Spring Fling - Save £100 on Selected Italy Trips booked by 25th April. Click here to see Terms & Conditions.

Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    james holbrook

    Great to see machu pechu but exodus are a rip off

    We went to peru to see machu pechu and it was brilliant, well recommended to go if you get the chance but do not book it with exodus as the rip you off

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing machu pechu and the trek to get there, also going to the amazon and the wild life

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank James for his feedback. We were pleased to read that he found Machu Picchu to be brilliant, although we are sorry that he has concerns about the cost of the trip. Following previous correspondence, we have responded to these concerns on an individual basis. Taking into account all of the reviews we have received, we remain confident that the price of our Inca Trail & the Amazon Rainforest tour offers excellent value for money and we feel that we are very clear in our trip notes about the expected tipping amounts.   Sarah Ahern – Product Manager

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Sarah Fordham

    An amazing experience

    This was one of the toughest challenges I have put my body through but was so worth it. I had an amazing time and the trip was so well organised. I am in love with Peru now and already thinking about when I can go back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was incredible to make it to the top of dead woman's pass. It was a tough day but it was an amazing sense of achievement when we were at the top looking down. And of course the first view of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate is breath taking and made it all worth while.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ollie was so knowledgeable and really made the trip special. I think the whole group learnt a lot and he bought the culture and history to life for us. He was able to answer all of our questions and he is clearly passionate about what he does. He was also patient when we were physically struggling and needed to rest a lot, and was full of good advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you acclimatise as much as possible in Cusco and also make sure that you have decent equipment as you will be relying on it for the days you are hiking. Learn a few Spanish phrases so you can at least introduce yourself to the porters, I had to rely on others in the group and the group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The porters were amazing! They were all very kind, despite the language barrier, and looked after us all very well. The food was some of the best that I had while I was away.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Peter Hadsley-Chaplin

    Inca Trail - Exodus rating: Excellent!

    I couldn't praise the Exodus team more highly for helping to provide me with one of the holidays of a lifetime!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Entering the Sun Gate and seeing the City of Machu Picchu below me for the first, with the stunning mountain backdrop. The photos simply don't do justice to the real thing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Holger ('Ollie') was absolutely top rate. He was patient, kind and considerate as well as exceptionally well informed, not just about Inca, and pre-Inca, history but also about the wonderful flora and fauna that we encountered along the Trail.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very cold nights in your tent (in December). Whilst at times beautifully warm and sunny during the day, the temperature got to 5 or 6 degrees at night so wearing a couple of layers of clothes, plus a liner inside my sleeping bag, kept me snug and warm. For the fair-skinned, wear a hat with a suitably wide brim as the sun could be quite fierce at times during the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be sure to travel with Exodus - from the team in the UK office (especially Alec Worthy and Treherne Francis) to the team in Cuzco, plus our wonderful porters, our fantastic chef and, last but not least, our brilliant guide, Holger, everyone couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a fabulous, and memorable, trip!
  • Reviewed November 2018

    Superb

    Fantastic atmosphere, brilliant guide, porters and support team. Just wish it was longer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, day three on the trail was the best, as we moved into the forest and the soaked up the atmosphere, including many Inca ruins previously unknown to me. And of course, arriving at the Sun Gate and looking down on Machu Picchu, just as the late afternoon sun lit it up, almost devoid of day trippers!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank was incredible. He was inspirational in getting us to gel as a team and ensure we all helped each other to get through the tougher sections. His knowledge of Inca and current local culture was encyclopaedic and he was so funny! He was also something of a talented photographer with all our cameras (is there a camera he doesn’t know how to operate better than we do?). It’s hard to imagine anyone better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of our party struggled a bit and sadly one (plus her husband) had to drop out through altitude sickness. Though that can affect even the fittest, it’s fair to say that this is quite a tough trek (most of us felt it could be rated a bit higher than the grade 3 “moderate” rating). To enjoy it fully, make sure you do plenty of training on hills or similar - it is almost constantly up and down and often steep steps. Those who had trained by walking on the flat found it difficult.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you bring spare batteries or a charging pack for your phone / camera. Some of us had exhausted our batteries before reaching The Sun Gate. It was also very cold at night after days 2 and 3, so make sure your sleeping bag is properly 4 seasons and you also bring thermals. Finally, the 7kg baggage limit on the Inca Trail is strictly applied, so plan carefully what you need to take on the trail and weigh it before you set off (surplus stuff can be left at the hotel). A slightly bigger day pack, to enable you to pack things that would take your baggage over the 7kg limit, would give some flexibility.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Stephen Trowell

    One of the two best trips of my life

    Overall this was the trip of a lifetime. Spending three weeks in Peru was worth every minute, from the Anthropological and Archaeological museum in Lima, through the Ballestos islands, flying over the Nazca lines, the Altiplano with volcanoes and the most gorgeous flamingos, Colca Canyon and the condors, Cusco, Ollantaytambo, The Sacred Valley, the Maras saltworks and Moray Inca agricultural research station (if that is what it was) and Machu Picchu. The Peruvian people, their food, their cities. The Andes. The geology, the wildlife. It truly was a cornucopia of delights. We were very lucky with the weather, which was well nigh perfect. The trip was very well planned and allowed plenty of time for acclimatisation, so that by the time we arrived at Cusco, we were quite at home with the altitude. We had chosen not to do one of the hikes to or near Machu Picchu and instead spent an extra three days in Cusco. We were largely left on our own but Exodus and our tour guide had arranged and advised us on the activities we wanted to do. It worked out very well and we didn't exhaust all the extra museums, art galleries, restaurants nor do all the day trips etc. that were available. We were very happy with our choice and we had a lot to discuss with our more active tour companions when they returned to Cusco.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably standing at 5,000m, with a 300 degree panorama round the rainbow hills at Hanchipacha. This wasn't part of the official itinerary and we did it on one of our free days (we did not do the Inca Trail). We lucked out with the weather and the resulting photo now dominates a complete wall in our house. Honourable mentions to: The condors which came out for us at Colca Canyon. They were breathtaking. Seeing a very large anaconda in Amazonia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Reni was excellent. The depth of his experience was telling. He worked really hard to look after everyone and make sure we stayed safe and got the very best experiences possible. 10/10

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only negative was some of the bus driving. We had a long trip one day and we had a second, younger, bus driver who was doing insane things at night, on a winding road with oncoming fuel tankers. It was very scary and dangerous and our tour guide spoke to the driver in Spanish. Things improved but it should not have got to this point.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local guides were great. Another of the positives for us was our fellow travellers. Two from the UK, two from Canada and two from Australia. They were interesting, diverse people with a big range of ages and experiences.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Daivd Richardson

    Breathtaking trek to the Inca Capital of Machu Picchu

    The Inca trail, organised by Exodus, was a thrill ride from beginning to end. I was so impressed with the organisation of the trip. We were looked after so well that I didn't have to think about how I was going to get around, or where my next meal would come from. The two guides were a constant source of fascinating facts, and helped keep the group motivaated. The group of Porters were superhuman. The camp site was stripped down as we left. They marched (And sometimes ran) past us during the trek. And always had the camp ready when we arrived. If this wasn't impressive enough, the meals were already in the process of being prepared. The food provided by the chef were delicious. Hadn't expected to be eating such great food. Fish, meat and chicken were the evening meals. Also popcorn was provided as an after trek snack. So impressed I would recommend this trek to anyone. And if this is how Exodus organise their trips, I will definitely use them again!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Sun Gste and looking down on Machu Picchu for the first time. Utterly breathtakingly!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a font of knowledge. He was always full of energy and enthusiasm. He was also very good rumoured, which fitted in with our all-british group perfectly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book with Exodus, and don't worry about a thing. Take your time on the trek. It's not a race. The second day is a big asscent, and you don't want to rush it. If you start to feel the effects of altitude, you should take a break and slow down. Many of us had mild headaches, and a few had digestive upsets. But don't be put off by this. It's all manageable, and the trek leaders are used to dealing with it.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    David Whittle

    Peru Holiday

    A superb holiday from start to finish, taking in many different facets of Peru as a country. From Pacific coast to historical sites, magnificent mountains, glorious wildlife and fascinating jungle. This trip had it all. Add in the variety of different modes of transport and there is something to appeal to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The completion of the Inca trail trek, despite the dreadful weather, was a moment of true inspiration. Firstly for having completed the physically demanding trek and secondly for the panoramic view of the historic site of Macchupiccu, and realising the scale of it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent, dealing with every situation in a cool, efficient manner. His personality was very endearing and his knowledge of the various different places was inspirational. His frankness about the problems facing Peru as a country was refreshing to hear.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not be fooled by the Exodus rating of the trip. It is harder than they would have you believe. In fact probably one of the most physically challenging things I have ever undertaken. Despite significant preparation there is no way, living in Britain, can you prepare for the altitude effect which affected the majority of our group to some degree.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The standard of the hotels used, whilst on the whole was good, there was some variation which at times was slightly disappointing.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alicia Pennings

    Great trip

    A really full on trip to Peru... jungles, Machu Pichu, Cusco and Lake Titicaca...what more could you ask for! Thoroughly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the jungle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Knowledgeable and easy to get on with.Thank you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Johnny Deol

    Great Views, Difficult Andes Trek, Crowded Reed Islands, Expensive Country

    Without doubt, Peru is a beautiful country, and our trip proved that the Andes is one of the most majestic mountain ranges on the planet. The highlights of our trip were: 1. The beautiful Ballestas islands off the coast of Paracas, where a lot of sea lions lazily dotted the islands along with dozens of penguins and lots of birds. We also saw interesting species of crabs and other shell animals. 2. The 4-day hike along the Moonstone Trek in the Andes - this was the most enjoyable part of our trip. The stunning views of Mount Veronica on the 3rd day kept us in awe, and the climb to the summit of the trek at 4,600 metres above sea level. We also walked through lovely meadows and farms along the way. Funnily enough, Machu Picchu was not the highlight of the trip, even though it was a nice experience to be there, it somehow seemed crowded and overflowing with tourists, taking away the calmness and serenity that is typically expected of such places. Be warned that the Moonstone Trek is a difficult one, and altitude sickness is a reality. You will feel the lack of oxygen and are most likely to feel nausea, headaches and vomiting. I did throw up on the 2nd day of the hike. Also note that altitude sickness can afflict anyone, even the most well-built or muscular or athletic of people. Just because you are very fit and may even be an athlete or sportsperson, do not think that you are immune to altitude sickness!! Peru is an expensive country, and the prices are marked up at tourist places, and shopkeepers will not negotiate prices lower than 10%-15%. You may find some products cheaper in Lima than in the tourist towns like Ollantaytambo and Aguas Calientes, the town closest to Machu Picchu. ** Warnings: - Many restaurants add a 10% service charge to your bill without your consent in advance. - There is a "tipping" disease in the country, and you will find many occasions where the tour leader will ask you to give a tip to just about every service person you encounter, like a bus driver, the backup/alternate driver, the boat captain, etc. - If you are a vegan or vegetarian or have other dietary restrictions, you will need to choose your food carefully and remind the waiter many times. They do not seem to understand or appreciate these dietary restrictions too well. - Even simple things like a cup of coffee are overpriced in certain towns like Pucara, on the way to the city of Puno. Overall, Peru is a lovely country, but go there knowing what to expect. Safe travels!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 4-day Moonstone Trek

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good guy overall, very knowledgeable and sociable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, do not expect the Moonstone Trek to be a walk in the park. It is pretty difficult, I would personally rate it at Level-6/7 out of 10. Be prepared to throw up, get a headache, nausea, get goddamn tired and curse Exodus along the way :) But if you are willing to endure some discomfort for the rewards of stunning views of the Andes, you'll find that it is an investment worth the pain! Remember: Walk at your own pace, don't try to impress anyone by walking fast as you could faint, take enough breaks and rest stops, keep drinking water frequently, wear ample sunscreen and insect/bug cream or spray, and most importantly - listen to the advice of your tour leader on the trek. He is the best and most experienced person in the group, and knows what will help and what will hurt.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Help keep Peru clean and beautiful. Please do not throw garbage or rubbish on the Moonstone Trek or anywhere you go. Enjoy and respect the immensity, majesty and grandeur of the Andes and you will be safe.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mira Dumancic

    Excellent trip, do it!

    Fantastic trip! Great itinerary, great leader and wonderful country. Everything was beyond expectations. A busy and well organised adventure that highlighted the diversity of Peru.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many wonderful moments. Flying over the Nasca lines was a highlight, having studied pre-Hispanic South American history decades ago and finally seeing them. The condors at Colca Canyon were amazing. On of our free days, we visited Rainbow Mountains; a surreal landscape that was breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Knowledgable, passionate, very calm and relaxed. Very hard working and kept everything running smoothly, organising many activities for the diverse group. Amazing organisational skills. I've done a number of small group tours (Intrepid, Geckos) and Reynaldi is one the best tour leaders I've known. Outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plenty of sunscreen. If hiking, take good equipment, although some can be hired before trekking. Take layers of clothing, as weather ranges from very cold to very hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you wish to visit museums on the itinerary, check that they are open on the day that you visit. I was looking forward to visiting the Ica Museum, but it was closed on the day we were there. Unfortunately, that wasn't mentioned in the trip notes. I think it would be good if Exodus mentions museum closures in the trip notes.
Call us on 020 8772 3936