Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE OMO VALLEY

    Very well run holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting with traibal peoples.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Professional and experienced tour leader who was happy to go out of his way to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At airport when entering Ethiopia or soon after, make sure that you secure as many 1 Birr notes as possible for paying for photos (e.g. over 100 and make sure they are in good condition as they will not be accepted otherwise).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Perhaps tour leader can have supply of small notes for exchange on arrival.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    Absolutely wonderful in India from Deldi to Varanasi lots to see and Nepal fantastic Chitwan,Pokhara, Kathmandu you just have to see these places

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole holiday was inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sanjay Sihag was good company as well as being a good guide our bus broke down so he got a local bus to take us to the next part of our holiday Fatehpur then got another bus to take us to the outskirts of Agra then toot-toots local three wheel Taxi to our hotel. where he had arranged for our luggage to be sent. that took some organising well done Sanjay 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some medicaton for upset stomach

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday is a must
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    We set out to trek to Everest Base Camp. Unfortunately the airfield at Lukla was fog-bound for a week and no-one could get there from Kathmandu. Our Exodus Group Leader, a very competent and helpful chap called Sukman made alternative arrangements for us to drive to Pokhra and trek to Annapurna Base Camp instead. The result was that we still had a really memorable time with  spectacular views and many challenging days' walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact that after about 5 days of rain forest walking in grey weather we reached the tree line just as the clouds cleared and we were suddenly in the middle of exactly the type blue sky and mountain scenery that we had imagined before we set out.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent and continuously re-arranged our routes and stops to account for the changing weather conditions without any fuss or mistakes. He also joined in our group and made sure that we received the best treatment in all the tea houses.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you either go with an experienced travel company or work out your own contingency plans for when the weather doesn't do what it should.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have a look at the linked photos.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THROUGH RAJASTHAN

    Really enjoyable trip. Exceeded my expectations both from the trip and the country perspective.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have lots of great memories ranging from cycling in rush hour traffic in Delhi which was akin to cycling round the north circular but somehow safer (The Indians seem to be less agressive than us Brits), to following a scooter round Udaipur with 16 of us in a conga type of Peleton to hoping to find one of five Tigers in 400+ sq miles of National park at 6am!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leader and his deputy were great. They have a lot to cope with. 16 clients all wanting varying degrees of looking after and following the Trip Notes. The other 3 team members were excellent also - bus driver. bike mechanic and the guy who did everyting else.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a cycling holiday - the more used to cycling the more you'll enjoy it but if you are a cycling nut and want to get your head down, think twice. For safety reasons you'll only get about 90mins at a time without an enforced stop. Given the heat and things to see/photograph it shouldn't be a problem (or go and cycle the Alpine passess)! We were a mixed group and fairly typical I would think and we all seemed to cope.There is also lots of sightseeing - more than I expected (and in my case more than I needed). But it is well organised and virtually always with an expert, English speaking guide.There are some longish bus transfers and forewarned is forearmed. Check the actual distances (and allow for heavy city traffic) between the overnight stops to calculate. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it. You'll enjoy. Always make time for a Kingfisher (beer) at the end of each day with the rest of the group.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    Thanks to Exodus and the local company (African Walking Company) this trip far exceeded my expectations. An amazing experience, listen to your guides! Really glad we did the Rongai route as opposed to other busier routes. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top, but also see the people who struggled (the altitude effected everyone differently) get to the top too. Hearing the stories and lives of the staff on the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional. It's rare I say that, but really I was (as were the others in my group) astounded by just how good these guys were.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to the guides. Drink LOTs of water - don't be shy ladies, it's the best way to acclimatise. Each as much as you can. Talk to the people, they want to practice their English and have fascinating stories. Don't scrimp on warm socks and gloves for summit night. Try and remember to be 'present' in your trip, especially when you get to the top. This is an amazing experience. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're on the fence, don't be. Life is too short. This is an amazing challenge. It takes will power but the guides and group will pull you through. You are in incredibly safe hands with these people and you will have a life changing experience.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    Exceptional !!!!! Amazing time i had, so many places and sites to see...Great experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many..Sunset and sunrise on the Nile, felucca trip, inside the Great Pyramid,  Karnak temple, Abu Simbel. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Egyptologist Sayed Monsour was excellent. He was an organised and helpful leader, who looked after us very well and gave us helpful advise. He was very knowledgeable, patient and very humoured. He loves good conversations.After few days with Sayed you will really  think that Egyptian people invented everything !!!! Great ambassador for his country. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for street vendors specially in Cairo and Luxor too much hassling. Aswan is much better for shopping not hassling. Bring enough money you will like to buy everything !!!!! Many people complain about the sleeping train don't be scared it's part of the Egyptian experience...Listen the advice of your leader. Have small change for the toilets. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

     Abu Simbel is a MUST !!!! You will have to get up very early but it's  worthy. Just RELAX and ENJOY it.This is the perfect trip to discover EGYPT !!!!!! 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    This was a very enjoyable trip.  Very active.  Visited lots of interesting towns and cities.  Saw all the main sights. Pleasant group and leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not exactly inspirational, but I really enjoyed learning about tapas and sherry.  I rarely eat spanish food or drink sherry so was happy to learn more about them - and eating and drinking them of course !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris Burke was very pleasant.  He had a calm and reassuring way about him.  He was very amusing in a quiet sort of way.  He was knowledgeable about the area and history of Andalucia.  He was clearly a very experienced tour leader, was good with the group and knew the kind of information to give that would be helpful.  I'd be happy to have him as a tour leader again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While this is a leisurely trip, there is a fair bit of walking and a fair number of hills to walk up and down in the towns and villages as well as some walking amongst the olive groves and over rough ground - so not exactly undemanding.  I'd recommend being physically able for a good walk and bring sturdy shoes with grips!On our free day, we took a trip to Granada to see the Alhambra.  Buy tickets online in advance, as it's very busy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like a bit of walking and a bit of sight-seeing as well as good food and drink, I'd highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Perhaps one of the most rewarding holidays I have been on. The group was lovely, our guide superb and Sri Lanka was breath takingly beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking on Horton Plains to Worlds End and the train ride down the mountain. Simply wow!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb! Roshan was so professional from the outset. Sharing his abundance of knowledge and his country with such enthusiasm. No request was beyond his capability.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear insect repellant.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would just like to thank Exodus as this holiday was perfect for me.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    I have wanted to visit India for years and it lived up to my expectations.   A great insight into Northern India.  It was a 'Solo' group which worked very well.  A really laid back group with lovely people of all ages that mixed really well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Of course the Taj Mahal, whatever expectations I had, I was not disappointed.  The boat trip on the Ganges at Varanasi was very atmospheric, the tuk tuk ride and even the overnight train ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronit was a lovely man who looked after us very well (not easy looking after fifteen people working on 'India' time and transport!!From time to time we had local guides who were very interesting with their tales.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too many clothes.  There were several times when we were in the sames clothes for 48 hours!!!!  In Varanasi, ten of us got very ill with Delhi Belly and a doctor was called. I had gone vegetarian the whole time and even cleaned my teath in bottled water but the guide that took us to the airport explained it was probably down to the overnight train than the food. That made a lot of sense so in hindsight I wish we knew that before the train trip so we could have sanitised constantly!!! - and I would have eaten the chicken - it looked good and we were taken to good restaurants.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a great fast paced trip - no time is left unspent!!  You can always sleep when you get home!!   A couple on the trip took grapefruit capsules which seemed to keep them healthy - it wasn't much fun getting Delhi Belly and finishing the rest of the trip and travelling home whilst feeling so ill!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC RAJASTHAN

    We had an action packed two weeks in Rajasthan though we never felt rushed.  We stayed in some wonderful hotels.  I have never learned so much about a country in such a small space of time thanks to the excellent guides.  The experiences could not have been more varied from the camel fair to the temples, lakes and desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many as the trip was amazingly varied.  But, I suppose it was the Taj Mahal as the sun came up before the crowds arrived and again at the end of the day from the other side of the river as the sun went down.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Bali" Balvinder Singh was an exceptional leader.  Our group quickly bonded as a happy group of friends with him as our "captain".  We had experiences over and above the already excellent itinerary.  Bali ensured that each of us had our needs met, whether that meant a cart rather than the back of a camel, time to shop or a trip to a hospital for an x ray!  He conjured up a boat when none should have been available and took us all to the movies. He entertained and informed us with his "stories" about India between destinations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Add to the "What to Take" list; hand sanitizer and a universal plug.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you, Exodus for  a most marvellous travel experience.
Call us on 0208 772 3936