Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    A photographer's dream come true really, even if you're a novice you're going to come back with amazing photos. Its not just the Masai Mara where you get up close to the animals - Lake Nakuru also has outstanding opportunities to get close to rhinos, flamingos, pelicans and lions, Lake Mburo was brilliant for hippos and birds like the Fish Eagle and kingfishers, and Lake Naivasha was also good for birds. As for the gorillas, well what can I say - you will undoubtedly get very close to them as the trackers and guides go to great lengths to ensure you get the shots you came for, but it's the luck of the draw whether you will see them in the open spaces and hence good lighting conditions, or whether they'll be going about their business in the shady darker parts of the forest where they live.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm not going to go for the obvious and say meeting the mountain gorillas for the first time - it was seeing a lone cheetah up close in the wild just lying in the sun completely unperturbed by us all, then putting on a show for us as she rolled around stretching and yawning. Completely natural and uninhibited behaviour but a total joy to behold, with all of us completely bewitched.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Often was a very good leader indeed, and he was brilliantly backed up by his team of Benard the cook and Patson the driver. All 3 worked very well together and had us all entertained and in good humour for most of the trip, which made a great holiday even better. Often was always kind and curteous to us and handled any potentially difficult situations that arose within the group with tact and charm. He also showed that he is very knowledgeable about the wildlife whilst we were on safari in the truck, as he was inside with us being the spotter and guide. His evident pride in his country shone through and was a great inspiration to us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to book the Nairobi to Kigali itinerary rather than in the reverse order. This way you start off with camping and finish off with reasonable hotels, which all in our group said they preferred. You also get to finish on a high with the mountain gorillas and are "hardened up" a bit by then for the trek up the volcano to find them. Just as importantly you don't start the holiday with a trip to the Rwanda Genocide Museum in Kigali. I fully understand and agree that Exodus have included it in the itinerary as it really raises your awareness of the human tragedy that occurred, but I just feel relieved that I made the visit to the museum at the end of the holiday to bring you back down to Planet Earth and not at the beginning, which may have kicked the holiday off on a bit of a downer, but this is just a personal feeling. Either way its going to be an unforgettable holiday. If you are into photography, take your longest lens with you. I had a 70-400mm zoom which was ideal apart from phographing the gorillas, where my smaller and much lighter 70-300 mm zoom was just about right. Read the Trip Notes and Last Minute Information carefully - the bit about taking a day pack with you is important. You will need to pack clothes and toiletries for 2 days into it as you will be leaving your kit bag in the truck when you go to the Masai Mara, as you travel there and back in the smaller 6/7 person jeeps which you also use for the safaris. You will also need to take your camera bag with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday is rated as "Moderate" with good reason - although it's not the level of physical activity that tires you (although our trek to find the gorillas took 2 1/2 hours up and 1 1/2 hours down again and was fairly steep) it's the camping, long journey times on poor roads and the early starts that begin to take their toll. Maybe its just an age thing though, as at 54 years old I was one of the oldest in the group!! The mattresses supplied by Exodus for use in the more basic campsites are stored in the back of the truck and seem to vary in thickness depending on age - the older ones are quite thin and not very comfortable to sleep on, so luck plays its part on how well you may sleep. The beds in the tents on the permanent camp sites are a most welcome sight!!
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    I really wanted to see Jordan and Petra, but as sightseeing by itself can be a bit tedious this cycling holiday was a perfect way persuade the family to join me. With the help of our guide and his team and a great group of fellow travelers, we and our 18 and 19 year old, all had a brilliant time. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of it was inspiring but I suppose I would have to choose the free afternoon in Petra when our guide took those that wanted to, for a hike round the back well away from the usual tourist route. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We couldn't have wished for a better leader,  Zuhair was able to explain things with interest and humour. He and his team organised everything to perfection and went out of his way to give us the best time ever, he even entertained us with many stories eventhough one or two of them ended with a dodgy moral.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go if all you want is a cycling holiday. Some of the experts found fault with the equipment but we were perfectly happy, the bicycles were better than those we have at home. September in Wadi Rum, we really didn't need the sleeping bags, a liner would have done as the blankets were the thickest I've ever seen. Some of the group slept round the fire with the locals.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked to have seen in the trip notes : -that after Aqaba we would not have access to the suitcases till Amman, that meant in the bus with us, we needed gear for the morning snorkel, the afternoon cycle, the night in Wadi Rum and the next day. Zuhair told us the night before and we had a bit of organisational panic that was only alleviated by a many plastic bags. The four hour drive to Amman was rather cramped with all that gear floating around. - and that the bike crew was leaving us at Wadi Rum, we needed to have the tip ready.  Well the children would say it wouldn't be me if there wasn't something to complain about, but all I could find was a bit of a let down on the bus back to Amman. The first was the tourist motorway stop we had for lunch, it had little food available that any of us fancied eating. Where were all those fruit and nuts that were to be seen on stalls that we passed on the side of the road. The second was the detour made round the millionaire part of Amman before getting to the hotel, If anything we would have prefered to have had a look at the center which I was told had bags of interest. Sorry kids, that's all I have.      
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    THE INCA TRAIL

    Exodus couldn't have arranged a better trip - our time in Peru was brilliant, start to finish, and our guide was fantastic. Exodus blew us away.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After three days of solid trekking, and a LOT of uphill, we finally breached over the mountaintop and through the 'Sun Gate' looking down over Machu Piccu. The sun was shining brightly on the ruin; lighting them up as if it was still a bustling Inca town. The scene was wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader/guide was phenomenal. An intelligent guy with a wonderful sense of humour and fluent in English. He joined in with all our activities (including a rather messy trip to a bar in Cuzco on our last night), taught us about the Incas, answered all our questions, and took care of us when we needed him. Top guy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate the fitness required to do this trip. While the trek is short, it can be very strenuous at times, as the Inca Trail has a LOT of steep and high steps that you must traverse. Furthermore, at one point you will ascend to 4,200 metres, so be careful of Acute Mountain Sickness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trust Exodus. They will absolutely do you right. 
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    HIDDEN GEMS OF SLOVAKIA & THE CZECH REPUBLIC

    Slovakia was completely unexpected. It was incredibly clean and bright and colourful and we were amazed at the good condition of the many attractions. We loved the humour in the architecture, the art and the people. The scenery is lovely and the weather was fantastic. And for us, it was incredibly good value for money. The cost of food and drinks was so reasonable. Slovakia is without doubt a hidden gem. The greatest pity is that the major producers of guide books do not seem to have much information on Slovakia, so relying on local knowledge, as Exodus have done, throws up some really unexpected pleasures. It was a fantastic trip and I’m looking forward to my next one!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Instead of the usual tour through a castle, we had a specially arranged night tour through Bojnice Castle. It was clever and different, and everyone in the group loved it.We had a dinner arranged by our guide at a traditional restaurant, complete with gypsy music. A lovely, memorable evening. Although it wasn't on the itinerary, our guide managed to fit in a morning in Skalica because there was a festival in town. There was enough interesting and scenic in the town to have kept us a lot longer

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was simply fantastic. Her English was very good, her knowledge of the country was amazing, she managed our itinerary to best fit in with weather forecasts, and other events so that we got to do and see everything we expected to, and more. She was friendly and pleasant and organised. an absolute star

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For people intending to do extra time, I'd suggest a good phrase book. Not everyone spoke good english, although a lot did
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    TREASURES OF SICILY

    An enjoyable holiday to a very interesting place.  But Exodus need to take a good look at the programme; eleven hour days are not so much fun.  Nor is spending 4 or more hours a day in a minibus in temperatures of 35C, one with poor aircon, one with none.  Better planning and a little less penny-pinching perhaps?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the cliffs in the beautiful nature reserve with the sparkling sea below.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A delightful person but perhaps a little opaque at times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Recommended but check to see if Exodus have improved the programme and found the money to hire a coach.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have very much enjoyed Exodus holidays in the past and this one was fun.  However, it had its issues.  I hope it is just teething problems, not a sign that Exodus is moving down market.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    I found the terrain more difficult than I was expecting, although managed. Thought should be graded moderate. Group great company, leader Rudi fantastic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finishing the walks in one piece. Views from the top of tuila.Great beaches, esp cala luna at the end of a tough walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rudi was exceptional, planned everything down to the last detail. He made the experience very enjoyable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are aware of the terrain and potential difficulty of the walks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall the holiday was enjoyable, but was dissapointed with the hotel as very limited facilities. Very noisy at night. Staff were great food excelent. Nowhere to sit and read in sun.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    THE ULTIMATE LYCIAN WAY

    Overall this was a great trip with fantastic scenery and walking in an interesting part of Turkey - the walking was rugged and sticks are really an essential bit of kit.   On the free day 10 of us took a boat along the coast and this was one of the highlights of the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of mount Olympus, sitting aorund the camp fire the night before, watching the sun come up over the ridge before setting off.   Also reaching the view of the lighthouse on the final days walking as the views down to the coeast were stunning.   And the Turkish bath at the end of the trip in Antalya followed by a lunch at a restaurant overlooking the harbour.    

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Probably the worst leader I have had on my many exodus trips - he was innattentive and uncommunicative, shared no local or historical information and although was quite pleasant at times on a one-to-one basis showed no interest in us as a group.   Trek briefings were so minimal that we had no idea of what was to come the next day.   Fortunately it was a very good group so we were able to cope with this but had the group dynamics been difficult this would have been more problematic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a water bladder as it was extremely hot - it was good to be able to drink easily on the go.   I had wonderful food as a vegetarian.   The food at the pension we stayed at in Cirali for 2 nights was fantastic.   chocolate bars are provided as snacks but my cereal bars were also very welcome.  
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    CANADIAN ROCKIES & VANCOUVER ISLAND

    Good holiday but quite a lot of travel. The minibus was a little cramped.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mount Robson without clouds on its peak!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - we had to spend 31 hours on the boat fromBella Coola to Port Hardy instead of the expected 11. Michel sorted out our hotels etc very quickly cancelling our hotel in Port Hardy and booking us into another hotel in Parkville. He made a point of consulting us as to what the group wished to do - either spend two nights in Tofino or one night in Tofino and one night in Victoris.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO & MERU

    A wonderful experience- but you do need to be fit to cope with the final ascents of both these mountains

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Kilimanjaro and seeing the sun rise over Kilimanjaro from Mount Meru

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Florence our guide was brilliant getting us all to the top of Kilimanjaro and supporting us all the way
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    LHASA TO KATHMANDU RIDE

    A trip or exreme highs and lows: From the exhilaration of cycling high passes, Everest and the epic descent into Nepal to the effects of altitude and bad loos.You gotta suffer for your art ! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The descent from snow laden mountain top at 5200m through primaeval waterfall strewn landscape down to 600m.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If Heineken made Exodus leaders then Kumar is it. Kumar and AJ (Batman and Robin)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Epic trip so train to get the most out of it.Pack light 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had additional unexpected excitement when an Earthquake interrupted our game of Shi*head near Everest basecamp(Jarongbuk). We evacuated to open ground and returned 20 mins later after danger seemed to pass.Unfortunately one of our group had been on the loo during this event and had wondered what on earth he had eaten ! By Gary Thomas (PA to Elaine Burton) 
Call us on 0208 772 3936