Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    RODOPI MOUNTAINS

    Phew what a hot week of walking. The temperature certainly made the walking a lot more difficult than anticipated but we still thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Rodopis. Our group was fantastic and we really seemed to get on well and have lots of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wlaking through clouds of butterflies. Coming out of the trees to see huge meadows full of hundreds of different flowers including many orchids. Finding a ladybird spider (very rare). Walking out on the platform on Mt. Elijah.....and many, many more.As well as experiencing Bulgaria food and drink and joining in the traditional dancing on the last night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neli is a beautiful, knowledgeable leader and is so kind and helpful when the going gets tough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We walked on average 15km a day which is not that far at UK temperatures. When the temperatures get into the mid 30c the time given need to be longer - we needed to add an extra hour on the times stated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our second experience with Exodus and we are looking ofrward to more!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    SICILIAN VOLCANOES

    This was an excellent trip with stunning views of the active volcanoes.  Truely a once in a lifetime opportunity not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My husband and I were fasinated with how close we got to the active volcano on Stomboli.  The sight, sound and whole atmosphere was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Andrea was excellent and went out of his was to make sure the group were happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There was alot of travelling involved in this trip, so be prepared.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING IN SPITSBERGEN

    I have had an awesome expedition experience, the whole cruise was beyond my wildest dreams. The oppurtunities on offer were truly memorable - snowshoeing, walking, "hunting" for wildlife, the freedom to wander the ship, the whole environment and the weather have conspired to give me the trip of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chance to climb into the zodiacs and actually be part of this unspoilt environment. One particular trip gave us the oppurtunity to penetrate the small ice flows and hear the "snap, crackle and pop" of the oxygen escaping from deep in the turquoise sea. Magic

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody and Annie lived up to their reputation, always informative and showed great awareness of the needs of the passengers.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your thermal underwear and have the experience of your life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The expedition staff gave their time SO generously and answered every question, however trivial, with enthusiasm and respect. They were truly brilliant. I would also like to mention Kim, at the office, she was great at giving me advice and helping my friend and I to prepare for the "epic" trip.  Thank you for a wonderful experience.   
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    What an awesome week :) It was great to try different activities each day plus experience the beauty of Turkey which is most certainly not confined to its beaches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The canyoning was the best - challenging and great fun. I would definitely be up for doing a week of this. Take time to look around the canyon though as it's breathtaking, and it's easy to lose sight of that as you are jumping off 10m rocks!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Geoff was absolutely fantastic. He really knows his stuff, from both a historic perspective and also all the activities we were doing. He looked out for everyone, made sure that the pace was right, and that we had fun. And Mustafa and Servet were also so helpful, friendly and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take a dry bag and a waterproof camera to capture all the action shots. Good walking boots with a grip are essential for the canyoning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely book a trip with Exodus again. This was so well organised and professionally run, plus it's a great way to meet like minded people. 
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    RODOPI MOUNTAINS

    This trip was exactly what I expected and it definitely didn't disappoint. The walks were varied in terrain and landscape and the company excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment at the top of Sveti Iliya when you could look out across the mountains and pick out the previous days' walking. It was amazing to be able to look out and see what we'd accomplished and fit it all together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neli was a brilliant leader from start to finish. She never let anybody fall too far behind and she always had an interesting flower or bird to point out to us. Her passion for the mountains was infectious - I think we all left those mountains a little bit in love with them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking was generally fairly easy going but it was made much more difficult due to the heat we were walking in. I would definitely advise people to take some larger (more than 500ml) water bottles so that they can carry enough water for hot weather - not all the walks had plentiful water sources.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip was a great success - not only because the itinierary was so thoughtfully put together but also because the leader, the locals and the group all came together to create a wonderful, warm atmosphere.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAIN BIKING IN CROATIA

    For a fantastic all-round summer holiday with a difference choose Croatia, but to really appreciate the place you need to be a cyclist or mountain biker. I strongly recommend this holiday to both cyclists and mountain bikers because the venue has so much to offer that is so different to other places. The guides were very professional and helpful and the accommodation comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am a seasoned mountain biker, so my best moments were the long gravel downhills. However, you need to make up your mind if you are going to enjoy the scenery or the downhill experience. You cannot do both! Of course there were also some challenging and rewarding climbs. I loved the Plitvice Lakes and the end of day chill out at the hotels watching the sunset against the sea and some odd cloud formations. Day and late night swimming in the turquoise waters of the Adriatic Sea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ex- Olympic track sprinter Vlado? He is the man! He is still in peak physical condition. And he takes his job of looking after you and ensuring you enjoy your holiday very seriously. He is not a bad downhiller either! Van sleeper (I mean driver and keen cyclist) Pjer provided evening entertainment and support for all mechanical problems. Puncture? 10 second wheel swap. Job done.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The countryside and coast is beautiful and worth the visit for this reason alone. Reasonably fit cyclists will be ok on this holiday, but there are some gravelly stretches that take the uninitiated by surprise. If you can ride your gravel driveway you will be ok, but I recommend a little off road practice before you go. Sun cream. Keep plenty with you. Even in June you can get sun burned. I only found this a problem on the exposed road stretches. I covered myself in sun cream, but missed a bit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This venue is great for both mountain bikers and cyclists and gives a really good rounded feel to a summer holiday. For the road-cyclists out there I can add that the roads were brilliant and mostly traffic free. I felt far safer on the long main roads there than I could ever feel in the UK. I also enjoyed the quiet windy country roads through isolated villages connecting up the off-road trails.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    MOSCOW TO ST PETERSBURG

    Once more Exodus strikes an outstanding balance between an organised trip (all the potential hassles are taken care of so you can concentrate on enjoying yourself) and independent travelling (nothing feels 'packaged' or sanitised). This is an excellent introduction to some of the 'greatest hits' of Russian history and culture. While a week can only scratch the surface of these extraordinary cities, the number and diversity of sites and activities that this trip manages to include is extremely impressive. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Only a week's visit but jam-packed full of highlights:- 'Swan Lake' at the Bolshoi (for the audience as much as for the dancers). - The extraordinarily beautiful Moscow metro stations (who knew!?)- The public banya in Novgorod (every Russian is a passionate expert in how exactly it should be done)  - Walking the streets of St Petersburg in bright sunlight as midnight approaches. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olga was an exemplary group leader. She was attentive to all the diverse needs of the group and very keen to make sure that everyone was accommodated. I occasionally read reviews that complain that tour guides are not flexible enough. Olga went out of her way to be both organised and flexible which would have been a big challenge in such a jam-packed itinerary. She was able to adapt things when necessary, and to take advantages of opportunities as they arose. We were not only able to fit in everything that was scheduled, but also lots of things that were not - having dinner with a local family, picnics in the park, and above all the visit to the extraordinary gardens and fountains of Peterhof which was not on the original itinerary. Olga's personal experience and history in Russia made her a fascinating guide with a very real passion for her country. Indeed all the local specialist guides impressed with their detailed knowledge and enthusiasm.  One of the real highlights of the trip were the Russians we met - both the Exodus guides and the ordinary people who were keen to tell us as much as they could about their country and its history. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of walking - we were on our feet continually for the best part of eight hours on the day of the walking tour of St Petersburg and the visit to the Hermitage. It was worth it. The more you can explore on foot, the more you will get out of this holiday. To get a good night's sleep during the 'white nights' you should consider bringing an eye mask as the curtains in the hotels can be quite thin. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely suggest adapting the itinerary to include a scheduled visit to Peterhof on the way from Pushkin to St Petersburg, as we did on this trip. It was a major highlight and wouldn't require too many logistical changes to incorporate.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAIN BIKING IN CROATIA

    This was an excellent epic mountain biking holiday riding through beautiful national parks on tracks and mainly very quiet roads in unspoilt Croatia.  The guides were great - they couldn't do enough for us and gave sensible advice. The accommodation was suitable and the hotel at the end where we stayed for 3 nights was just perfect - a gorgeous location, friendly and family run, right on the coast.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was on the second day - we had to do a long steady climb after putting in considerable mileage earlier that day and the day before - the long steady climb seemed to take for ever, but it was probably only a couple of hours - with the mountain refuge as a goal, drinks having been lined up outside and superb views towards the nearby coast, islands of the Adriatic and the Italian coast way in the distance.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Vlado was great.  He had competed in the Montreal Olympics and didn't seem to have turned his training down much since then....!  He and the driver of the van really did everything they could to ensure the trip was a success, we all enjoyed it and we all had fun (which we did) and that everyone was okay in all respects. The hire bikes were much better quality than I'd expected but if anything needed adjusting Vlado was there to do it straightaway.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice is definitely to go on this trip, having done some training...! I had done no mountain biking to speak of before and was fine although there were some fairly hair raising long descents which were exhilarating - but not for the timid.   That said, I have done a fair amount of road biking - say 3 times a week over the past 6 months and felt I just got by in terms of the amount of preparation I'd done.  Anyone who is an experienced mountain biker and reasonably fit would be fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Croatia is a beautiful country.  When I went (early June 2012) it was very lush and not burned up by the sun at all; there were lots of wild flowers;  the rivers were crysal clear and the lakes were a lovely blue/green colour. There were waterfalls, karst limestone mountain ranges, coastal islands and the sea was as clean and clear as you can possibly imagine, and there were not many tourists at all.  Mountain biking is a great way to see the country.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    The holiday was truly a relaxing one.  I particularly liked the cultural element and I really enjoyed the visits to Seville, Cordoba, Granada and Ronda.  Moreover Exodus leaves you free to explore these cities at your own pace.  The Andaluscia region is full of moorish architecture and it is amazing!  The Cortijo Rosario (residence) was really fantastic and the local cuisine was excellent.  I would surely remember Maria (the famous cook), Rocio, Nieves and Juan. I also appreciated the Spanish lessons, as provided by Isabella.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As I said earlier...I particularly liked the Moorish influence on this part of Spain.  The remains of Moorish times are breathtaking.  Although our days were full to the brim, I also managed to find time to relax by the pool. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader had a fair knowledge of the historical context.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advice potential travellers to avoid mid/end June and July for their travels.  Even at the beginning of June, the heat was starting to get unbearable!!  
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    Everything that you would expect and more! Our guide was a brilliant ambassador for Peru, the pace of the trip was perfect and the scenary stunning. We were extremely well looked after by the support staff with great meals, and our needs well attended to.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit at Dead Womans PassReaching the Sun Gate and gaining our first views of Machu PicchuThe views from the campsite at dusk in the Cloud Forest

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was the best guide I have had on any Exodus tour to date, and I have been on about 5 now. He had a great sense of humour, was very knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna, gave us extremely valuable advice about acclimatisation and kept a very steady pace allowing us to arrive in Machu Picchu at a time of day that allowed us to see it without the tourist swarm.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of warm clothing for the night time and a hot water bottle. Ground was very hard, cold and damp in most of the camp grounds. The two days planned for acclimatisation in Cusco are certainly needed. Our arrival was delayed by 24hrs which meant we lost a day. Fortunately no members of the group were sick but we did feel the effects. Juan was able to give us plenty of good advice about how to combat the symptoms.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did the Amazon extension and found this to be great in terms of the wildlife, and overall experience however the guide was a bit disappointing. He was very knowledgeable but not nearly as engaging as Juan who set an extremely high standard.I would never travel Iberia again. Our flight from Heathrow to Madrid was delayed which was beyond anyones control, but the Iberia/BA/LAN codeshare was appalling as no one would take ownership for the issue and the ground staff were extremely inefficient when it came to accommodating us in Madrid and then again in Lima as a result of the connection failures. This was all beyond Exodus' control and we did appreciate the fact that they acknowledged the disruption to our trip, however I would reconsider the carrier. The service on the long sector of the flight was very bad with the most basic of features on any plane I have travelled on before.
Call us on 0208 772 3936