your head up, enjoy the views, talk to the other walkers. Enjoy the Camino. Wear running shoes or trainers rather than walking boots. Expect blisters.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking with and sharing the Camino experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fine

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Slow down, participate and enjoy the Camino experience Wear trainers not boots Pack your compeeds
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Viv Morris

    Essential Peri

    Thoroughly enjoyable trip. Felt like 4 weeks rather than 2 as we did so much. Very long days, on the coach 5.30 to 7 am starts, but most people slept on the coach, and meant we made the most of the holiday. Beautiful scenery. Tour guide announced it was an adventure not a holiday, and it was. Very varied.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Machu Picchu without a doubt. Amazing place. Lake Titicaca a close second. Beautiful, friendly people. Everything at a slower pace, probably due to the altitude!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable, very caring, particularly over the altitude question. Made us feel we were in safe hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The altitude is no joke! If you suffer from motion sickness, like I do, you may suffer. Even the travel pills which usually keep me okay on these trips didn’t help and I was very sick for the day of long driving (10-12 hours ), and the boat trip on Lake Titicaca. But having said that I wouldn’t have wanted to miss the trip, it was well worth it, and the upside was I was given the front seat of the coach for the rest of the trip! There were only 2 nights I missed as had to sleep it off. In the trip notes it says explore the island when on Lake Titicaca. By this it means walk at altitude from 3,800 to 4,100 straight up to the top of the island! Beautiful views,but at that altitude the less fit members of the party were not able to do it and we had 3 hours allowed to go up and come down again.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Best way to see Peru. Very varied trip. Beautiful, stunning scenery, lovely old towns, with some amazing sights like Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the Ura people and the Condors at Colca Canyon and walking there.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Paul Jefferies

    Walking in Tuscany

    This is the third Exodus holiday that we have been on and the best one by a long way. The walks in stunning scenery were varied and interesting and are do-able with a good level of basic fitness. The farmhouse was warm and cosy with excellent home cooked food, we are vegetarians and had no worries or disappointments with the food. What made this holiday exceptional and one we will never forget was the leader, Sara. Her enthusiasm and positivity for looking after "her clients" shone through in every thing she did; for example buying rail tickets and arranging taxis made all the difference. Out on the mountains, Sara's knowledge of the terrain and love for the area was infectious. To top it all, the company of Sara's wonderful dog Elvis, trotting alongside us, made this an unforgettable holiday. If you are thinking about booking this holiday, just do it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The autumnal colours and scenery seen from the top of Monte Prado.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Ross Bishop

    Trekking in Madagascar - September / October 2017

    This trip is a thoroughly varied and perfectly paced active journey through one of the most captivating African destinations I've ever visited. The scenery is constantly stunning, the wildlife which is often unique was a privilege to see and the Malagasy people are humblingly friendly and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inspiration was frequent and varied on this trip: from spotting lemurs in the treetops (we saw a total of 5 species) to being amongst some dramatic rock scenery in both Andringitra and Isalo National Parks. If I had to choose one moment, it would probably be the sense of achievement in reaching the summit of Pic d'Imarivolanitra and marvelling at the remoteness and drama of the surrounding scenery. The Hotel de la Plage at Ifaty on the coast was a gorgeous way to end the trip too with the opportunity to take a sedate pirogue trip out to sea and snorkel on a beautiful reef.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rija worked tirelessly and always with a great sense of humour and patience to ensure that the tour operated smoothly. She was typical of all the Malagasy people we met who continually impressed me with how they achieve high standards with limited resources in a country that is obviously lacking in economic clout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the road journeys are often quite long, the scenery is continually interesting and helps you get a real sense of rural Madagascan life so don't let that put you off. Temperatures can be quite high and the sun can be fierce in late September so sun protection is important. Although accommodation and food standards were generally high, there were a few cases of food poisoning in our group so don't forget to pay attention to food hygiene.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had high expectations for this trip before I left and they were exceeded by a significant margin. I would urge any traveller who likes to get away from it all and combine activity and wildlife into their adventure travel destinations to seriously consider Madagascar - a country so deserving of the opportunity for economic growth through the sustainable development of its tourist industry. This trip contributes towards this goal perfectly.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    David Shaw

    Gentle Cycle in Mallorca

    Very enjoyable 6 days cycling. Mostly on quiet, country roads (with usually more bikes than cars!). Infrequent short stretches on busy roads (but not an issue). Fairly flat- with occasional short hills. Easily covered the miles, with plenty of time to relax afterwards! The (hired) bikes were of a good standard- especially the electric bike my wife hired. Hotels all excellent (except on the extra night- see below). Apart from Pollenca, we ate in the hotels every night- all very good. Weather perfect - apart from 1-2 hours rain on one day. Lovely, varied scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We opted for an extra night in Pollenca. Pollenca is a lovely small town. We cycled from there to Cap Formentor, north of Pollenca. Very easy route finding. Views stunning. Challenging hilly route- but very achievable- hills mainly less than 8%

    What did you think of your group leader?

    n/a

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Opt for an extra night in Pollenca (see above). However, if you do so, take caution in choosing the hotel. We were slightly late in booking the trip (6-8 weeks prior to departure). This perhaps caused issues with the extra night. We had to change hotels (1 night in Hotel Juma and the second in Son Sant Jordi). In the second hotel, we were given a room in an old annexe. It wasn't too clean; wifi didn't work and there was no hot water! The main hotel may have been better! This contrasted markedly with the other accommodation which was all excellent We also enjoyed a 2 day stay in Palma

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I requested GPX files from Exodus. This made route finding very easy.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Marion Johnston

    Discover Sri Lanka Sept 2017

    This was a wonderful trip, full of colour and variety. We travelled all over the country and saw so many interesting places and had fantastic experiences, but also had time to relax along the way. The tour leaders in Sri Lanka were the winning leader team in the Exodus leader awards in 2016 and I can see why.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all of it! However I particularly liked the Polonnaruwa ruins and loved our visit to the Temple of the Tooth in Kandy. The countryside was so colourful and lush, and we saw lots of animals and birds even outwith the parks. To my surprise I also enjoyed the white water rafting which I had never done before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan Weerakoon was an excellent tour leader. He knows the country inside out and was a mine of interesting information but delivered in small digestible chunks. He was very well organised and gave us lot of helpful advice re what to take/wear/expect each day. Everything was taken care of for us and we were able to relax. He was friendly with everyone and had a good sense of humour. He judged the mood of the group well and on one memorable occasion was able to conjure up tea and chocolate cake just when we were all running out of energy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take up the offer of the leader to organise the tipping kitty. Everyone expects a tip in Sri Lanka and it would have been a complete nightmare to manage this ourselves. Sujan did this for us and kept meticulous records and it smoothed our path through the country. Many of the activities are optional and opting out does not cause a problem. I did not do the cycling and was able to follow the group in the support vehicle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As this tour is so well established, it runs like a well oiled machine. I can see why it is popular - it is very varied with something for everyone, and great fun. Go for it!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    malcolm thomson

    highlights of armenia and georgia

    Out of a group of 16 , my wife and I had a good time but could of been better if not for the " Worst Guide of the Year " award , GUYANE ! Exodus subcontract her from a local company but she was terrible. First morning we drove off in the bus and she left 2 people behind !! Then things went downhill from there. No personality, didn't smile, no welcome meeting, didn't say driver's name, we were late getting into 2 hotels ( 9.30 pm ) , cable car wasn't booked in time , looked bored, tired and didn't care less about her clients. We got Sophia ( Georgian guide ) at the border, She was brilliant and lovely !! Armenia is a lovely country trying to get back on it's feet after Soviet Rule. We liked it better than Georgia. Beware of the wines there, we had a few dodgey stomachs in the morning. But, it's great to see , you'll be bored with looking at churches after this trip. Hotels OK except in Yerevan which was great ! Transport good. Don't do this trip if you're a veggie !! Meat heaven ! Enjoy !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Leaving the Armenia guide at the border and collecting our new one , Sophia !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Armenian Guide - Guyane ? was a complete mess. Did someone tell this woman , you look good, you present well and speak english well , why don't you be a tour guide !! Wrong !! You need to have a personality, look after everyone , not us 2 people who befriended you and used you as their personal tour guide, smile, count all people before you drive off ( she left 2 people behind after day 1 ) !!, know what you're talking about instead of reading it off your IPhone ( google ) etc etc !! Georgian guide - Sophia - what a turnaround !! She was a brilliant guide. Someone should video her and show it to Guyane , this is how you look after people !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring something for your stomach, the wines are a bit dodgey on the stomach. They are made a different way to normal. Love churches and read up on the history first.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hope you DON'T encounter GUYANE !!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Gary Donaldson

    First timers to Exodus - Won't be our last....

    My wife and I booked our first Exodus trip knowing we were not the most keenest of cyclists, but wanted a more active holiday than a standard package holiday typically offers. We were a little fearful of whether we could manage to cycle for 6 days solid. We are both early 50's and enjoy active outdoor pursuits including walking, golf and occasional gym. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, and even managed to complete all days without any assistance from the transport who followed the group. Being part of the 16-strong group, it was nice to be able to meet so many different people and talk to them all during the cycling and also during the group meals and stops along the way. I would recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys an active holiday, with stunning scenery and the friendliest and most hospitable Sardinian people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The second day of cycling (Day#3 of the itinerary) is the most physically demanding with a long uphill. The sense of achievement when racing down to the meeting point was not only inspirational, but also exciting helped everyone enjoy the meal and their sleep in the beautiful hilltop hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giovanni was very passionate and dedicated to make the holiday as enjoyable as possible. He was a little serious at times, but this was his way of ensuring everyone enjoyed themselves. He was very knowledgeable about the Sardinian history and also provided good advice and insight into the upcoming hotels and restaurant choices. He also very honest and made known his feelings on what was good or not so good value / service in many of the restaurants we could choose. Simone was very enthusiastic and easy to talk to. He had better English than Giovanni, and tended to understand what the group wanted to do compared to Giovanni.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prior to starting the holiday, there is a checklist provided. The checklist does not include cycling gloves, but on Day#1, it was strongly advised to wear gloves. Fortunately, individuals within our group had spare pairs, which they kindly allowed us to borrow. The hotel stay on Night#4 is absolutely stunning. Suggest you request a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Our room also had a washing machine which enabled us to wash our first 3 days of cycling gear. This hotel was the least friendly. The staff were very controlling, insisting on serving you breakfast rather than allowing a self-service, more relaxed arrangement that occurred at the other hotels. On our last evening, in Cagliari, the hotel was changed (with 1 day notice) from one in the town centre, to one on the outskirts of the town. This was a shame as it meant the group was unable to walk to our hotel from the busy, bustling centre of Cagliari. It also meant our last night fizzled out a little earlier than we certainly would have liked to. In hindsight, we should have remained in the town centre until we felt it was time go back, and obtained taxi back to our hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Exodus team were very helpful from point of booking through to the end of our holiday. We had left something in the first hotel, which they tried hard to recover and were subsequently successful. However, I did feel the hotels did not check thoroughly enough at the time when I initially discovered I had left something. Be very careful with your belongings as it is easy to leave something behind as you move from hotel to hotel daily.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jenny Dando

    Porto to lisbon

    This was our 6th cycling trip and one of the best,we usually do moderate but this time did leisurely to moderate,thought it might be to easy but there was a couple of challenging hills,hotels were very good,trindade hotel in Porto advertised a rooftop bar but there wasn't one,another hotel had a rooftop bar but was closed for the season bit early I thought. Our guide Pedro and our driver jaun were excellent nothing was too much trouble ,super trip .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery and beaches

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant we all loved him .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ride a couple of hills before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take warm tops for early morning and evenings if going after last week in September.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Sarah Skinner

    Inca trek, a must for anyone who enjoys trekking.

    A seasoned Exodus traveller, this holiday was the best so far! The trek was brilliantly organised, walking over 4 days, we arrived to see an almost empty Machiu Picchu. Our guide Reny was fabulous, and had a great knowledge of the trek and the Inca history. The group had a fantastic atmosphere. I would highly recommend this trek to all it was hard work but really really worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Sun gate after 4 days walking and the monkey steps!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Reny was fantastic, he ensured a group atmosphere. As someone who had done the trek a few hundred times he really knew the way, and was so supportative when the it was tough. As well he had a fantastic knowledge of the Inca history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sign up and do it, it is really worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Smile for sun!
Call us on 0208 772 3936