Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    A great holiday with lots of variety from ruins and lesiurely walks to just wandering around the beautiful little places in and around Amalfi

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick one, the walk of the gods was truly amazing. Ravello, positano and Amalfi all beautiful in their own way. We were lucky enough to go to sorrento too which was lovely to. The ruins at herculaeum were spectacular and well preserved which enabled you to really get a feel for the place

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was great, each evening we had a meeting in the hotel and we were given an iternary of the following days events. She was very personable and made the holiday very special for us all in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    do the trip, it's a lovely chilled trip but with a lot of variety in a very beautiful place

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the hotel we stayed in all week was amazing. The staff were so warm and friendly. The food was fantastic and the pizza making demo was great has was the cookery demonstration.The crazy burger bar just down the road from the hotel is also a great place to go on your free night for food and drink
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    All aspects of this trip surpassed my expectations.  From the never ending massive variety of wildlife viewing you get to experience, the activities you get to choose to do during the trip,  the great variety of accommodation locations enroute and mainly the fantastic crew made the trip one of my most enjoyable!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are a few moments but certainly visiting the Orphanage in Lake Bunuoni was a fantastic, humbling experience where inspirational, great work is ongoing. It was lovely to spend some time playing with the children and making them smile, although I would probably say they made us smile more than the reverse.  Highly recommended optional part of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Often is a fantastic tour leader - Intelligent, thoughtful, intuitive, funny and his eye for spotting animals is amazing.  Often, Bernard the Chef and Nerbet were a fantastic team and made the trip all the more special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip consists of 7 nights in the temporary tents on some fab locations which does mean only drop down toilets in some instances (2nts) and no showers so people who arent used to camping should be aware of this! Dry Shampoo and wipes and hand sanitiser a must!  oh and a head torch!In terms of the optional activities, I would definitely recommend the once in a lifetime balloon ride over the Masai Mara.  It offers a difference perspective to the usual driving safari and offers breathtaking views and fantastic photo opportunites with a better than expected Champagne brekkie with a further driving safari back to camp.  At a rather hefty USD450 its the most you will spend on your trip but worthwhile save.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dont delay, Go for it! Amazing.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN CORSICA

    We chose this trip for the long rides overlooking the sea, but it as the mountain stages that really stole our hearts. It is a truly wonderful ride.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    At the top of the highest peak we got off our bikes and run up to the summit.Or was it riding down afterwards through the chestnut forest... 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I was perfect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider hiring the road bikes instead of the hybrids, which have a narrow gear range and are quite heavy. We never came to like them, but they are fit for purpose...more or less.Dining out can become extremely expensive in eurozone. There are shops in most places and the bedroom banquet or indeed the picnic is a great way to reduce costs.Take ear plugs for the Stuart Hotel on the penultimate night. Least favourite place.Go the the restaurant just down from Antonia's in Omni Cappella, is much better than it looks! Before that enjoy watching the men play boules in the church car park next to the shop...perhaps with a cold tin of something?Do the long day one, well worth the effort - but beware being forced into a late start by the bikes being delivered on the morning of day 2 instead of the evening of day one - MOST annoying.Be aware that they say they will only carry one piece of luggage between hotels. They took our two light pieces each, so it was OK but it was all a bit unclear for a while. I read the bit about the 15Kg max but failed to notice the single item clause. Seems pretty mean.Don't go in via Sardinia to extend the trip into  a two island holiday. Sardinia and Corsica have poor public transport and do not connect very well. If I did this again I would either go into Pisa and ferry to Bastia from Livorno, or fly direct to Bastia. Don't expect to change money easily in country. Do it before you go!Breakfast is universally nutritionally hopeless (bread, jam, juice, a biscuit). You will certainly need a good second breakfast with some protein in it .Start early! Afternoons get hot.Enjoy this cycling holiday, Corsica is a fantastic place, this is a fantastic not too hard route, and we think it was outstanding. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The guide notes were pretty good, bit not all of the distances were accurate. Often there was a 1 to 2 km difference, which can be a bit disconcerting if you think you have missed something.We only missed one turning, last day - watch out as the 'road ahead' is the wrong one! AS you come into the village beginning with V, name forgotten, you have to TURN LEFT to stay on the right road. Is in the notes but a bit more emphasis may be needed for tired idiots...  
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    I am really glad that I chose this trip.  Romania is a beautiful and fascinating country to which I hope to return.  I could have easily stayed much longer.  Villa Hermani is a lovely, clean and comfortable guesthouse with great food!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing 9 bears and cubs from the bear hide was brilliant.  It was also great to see the work carried out at the sanctuary in Zarnesti in rescuing mistreated bears and providing them with an environment close to what they should have experienced as wild bears.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Cosmin and Udo were very enthusiastic and knowledgable about the area and it's history : )

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would definately class some of the walking as strenuous, a walking pole might be useful as some of the up/down hills are steep!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the home made plum brandy at the guesthouse!Make sure you pay a visit to the local 'pub'!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    This is a good cycling holiday in a lovely area, but it is expensive.  We had a small but very select and fun group!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling on the beautiful Dalmatian coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was very good; efficient and friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be fairly fit to cope with the hills, and some distances in the heat.  Not too much for vegetarians to eat! But the fish is good.  Single rooms in the hotels were often not very good and poor value for money.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to be spending a lot more money for food, guides and the Mljet trip.  Also, beware of the grill used to cook the fish on the Mljet boat; there is no warning that it is still extremely hot as it hangs on the railings. 
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL CHINA

    A full on way to see the best China has to offer this trip covers all the major bases and a couple of unknown suprises although this means lots of long days and almost constant travelling. All in all a top trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Great Wall and the Terracotta Army do not disappoint and are both well worth their status as world wonders but equally as exciting was watching the Cormorant fishing and learning to cook authentic Chinese dishes in the Guilin countryside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark was a very good team leader who always bent over backwards to give each member of the group the best possible experience and spoke about his country with genuine enthusiasm, pride and detailed subject knowledge, he always had ideas of how to fill any spare time and was well prepared for each days events.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave a couple of days free after you travel back to the UK, although this trip is marked as leisurely the busy days, late nights and a few overnight sleeper trains mean that you don't get much rest time and will need some down time when you get back.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    China is a really incredible place to visit and this trip fits in all the best bits in a very short space of time. From the manic and crazy sights, sounds and smells of Beijing, through the old world charm of Xi'an to the unique natural beauty of Yangshou and finishing in the skyscraper forest of Hong Kong this trip shows every side of China.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    Amazing scenery, delicious food, great fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of Mont Blanc after a cable car ride & fairly steep walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Obviously V experienced & made the whole thing stress free. Vast local knowledge. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A real variety of walks, plenty of stops, many in "refuges" with coffee & tarts! Comfortable accommodation with lovely home cooked food.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    A TASTE OF CUBA

    Very enthrusiastic guide - Mariella, who bent over backwards to do her best for us. This resulted in us all eating the finest cuisine Cuba had to offer - 3 lobsters in a week!! Accommodation - though basic was more than adequate for our needs.In addition, I feel that this trip strikes the best balance between travel and seeing the place without the travel aspect of it overwhelming the whole holiday as I have been told can occur on the longer Cuba trips.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few really. Overall, it was good to see a country very different to the one we are used to before it too becomes just as commercialized as anywhere else.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional. A real asset to her country and EXODUS. Talks alot though.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the one week trip. Not the 2. The complaints surrounding the long bus journeys on poor roads on this trip indicated that the amount of travel on it was too much. By contrast, the one week trip strikes the balance just right.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very good trip with very friendly group of people. Anybody going on this trip needs to be aware however that it is not that relaxing and does involve packing alot into your week. If this is what you are after in a unique land unlike any other then I can wholeheartedly recommend this trip and EXODUS's operation of it.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    When I read other reviews on this site saying how great this trip was I thought they must be exaggerating, but they weren't. I had the most fantastic time and can't recommend it enough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyone talks about canyoning as being the highlight of the trip, and from an activity point of view it really was the most exhilarating and challenging part of the holiday, but a word must also go out to the tubing and especially the mud bath. We laughed a lot and the photos provide a hilarious lasting memory. We really bonded as a group and enjoyed some fun meals and some great nights out in Kas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Initially, I wasn't sure about Maho. He seemed very nonchalant and disinterested in us but actually he was an amazing group leader. Most importantly, safety was his number one priority and his experience really showed on the kayaking and canyoning days in particular. I never worried about anything other than having fun, as with Maho I always felt safe. He took us to some great restaurants and we got loads of free food and drinks because we were with him. He certainly likes to party and the other reviews on this site that describe him as 'crazy' are certainly not far from the truth. Even if we had an early night, Maho generally didn't. But by the end of the week our group gained a huge amount of respect for Maho and we have since been known to describe him as a 'legend'. Love him or loathe him, he will certainly make your holiday memorable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do everything you get the opportunity to so, or you will regret it. The paragliding, the biggest jump in the canyon, everything... Sunglasses strings were really useful as was waterproof (or very high water resistant as its now called) sun cream. I bought some spray stuff in Boots at the airport and ended up lending it to everyone else. As you're in and out the water all the time, its really easy to get burnt. A cloth hat or bandana for kayaking/walking is a good idea. A few nice-ish tops (ie a notch up on the stuff you'd happily ruin) for the evenings are worth throwing into your suitcase if you have space.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a fantastic trip! Kas is a great place, and the locals were really welcoming. There are some nice beach restaurants if you walk left or right from the harbour - good for the 'free' day if you need to relax. The hotel pool is pleasant enough and our group often enjoyed a post activity drink by the pool, chatting about the events of the day. There was an Exodus walking group on our flight and staying in the same hotel so it was nice to swap stories and chat to other people at breakfast etc. It truly was a great trip, I only wish it could have lasted longer!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    Great way to see Jordan

    This holiday covers all main sites and attractions in Jordan. It's packed with things to do and there is a great mixture of different activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking in Petra, which many tourists do not get to do.The 4x4 ride in the desert, followed by sunset, food, dancing and then a silence that you cannot get anywhere else.Snorkelling in the red sea is like entering a completely new world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was really friendly, helpful and most importantly very knowledgeable. We were a small group, so he tried to accommodate different people's needs and helped getting good bargains when shopping. I spend additional days on my own, met other tour guides and none were anywhere near as good as the exodus group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On some days you might have to be adaptable in terms of food as you don't get much choice in some tourist areas. If you are spending additional days on your own as a solo female traveller, make sure you have enough appropriate clothes for a muslim country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved smoking the shisha!
Call us on 0208 772 3936