Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    Amazing experience, certainly no time to be bored!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ours was another wonderful group. The desert and mountains were for me the most memorable, though for some of us the much anticipated camel ride and desert sleepover transposed into an ambulance ride through the sahara; such a pity! The Auberge in the Sahara is a wonderful place to be; somewhere I would love to return to and have more time to enjoy. The walk in Todra Gorge was fantastic. Couldn't make the walk from the gite but others said that was brilliant too. I loved Volubilis

    What did you think of your group leader?

    LHoucine was fantastic, caring, patient and knowledgeableour driver Abdul also deserves a special mentionThankyou to them both

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    only the usual

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip covers 2500 miles or so, so obviously it was rushed. but it would have been more enjoyable to have an extra day in some of the cities, Fez and Essaouira in particular. This was even more relevant for our group (the sickest in LHoucine's 11 years' of guiding!); when ill, it's harder to keep going...and going...and going! I knew the hotels were on the basic side, but with such beautiful riads in Morocco I personally would have preferred a higher standard in the cities (and would have happily paid a bit extra). The hotel in Marrakech was good, and the 'basic' gorge hotel and gite were absolutely fine. The start of the trip covers too much too quickly; a whistle stop tour from Casablanca (uninspiring) to Rabat (no time to visit the old town) and Meknes......then on to Fez. The guide we had in Fez was only interested in rushing us from place to place where we were persuaded to spend, spend, spend.....the products were lovely, but it was too much for one hot afternoon. A pity we could not have flown direct home from Marrakech (had to fly via Casablanca and waste 3 hours at the airport there)
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    JOURNEY TO PERSIA

    A truly memorable tour through a history which most of us have only read about. Imaginatively put together to show the treasures of the past, and an excellent tour guide with the knowledge to bring it all alive.A really wonderful hoiday experience amongst a very friendly and helpful people,comfortable hotels and safe and reliable transport between sites 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without doubt Persepolis. because of its age and the pictures conjoured up of its former glory.Yazd with its medieval charm and quirky architecture.Esfahan - a true reflection of Islamic grandour,vision and power in the late middle ages. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Farsaneh Khademi was an ideal tour leader - experienced,fluent,historically very knowledgable, and able to keep a wide range of tourists ( Aged 84 down to mid 30's ) amused and excited for the whole period of the holiday.She was helpful and responsive to all our needs, and I would have no hesitation in recommending her for one of your Awards. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will be amazed by the Country, and its self confidence. Probably the most sophisticated and relaxed country that I have visited in the Middle East.                
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    Wildlife Wonderland

    Fanatastic wildlife wonderland in luxury lodge and campsite.  I feel a bit of a fraud saying I went camping - Base Camp Masai Mara was amazingly comfortable and luxurious.  I felt really close to nature and enjoyed the animals, with all home comforts thrown in!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing 'honeymoon' lion and lioness displaying such tenderness towards each otherNever knowing what was just around the corner: a leopard kill in a tree, lioness and her 3 cubs, warthog family, African fish eagle, zebras surrounding our truck to feed at waterhole, white rhino strolling across the road, ostrich and her eight chicksWatcing a family of baboons, feeding and playing, from my hammock outside my 'tent' at BasecampMeeting friendly, laidback people of Kenya and being waved to by school children on roadtrip to Masai Mara

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ben and Davis complemented each other perfectly.Davis took the trouble to meet the group every night to tell us about the itinerary for the next day, answer our questions and reassure us.  He also told us about life in Kenya and had many interesting anecdotes.  He also saved me from walking too close to a buffalo!Ben was entertaining and fun loving.  He also had a fantastic knowledge of the wildlife and had superb eyesight - spotting animals from a seemingly impossible distance,  whilst driving the safari truck.  Ben got on so well with everyone in the group and was able to adapt to our different personalities.  We all had a great time on the road! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider buying your visa before you leave.  I had to wait for an hour at Nariobi airport before I could obtain mine.  I was the last one into the arrivals lounge and by then my luggage was nowhere to be seen.  I eventually found it on someone else's trolley about to be whisked away!If, like me, you hate camping this is the trip for you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This a trip you can't fail to enjoy if you like wildlife - go for it. Basecamp Masai Mara is the best place I've ever stayed!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    It was a fun and action packed week with a great group and fantastic guides. I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the two-star hotel – it was a small gem with super friendly staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely the canyoning!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very competent, easy-going and fun to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes it is a very good idea to bring gloves for the mountain-biking day!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE ZAMBEZI VALLEY

    An absolutely brilliant trip and our guide TK was superb - that's from someone who isn't easily impressed! 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    This trek exceeded my expectations.  Although very exhausting and a test of endurance and stamina it was an absolutely fantastic achievement to reach Base Camp and Kala Patar.  As our leader says this is a "Life time experience, not a holiday' He was absolutely right and I can't wait to go back and do the Annapurna Circuit.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Landing in Lukla is something I'll never forget!! Stunning all round scenery.The whole trek was an inspiration and you don't really appreciate what you've achieved until it's over.  Our group, our leader and his team were a great bunch of people, we had many laughs.I'll be going back.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang was an inspirational leader, ensuring everyone in our group got the best possible memories out of their holiday.  Pasang was very sociable and friendly.  We were all very well looked after, there was always something in his medicine bag to help us out with any health issues, and there were a few!!  Pasang and his team worked extremely hard to make our trek, enjoyable and rewarding. Hot tea to wake us up, even when it was 5 am sometimes!! His knowledge of the Himalayas, the culture and the history was second to none.Pasang introduced us to local dance or he tried to after we all had one or two beers, I don't think anybody was quite getting it right but we sure had a laugh trying.  Great after trek party. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a life time experience of a trek.  It's a grade C so most people would expect it to be difficult at times.  A certain level of fitness is recommended as trekking for 12 days back to back is very exhausting, and with the advice from Pasang everybody had the legs to achieve their goal.  "Slowly, slowly, slowly take in the scenery and take your time".  Altitude can affect any body whether you are fit ot not, listenening to the leader's advice got us through it.   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic experience, would do it all again, can't stop thinking about it
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF TIBET

    An extraordinary and enriching journey across the Tibetan Plateau.  An adventure like no other that combines the remote high altitude deserts of Tibet and the fascinating gorges of Nepal.  Visits to ancient monasteries will leave you culturally enlightened and of course the unparalleled vistas of Mount Everest (or Qomolangma as the Tibetans call it) from its base camp will be one of the best experiences of your life.  You will be literally (and metaphorically) on top of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Easily, the visit to Everest Base Camp and Rongbuk monastery was the most inspirational moments of the trip.  I was lucky enough to observe Mount Everest against a cloudless sky at both sunset and sunrise.  Notwithstanding the subzero outside temperatures, I ensured that I made the most of my time with nature’s highest peak.  Another inspirational moment was when we were invited inside Rongbuk monastery at sunset to listen to the Buddhist monks and nuns chanting the sutras. The heat from the warm glowing yak butter candles was very much welcomed and created the perfect spiritual atmosphere which left me enlightened. In addition to the above, there were other personal inspirational moments such as witnessing the dedication of the Tibetan pilgrims at the Barkhor and Jokhang before sunrise, and of course, the journey across the Tibetan Plateau, which offered stunning landscapes that I never knew existed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Keshar Khadka was exceptional.  I felt extremely reassured that he was leading the trip as I had previously read positive comments about him.   He is friendly, extremely organised, informative, knowledgeable and passionate about the countries that we visited.  He went above and beyond his duties to ensure that the group was enjoying the adventure and looked after those that required a little help because of the altitude. A true credit to Exodus and the local agent.  Thank you very much Keshar for making the trip a fantastic one and I hope that your efforts are commended.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are looking for an adventure of a lifetime, this trip is for you.  Not many people can say that they have visited Mount Everest or its base camp. I am so glad that I made the trip.  My only advice is to perhaps check with your GP before booking this trip.   As the trip notes state, travel at altitude needs to be taken into consideration.  I am no medical expert, but I would recommend (for your own peace of mind) obtaining a prescription of Diamox (Altitude sickness medication) from your GP.  The chances are that you may not need to use it, but you will have the medication should require it.  Keep well hydrated by drinking lots of water and remember to take things easy whilst at altitude.  The highest point on this trip is c.5224m above sea level, which is pretty high!  Luckily, none of the group members required evacuation to a lower altitude.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best travel experiences of my life so far.  Tibet is known as the ‘forbidden land’ that is guarded by the great Himalayan range.  Its sheer remoteness and mystery attracted me to visit this intriguing country.  Tibet is a treasure chest of stunning landscapes, exceptionally clear blue skies, turquoise lakes with much of its beautiful Tibetan architecture still intact despite the cultural revolution by the Chinese.  I was very fortunate to have witnessed the traditional way of Tibetan life, but only just.  Tibet is changing fast and is becoming more modern.  Don’t delay.  Book the trip now!   I took this trip in October 2011 and it was very cold at altitude in particular at Rongbuk and Everest Base Camp, so thermals are a must.  However, in Nepal the temperatures were quite high – 30c so a mixture of warm and cold weather clothing is required for this month.   I was also fortunate to be travelling with a great bunch of people and had plenty of laughs along the way.  This trip also involves a short taster of Nepal, which will leave you wanting to book a trip to see more.   Finally, if you are interested, you can see a collection of the photographs that I took along the way at: http://www.exodus.co.uk/photos/album/2414 Thanks Exodus
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    KERALA & TROPICAL INDIA

    India and this trip far exceeded my expectations. If I had to convert friends to do a cycling holiday, this would be the trip to convince them, as it is mostly door-to-door riding with so much to see and experience. Brilliant! This was my 7th cycling trip and was up there with the best. Don't hesitate - book it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday offered a moment of inspiration! Overall, the colour and energy of India is so inspirational. The place is so full of life and character. This trips offers one the opportunity to have a sticky beak in the daily life of people in southern India. I was totally amazed when we started to explore the remote lane ways outside Guruvayor. This day made me realise how much work and thought went into the planning of this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Vish, was good and very knowledgeable about history. However, he didn't love cycling as much as the group ;-) Joseph - the cycle leader was absolutely wonderful. He had a lovely nature and was very interested in the lives of people in the group. At the end, he circulated a comments book which he and the driver (Shibu) keep as a memento of their travels. Usually, you'd think it was hum drum for them but it made me realise that these trips enrich their lives too.Shibu was an awesome driver and bike mechanic. He was always up bright and early tending to our bikes. His amazing, happy smile was always a great start to our day!  Shibu was always helpful and if we asked for anything, he was quicky to help us.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a gel seat! The bikes were fantastic but the seats were the slim-lined types which hurt your butt after a day. Try the semolina pudding with cashews and sultanas (called Kesari). It is served for breakfast at the lodge we stay at Bundapur National Park and totally rocks!! Semolina has never ever tasted so good and it was my stand-out meal.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus describes the trip as relatively 'easy'. I think this should be adjusted. We were a fit bunch but sometimes a flat road in hot conditions makes it tough.Exodus should include notes on shopping and what collectables are worth buying at different stops eg brassware in Guruvayor. It was quite common to find a gem item in one spot and then not see it again. So a shopping list of 'what to pick up where' would be awesome. My boyfriend and I had just bought a home, so it was great for purchasing homewares especially the antique treasure in Mattancherry, Fort Cochin.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    Excellent trip. Well-paced, great routes, wonderful scenery and delicious food!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the long ride and climb to the top of Sri Lanka. A challenging but rewarding day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well-organised and friendly. Good leader who was willing to cater for all abilities within the group, providing challenge for those wanting it, and leaving others to their own riding preference. Peter was always happy to talk about the country and its culture, which he is clearly passionate about. Peter mixed well with all members of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be fit enough to enjoy the mileage and ascents!!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I fully recommend this trip, as I do Peter's previous trip in Kerala.I would like to see more of the same style of trip in the future, but clearly in another destination. Coast to coast India, Peter please!!!The point to point days, with only the odd transfer, makes these trips winners!!!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF VIETNAM

    A rapidly modernising country with a wealth of culture, history and architecture. Wonderful food, friendly people and a scenic country, but sadly not much wildlife - it's all been eaten or caged.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip and kayaking in Malong Bay, a World Heritage Site.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was organised, supportive and wore his heart on his sleeve. He was conscripted by the communists to fight in the army and was made to fight in the jungle, where he saw dreadful atrocities and lost some dear friends. Thankfully, he's now happily married with two daughters. He demonstrated that despite the dreadful times he'd suffered, the human spirit shines though.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you bring a spare bag, or some room in your main bag. I'm not a shopper, but the quality and price of made-to-measure clothes in Hoi An is something one can't pass up. I got two beautiful suits made for work, and some of the ladies on the trip got some great leather boots made for them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be scared about eating in corner street restaurants, or even on the street. If the Vietnamese are eating there, you can bet it's good (just stay clear of the dog, rats and snake ;-)). The cuisine is excellent, fresh ingredients and prepared safely - none of our group suffered any upset stomachs. You should definitely try the Pho (noodle soup). The seafood is also wonderful. Not so sure about the blended wine though, better sticking to beer!