Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Great holiday-best way to see most of Cuba as oppposed to staying in a all inclusive hotel for 2 weeks as you will likely see very little of cuba. Be aware of course, this requires alot of driving, but  i was aware of this  after reading reviews. Had a good laugh with a decent group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the walk up the mountain to Fidel  Castros hideout.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manuel was excellent. He sorted out many things with various people and was very sociable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of medication and plenty of snacks. If you are not Fit do not attempt the journey up to Fidels hideout.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it, you should enjoy.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER THAILAND, LAOS & CAMBODIA

    This trip delivered all the promises within the itinerary and more.  It exceeded my expectations in terms of the quality of the guides, accomodation and ease of visiting the sights and transport.  If you're curious about Laos and Cambodia this trip will give you the best of everything and at a good pace.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our group had the opportunity to take part in the Almsgiving to the Monks before dawn in Luang Prabang.  Very moving. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This trip had 3 group leaders all very knowledgable, friendly, organised and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're travelling from the north of England, ask Exodus to arrange for you to fly from Manchester - I did and the arrangements were excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try a leg and foot massage in Luang Prabang.  1 hour for about £4.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTICA, FALKLANDS & SOUTH GEORGIA

    Holiday of a lifetime, which will never be forgotten.  Had an absolutely amazing time from start to finish. This holiday was beyond our expectations!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    King Penguins and their chicks, so funny! Gentoo chicks laying on my lapUp close and personal (about 8-10 feet away) from humpback whale swimming towards us - Awesome !Abundant wildlife behaviour to watch and photographFantastic scenery, weather and itineraryAmazing icebergsWatching Adelie penguins stealing stones from other nests, and looking so innocent when caught, just like on 'Frozen Planet' hilarious!Educational presentations by the Quark staff were so informative and very helpful, learnt so much.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was brilliant and did everything he could to get us ashore, and succeeded as we managed 21 landings and zodiac cruises.  At the briefings he was inspirational in telling us to "put down our cameras and feel our surroundings, watch the animals, take photos with your mind", he was so right!  Shane even surprised us with a cruise round Cape Horn (which was unexpected).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you thought you might like to do this trip, dont think anymore, DO IT! You will have a life changing experience. Wildlife in abundance, be on the first zodiac out and the last one back! Don't be tempted to have your eyes permanently stuck to the camera lens - just sit and watch it all happen around you !  Take a tri-stool like we did and just sit and take it all in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The remainder of the expedition staff were amazing; Jamie, Tony, Mikolaj and Damien were so informative, their knowledge was immense and nothing was too much trouble for them. Angela (our shop assistant and newly qualified zodiac driver) was great, she was our driver around icebergs and she couldn't do enough to make our experience as enjoyable as possible; her patience, kindness and consideration were immense. Krystle was great with her photographic tips and Val and Solan brilliant for the kayakers. Dave and Karin were brilliant drivers and full of fun. Last but not least, Duncan who did so much behind the scenes and whose organisational skills were greatly appreciated.The crew onboard the ship were professional, friendly and helpful.  If we did have a complaint, then it would be that the food was good, but could have been a bit warmer.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    This was a wonderful experience - tough as it comes, but so well supported by the experienced guides that we could hardly fail to succeed.  Cannot believe how well organised and planned the whole trip was, from the excellent food through to the expert advice of the guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit was obviously a key moment in the trip as the thought of this was what sustained us through the long, dark and arduous final ascent.  Seeing the sunrise an hour or two earlier at Gillman's point was spectacular.  Asked about the most inspirational part of the journey, I immediately think of the local team - the guides and porters, for whom nothing was too much trouble, and for whom the ascent seemd the easiesyt and most natural thing in the world.  Their fitness and good humour was certainly an inspiration to me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was outstanding.  He was knowledgable, experienced had advice on every aspect of the trip, helped prepare us for thoroughly for each stage, and when necessary was prepared to take every step necessary to help us succeed.  He offered to carry my backpack when the going got tough, and when I couldn't take another step without a lengthy rest, he was on hand to coax me onwards.  He organised everything thoroughly and the whole trip was as smooth as clockwork as a result.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the extra day, if available, to acclimatise.  Take the Diamox.  Go slowly - remember it's not a race!  Drink as much water as possible.  Trust the guides' local knowledge.  On the final ascent, concentrate on not bumping into the guy in front!  I took my ipod, saved the battery for that last climb, and it was invaluable. Take lots of photos (and videos if you can) because the memory fades fast!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All of the support team were great - from the group leader, the assistant guides, the cook (especially!) and the porters.  The only lemish was the fact that the tip guide we were given did not account for our extra acclimatisation day, so that when we thought we were giving tips at the top of the recommended range, they turned out to be somewhat less than that.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A stunning trip with a great crowd

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many maybe seeing  the deserts and the jebels bathed in moonlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair a credit to Exodus his  family and his country .The marshmallows he produced one evening whilst regaling us with tales of bad camels and their masters was almost straight out 1001 Arabian Nights

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sleep under the stars and dream on
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS TRIP.  Amazing country, a wide variety of things to please everyone (history, culture, adventure, people watching, sunshine), great cycling support and a fantastic guide.  Would recommend to anyone of any cycling ability.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down on the Treasury in Petra after a beautiful hike; getting up higher to the monastery in Petra; and a great boat trip on New Year's Day in Aqaba.  But mainly I have lovely memories of spending time with our guide, learning about Jordanian people, practising Arabic! and whizzing down windy roads perfect for cycling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sounds like a cliche but Zuhair was a brilliant guide.  He spent time with us explaining Jordanian history, explaining about the people of Jordan. He was open, kind and warm, and provided a lot of entertainment, teaching us to speak Arabic (habibi), dancing at safe stopping points on the route.  He went the extra mile wherever he could, enabling us to pack in lots of extras like the boat trip on New Year's day; arranging for us to eat Jordanian specialities at dinner and amazing local snacks throughout; or providing a surprise little treat around the bonfire at the camp in the desert.  He definitely made our trip special, as did our bike team, tourist police and bus driver - all of whom were super helpful and supportive if you couldn't make it up a hill, they were there to pick you up!! Speical note of thanks to Zuhair who made sure we had a taxi waiting for us after the desert trip, as we left the group to spend a few days in Aqaba before we went home.  Thanks again for everything.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more warm clothes than you think you need - in December / Jan anyway was our experience.  I failed miserably to pack anything appropriate!! - would have really appreciated some fleeces, some bike gloves, a few hats; and more trousers. We also would have taken a bit more local currency for tips etc, as kept having to withdraw cash to top up the tip purse.  We were both pleased that we hadn't bothered to bring bike shoes - we didn't feel we were on the bikes long enough to need them.  It is also worth noting that you shouldn't expect amazing hotels throughout the trip - they were definitely clean, comfortable and well located but don't expect luxury!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cycling gives you an amazing way to see the country adn landscape, but there was a lot of downhill, especially at the beginning; and there was less cycling than I expected (Even though I'd read some of hte reviews on here before leaving which explained that).  It was still a fantastic trip, becuase there was so much else to do other than the cycling, but I probably would have wanted a bit more time on the bike, so you could feel a bit more like you'd truly cycled from one place to another.  That said, there was a real mix of abilities in the group - and it was good to meet lots of different people in one place.  Thanks generally to Exodus for making quite a complex itinery sail by, without us ever feeling any hassle.   
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & SAFARI

    This is a fantastic couple of weeks during which time you are sure to make great friends with fellow trekkers.   The bonding time on the Mountain means friendships are well established by the time of the Safari which makes everything more fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We didn’t have one trip leader because trip was split into 2 very different sections.   Naimann from the African Walking Company, Joseph, Reuben and Robinson were faultless guides on the Mountain.  Our safari driver was incredibly helpful, punctual and went out of his way to ensure we got the most from our viewing experience.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I am not sure anything was inspirational but the whole 2 weeks was thoroughly enjoyable and is definitely to be recommended.    I am so glad I booked the Safari extension to the trek because in doing so we got to see (a little) of Tanzania.  This may have been from the bus on the journeys to and from the safari parks but it was still an eye opener to see Masai tribesmen and children tending to their animals.    

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hire a sleeping mat         MOST IMPORTANTLY -Take a Camelbak/Platypus and don’t rely on a water bottle. Take plenty of hand wash gel.Take tipping money with you on the mountain and take more than you think you’ll need.   When you see how hard everyone is working for you you’ll want to give more than you planned!We donated equipment we no longer needed at the end of the trek.  I would plan in advance what (good quality) clothes etc. you can donate to the porters.Take flipflops for the showers during the safari.If possible, book the return flight a couple of days after the official trip ends and use this time to  spend a couple of days in Arusha.  I’d have loved to have gone on an excursion to a community centre or seen more of local life which I think is the only thing missing from the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    a busy trip that allows you to see many of the highlights the country has to offer. The people of Vietnam are truly inspirational.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    there were many - local kids enthusiastically greeting us on an island off Nha Trang; dinner in a busy local restaurant; people on scooters pulling up next to us while cycling to say hello; seeing the excitement of people in small villages at the sight of those crazy Westerners cycling through their country in the heat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danh: Always smiling and happy, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his country. Really helpful and always willing to go the extra mile - literally! He told us at times we'd be cycling another 15km which turned into almost twice that distance.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat in the South. We cycled in the mid-day sun (temperatures around 35 degrees C) with very little shade. Don't expect to be able to take lots of pictures while cycling - most people in our group wanted to cycle from A to B without stopping. Not really what I was expecting. Also, don't expect to have much time to yourself, even the free days are packed with activities. A typical day usually starts at 8am on the bus (or bikes) and you don't get to the hotels until about half 6 or 7pm. You'll just about have enough time for a quick shower before meeting up with the group for dinner.  The trip notes also mention about "predominatly flat" roads, but on most days there were a few long, steep hills to climb, so be prepared for that.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus could have improved this trip by better planning our return flights. We spent over 8hrs in KL airport even though a later flight from Hanoi to KL was available. This meant our last day in Hanoi got cut short and an already long journey was made longer than necessary. We also had some problems getting picked up at the airport on arrival in Vietnam - even though we were on the group flight - as we all missed our connecting flight in KL. The London office, even though aware of the delay, failed to inform our guide.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

    December was certainly not the best month to go to Madeira. Unfortunately, I had only looked up the temperatures at the coast and totally forgot that we will be on higher altitude. Thus, I was cold a lot. I felt it was an okay holiday. I guess, being in my thirties, it will not feature in my top list of destinations to go to: the landscape is nice but there is not much else (certainly in another month, the flora is more spectacular and probably makes everything even nicer). I did not like the food very much and our accommodation was okay but in parts (for the circumstances - December) too cold (heating and water-wise) for my liking.The walks were not very difficult. But then, I am used to walking up and down mountains. We had members in the group though, who were struggling and maybe there should be some more information given on the trip description as to how many steps to climb or descend, how many hours of walking etc.All in all, a good week away and hey, the fireworks on New Year's Eve were fantastic and so was the group!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk along the coastline to Cais do SardinhoLovely groupFinally good food in the last restaurant we went to as a group in Funchal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very much into walking. However, it would have been nice if he had spent a bit more time to form a group like organising a dinner on the first evening when everyone had just arrived and we were all left alone to meet only the next morning. Or for going for a coffee or a meal somewhere.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please mind that in the mountains, temperatures may go from really hot to really cold.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & ZANZIBAR

    Kilimanjaro was the experience of a lifetime.  The guides were amazing - if you do what they tell you, they will get you to the summit.  Zanzibar was a beautiful place to relax afterwards. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All 9 of our group making it to Uhuru. The guides singing and dancing at the bottom of the mountain after the climb, and then spending time with them at the hotel when they gave us our certificates. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henry was a lovely guy and a very good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you bring a decent sleeping bag.  Also a mattress that is around 4 inches thick.  The one I took was only around 1 inch thick, and I could feel every lump and bump on the ground, which didn't make for a good nights sleep.  Also, I would definitely recommend going to Zanzibar afterwards.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't take the decision to climb Kilimanjaro lightly - it is hard.  Do as your guides tell you and stick together as a team. Many thanks to our brilliant leader Henry, and also Wilfred, David, Ricardo and Barcelona.
Call us on 0208 772 3936