Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    the best walking trip i have been on....great hosts in oliver and elaine...spectacular scenery and views...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    i took the cable car up the aguille du midi on my day off and the views of the distant mountains and the surrounding peaks were pretty spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    oliver was a great guy,very experienced leader and good fun....he was very happy to help and answer any questions about anything at all....he put no pressure on anybody and maintained a pace which all group members were happy with .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    take warm and wet weather clothing at all times when walking as the weather can change at the drop of a hat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    i have been with exodus before and several walking trips in the alps....i enjoyed this trip the best,as the views were constant and spectacular......the walking was not too hard on the feet and oliver and elaine were a great friendly couple who made everyone very welcome.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    GET INVOLVED: ZAMBIA VOLUNTEER

    An unforgettable and inspiring experience I would hesitate to call once in a lifetime as I'd love to go back and do it all again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were indeed a few inspirational moments, including the excitement of the children when they were picked to answer "TEACHER!"'s question and holding one of the little ones up to write it on the board; the laughter as someone forgot the rules of our card game and was smugly reminded of it by those who'd only learned the day before; the shrill glee, accompanied by a song and a dance, of a member of the women's group when handed some new sewing material. But rather than inspirational moments, I had a constant sense of happiness and belonging thanks to the warmth and hospitality of all who surrounded us and the emotion reached a peak as the village children sang us a dedicated farewell song.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy was fantastic. Energetic and fun. He never stopped and kept us on our toes without turning over bossy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In the space of a few short days, which just flew by, you'll make friends for life. Calling this a rewarding experience is an understatement. I was left happily, deeply touched. If you're still considering, just go for it - you'll be so pleased you did.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We all got so immersed in life in the village, we were almost suffering culture shock at our luxury lodge afterwards - someone wanting to get into our room to make the bed? How strange when you can just do it yourself!! I almost hadn't mentioned that part of the trip which was also most enjoyable. And the sudden abundance of peanut butter and marmite - which I don't get living in Germany. That was just fab too!
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    YELLOWSTONE WILDLIFE TREK

    This was an amazing trip in which we were lucky enough to see an abundance of wildlife in addition to spectacular scenery. The tour guides we brilliant also.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was coming almost face to face with a grizzly bear whilst hiking in the forest in Glacier National Park. It was both exciting to see such a wonderful animal in its own environment as well as being an adrenaline pumping moment to get out of its way. The specialist guide was brilliant and we had great comfort in her abilities - we were definitely glad that we were with her and not on our own in that situation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the group leader and the driver of our group were wonderful. They worked tirelessly throughout the duration of the 2 weeks and did everything to make a trip a brilliant and memorable experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have warm and waterproof clothes for camping at night and the rain in Glacier National Park (they get quite a lot of it which is why it is so green!). Take spare batteries for camera/video-camera. Take a spare set of walking shoes in case your walking boots get wet and don't dry out in time for your next hike.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were 3 very long days driving in the minibus, particularly the last 2 days of the tour. This felt rather like a waste during our holiday and perhaps it could be investigated whether it would be feasible to end the trip in Glacier and fly out of a nearby airport rather than having to drive all the way to Salt Lake City. It should be made clearer in the trip notes that the guides do not have the permit to drive the Going to the Sun road. We had to spend another $70 on a tour bus to take us.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This was a great holiday. It combined lots of activites with a brilliant location with a great instructor. Our group was brilliant and i could not reccomend Kas or this trip highly enough. I created a highlight video on the video page which shows how much fun it is. You will get a few bruises but that is all part of the fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I jumped into the water on my diving day and saw a turtle right in front of me. That was seriously cool. Also the paragliding was terrific and felt so natural.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Geoff or rather jif (by the end of the trip due to the kiwi accent) was a great leader. Always interested in having a conversation but also took his time to speak to others in the other exodus groups. Really dedicated guy and great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a fairly long transfer from the airport to Kas. However do not see this as something that will put you off as it is so worth the wait as it is such a genuine place. This place is where the Turkish go on holiday so there is a really nice atmosphere nobody was pushy and trying to constantly sell you stuff. There were familys around and enough bars for evening activities. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having gone by myself with nobody else I found it great bonding with the group very quickly and making friends i will keep in contact with. All i can say is book it and have a blast
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    I had never been to walk in the Alps before and had never been on a walking holiday of this sort, so decided to go with Exodus. The whole experience was excellent, from the chalet where we were based, to the area as a whole and the walking in particular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moments seemed to go on and on. The views on all the walks, with the exception of one when the weather closed down, were superb. Mont Blanc was almost always on view, but closer in the flowers on the meadows and the occasional wildlife, such as marmots, were a treat, especially in June.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver, our group leader, was highly experienced and this was obvious from the moment he led us up the first ascent. He was assessing the capability of all 15 of us so that he could set the right pace and balance the walking with rest stops. As we got fitter during the week, the pace increased slightly and the walks became slightly tougher, but this was very much in accordance with the trip notes. Oliver has a great sense of humour and a wealth of jokes which I much enjoyed. They made the whole experience great fun. He was also very careful, where necessary, to explain the safest way to walk across ice and snow and to show how to minimise the risk of a fall. This was kept in proportion and it did not become a health and safety show. He also insisted that we keep ourselves well hydrated, which was necessary as we experienced some of the hottest weather of the year. Oliver has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the plants and flowers that we encountered which were in profusion at the end of June. Oliver has a small fox terrier, by the name of Dylan, who accompanied us on 3 walks. He is a great character whose company we all enjoyed and who became quite a mascot of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy this tour. It is a great introduction to the Mont Blanc area and Oliver will show you all the best bits of the Tour de Mont Blanc. You need to be of average fitness, but the walks were never of any great distance (perhaps 9 miles), but some longish ascents are included. If you like walking in amazing scenery, you will find this tour excellent value for money.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Oliver's wife, Elaine, runs the chalet. It was a delight to find that everything we needed was on tap from the moment we had arrived to the day we left. She is an excellent cook and we all made the most of the meals. On the Wednesday we went out as a group to an expensive restaurant but I would have preferred to have had a meal back at the chalet! The packed lunches were just right - never too little and always delicious. The chalet facilities were also always available. The hot tub in the garden, with great views of the Mont Blanc range, was very well used and soothed tired limbs. The sauna was also well frequented. For those who wished to stay in touch with the outside world, the Wifi was always on and a computer was available for those who wished to use it, as was a TV, coffee and tea. Elaine made the place run like clockwork and was a delight to chat to.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    A fabulous trip, excellent walking, great guide and stunning scenary

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great sights and amazing views of the mountains throughout the trip.Seeing the mountains while standing between Switzerland and France on the first walking day while watching the Mont Blanc Marathoners struggle up the path. Looking at the mountains in a field of alpine flowers in the blazing sunshine.Sitting in the Bonatti refuge at over 2000 metres eating pear and chocolate tart, drinking expresso while looking at the most inspirational mountain scenary. Seeing a Golden eagle and a Marmot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olivers excellent leadership meant I could be in terrain which I could not hope to have managed alone. His unique sense of humour and respectful approach to the mountains, other walkers, the mountain refuge owners and to the group made the trip very special. He has an amazing knowledge of Alpine flowers and the local landscape which also enhanced my enjoyment of the walks. There were one or two people on the trip who were better suited to a grade C holiday who were frustrated at the grade B pace of the trip but I found the walks entirely suited to my fitness levels and well described in the trip notes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take all equipment that is recommended in the trip notes. I used it all!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Elaine and Oliver are great people, very ecologically aware and have a real passion for the countryside and the mountains. There are amazing views of the mountains from the chalet which are beautiful to look at while having breakfast in the mornings and dinner in the evening. Dylan the 11 month old fox terrier accompanied us on most walks and was a joy to have with us- this helped make the trip really special.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    A fabulous trip, excellent walking, great guide and stunning scenary

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great sights and amazing views of the mountains throughout the trip.Seeing the mountains while standing between Switzerland and France on the first walking day while watching the Mont Blanc Marathoners struggle up the path. Looking at the mountains in a field of alpine flowers in the blazing sunshine.Sitting in the Bonatti refuge at over 2000 metres eating pear and chocolate tart, drinking expresso while looking at the most inspirational mountain scenary. Seeing a Golden eagle and a Marmot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olivers excellent leadership meant I could be in terrain which I could not hope to have managed alone. His unique sense of humour and respectful approach to the mountains, other walkers, the mountain refuge owners and to the group made the trip very special. He has an amazing knowledge of Alpine flowers and the local landscape which also enhanced my enjoyment of the walks. There were one or two people on the trip who were better suited to a grade C holiday who were frustrated at the grade B pace of the trip but I found the walks entirely suited to my fitness levels and well described in the trip notes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take all equipment that s recommended in the trip notes. I used it all!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Elaine and Oliver are great people, very ecologically aware and have a real passion for the countryside and the mountains. There are amazing views of the mountains from the chalet which are beautiful to look at while having breakfast in the mornings and dinner in the evening. Dylan the 11 month old fox terrier accompanied us on most walks and was a joy to have with us- this helped make the trip really special.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    IMPERIAL CHINA & YANGTZE RIVER CRUISE

    This is a great trip for those that want to have many and varied experiences packed into 21 days.  The itinary is full on and involves a great deal of internal travel.  Overnight trains were probably the low points but were coupled with the brilliant highs of walking on The Great Wall, visiting the Terracotta Armies and seeing some very cute baby pandas! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was very much looking forward to visiting The Great Wall and it did not disappoint in any respect.  We travelled to a quiet part of the wall and for most of the time were the only people on it.  This was a terrific start to the trip!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great, full of energy and very clearly wanted us all to have the very best trip possible.  He balanced the needs of the group well and his own energy and enthusiasm was infectious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Anyone considering this trip should be prepared for an unrelenting itinary that requires some stamina.  Toilet facilites are of a varied nature!  You will not spend many nights in one place so packing needs to be given careful thought along with ensuring you can carry/wheel your bag in/out/onto planes, trains and buses.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has huge potential for fun and really delivers the experiences of a life time you might expect!
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    I completed my journey to the Summit of Mt Blanc last Wednesday at 7am.  I would like to reiterate a splendid slog...both mentally, physically and as I adore rock-climbing...some of it not for the faint hearted but breath-taking views, cracking chandelier ice, unexpected terrain of all nature, glaciers, physical exertion, the whole lot..is well worth it..and would do it again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    everything...and the IBEX.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    PEAKS AND VALLEYS OF THE ATLAS

    One of the best holidays ive ever been on, such a diverse range of landscapes (and sheep), superb climbs and an amazing group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating lunch at 4001 metres at the top of Adrar n'Dern. Climbing 3 mountains within several daysSwimming in a mountain lake at 3000metres 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Moustapha was amazing. He was always happy, caring, supportive, encouraging. He got to know everyone and went far behond the call of duty - including making us little goody bags of tea and handdrawn maps to take home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to the dates and prices page right now, pick a date then click 'book now'. Then go to the supermarket and buy more toilet paper and wet wipes than you think you'll ever need. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trekking holiday, after this experiance, its definatly not going to be my last.
Call us on 0208 772 3936