Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & THE AMAZON RAINFOREST

    Wow! This is a fast pace, full on, amazing trip! Loved every minute of it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Inca Trail is tough but totally worth every step! The first sight of Macchu Picchu as you step though the Sun Gate is very special. The homestay at Amantani Island - staying with Flora - was very special. The flight into the Amazon basin - via Cusco - to see the snow-capped mountains suddenly replaced by flat, dense green jungle and brown tributaries of the Amazon. Try and get a window seat - and take lots of photos! Wandering through local markets - and small towns - like Urubamba - watching locals go about their business.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rene is a very experienced group leader who is very passionate about his country. He knows every step of the Inca Trail. His organisational skills ensured we were alway in the right place at the right time - without us ever feeling rushed or hurried. Rene made sure we enjoyed every step of the trail - even on the second day - going over Dead Woman's Pass. Slowly, slowly! Rene's knowledge is very good. He has a very calm, friendly nature. Anyone doing this trip will be very lucky to have Rene.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles!! These are a must both in the Amazon and the Inca Trail. There are lots of steps on the Inca Trail and poles make going up and going down much easier! Pack light. Washing can be done in Cusco - organised by Rene. Drink loads of fluids - water is freely available on the trek - so drink lots to help avoid altitude sickness. Take US dollars and change into soles as required.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food on this trip is very good. The cook on the Inca Trail is able to conjure up some amazing 3 course meals. Food is plentiful! The white water rafting trip out of Cusco was a really fun day. The rapids are only level 2 and 3 - but it's a good day - with a good lunch included. This is a must do trip! Expect lots of early starts - we had a 3.30am wake up call one morning in the Amazon - but it was worth it - to trek to the lake to see the otters. Book it and have fun!!!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    An excellent week, exploring and wandering around the Amalfi Coast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting all the way up to the top of Ana-Capri and looking over the whole of the Amalfi Coast and the Bay of Napls in all her spectacular glory.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One word can only be used to described Christine, and that word is FAB. She was great, even when she was unfortunately unwell during the week she just got on with the task at hand, ans that was making sure we was all enjoying ourselves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be advised you will climb up and down a lot  of steps, and by a lot I mean A LOT. So if you suffer with any knee complaints, then you may want to reconsider taking this trip. Also the month we went in (June) was very hot, so make sure you take plenty of water

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be sure to take a boat trip to Capri, it is trully marvelous, and just watch yourself if you have to get on  public bus. The concept of queueing is an anomolly in Italy.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    A great trip in a great country. A lot of physical activities and a lot of culture. Cycling is the right way to see this country. This trip is highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely, Petra. It's not just the Treasury (as we know it from Indiana Jones 3), but the whole area. Two days are not enough to explore it. Then it was a night in Wadi Rum desert. The third most inspirational moment - Jordanians. Very nice and warm people with a great sense of humour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali is a perfect tour leader. Looking after us and feeding us during cycling, educating us during sightseeings. Very patient with us, specially with our late arrivals :) Thanks a lot, Ali!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother with your own bike. Their mountain bikes are good quality and well maintained. Good road quality. The cycling was quite demanding, but with frequent stops to regroup and refresh. Up and downs, steep or slow, almost no flats.  You can go with your own speed, or if tired just hop on the accompanying vehicle. Weather was quite hot during the day, but while cycling it didn't feel hot, because is very dry. It is worth to bring a helmet cam. The hilly moon country in a speed can look very impresive and you do not have to stop for an interesting shot while riding down the hill. Every hotel had a free wifi, so worth to take even a tablet. I had feeling that Jordan is more expensive than UK (food, drinks and alcohol). Don't forget to try lime and mint juice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is more christianity in Jordan than in whole Europe.  
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    Having been on 3 safaris,I wanted to add another level to my photography skills.This safari really delivered. There was drama, excitement and humour on every drive courtesy of our excellent leader,Paul. Not only did I pick up some great tips from him, but just being in the company of other photograhers meant I learnt a tremendous amount from them too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just survivnig a whole day game drive in Paul's vehicle was an achievemnt in itself.Tracking a cheetah and cub for a day and a half and being able to practice so many photographic skills on just those two animals.They kept us entertained for hours !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul is certainly a "one off". Once you get up to speed with him, (he seems to allow one game drive,if that), his dynamic and energetic approach ensures every moment of the trip(both on the drives and back at camp) is maximised.He displayed an almost encyclopedic knowledge of the Bush (and of Tottenham Hotspur,which was an added bonus)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This safari is not for the shy and faint hearted but if you can suvrive ,you wont regret coming

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cant wait for the Great Migration safari next year-already bookedPaul aims for each guest to take home 6 extra special photos.I think I got 6 times that many,if not more.Thanks !!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Wonderful scenery, plenty of support from team leader especially if you're not terribley fit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to walk up a mountain with a sprained ankle and twisted knee, and then back down again!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is wonderful- lovely girl, always genuine, supportive and funny

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to get in some steep walks before going- bring walking poles (they do help) and ensure your jacket is waterproof not shower proof
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    Cars, Cigars and Bars - Cuba didnot disappoint!

    Cuba is one of the most complex and amazing placing I have travelled to. On this trip we cover a lot of ground in only 8 days but most of the fellow travellers found that the trip offered right mix of activities and free time. Service offered i.e. transportation, accommodation, guide and driver were very good throughout the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention...Early morning strolls by the beach front in Havana. Early morning light lit up the deserted streets and add a glow to the fabulous Spanish colonial beach front buildings. When it rained like cats and dogs in Trinidad. I was given some mangoes by a local which we all enjoyed at the spot - It was messy!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Toni and Andreas worked very hard to make our holiday enjoyable. Andreas (Ex-Cuba navy) was probably the best driver I ever had on any of my trips.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go as soon as you can as Cuba is becoming increasingly commercial and changing fast. Classic cars are on the way out as are being replaced by fresh French and Korean imports.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take sweets, stationary items or toiletries to pass on to kids if you are approached. Bring some Cuban coffee back – it is very nice and dead cheap over there. If you do wish to bring any souvenirs back from Cuba then try and buy them from the actual producer rather than buying from some rich shop owner in bigger towns. Cuban cigars for gifts - they go down well!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    What an amazing holiday - one of the best organised trips with true balance.  I had wanted a trip to Cuba that would not entail an internal flight so choose this one.  I had reservations initially as thought it would be deep in history with little other activities.  I was assured this was not the case and it indeed lived up to the promise and more.  It was a wonderful mix of history, culture, swimming walking and of course music & dance.  It was such a fun holiday all superbly organised with 9 strangers coming together to enjoy the variation of activities and culture and the people of Cuba.  We had such laughs and such a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to pick one - The music from morning 'till late on the streets and in every bar/restaurant never ceased to amaze me.  The grace and ease of Cuban people salsa dancing, it was such a joy to watch.The colours of Cuba from The 1950's cars and the old buildings to traditional costumes on the street.  The many expressions of the people as they sat around on Revolutionary Squares.Of course, its history from Castro's hideout to present day life.  The many cities and towns we visited each different with their own unique culture e.g. Baracoa untouristy, Cienfuegos with its colonial buildings restored and Trinidad with its cobbled streets to name just a few.   And the countryside with its Royal Palms, sugar plantations, the warm turquoise waters of the Carabeen and the cool swim under the waterfall. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were so lucky to be guided by our tour leader, Laz, whose wonderful warm personality guided us cheerfully through the 16 days of varied activities.  He was the best tour leader I have encountered (from my many trips).  He possessed a command and knowledge of his country which he imparted with ease and passion.   His love of Cuba shone through with every story and piece of information.  He is such a people person always smiling and willing to help, going out of his way to ensure we all got the best out of our holiday and being with us from breakfast to the last dance of the evening.  He entertained us with his stories and adventures on our long journey.  As I struggled behind in the heat of the climb up Sierra Maestro he was patient and courteous - a great leader. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont rely totally on cash machines.  Particularly if the bank is closed it is not advisable at all to use them as they can eat up the card (as happened),   Even in the bank, the lines, can go down with no access for an entire day.Bring small medicine, e.g. paracetamol and plasters, not available in the chemest.  Having said that,  a good experience visiting one.   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would especially like to thank our driver, Orlando, who always drove with care and caution through the bumpy and pot-hole roads towards Sierra Maestro where I never felt ill at ease  as we journeyed to 'expect the unexpected in Cuba' where the 100's of crabs crossed the road, the rice farmers harvested their crops on the side of the road and the sweets from the lorry ahead spilt and popped under our bus causing a crackling sound. If its your dream to go to Cuba, just go - you will truly have a great experience - I highly recommend Cuba - La Isla Grande. 
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A really top-notch trip with adventure, fun, camraderie and a good laugh.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Camping out under the stars in the desert and being woken by the gentle breeze, only to gaze up and see the milky way right above us int he night sky.2. Seeing Petra  lit only with candlelight and a lone Jordanian musician  the only thing breaking the silence. 3. The overwhelming kindness of the Jordanian people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was called Salah, and he really made our trip. He tirelessly gave us opportunities for new experiences, and showed us kindness and thoughtfullness throughout our trip. Even towards the end he went out of his way to ensure we had a great time. We really couldnt have asked for anything more from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Take a sunhat2. Have a couple of days in Amman at the end 3. Definitely have a turkish bath

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would really recommend this trip to my friends. And I would also recommend Exodus, for their professionalism and excellent customer service. Even when we had a 3am transfer booked to go to the airport on the way home, we were confident it was going to turn up (as has often not happened with other companies). I know of at least one person who has booked this trip for september after hearing we were doing it, and im glad that spreading the word has helped another person share int he experience.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Before I went on this trip I read through some of the reviews to get an idea of what to expect. I think it says a lot about how much this trip meant to people by the amount of positive things that were written and the fact that so many took the time to wax lyrical about the place. Cuba's a place that confuses and mesmerises in equal measures, can't wait until I go back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I lost my heart to Cuba, though it's a real country of contradictions. I found myself falling out with some of it's ideals but loved the people, music and beauty of the place. There isn't one moment to choose from, there were lots of stand out things that we did.Dancing - anywhere, anytime and with anyoneSwimming in the seas and rivers All the different types of transport from the 1950's cars to a horse and cartChe Guevara's hideout and the vertical drive to the start of our walk to itBaracoa - from the sea wall to the club on the hilltop

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Laz was fun, knowledgable, clearly passionate about his country and spoke fantastic english.  He was with us from breakfast until the trova houses closed practically every day and was always willing to help with menu translations and restaurant suggestions. He listened to what we wanted and delivered where possible to accomodate our desire to swim in the sea at every possible opportunity.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't wait to learn salsa, just get up and dance with anyone and everyone. On our first proper night we went to a Trova house and ended up dancing with all the locals even if we could only shuffle from left to right. It set the tone for the trip.Small change is really useful for toilet trip tips and other tips.Don't rely on one credit/debit card in case the hole in the wall eats it! If you're a snacker then bring them with you as there aren't that many stops where you can stock up on crisps, chocolate etc.June was hot and humid so if you don't want to be sweaty I'd recommend going in the cooler months.  That said, travelling out of season meant places were much quieter.  We were practically the only tourists in Baracoa.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wanted to take the opportunity to thank our driver, Orlando.  I always felt safe with him at the wheel, he was always cool as a cucumber in every type of driving condition from the expected potholes to the less expected crabs and rice in the road.Just book it, I'm sure you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    If you are thinking about getting away from the tourist trail and really experiencing the desert, the dramatic views and are willing to walk - this is the trek for you.  The scenery was amazing, the night skies beautiful, the rock bridge exhilarating and Petra inspirational. Jordan is a lovely country, very welcoming, friendly people, fantastic food, lots to offer and definately worth visiting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to narrow down to just one moment - the walk down the Siq to Petra was amazing; I had no idea of the sheer size of the site. The desert views were probably my most inspirational memories - every view was dramatic and beautiful, the way the same view could change with varying light was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic. He was welcoming, friendly - made such efforts to ensure everyone was comfortable and was great at organising any help for our individual onward journeys if required. He had a sense of humor and was fun to be around. He had excellent knowledge of the history and facts about everywhere we visited, and was very enthusiastic to show us around.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip with Exodus was so well organised, our trip went like clockwork - we had everything we could need (within reason!!) during the desert trek and we felt safe and well looked after the whole entire time we were there. A really memorable and fantastic trip.
Call us on 0208 772 3936