Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    COSTA RICA ADVENTURE

    As an ex trolley dolly I would consider myself a seasoned traveller used to travelling independently.  Taking my 11 year old daughter on this trip of a lifetime gave me back my sense of adventure and has inspired her to globe trot.  I met an American on a rickety boat in Thailand 20 years ago - he told me to visit Costa Rica as it was beautiful - well he was wrong, it is the most beautiful and magical country I have ever visited!!!!!!!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Zip lining across the rainforest canopy ............ just as a thunderstorm was starting.  I have a rubbish head for heights but its just so exhilarating and fortunately kind Fiona distracted me by relaying her favourite recipes whilst my teeth were chattering waiting on the platform to take off.  My daughter of course found it a doddle.  I have to say that I also found the kids on the trip inspirational - they bonded and had a great time and when we visited a local school everyone joined in and had fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fab - knowledgeable, funny, helpful and so enthusiatic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to be dinner, lunch and breakfast for the mosquitoes!  Long sleeves, long trousers, deadly sprays, natural remedies - nothing stands in the way of the mosquitoes in Tortugera but then the sight of the butterflies makes it all worthwhile..................
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CAMINO DE CUBA

    A great trip, & a great group! There was a great sense of achievement, having reached the Pico Turquino heights. Not for the faint hearted! Once the mountain was climbed, I was ready for home. It was very difficult to justify hanging around for another couple of days, as everything we did subsequent to climbing the mountain, paled compared to the massive 'high' of reaching the Turquino peak.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the ladies broke her leg on the ascent to Pico Turquino. Her husband & our leader carried her down the mountain, through very rough, undulating terrain. It took about 6 hours. It was a mammoth task. My own sense of self doubt, as to whether I would make the top of the mountain, was firmly turned on it's head, after gleaming wonderful inspiration from 'The 3 Muskateers'!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great guy. Even though he was not from Cuba, he demonstrated a measured, intelligent passion for Cuba. This he could marry with insightful views on Cuban life, wildlife, music & history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take 'wet wipes' with you, especially as you get into the mountainous areas!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the 'off the cuff 'more memorable days, was when we were in Santiago de Cuba. Manual, took us on a boat trip & for lunch to an island off this coastline. It was truly magnificent. The weather was too hot to remain wandering around Santiago. So he gave us a choice, made a decision which everyone concurred with. This type of leadership is welcome and commendable, as he read the mood of the group so well. For me, the end result on this holiday was climbing Pico Turquino. Once I had this done, I was ready for home. I wanted to take this experience home with me. But, i found that the 'high' I felt after climbing the mountain, gradually became diluted, as i waited those extra days to get home. It was a long journey back to havana. Could we fly back from santagio? Just a suggestion. This trip may be too long. Also, do all the sight seeing before climbing the mountain. Then, we can travel home directly with this achievement burning in our minds.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    This is one of the best trips ever - and I've done plenty! Excellent guides, excellent route and came straight back and booked another cycling trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling around Angkor Wat and surrounding temple complexes was a way to see the sights that made you feel a part of it in a way that being on a bus would not have come close to.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A great week with a good variety of things to see and do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Exploring Petra, particularly getting up into the hills to get the full sense of the scale of the site.  Sleeping under the stars in the Wadi Rum and riding a camel as the sun came up.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Full of stories and interesting bits of information to keep us entertained.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An incredible trip to an amazing country with a brilliant group of people!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COSTA RICA

    This was a fantastic way to see and experience real rainforest - trees, plants and animals - in the company of interesting people and free from the anxiety of travel in a strange country. Costa Rica exceeded all my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the forest and seeing all those exotic plants, mammals, birds and reptiles in their natural environments would have been utterly wonderful. But the tapestry of night and morning sounds (frogs, monkeys, birds) was a revelation, each place having its own soundscape. I have recordings which evoke the humidity, temperature and atmosphere of each place we stayed even more than the photos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We could not have asked for a better leader. He (Jeff Munoz) was knowlegable, enthusiastic, and determined both to show us as much as he could of the country and its natural history and to impart his knowledge. Both the leader and the driver (Mario Jiminez Ortiz) were conscientious and accommodating. They arranged optional group visits to restaurants, which would not otherwise have happened, and always offered interesting trips during the free time when they should, presumably, have been off duty.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do read up about each place you are visiting and where there is time for optional excursions ask your group leader about alternatives. In Monteverde we enjoyed the activities we did (bridges walk, zipline experience, hummingbird viewing, forest walk) but personally wish I'd spent more time exploring the primary forest rather than ziplining or visiting secondary forest (Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve - short walk). Definitely do the boat trip on the Tarcoles River if you get the chance. Don't obsess about seeing a quetzal - there are so many other exciting creatures to see!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a great trip. The only slight disappointments were the quality of the hotel accommodation at Monteverde (Montana Monteverde) and the forest walk - after such a long bumpy journey up to Monteverde I was expecting to see primary forest not secondary. Otherwise the transport, accommodation and meals were good or better than good. We don't generally use travel companies but organise our own trips; however I would not hesitate to use Exodus again.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SOUTH INDIA EXPLORED

    A really nice introduction to the charms of Southern India with a good group of people in the experienced hands of a skillful tour leader.  Coconuts, curries, cruising along the backwaters, tea, temples, sunrises, sunsets and smiles.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of the local people and their ability to just enjoy the moment; the beautiful scenery, fabulous food, several spectacular sunsets (and sunrises); the variety of temples and the tranquility of the Keralan backwaters.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was the perfect host:  enthusiastic, friendly, knowlegable, organised, calm under pressure and with a good sense of humour. Essential when a regular 4 hour journey turns into a 12 hour detour thanks to a spot of border politics and road blocks! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Indian drivers are crazy. Fact. The roads are chaotic and it seems to work, except when it doesn't so just look to the side at all times!The shopping opportunities are fantastic so leave enough room (or bring an extra bag!) if you love fabrics, scarves, jewelleryDrink more water than you think you need as the humidity can be dehydrating

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was aware this trip had more of a cultural focus but I would have loved the opportunity to do some optional adventure activities like I've done on previous Exodus trips. There was not a lot of spare time but on the couple of occasions we had a little free time it would have been the cherry on top if there'd been some more options like cycling, walking, or where available, things like horseriding, white water rafting etc.  
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SAHARA DESERT TREK

    A great 100K trek throught the desert. Our guides were very efficient and kept us well fed and entertained in the evenings. Spectacular scenery and straightforward walking. Wild camping in the desert was a delight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Around the campfire at night, under a starry sky, listening to the guides singing traditional Berber songs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very capable, very knowledgeable and looked after the group well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember it is 5 days of moderate exercise in high temperatures so be properly hydrated and make sure you have good sun protection.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful experience!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    TREASURES OF SICILY

    If I'm honest I don't think I really Knew very much about Sicily before I went! But found it to be an amazingly beautiful island with some wonderful sights. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip with a great group of travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many! Walking on Etna (especially as rain had been forecast and it turned out to be a beautiful day); visiting the lovely town of Cefalu; the beautiful towns of Ragusa with its stunning baroque architecture, and Erice with its great views; the walk in Zingaro Nature Reserve; seeing the Valley of Temples at Agrigento in the late afternoon sun; picnicing by the sea at Selinute after visting the temples there; and of course delicious Sicilian cakes!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabio was our leader and he was assisted by Salvo. They also drove the minibuses and did so very well indeed. They also looked after us well and were friendly and helpful throughout the trip. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was a fantastic trip but very exhausting as well. Great days but very long after early starts so though not requiring a high level of fitness you need to have a good deal of stamina. Some people may feel there is too much packed into each day but I wouldn't have wanted to miss anything I saw and certainly did allow me to see a great deal of this beautiful island. Take a good guide book. At a number of places our guides gave us a town map and we were free to explore on our own which was nice but with often limited time you need to be organized if you want to do a place justice!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would certainly recommend this trip. I certainly felt I'd 'done' Sicily and did it with a fun group of people and of course that does make a big contribution to the trip!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    This special trip also gave us the chance to get to know the locals and our porters for the trip by joining their english classes for a couple of mornings. By the time we were on the adventure we had already go to niow the fabulsous group of people that would be supporting us on trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kili is defnitiely not for the faint hearted and whilst not too demanding physically (the more prep you do, the easier on the body it is) However, the slow plod up the mountain in the dark is tough mentally. But worth it when the sun comes up and you can see the crater and all that is around you. Awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John the trip leader was excellent, always cheerful and daily checks on the physical and mental health of the group. Florence was also excellent, a little calmer, but alwys on the look out to see how members of the group were doing, and I believe he has just had a well earnt promotion. All of the porters and assistant guides were adorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train hard, listen to the guides and enjoy the journey. Laugh you way through any moments of discomfort.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really great set-up, one of the best Exodus trips I have been on so far. I would highly recommend this enjoyable challenge.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    A relaxing holiday in pleasant surroundings. Well organised and was very well looked after during the week

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final day walk had spectacular views. The day in Seville was also a nice break in the middle of a week of walking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I had not done an exodus holiday before. The organisation of the trip was excellent and I did not have to worry about doing anything once on holiday. I was unsure as to the standard of physical activity so opted for an A/B walking holiday to get an idea of the level of difficulty - the A grade walks were probably too leisurely for what I was after so would opt for more challenging holidays in future. Having done this holiday I would not do the same holiday again but would certainly book another holiday with Exodus.
Call us on 0208 772 3936