Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    A great experience and an overall insight to Egyptian history. This trip is fairly educational with the right amount of relaxation and top notch comfort thrown in. A very relaxing holiday will be had with enought information to absorb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Despite the temples, tomb and pyramids being must see tourist items to see and experience it was still amazing to be in the place where ancient history was created and recorded.  Physically being present at the sights made it more special than seeing these attractions on tv or reading about them in a book. Anyone who has been to the Taj Mahal in Agra, India will know what I mean.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader showed us his obvious love of Egyptian history and his quest to always find out more. I even bet that he keeps his finger on the pulse on all the current excavation projects that are happening in Egypt and he will be one of the first to know when new discoveries are being made.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that even though this trip is quite educational, it will all be a bit confusing at first and hard to keep up with all the past rulers of Egypt, however, the leader repeats his stories in a different way and will always point out information given the previous day so that we remember what was being said. This trip is very relaxing with practically no exercise whatsoever, ie transport is provided everywhere and there is ample of  opportunity to veg out by hotel/sun deck pools. If you wish to be more active than this, you will need to seek exercise out for yourself but keep safe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be safe with the water consumption, ie use bottled water for everything except shower or bath at first. Salads are safe to eat after you have aclimatised in a few days. Be prepared for exorbatent prices in the hotel bars and on the cruise boat and be aware that air conditioning will always be on full blast
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A great introduction to India - but exhausting.  This is a non stop tour full of incredible sights and wonderful experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on the Ganges in a small rowing boat watching the evening funeral rites was truly memorable experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Avtar went the extra mile to ensure everyone enjoyed their holiday.  His knowledge of customs, religions, history of places and people was exceptional. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of travelling, especially the late arrivals of the trains -explained as running on Indian time. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Recommend arriving a day or two earlier.  Its a long journey to Jaipur, especially after the long overnight flight from London.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    lovely trip in a lovely country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    completing the big climb

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Insect repelant
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    This is a holiday when you are on the move a lot,therefore you get a real insight into how the island "ticks".The people are happy and friendly and the hotel staff are excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from World'sEnd.The excellent meal provided by the Tsunami victims.Being given shelter by a local villager during a downpour on our jungle walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan is an excellent leader.His knowledge of the culture and wildlife of his country is encyclopaedic.A fantastic personality with a superb sense of humour.Any problem was efficiently resolved.Even providing ash for a Leech wound!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect some rain.A waterproof jacket is essential although umbrellas were available on the bus.There are times when footwear with a good tread are essential.Be aware of tourist scams in Colombo.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an excellent holiday with a great group of fellow travellers.It's worth taking part in all the activities.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    Very good trip and much better than expected as the organisation was excellant including the general standard of accommodation. The experience gave us a better and clearer understanding of the people, history, agriculture and landscape of the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The early morning overall view of Machu Picchu and the appreciation of the planning and construction of the lost city. Also having the experience of staying one night on the Amantani Island with a local family.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan, our group leader, was first class and he really made the trip very interesting and very enjoyable. He was always very happy,friendly and good fun to be with throughout the trip. He considered everyone and always gave assistance where necessary.We would definately recommend him as the best guide we have ever experienced on any previous trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mke sure you have the correct medication for the particular country being visited and take the advice of the guide especially in high altitudes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The "local" people were friendly and very colourful. The poorer people living in the countryside need the tourest to make purchases to help their economy even although one might bargain on the price!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    This holiday was the most amazing holiday ever. The views were out standing ,wonderful. The Exodus team looked after us very well. I would recommend this holiday to any one who loves to trek, but you do need to be fit. The group of people that were on this trek were brilliant and they helped make the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many amazing things about this holiday . The flight to Lukla was incredible and the views were out of this world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Prem was wonderful. He told us lots of information along the way. We had fun with him and the other sherpas. They helped to make this an incredible journey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must be fit. This is a long slow walk up and up but its worth it. Take something like Albus oil with you to help clear your head but also to help on the odd occasion with smelly loos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was at its best when we went , clear blue skys and brilliant sunshine. So i would recommend going at the begining of October. Loved it, loved it, loved it.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    IMPERIAL CHINA & YANGTZE RIVER CRUISE

    An absolute full on itinerary, giving not only a taste of China, but also the full flavour of it.  A country so diverse, both modern and old.  This was my fourth trip to the country, and it most definitely won't be my last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to note - the pandas in Chengdu, the scenery of Yangshou county (the Li River and Yu Long River), Shanghai with its imposing skyline, tallest building in China, Bund and frantic shopping areas - also returning to the Terracotta Warriors, which I had visited ten years ago - they still hold the magic they always did.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dragon was amazing - totally unflappable despite having to get 16 of us through numerous stations, on and off trains and from one place to another.  He was very informative, knowledgeable and very approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour gives you everything you need from the China experience, and it will also make you want to return again and again to a very diverse, although imposing, country.  It is full on, but bring an open mind with you, and you will be rewarded in the end.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I opted for not taking the Yangtze cruise, and did my own itinerary around Yangshou with a private guide.  I would recommend perhaps extending at the end of the trip and trying something like this, as the experience was absolutely breathtaking.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE MOROCCO'S GREAT SOUTH

    Overrall a well run and efficiently organised trip. Experience of cycling and/or good level of fitness is a must as some of the climbs and descents ar not or the faint hearted 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the fourth day of cycling when thinking there was no gas left in the tank by mid afternnon  being encouraged by the leader to carry on and experience what was further on up the road on bike rather than in support vehicle. Gave greater sense of achievement once finished

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Organised, efficient and didnt bulls**t you if there were changes to plan. Always kept group informed and provided the encouragement to keep going when necessary. Ensured health and safety adhered to by all and  definitely made trip more enjoyable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont go unless you have a decent standard of fitness for your own enjoyment's sake and that of the group. It would help to have some bike experience too

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The 'free day' should be spent in Essouira and not Maarrakech. It is infinitely better place to relax and wander around than Marrakech. The beach is nearby and its an added bonus of course. To make the trip more attractive this has to be considered by Exodus planners .
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Atlas Descent:- Did exactly what it said on the tin! Absolutely loads of off-road descents. Beautiful scenery. Remote location. Great trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Single track steep descent on the 4th day... warmed up and ready for it from previous days of riding... steeper than all other pistes. Hair raising - technical enough - exilerating and fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a top guide. Tiny lass with big personality and the legs that jet from the gladiator would be proud of! Really enjoyed the routes and rides of this trip; lots of variation .. some of which Liz said she had discovered on her days off! An inspiration- loved her cycling trails and top fun lady.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have time, it would be well worth extending your time after the trips finish day and go to nearby Marakesh for a flip side of husstle and busstle of Morrocan life.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC NEPAL RIDE

    Fantastic experience - excellent leader, good group, good countryside, sights and views - hotels were better than expected - all in all accommodation was sound 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Himmalayas at sunrise

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good indeed - suited everyone, full of information - and good fun  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first 3 days (especially day 3) are tough - after those - piece of cakeAlthough a road trip - many of the roads are unsurfaced and strewn with boulders

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Extremely friendly place - really back to before the Industrial revolution in farming, weaving etc etcGreat lager though! 
Call us on 0208 772 3936