Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Vince McClave

    Fantastic three weeks exploring Peru

    The trip starts with exploring the capital city Lima, then follows the coast seeing flocks of the sea birds and sea lions on the way before turning inland into the Andes, the Inca Trail, Machu Picchu and a brief visit to 'the jungle'. You see magnificent landscapes along the way from the desert-like coastal plains to the fabulous snow-capped Andean mountain tops with an active volcano on the horizon. You visit manu Inca and pre-Inca settlements during the course of the three weeks. After the effort and camping along the Inca Trail there's just enough time to visit the jungle for more wild-life viewing. This excursion has the lot!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In terms of physical effort, going over Dead Woman's Pass on the Inca Trail. However, seeing the condors gliding in and around the canyons and cliffs and viewing the Lines of Nazca from above were also pretty inspirational moments. The Inca sites were all phenomenal in terms of size and construction.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group Leader Luis Gonzales was brilliant. Knowledgeable, attentive, always careful as to our health, particularly when we were at altitude and very keen to show us everything Peru offers, Luis was always professional and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers. We had heat and humidity in the jungle and rain, wind, sleet, mist, cold as well as sun and heat in the Andes. Invest in a good poncho - the plastic ones for sale locally are not up to the job.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Michelle Carter

    Moonstone Trek

    I chose to do the Moonstone Trek - a remote and quiet Inca trail reaching the dizzying heights of just under 4700 m. I was the only person doing the trek and had my own guide, chef and 2 horsemen. I thoroughly enjoyed the trek, beautiful scenery, remote small communities and Inca sites en route. My guide was very knowledgable and i learnt about about the history of the area en route. I was looked after extremely well: fantastic food and hot tea and water in the morning. I highly recommend this trek and Exodus, it is a once in a lifetime experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Accoccasa and reaching the top to experience the view - it was breathtaking (aside from the effects of altitude i mean!) and i felt a real sense of achievement. Having a few minutes at the top gave me time to reflect and offered me a refreshed perspective. Sorry a bit deep!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Smithy was very amenable and knowledgable. He was on hand to sort out every little issue and make sure we were aware of the options for activities (outside the trek) and then organise it for us. Having someone local made a real difference to our experience as we were able to eat at amazing restaurants and experience the best of what Peru can offer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It says in the trip notes that poles are optional - my view is that they should be deemed essential. I do not normally use poles when hiking in the UK but i took them with me and i am so glad i did. There can be difficult terrain to navigate and i experienced snow on the 3rd day which made the trail very slippery. They really helped going up hill when you are struggling to breath and your legs are like lead weights! The temperature ranges from zero to mid 20's. So bring lots of layers. Yes you need a sunhat & sunblock AND a winter coat and thermals!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst Smithy took the rest of the group on the Inca Trail, my guide for the Moonstone Trek was Vannya. She was incredibly knowledgable and i learnt a lot from her and was an excellent guide - she made sure i was OK at all times, advising me along the way. So i felt well prepared and reassured at all times. Valentin was a fantastic chef and cooked some amazing food - the best of Peruvian cuisine and all on a small kerosene burner. The horsemen, Carlos and Enrique did a great job of getting my things to the next camp and setting up the lunch tent and the evening camp. The hot tea in the morning and hot water to wash in was very welcome. I am truly humbled to have been taken care off so amazingly well by such kind hearted, talented people.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Steve Deutsch

    A fantastic journey around Southern Peru

    An amazing trip full of insight and excitement. 3 weeks seeing the Coast, the Desert, the mountains and the jungle. Lots of early starts but worth it to cram in as much as possible. So many highlights including the Ballestas Islands, the Nazca lines, Arequipa, Colca Canyon and its condors, Cusco, Ollantaytambo, local festivals, the Moonstone Trek, Machu Picchu, the jungle...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Following the Moonstone Trek, high in the mountains, for 4 days and 3 nights, camping in the wilderness and waking up to snow one morning, meeting virtually no-one, supported by a great team. Visiting Machu Picchu which really is as amazing as the pictures suggest. Going to the Amazon jungle, which was fantastic, such a change from the rest of the trip, with lots of wildlife to see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruce was fantastic. Friendly, committed, cheerful, and informative he kept us to time and schedule and was great company too, even giving up part of his day off to take us to another site.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be aware that although the trip is rated leisurely / moderate there are lots of early starts and lots of travel on the coach, with limited downtime, particularly until Cusco. But its a great trip and there's so much to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go, its such an interesting country.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Chris Hull

    Enjoyable Peruvian trekking

    This is a great trip to visit Cusco, The Andes and Machu Picchu, including physical, culinary and cultural delights. As with all activity at altitude, a good fitness level is no guarantee that altitude symptoms will not occur, however it will certainly make the trekking more manageable and help assure that the group remains together. The Moonstone Trek provides the opportunity for high Andean trekking away from the crowds that can be experienced on the "Inca Trail". However, from discussions with other travelers, the Inca Trail offers greater variety of flora whilst trekking in the cloud forest. The landscape on the trek is stunning, but generally involves fairly barren and rugged mountain-scapes, as might be expected at such altitudes. Visiting in July, the days were warm to hot and the nights often sub-zero, requiring a range of clothing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s difficult to identify a single highlight, but Machu Picchu is set in a stunning landscape and a marvel to behold, whilst Cusco offers a more Spanish colonial feel and waking-up on a mountainside always stimulates the senses.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabrizzio, our main tour leader, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and clearly passionate about his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No amount of training can counter the impact of altitude, but a good fitness level should help assure enjoyment whilst trekking and even walking around Cusco. A good sleeping bag and warm layers will help with avoiding the evening/night cold and getting a sound sleep.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Chris Blacker

    Chris's comments

    In general - whole trip excellent. But, tents on Inca Trail trek did not have a complete fly-sheet. As temperatures dropped to 0*C [or very close to], the tents did not retain sufficient warmth inside. A full fly-sheet would have significantly improved the internal temperature of tents. Also, the camping grounds are such that tent pegs are difficult to 'drive' in - this meant insufficient pegs were used to keep tent inner from coming into contact with fly-sheet, resulting in the internal fabric of inner-tent becoming damp, and this often transferred to sleeping bags and equipment. Avianca - Delays and down-grading - a disappointing performance by the airline. Other members of the Inca Trail Trek experienced similar issues with airline.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A close call between 'summiting' Dead Woman's Pass, and the first view of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Holger [Olly] on Inca Trail - first rate. Knowledgable and informative. Moises on Rainforest Extension - first rate. Again knew the subject.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All is covered in Trip Notes for both sections. But, make sure you carry sufficient Currency [Soles or US$] for Rainforest Extension [drinks, minor kit items] - prices a bit higher than general for Peru.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoyed the whole experience, and completely recommend it.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Zayna Davis

    peru adventure

    Overall a fantastic trip would use exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it i loved every single part all amazing and breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wilmer was the best tour guide i have ever had! I have done many many tours and wilmer was by far the best. Her was funny and helpful and his knowledge of peru was so brilliant. I learnt more than i ever imagined.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The inca trail is tough but once you have climbed the final OMG steps you realise just how worth it the hike and climb was!!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Angie Cutmore

    Inca Trail

    Brilliant from start to finish. This trip excelled my expections as I have never done an Exodus trip before. I am a keen fell walker but have never seen a such diverse beautiful countryside. From river valleys to rugged mountain tops. The second day was quite steep up dead womans path but well worth it. We always got plenty of encouragement from our guides Edwind and Anthony. They were very knowledgeable about all the history and flora and fauna. But the highlight is the Sun gate and your first veiw og Macchu Pichu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down from the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edwind was able to help and advise us of all the trip entailed. He was a really nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to the Sacred Valley is worth a visit too whilst you are acclimatising.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Diane Ingrey

    It was Amazing

    Peru My Peru holiday with Exodus was just amazingly fantastic. I have seen beautiful mountains before in the Alps but had not previously experienced the amazing sunsets you get on the Inca Trail or the stunning night sky. You could see the stars and milky way with absolute clarity. Nor have I descended down through Amazon cloud forest with its amazing flora and fauna. To do all that whilst walking such historic trails was mind-blowing. You feel really close to mother earth and nature. The descent through the Sun Gate to view Machu Picchu cannot be overstated as a beautiful moving experience. It is the best view of the site but what is undersold is that on this trip we arrived at the Sun Gate as Machu Picchu was closing and we had the site to ourselves. You descend through the site. I climbed the wooden steps to view the Gatekeepers Hut and it was occupied by just 3 Llamas! The next day on the formal visit there were swathes of visitors. The porters on the trek were amazing, I have a new definition of fitness now after watching porters run past me with a 25kg backpack almost a big as themselves. After their trek they erect your tent put your stuff in it and have a bowl of hot water waiting for you and prepare your meal. Meals were all freshly made, healthy and very tasty. They really do carry fresh vegetables up the trail. The joy of a shower and a flushing toilet after the trek is still with me! Cusco is an amazing place to explore and just to sit and watch. Its pace can be manic, it felt like being in a Rio carnival at times. Traffic is crazy and controlled by women police officers who are fearsome and fearless. They need to be, horns toot endlessly and everybody just shoves as far as they can. Its noisy and very vibrant. The Cathedral is beautiful and the huge picture of the Last Supper where they enjoy guinea pig is interesting. I did eat guinea pig and Llama, the Llama is good, cross between steak and lamb but not keen on guinea pig. We visited Inca sites in Cusco and if you are a history buff you would be overjoyed as their is so many sites. This holiday has completely changed my view of holidays, no more standard European Alps walking holidays. I crave history and culture experiences. I am still in a state of wonder a week after getting back. Only downside of the holiday is the free roaming dogs, some of which have homes but are not allowed in, but some are just hungry and scavenging out of rubbish heaps. Not so much in Cusco centre but just outside. 3rd world regarding animals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders were outstanding, so helpful and so patient. They helped a member of the group who was very ill prepared for the trek to complete it (despite no appreciation from the member).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take the altitude sickness medicine, it made those who took it ill. They were better when they stopped taking it. Make sure you are fit enough, not a lot of oxygen for muscles up there so you need strong legs. Its not an easy trek, I am a regular high fell walker and my legs were very, very tired. You need to be fit to enjoy it not "reasonably fit" as stated. If you are not fit and suffer at altitude it will be hard as one of our group found...but she still made it!! Porters and walk leaders are angels.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for the best most wonderful holiday of my life.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Katrina Borowski

    Fantastic adventure - don’t think about it, just do it!

    The Classic Inca Trail had been on my bucket list for some time, so it was brilliant to finally tackle it, combined with an excursion into the Amazon rainforest and a trip to Lake Titicaca. It was an action-packed, superbly organised 2 weeks and all 3 experiences were very different but equally enjoyable. Our group of 9 (ages ranged from 51 to 70) all completed the Trail, although it’s fair to say that fitness levels varied quite a bit. However, as our group leader said, it’s all about positivity and believing you can!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very difficult to single out one, but probably getting to the top of Dead Woman’s Pass, followed very closely by arriving as a group at the Sun Gate. Also, in the rainforest, we were incredibly fortunate to see a young male jaguar for 15-20 minutes as we travelled by boat early one morning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adolfo (AD) was brilliant: very personable and extremely knowledgeable and experienced. He was also exceptionally well-organised without us feeling pressured in any way. He instilled us with confidence in our capabilities and it was reassuring to learn that he was going to be with us for the whole 2 weeks. This meant that transfers, hotel check-ins, internal flights etc were seamless as AD did all the legwork and made it extremely easy for us. In addition, in his capacity as our guide on the Trail, he supervised us in a way that enabled us to walk at our own pace in small groups within our group. He also had a great knowledge of and a passion for wild flowers, particularly orchids, so our Trail experience was punctuated with much-welcomed breaks to take photos. In addition, when in Lima, Cusco and Puno, he knew exactly which restaurants to take us to for the very best and authentic experiences and never seemed to struggle to get us in, even at the last minute. AD even managed to get hold of a bottle of wine on our last night of the Trail - goodness knows from where, as we were camping at just under 4000 metres!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read all the reviews of the Trail and you will get a pretty good idea of what it’s like. Yes, it is tough, especially the second day, but it was what we expected - certainly not worse. Do spend time working on your fitness levels, especially walking uphill, as this will help you enjoy the experience more. We were fortunate to be part of a fantastic group of people who worked well together and supported each other: don’t underestimate how important it is to want to complete the Trail as a Team, as this certainly spurs you on. Travel light! Most of us just took one change of clothes on the Trail and changed into them at night to sleep in, not the least to be better prepared for the early start next day. Don’t forget spare batteries for cameras and use wet wipes for washing. The rainforest was very hot so make sure you have light clothing but you do need to cover arms and legs to protect yourself from insect bites. We were all loaned duffle bags (different from the Exodus kit bag that you’re sent for the Trail), and this was for packing stuff for the rainforest. You are not limited by weight and there’s plenty of space for the gear you need for this part of the trip. On arrival in Cusco, we all used the laundry service organised by AD as our stuff was damp and smelly! This was very speedy and very cheap! We took some Peruvian Sol but also UD dollars. We had no problem finding ATMs or changing money. Do be prepared to spend more than you planned for, as we probably all spent twice the amount on tips compared to the Exodus guidelines in the Trip Notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was made by the Exodus staff as well as the excellent group of like-minded people with whom I had the good fortune to share this fantastic adventure. I cannot stress enough how exceptional AD was as our group leader and, for sure, he motivated us all to achieve our ambition of successfully completing the Inca Trail. He also ensured that we enjoyed the most amazing experience of his beautiful country. Much credit also to the lovely Christian, AD’s deputy on the Trail, who selflessly and tirelessly encouraged and supported our group throughout. In addition, Christian, together with Uri, one of our porters, very kindly gave up their time to lead 3 of us up an extra peak at the end of our walk on Day 3. Talking of porters, they were truly amazing - how do they do it?! No only did they carry all the luggage and camping gear for the whole group, including food, catering equipment, tables, chairs, portable toilet etc, but they still managed to overtake us and were able to welcome us in at lunchtime/the end of the day! A special mention also goes to the very talented chefs, Roberto and his assistant, Vassilli?, who prepared the most fantastic and beautifully-presented food in very difficult conditions. In the rainforest, our guides, Frank and Joss were inspirational and so knowledgeable and passionate about wildlife and conservation. On Lake Titicaca, some of us were fortunate to experience the wonderful hospitality of Mama Flora who welcomed us into her home - what a lovely lady!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Richard Spink

    The Inca Trail

    This was my second trip with Exodus and the organisation could not have been better. I was pcked up from Cusco Airport, transferred to my hotel and introduced to the other memebers of the group. We had a day to acclimatise in Cusco and then started the Inca Trail. It was absolutely briliant. The walking was quite steady but some very steep sections. The scenery was spectacular and the night sky was equally as spectacular. We could clearly see the Southern Cross. The food at each camp was superb (How the chef managed to cook such good meals, including 1 vegetarian, on a 2 ring portable stove, beats me!.) The tour guide, Edwind, was very knowledgeable and each Inca settlement we passed, he gave us a "history lesson". The timing of the walk to go through the Sun Gate, was exemplary, as we did so late afternoon and viewed Machu Picchu when there were hardly any tourists in the site. The views of Machu Picchu were breathtaking and it is no wonder it is one of the 7 natural wonders of the World. I would highly recmmend this walk but remember there are some steep sections, particularly the second day, so be prepared!! In short, an excellent trip well organised by Exodus and a great toour leader. Excellent value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Sun Gate and looking down on Machu Picchu for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edwind, our group leader could not have been better. Very supportive of everybody, very knowledgeable about all of the Inca site we passed, very friendly, helpful and professional. His assistant, Anthony, was also superb and equally as knowledgeable. A great team to be in charge of our group. They also spoke excellent English!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Practice walking up some hills before you go!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Inca Trail is a really enjoyable, pleasant walk, with stunning views around every corner. If you plan to do it, just take it steady, as nobody rushes you, and enjoy the fantastic views.