Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CORSICA: THE GR20

    We came home with a definite glow - the combination of sensational terrain,  really excellent company and a first class guide was a total winner.  Throw in wonderful weather and organisation that worked and we were more than happy. As others have said, you do need to be hill fit to enjoy it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well, completing the walk and walking through a guard of honour of raised walking poles was pretty special.  I was openly teary, but a young fellow walker had grit in his eyes............!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Barbara is an excellent guide - she made the slightly daunting trip feel safe and organised us all with great skill and tact.   She tried extremely hard to keep the group together and largely succeeded.  She did have a huge task however, a widely diverse group of walkers and difficult territory was a big ask.  I think with a group of 16, given that the walk is at the top end of it's classification, an extra guide  would possibly have been advisable, or maybe reclassify the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, you really don't need too much stuff with you.  There are laundry facilities at the two ski centres and of course at Corte.  Bring goodies, the food is fine, but a bit dull.  A few sachets of mayo/sauce/pepper will make the pasta lunches much more appetising.Pillows are not a given. Don't stress about taking a day off.  One of our best days was spent reading by a wonderful river, falling into a deep pool every now and then to cool off........... 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In lots of ways I was outside my comfort zone - long days of hard walking were fine, but queueing for showers and big mixed dorms (what? no ensuite??) was a bit more of a challenge.  After a day or two though you do relax and discover that you don't have to be in control of your environment 101% of the time.  It is great to realise that even nearing retirement you can still rise to a challenge.  I came home with a real spring in my step (this is metaphorical, my knees were, in fact, pretty battered!) with a distinctly different view of life.  Go for it!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    A great way to see the whole of Cuba!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking a walk through a natural park in the mountains, was a natural (ie very cold!) pool with a waterfall to swim inSeeing the different cities, lots of gorgeous buildings

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yosel was brilliant, very friendly and clearly loves his job. Full of lots of information (and bad jokes!), he looked after us so well we felt lost on our own!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take snack food, not readily availableFood is quite expensive so budget accordinglyBe prepared for Cubans asking for money/pens/soap, we were approached all the time 
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Thoroughly enjoyable holiday with a very sociable group.  The walking was more strenuous than expected but manageable, possibly Grade 'B+' rather than 'B'.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the summit of Monte Prado, 2054 metres, on the last day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader, Sara Bull, was extremely professional, capable and considerate although it was a shame that she did not eat with the group for evening meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure a fitness level capable of walking 7 to 10 miles a day with some fairly steep inclines and descents!!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    A fabulous trip over some of the highest and most spectacular parts of the Alps.  The walk was at times demanding but the effort was definitely worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were blessed with some fantastic weather, only a couple of days rain so we had fantastic views of both Mont Blanc at the beginning and the Matterhorn at the end.  As an ex geography teacher I was fascinated by the range of landscapes, geology and glaciers.   We got close up and dirty with lots of glacial features.  The walking was superb with generally good paths but a few steep rocky bits to keep you on your toes (the conversation tended to drop at these points).  The wildlife kept us amused as we tried to spot the marmots that kept squeeking to warn each other of our presance (and yes I fell for a cuddly toy one in Zermatt).  It's hard to say what was my most inspriational moment(there we so many good bits) but probably watching the sun setting over the Alps from the Cabane Mont Fort with a well deserved beer- marvellous!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul our leader looked after us and all our sprains, falls and bruises.  He did a great job encouraging us over the cols. Mark (who cooked and transported our tents) always welcomed us with a cheering smile and most importantly tea and cake!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a spectacular walk but as the grade says, it is challenging.  It's rather like going up Ben Nevis everyday from Fort William (but with no rain and lots of fab views).  I was certainly fit at the end of the two weeks and lost an impress 4 kg but if I did it again I would try and be a bit fitter at the beginning of the walk.  But hey I'm a short fat 51 year old so if I can do it so can you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a really fab holiday - who wants to go to the beach when you can climb mountains, really big ones with glaciers, travel on scary cable cars, get loads of  fab views all with such excellent company.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    An amazing journey I didn't want to end. I loved every minute of the trip & Africa was totally awe inspiring. Saw some beautiful scenery, amazing animals & birds and met some wonderful people. This was my first Exodus trip but it certainly won't be my last  :-)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    * The Masai Mara - seeing a young lioness coming to lie right by the side of our vehicle & a young male lying directly in front! Seeing Leopards and Cheetah's so close up was amazing too* Hot air Balloon at dawn  -  Worth every penny.  Beautiful scenery & good to see the animals from another perspective. Makes you really appreciate how big the area is and how lucky you are to spot the big cats etc.* Seeing the Gorilla's so close & watching one of the trackers being grabbed by a black back just as we were leaving! * White water rafting on the River Nile if you're brave enough* The elephant orphanage near Nairobi (featured in this months National Geographic magazine if you want to know more) so lovely to see the babies playing together and being taken care of so well by their keepers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Often was an absolute star, he was patient, funny & kind. He answered all our questions without batting an eyelid, fixed the truck when it broke down & really went out of his way to make sure everyone was happy at all times. He has superb animal spotting abilities, spotting a leopard tortoise & birds we would have completely miseed otherwise.Bernard our cook was brilliant always "jumping into action" making some great meals as well as making us laugh. a special thanks to him for keeping peppers out of my food!!Was hard to believe that it was only Patson's 2nd trip, he was a great addition to the trip and I'm sure he will go from strenght to strength

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take US $ but take larger denominations i.e. 50's or 100's. In most places you get a very poor exchange rate for the smaller notes and some places point blank refuse to change them. Also make sure your notes are all dated after the year 2000 or nowhere will accept them.If you are taking an ATM/credit card take VISA not Mastercard. You are unable to use Mastercard to pay for the rafting or anything else at Jinja and it is extremely difficult to find an ATM that accepts anything apart from VISA anywhere in any of the countries.For the Gorilla Trek wear waterproof trousers or at the very least gaiters, it is VERY muddy and you can be climbing for a couple of hours!Hire a porter for the Gorilla Tracking. They do so much more than simply carry your bag - our trek was tough & with torn ligaments in my ankle it was even harder!! Fortunately I had hired a porter and he was worth his weight in gold, helping me all the way up & down the steep bits (which in fairness was most of it!)Take a good quality headtorch - essentialMake sure you have a spare rucksack/bag for the 2 days in the Masai Mara as you need to take just enough for the 2 days & nightsTake zip off trousers rather than separate shorts & trousers as a lot of the time is spent in the truck so save the space in your luggage for extra memory cards, batteries & chargers. You will take hundreds & hundreds of photo's, many more than you think...Be prepared for rain - take an umbrella/waterproof jacket 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do the reverse itinerary Kigali - Nairobi, that way you finish the trip on a high - coming back from the Masia Mara seeing the fantastic wildlife, then on your last day seeing the elephant orpahnage & giraffe centre was a fabulous ending as opposed to a downer at the Kigali genocide museum.If you are worried about going alone, don't. I was a solo traveller and so were a couple of others but everyone on the trip was lovely & I didn't feel lonely for one minute, there is so mjch going on & so many wonderful experiences to share.Above all, just do it. This was my best holiday ever and I plan to travel solo again & again with Exodus
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    HIKING IN THE CANADIAN ROCKIES

    An excellent trip, great walking and amazing scenery!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What was great about the trip was that each day's walking brought something new.  The walking was hard at times, but the views always very rewarding and the beer back at the camp felt well deserved.  It's pretty hard to beat walking in mountains, with views of glaciers and stunning glacial lakes to keep you company, with clear blue skies and constant sunshine.  I think we were definitely seeing it at its best!The walks were well chosen to offer the chance to see all that the Rockies have to offer.  It was remarkable how quickly you could get away from the crowds on the walks - we often had stunning mountain top views to ourselves.  There was some serious elevation gain in most of the walks, and we all soon learnt not to believe the Canadian version of 'flat'!      As always, a good group of people to share the experience with.    

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Renee and Katy were excellent guides and looked after us extremely well.  The cooking was exceptional - what they produced on camp stove was consistently delicious.  They knew the area and walks well and looked after us well on the walks, tending to blisters and generally keeping the show very successfully on the road.  Thanks to them both for making the holiday so memorable!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks - particularly at the beginning and end of the trip - are quite long days, with lots of elevation gain, so do take the challenging rating seriously, a decent level of fitness will help.   Quite a few of the walks are through bear country, the group does need to walk closely together to keep the bears away.The campsites all had very good facilities and it was easy to set up and move camp the few times we needed to.  It did get cold at night- the campfire was a great help, but pack enough warm layers.  
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CORSICAN MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES

    Apart from the heavy rain on the first day the weather was hot. The scenery has expected spectacular. The walking was more mentally demanding due to narrow trials and loose stones. Corsica is rather laid back so expect the trains to be late and full. Food is not as good as mainland France but plenty of it.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good. No navigation errors. He had prewalked and marked paths in advance. Good preparation! Would have been good to have a local to know more about Corsica.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking requires concentration as they are mainly on loose stones and narrow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Corsican like meat so vegeterians be warned!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    UZBEKISTAN UNCOVERED

    A very good trip, with the right balance of sights, free time and experiencing the culture.  The monuments were impressive and it was interesting to see how Soviet rule still cast a shadow 20 years after independence. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Overall the most striking experience was to see how friendly the people were.  Happy to chat to visitors, have their photo taken or just smile and wave.  The two days in Khiva were probably the highlight of the trip, specially wandering around the town after the official sight seeing.  The locally produced art and crafts were impressive, good choices and reasonable prices.  What was noticable was that stall holders didn't hassle potential customers too much.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour leader was very knowledgeable and gauged the mood of the group well.  He was flexible to meet the group's or individual's needs and adapt the schedule, when it became necessary (e.g. delayed flights)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great place to visit, take plenty of cash for those souvenirs and pack a few cereal bars - food was a bit repetetive...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit now before it becomes too touristy!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    I had a lovely time - I didn't really know what to expect . . . I hoped it would be hot weather, pleasant walks mainly to archaeological sites, sea and mountain views, with a companionable group of people. It certainly did provide all that.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    "The most inspirational moment" . . ummm. Not sure. There were a number of little explanations that illuminated the things we saw . . for example, the Patara aqueduct worked on syphonic principles, and that after the Romans had discovered how to make water go down a valley then back uphill using this principle, they didn't build any more traditional aqueducts. Or the gravestones in the cemetery for people buried in the 1940s who had been born in the 1300s (ie before Attaturk's calendar reform).  Or the whole Arykanda site.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alison was lovely. The whole group was very supportive, and I'm sure this emerged at least partly because Alison was clearly careful to chat to everybody individually, and to make sure everyone felt included. She was also very helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles - and boots - are useful on the downhill bits of walks. Sea kayaking was good fun, but be prepared for blisters and/or aching arm muscles.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF TURKEY

    First time I used exodus.  Impeccable service for the money one pays.  In general, hotels, sites, guide, driver, etc were all one expects from such a trip.  Well done Exodus.  I shall be using you again in the near future, probably as soon as next year!  God be with us all. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Istanbul's cleanliness despite the 17 million who live there.Fantastic food.The fact that all Western civilisation started from there, including all of Christianity.The gentleness of the Turks, including that of our driver and guide. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not have been better.  Difficult to find such a well-informed, gentle and helpful leader, who made our stay super-enjoyable.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes.  Two advices. 1. Do not do Termessos!  Not worth the climb, except for the excercise!2. Try and chose your own restaurants where possible.  It's fun and exciting and worth all the hastle!  Try and eat where the Turks eats and not the majority of tourists. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes.1..Take off Termoessos from the tour.2. Chose a better hotel in Kusadasi. 3. Suggest, rather than 'impose' restaurants. 
Call us on 020 8772 3936