Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    It was the most amazing experience, enjoyed every moment of each day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was fantastic the forts the palaces, seeing a tiger in the wild, the rides in mad traffic in rickshaws and tuck tucks. However, for me nothing compares to the sunset on the Ganges watching the Diwali festival unfold. It just took my breath away! The memory will stay with me forever

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Atvar was ace, he was so organised and helpful he made it such a joy for us, he took away all of the hassle of touring.  He did all of the  hard work, no way could we have done and seen so much had we done this trip alone

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel light, you dont need much.  To see everything is  exhausting BUT so worth it, you can catch up on sleep the rest of your life!.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic trip of a life time, its fun, its exhausting, its educational, its cultural, its everything you can want all rolled in together!!!!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA EXPLORER

    A packed trip that offers a thorough introduction to the small but delightful country of Tunisia; a good mix of sightseeing and activities which provide an opportunity to understand and appreciate the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I most enjoyed visiting the oases in the Sahara and the camel trekking, visiting a traditional Berber home was a special moment as well. I fell in love with Sidi Bou Said and was really glad to have seen Carthage. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very professional, knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour. Couldn't have asked for more!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of sights and activities packed into the busy 8 days and it is a essentially a tour of the best bits of the country hence there is a fair amount of time spent on the road some days so bring a book or be prepared to gaze at the scenery out of the bus window! Some of the hotel rooms had bits which didn't function properly and for some of the meals you didn't get a choice about what you were given to eat but these are only very minor points.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you go on the trip from Oct onwards bring layers as one day it was warm and the next day not, a bit unpredictable!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA IN LUXURY

    An Amazing holiday, lots of variety eg trecking, rafting and chitwan

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    completing the treck with the help of the porters and treck guide, wouldnt have managed without them.The Everest flight was amazing as well  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kesher our group leader, was fantastic, very knowledgeable and friendly. He was also very good if any of the group members became unwell

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trecking is probably harder than it states in the trip notes, but it is well worth the effort to complete it each day. Wonderfull views.you will not go hungry on this trip, so no need to take food etcall equipment except walking boots is available, even down jackets, hats and crocs at the lodges 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a wonderfull trip, i have never trecked before on this level, and i felt safe, and in very confident hands. i would definatley book with exodus again
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & GALAPAGOS ISLANDS

    Inca Trail-everything and more. Awesomw views.Galapagos-great itinary, excellent guide,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    View from the Sun Gate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Outgoing flight delayed then cancelled to Madrid. This meant a night at an airport instead of in a hotel. Quite tiring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My broken wrist was diagnosed by an English doctor as a sprain. However guide gave me excellent pain killers. Have broken it in 2 places and have a plate fitted. Slightly spoilt my enjoyment!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    A really interesting trip which has something for every type of cyclist, from rough trails to fast smooth tarmac.  The scenery is stunning and so varied.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz is a great leader.  I had 100% faith in her at all times.  She is very practical beng able to easily fix any problem with the bikes.  She was always checking the bikes, pre-empting any problems.  A great bonus is that she knows the trails inside out.  The leader could make or break a trip, and Liz certainly made the trip the great success it was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about anything as Exodus has done the trip so many times that everything is taken care of.  You need to be reasonably fit and not too timid for some of the trails.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really good holiday.  I will certainly book another cycle trip with Exodus again.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Good mix of classic history and walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views to Capri and Positano on the Walk of the Gods

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. Christine's knowledge of the area added tremendously to the enjoyment of the walking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Limber up your knees!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Check out what's coming for dinner so you have an appetite for all the courses!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE MOROCCO'S GREAT SOUTH

    A well organised and enjoyable trip for cyclists with a good base level of fitness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the descents were awesome, but I also enjoyed the challenge of some of the climbs and the sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought Richie was a very good group leader - he was very professional and took things like health and safety and bike maintenance seriously but at the same time he was good fun and always upbeat and encouraging.    He had good local knowledge and was always keen to share tips to help the group improve their cycling.   He was very organised so we always knew exactly what was happening each day, what time we had to meet and where etc so the trip ran very smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It’s a holiday and not the Tour de France, but you definitely do need a good base level of fitness to complete this trip as there are several climbs.  Being confident that you can control a bike is also important as there are some fast descents with sharp corners. You don't have to be an expert cyclist to enjoy this trip but for your own enjoyment and that of others on the trip I would definitely advise doing some training for this trip and make sure you are realistically fit enough to cycle 70km per day for 6 days otherwise you might struggle or hold other people in the group back. Overall I would say the trip is most suitable for intermediate level cyclists, ie those who cycle a bit at home but are not too serious about it.  I think beginners might struggle (unless they are very fit and confident, in which case they would be ok) and advanced cyclists might find the pace of the group too slow (although they could still enjoy the trip as a relaxing way to explore a new country)  Take some warm clothes as its cold in the mountains, especially at night. If you want to read at night, take a torch as most of the hotels you stay in don't have very powerful lights and its hard to read. The hotel in Marrakech is quite noisy so take ear plugs!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The free day (ie day off cycling) should be spent in Essaouira not Marrakech, because it is a much more relaxing place than Marrakech and also there is the beach which people can relax on if the weather is good or go surfing or do other water sports.   People will probably have time to explore Marrakech a bit on their arrival or departure day. Exodus should definitely have the free day in Essaouira.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    What a blast! This has to be one of the best holidays I've had; the moments of comedy genius still make me chuckle. Hopefully 'the Journal' will be published, but I guess 'you had to be there'. They say people make the holiday - and it's true. The leader and his team, together with my fellow adventurers, made it a truly memrable time. everyone shoudl have a holiday like this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing us all conquer the Hai Van Pass. Brilliant!!Cycling through the villages - with high 5's from the kids, as we past, and hearing them laugh at the 'long noses' (us). Truly uplifting, and I felt honoured to be cycling through this amazing country

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long - he was great; really interested to give us the history of the areas; laughed with us. whenever I see a fish market, it will remind me of him. He seemed to be keen to show us one in every town!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes - take a head camera, so that you can film the 33km 1500m descent (Bidoup-Nui Ba National Park.) Truly awesome 1 hour downhill .WOW

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Anotehr day in Hoi An woudl have been nice. there are some fabulous hotels along the route, the last hotel in Hanoi was dis-appoiting - apart from the rat in my room (on 5th floor) it was the least friendly and 'expensive' by loca standards. Also the local taxi the hotel arranged for the airport transfer demanded more money at the toll ... we did fear somewhat that he was going to turf us out. (out of 15 days though that was the worst thing that happened - a shame to end the trip on that note)
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & MERU

    Fantastic scenery, wonderful team of porters and guides, great company from the 4 other people in my group.  We were also very lucky with the weather:)  A fantastic ouside the box trip which I would definitely recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably summitting Uhuru point on Kili.  It was very moving to reach the top.  I was very grateful to our assistant guide Venance and the other person I ascended with for hanging in there with me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I felt overall he was good however, he did slightly develop a favorite person in the group which I felt was maybe slightly unprofessional or unfair on some of the other members in the group who might have benefited from special attention too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Deet mosquito repellent - I forgot to buy it before arriving in Tanzania and it's not available there.  Positive attitude and good fitness will really help you get the most out of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Climbing meru really helps with acclimatisation however it means you start Kili slightly tired from the rapid descent from Meru (or I did anyway!).  So in some ways perhaps only one mountain is necessary if your time is limited.  However I really enjoyed climbing Meru and in some ways it was more beautiful that Kili.  Fantastic trip!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    TIBET EXPLORER

    We were first to take the trip from Kathmandu to Lhasa overland and flying back, and this made it a special experience. To see the changing landscape in getting higher, the villages and cities becoming bigger, the cultural sights changed to be older - all this was possible due the 'strange direction', and some of the places which will leave you breathless and the normal begining of the trip in two ways were easier to access for us. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to pick on moment, but the kora at the sanctuary of Jokhang temple was really a moment of inspiration and devotion.And climbing up the last hill at Everest Basecamp is strenous, but the view is worth the effort; watching all the lakes and rivers in the deserted scenery is worth to get there...There are much more but it's hard to tell them all... 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simply the best and most professional of all tourgides ever, even in unprdictable situations. Thank you, Lakpa Lama!The local guide - Nyima-La - was also very profssional, as all the drivers and other members of the staff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you travel in spring and fall - carry lots of warm clothes, it's chilly at night and most hotels lack heating.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing else to add but GO THERE!
Call us on 0208 772 3936