Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL CHINA

    Very well designed itinerary allowing you to see plenty of places in China and take party of many activities but there was free time as well. Very good standard of accommodation and overnight train experience. Great mixture of sightseeing in big cities and countryside - really diverse trip. Great Wall was amazing but it was only one of many highlights on this really interesting trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two great days in Yangshuo where we have done biking trip, bamboo boat trip, cooking class, visited a market and had plenty of time to chill out. Great Wall on the Day 3Beijing Duck dinner with the group.Night market in XianWhole overnight experienceStar Ferry in Hong Kong Victoria Peak in Hong Kong with amazing view of the whole cityWatching local people and their daily lifeGreat atmosphere in general

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional, helpful and he made sure that the trip runs smoothly. He told us a lot about the culture, history and a few very interesting things about China.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be scared of overnight trains. They are more comfortable than you think but make sure you buy food before boarding.Definitely take a cooking class in Yangshuo  and boat trip!Make sure you have comfortable shoes and pack light.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

     Book this trip and enjoy every minute!Oh and practice your Chinese before you go:)
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    Wonderful views, food and people!

    What made this holiday amazing was the delicious food, the lovely local people, the attentive, enthusiastic and charismatic tour leader, the beautiful views, the sense of achievement at the end of every walking day, thoroughly fun fellow travel companions and Firewater!  I would do it all again in a heartbeat!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every walking day when we were about to descend from the wall, looking back at the long distance we had just covered and knowing without a doubt that the sweat and [small amount of] blood (look out for hidden lose stones!) was totally worth it all.  Then looking out in front and seeing the wall continue over the mountains ahead and realising there is still so much left to discover.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kevin is a genuinely lovely and attentive leader. He is very knowledgable and answered all the questions we posed.  He was very accommodating and when someone asked whether noodles was a popular dish in China as we hadn't seen any being eaten yet, we had it at our meal the next day!  Nothing was a problem for him and he was always cheerful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As you've probably read in previous reviews, take toilet paper/wet wipes!  Most toilets (often of the squatting variety) had no paper, including the bathrooms in accomdation.  I took snacks, but actually it was unnecessary as we got plenty to eat at meals and Kevin bought us fruit to eat during the trip.  Take a towel.The walkng mostly involves steep ascents and descents (and a lot of stairs).  Parts of it is challenging, but after a couple of days of walking you get used to it all.  Often there were options for people cut the walk short should they feel like they have walked enough already.  Also, should you for any reason not want to walk on any of the days, then this wasn't a problem either.  Don't let the thought of not being fit enough put you off!  There were plenty of breaks. Coffee-lovers take instant coffee, there's always hot water available at mealtimes.You will have to wear long trousers at least once because of long vegetation on the paths (including some stingy nettles).  It's worth having a long sleeved top with you in your bag when you will be walking through the vegetation as some people were all scratched up.  I benefited a lot from zip off trousers. Take an alarm clock, there are plenty of early starts! If you can't use chopsticks, then take a fork and spoon (often there were none available).  Don't worry about not fitting into the group.  There were plenty of solo travellers in our group.  These types of holidays are pretty self-selective, wanting to walk the Great Wall of China already gives you something in common with the others.  Further, eating together, walking together and Firewater will help bond friendships quickly!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Prepare for severe post-holiday blues!  Luckily I brought enough Firewater back with me to help me through this inevitable period.   
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    MT FUJI & THE JAPANESE ALPS

    This is an amazing trip, not to be missed. A little bit expensive, I know--but worth every penny.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, my dream was to watch the sun rise over Mt Fuji, and it was a dream that came true. Fabulous. But, the whole trip was wonderful, full of exquisite and unforgettable moments. Very varied & interesting & I found myself loving Japan. In fact, if the guides had asked any of us to go back to the beginning & start afresh, I think there would have been a resounding 'YES'. I don't think anyone from the trip wanted to go home!!The trekking I found tough,Yarigataki especially, but maybe I am too senior! However with a professional & caring guide with Rudi & co-guide Dan, who enhanced the trip enormously, I was in good hands.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, very caring & wanted to make sure he fulfilled everyone's wishes & expectations

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Already said
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A new experience for me-my first walking holiday! Very hard on day one but by day six I found myself saying.....I'm really enjoying this! Extremely well organised and fantastically led by Christine Rooney.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Surviving day one! I found it a battle, but the feeling I got from my achievements was very rewarding. The amazing places I saw made it worthwhile and if I didn't make the effort I would never have experienced them - not even through photographs, they really don't compare with reality.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!! Her knowledge about the history and culture was second to none - thanks Christine x

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep focused-even during the hard times. I counted the number of steps, which gave me something to focus on rather than how difficult it felt. I won't tell you how many steps......I will let you find out yourselves. For those that suffer from travel sickness - I recommend Travella natural tablets - they definitely work on the journey back from Amalfi, which is winding to say the least. Lastly, although its tiring try not to miss any of the walking days especially day 4 - absolutely beautiful ; )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel staff are very hospitable. We met some lovely people on our trip from as far away as Canada - hopefully we'll keep in touch! Thanks Exodus.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A very well organised trip. Christine, our guide, was extremely knowledgable on the local history and understood the local culture completely. The walks were pitched at just the right level, even with the heat of August!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were fantastic and the food......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was brilliant. Totally understanding of the local culture and people. She has immersed herself in this and is able to portray an understanding back to her guests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you read the notes take into account the effects of the heat. We travelled in August and it was hot!!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    This camping trip was a brilliant way to truly explore this amazing country and to share the experience with wonderful like-minded travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to just pick one; the amazing 'live theatre' of wildlife at Okaukuejo waterhole at midnight (2 mins from campsite) at Etosha NP, beautiful colours of Africa, friendly and welcoming people, at the top of the golden sand dune at sunrise, quirky campsites in the middle of nowhere, meals round the camp fire, our tour leader and crew ...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronnie was amazing; very organised but in relaxed not regimented way, knowledgeable about his country, funny, interested in his travel group, great team leader for the camp crew. I felt very safe and relaxed on this holiday thanks to the crew, despite travelling on some very remote roads and camping in the wilds of Africa.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    July is their winter so pack well for the evening, particularly camping, as it gets v cold. The trip notes need greater clarity so def take at least season 3 sleeping bag, fleece liner and base layer. Camping was a brilliant experience if you were warm. You will need layers for the day from windproof outer layer and fleece to t-shirts and shorts. Lots of early mornings as the sun rises when it's cold and then quite hot during the day. Remember to take a head torch too. Tents were basic but superb!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a must do trip for every traveller. It took me ages to decide which holiday to go on this year and this trip certainly exceeded my expectations on so many levels. So many truly wonderful experiences and two weeks seemed to fly by so quickly. Camping is by far the best way to explore Namibia. Every campsite was different and added to the experience. Wildlife was awesome - we were very lucky and spoilt travellers. You'll return from your holiday with hundreds of stunning photo's. There are many long journeys to ensure you cover as much of Namibia as possible, however, very few of us had time to read our books due to the ongoing banter with other travellers and crew, and the changing landscapes and wildlife mile after mile. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    ICELAND WALKING EXPLORER

    An excellent 2 weeks of walking and busing around spectacular Iceland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Iceland is amazing - our most used word was "wow" as we saw glaciers, lava fields, suplhurous mud pots, geothermal hot pools, amazing waterfalls, puffins (aaah!) - so much to be impressed by, and we were!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!  Petur was an excellent walking guide and keen to share his knowledge on Iceland.  His relaxed approach worked well and his cooking was good too - always plenty of food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothing for all weathers - for us, the high points were generally in cloud and so were wet, needing full waterproofs, but we also had some very hot weather where we needed sun cream.  Be aware that it may well be very windy too..The walking is excellent, but don't expect Iceland to be easy and be prepared to walk in all types of terrain; steep climbs and descents, sometimes with loose scree, sometimes with snow all make excellent and memorable walks, but worth taking decent boots.All but one of the campsites had excellent showers with plenty of hot water (mostly for a small fee and on a timer)  All had charging facilities for camera batteries, phones etc again for a small fee.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A superb trip around Iceland that didn't disappoint.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    ICELANDIC HIGHLIGHTS

    A well thought-out way to get a good look at Iceland in a short space of time. It would be hard to see this many wonders and get this much insight under your own steam. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the edge of the world in the Vik area, both on the clifftops at Dyrholaey and the volcanic beaches at Reynisfjara, as the North Atlantic flung some bracing weather our way. Or getting immersed in the primal forces of waterfalls like Skogarfoss ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/7837779092/in/photostream ).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gudmunder (Gummi) Bjornson (apologies for spelling) can't be recommended too highly. Insightful, resourceful, hard-working and very sociable. Magnus the driver was friendly, safe and highly efficient. Great picks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You'll get the most out of this trip if you're willing and able to do some walking and scrambling - otherwise you'll either limit the itinerary or find yourself left out. Also be aware that Iceland is tiny, demographically speaking, and while the food is usually very good, the accommodation can be spartan compared to more populous European countries. Smooth, straight roads become rarer the further you get from Reykjavik, so take precautions if you're prone to travel-sickness. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had some misgivings about the transport - a strengthened Sprinter mini-bus with trailer did open up destinations that might have been closed to a larger vehicle, but the interior just wasn't rooomy enough - it would have been a real problem had every seat been taken - as it was, many struggled to stow their boots and day-gear in the absence of overhead luggage racks, and the windows weren't exactly panoramic - at 6'7", I was lucky to have most of the back seat to myself, but would have struggled otherwise - a hard issue to fix, given the terrain, bur the old, compact, off-road coach we had on the day the Sprinter broke down was a much better bet. Overall, a great 'scouting' trip that will inspire us to return to Iceland on a more adventurous basis.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    An excellent holiday with great walking, company, and food. It was our first walking holiday and I would recommend it to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views on the walks were spectactular. The food and hospitality of the hotel were great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was excellent! She was good fun and she really knew the walks and the area well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think that this is a great holiday for walkers of all levels. The walks are all interesting and the pace is gentle enough for anyone. The holiday is suitable for all ages and also for both couples and singles. Some of the walks are quite hard on the knees, probably worth bearing in mind if you have problems. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel does not have aircon, which I would imagine is not ideal if you get a very hot week. This trip is spent with English people speaking English all the time and the only chance for you to really integrate yourself with the Italians is on the free day. There are shops in the village where you can buy anything you forget / want to take back with you.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    KAYAKING ON THE TURQUOISE COAST

    fun, relaxing and hard work!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    feeling like we were the only people left in the world

    What did you think of your group leader?

    he made us all feel confident and he knew his stuff

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    mastering the skill of using the paddle is the easy part. being able to paddle for an extended period of time is the challenge - the 'next point' was sometimes 45 minutes away!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    when the trip first started i thought 'there is no way i will be able to paddle every day for such a long time' as my arms and shoulders ached liked they had not ached before, but, my body got used to the ache and the good food that was served and the jokes and sun and beautiful water as well as great company just made it so much fun and i wanted the trip to last for another week!
Call us on 0208 772 3936