Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Salman Syed

    Mountains & Villages of Evia

    The tour guide, Thanos, was superb. The food was great. Treks were beautiful. However, the quality of the hotel was OK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching to the summit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb, Considerate , Helpful
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Charlie Robinson-Hodge

    Walking and eating

    This was my first holiday on my own, couldn’t have asked for a better one. Exodus sorted everything and were very helpful and lovely. The hotel was lovely, right next to the beach. The staff were great and couldn’t do enough for us. Met some great people, walking is just enough to get your heart pumping with some fantastic views along the way. Going in November was great weather not too hot, perfect for walking. Even though we walked everyday I must have eaten my body weight. Our guide had pumpkin pie and doughnuts for our brunch stops. Food was delicious and lots of it.... we’ll definitely recommend this holiday and I will be booking with Exodus again........ just need to loose some weight first!!! lol....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to touch and see the unfinished columns see where they were made, carved by the hand of 7000 slaves 100’s of years ago. Also the trip over the Athens.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic, had a good laugh with him and was very informative. He looked after us and hes always feeding you lol

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles are handy. It can get chilly 1000m up the mountain

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great holiday, loved every minute
  • Reviewed November 2018
    peter colclough

    mountains and villages of evia

    good walks with patient guide and pleasant social evenings with fellow walkers

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    gorge walk from mt ohi to coast

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent guide and very sociable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    ensure you wear good boots and take adequate clothing .(water proofs)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    hotel ok but showers need updating.owners and staff friendly and accomodating
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Chris Sanday

    Unspoilt area

    Varied walks, which tended towards the moderate rather than leisurely. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Potami Bay at the end of the walk from Platanistos. The taverna with its long table laid out just for us and sole use of the beautiful beach too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cecile was an excellent guide. Engaging and knowledgeable. She rearranged our walks around the weather conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Poles were very useful when descending some of the rocky slopes.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Lesley Hinchliffe

    Our first Exodus trip, but it won't be the last..........

    A great first trip, Cecile the group leader was excellent. Competent, calm, interested. A different type of walking each day. From hot up & down treks to ancient roman quarries to beautiful ridge walks with quiet, unspoilt gorge walks in between. Not sure I would describe it as "leisurely" - think moderate is more accurate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The second day's Ridge walk, great views, lovely breeze to counteract the heat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Interesting, warm, not overbearing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear lighter walking boots- ankle support useful, but leather boots too hot!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Michael Swales

    Mountains of Evia

    Two days walking mountains. Two days walking gorges. One coastal walk. One day in Athens.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can’t pick out a best day there were a variety of days, all different, all good. I particularly enjoyed Athens as I had never been there before and it was so different to the other days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. He was there for Breakfast, led us through our walks and took meal orders and served drinks in the Restaurants we visited in the evening. He was always still there when I went to bed. When did he sleep??

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If the programme remains the same the first two days are the toughest with two mountain walks. Everybody agreed that these walks would have been better on the last two days when we had acclimatised. Walking boots definitely required and plenty of water, all the islands springs provide drinkable water.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Gerry Toner

    Evia Mar2018

    Great guide, very engaging, helpful and knowledgeable. 3 of the 5 walks were not level 2 as suggested. That could have gone wrong for some people. A walk that is merely a 5 or 6 hour descent is tedious. Hotel poor Group good fun Eating out was good enough

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Guides stories about various parts of island combined with his references to history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very engaging and knowledgeable. Attentive; if a little too much at times. Very friendly and made a big difference to overall experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you check the walks are for you. ensure you check you are ok with tired hotel.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    SImon Knight

    Walking on Evia

    A really good short walking holiday with rewarding hikes, beautiful scenery and lots and lots of good food. Greek hospitality has to be experienced to be believed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long hike up to the top of one mountain to see the remains of an doorway arch and views across the island.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Probably the best group leader we have had (and we have done a lot of Exodus and Explore holidays).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In December you need to be prepared for cold, wet and windy weather (it even sleeted on us at one point), and pack layers accordingly. A pole or poles will help on the descents.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Catherine Cooper

    Lovely walking holiday on a rural Greek island

    I really enjoyed the week on Evia in October, made all the more special by excellent leadership from Cecile Deltreil. The walking is good, scenically varied and very rural (we only saw one other walker the whole week!). Paths were sometimes good, sometimes non-existent on hilltops and sometimes through scratchy scrub - take your long trousers or gaiters. The trip is rated leisurely-moderate and whilst I felt the 4 day walks were 'moderate' in difficulty, partly because of the rough paths, the whole trip is fairly leisurely because you are based in one hotel and have some relaxation time at the end of each day (gin and tonics on the beach!). The Galaxy hotel in Karystos was fine with friendly family staff, good breakfast, but awful showers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Roman quarries where they chiseled out whole columns of rock and transported them down the mountain to ship to Athens, and then seeing some of those very same columns in a temple in Athens!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fab, great fun and quietly assertive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Two bits of advice: take a good jacket/fleece for October because you will be sitting outside to eat in the evenings in restaurants and it's a bit chilly; the ferry across from the mainland is a large car ferry so there's almost no risk of sea sickness.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Keith Bushnell

    Back to back holidays

    I wanted to do two holidays back to back, one in Bulgaria spending an extra day in Sofia and then go on to Greece for my second week. I was concerned about the transfers/ pickups etc. However all turned out very well, using the metro in both countries was very easy, with the hotels provided very convenient to the stations and main attractions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to walk in the countryside of both countries plus being able to see the sites of both capitols. I would suggest that Exodus do this holiday as a standard trip. It makes for a good combination for a two week break.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leaders I had were very good. As I have now done 13 trips with Exodus and 12 with another company who's name begins Ex, I can tell you this is not always the case!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it !! As I always say travel has made me poorer in the pocket but richer in the mind. I feel privileged to have been to so many places [all be it I worked hard to get the money to enable me to do so] My outlook on life and my opinions on things has been enhanced by my travels. As a person from a humble background, I would not have dreamed as a boy/young man that I would get to go to the places I have been to in my life time. Every trip is a bonus !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Due to a work accident in 2004, I got a compensation pay out in 2005, my 50th birthday year. So instead of walking the West highland way as originally planed for my birthday, I walked the Inca trail with Exodus instead. That trip blew me away !! It was fantastic in every way, I was hooked I had to have more. As I said above I have now done 25 adventure type trips plus travel that I have organised myself. Although every destination has been worth the effort, alas things have not always been as good as Peru. That is why one must give honest feedback, to make things better for the future. I know of some people who have had one bad experience and just give up on these type of holidays. My Exodus rucksack that I got on My China trip [my 60th birthday treat] was much admired on my last holiday, so much so I was asked a lot about my previous travels and opinions on places I had been to. I ended up as an unpaid ambassador for Exodus and this type of holiday !!
Call us on 020 8772 3936