Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    LAKE NASSER CRUISE

    It was a very unique time to travel since the Foreign office had only just said it was okay to travel, so very little tourists.  Also my husband & I were the only ones on the trip, so again different to a normal Exodus trip. I believe we were the first also to have done this new trip.  So this was probably a very different experience to anyone else that does this later in the year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having done the Nile cruise 14 years ago & also been to Cairo previously, this is a more quiet relaxed affair on Lake Nassar & great to see sights that few others will see - no crowds.  It was a delight to have Abu Simbel to ourselves in that afternoon when the morning day trip coach loads had gone & also early the following morning from the deck of the boat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have a group leader, as there were only 2 of us travelling (more like a private tour). However, everthing went well, transfers etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you get your Egyption currency at the airport & this is before you go & collect your bags i.e the desks by where you get your visa.  On the other side there are no Banks & the flight gets in late so no Banks open in Luxor & the following morning a early start down to Aswan.Aswan to Abul Simbel is about a 3hour drive & a 3.30AM start. The boat in Jan - March can be windy/cold on deck - take a fleece.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were 4 star, but the boat on Lake Nassar was not a 5 Star boat and a bit shabby/dated around the edges.  Out of the 7-9 boats that are on Lake Nassar I would say this is 9th.  Whilst there was nothing wrong with the boat, you will be disappointed if you are expecting 5 star more like 3+ (expectations set too high).I've recommended Exdous review the trip notes (the tipping kitty was way too high) & some of the timmings are out.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    It was Winter Wonderland at the Wilderness week at Basecamp Oulanka in Finland.  The week was packed with winter activities, some of which I had never done in my life, filled with excitement and good feelings.  Everything from organization, to program, to equipment, to staff was perfect.  Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many inspirational moments, but the Northern Lights topped them all.  We had two hours (2!!!) of Northern Lights on the second night at the camp.  Staff at Basecamp don't remember the last time that it lasted that long and were that bright, so I guess we have been incredibly lucky.  I will never forget 7 circles of Aurora Borealis shining and dancing in the sky with reflections of green, blue and white watched from the middle of the frozen lake.  Absolutely memorable and I am so thankful for Exodus and Basecamp Oulanka to facilitate this experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guides were fantastic and so the entire staff at Basecamp Oulanka.  Our guide Hanna was a natural Winter Elf, expert in anything from teaching you how to walk for the first time on snow shoes or cross country (and how to get up) to play snow frisbey in deep snow, funfilled with a very good sense of humour.  She knew everything of the area and going along her weekly plan was as easy as a breathe of fresh air.  However I have good words for the all staff at Basecamp: they are truly an amazing group of young men and women and I will always remember them for as long as I live.  Leaving Basecamp has been really hard and missing all of that.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!  What are you waiting for?!  This week is absolutely a must do, you will never forget it.  Just follow the instructions that come from Exodus, go with the flow, embrace the experiences and you will have the time of your life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my third holiday with Exodus: it was Morocco first, then Peru and now Winter Finland.  All three of them have been experiences that I will carry in my heart forever, some of those stories you can tell your nieces and nephews in the long winter days.  I know Exodus is a business and in the end they are here to stay in business, but I can't thank this company enough for bringing me to life experience with such natural approach and practicing responsible tourism.  On my last day of the Finnish holiday I have decided that next year it will be Kilimanjaro: if there is anybody that can make me get to the top of it, I am sure, Exodus is the right one.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    CARNIVAL IN RIO

    Carnival was amazing, have difficulty finding words to describe it and the atmosphere in Rio!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The samba parades were mind-blowing! The sheer scale of the schools and attention to detail was astounding!! Everyone should do this one in their life! I think I may make it an annual pilgrimage!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alejandro was so friendly and approachable and was always willing to help , very professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to rio carnival!!!
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC CIRCLE QUEST

    A fantastic trip encompassing magnificent scenery and wildlife viewing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was an incredible experience from start to finish, but for me the highlight was the afternoon spent kayaking in Paradise Bay.  Imaging 360 degrees of snow capped mountains, blue skies, sea ice and perfect mountain reflections in the sea and you still won't be close to experiencing how beautiful the place was.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kirsten was professional throughout and made sure we experienced the best that the Antarctic Peninsula has to offer. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the fact that you have 3 days at sea from Ushuaia before you reach the Peninsula and 2 days on the way back. There are plenty of presentations on the ship to help pass the time and prepare you for the trip but it can seem like a long time since you have left home before you are able to leave the ship and do some landings.  Having said that, the sea days are forgotten in an instant as soon as you reach the peninsula and the trip starts properly.We were incredibly lucky with the weather; there was only 1 landing which we were unable to make as the conditions would not allow it.  You need to be aware though that if weather conditions aren't favourable you won't be able to do all of the landings or zodiac cruises which could potentially detract from the overall enjoyment of the trip. Aerolinas Argentinas can be quite strict with their luggage allowances; there is a 5kg limit for hand luggage on the internal flight. If you are carrying a lot of photographic equipment then your hand luggage will be way over this.  However, if you have your backpack on your back when you check in then they do not seem to weigh it; if it is on a luggage trolley then they will weigh it and potentially ask you to pack some of your hand luggage into your checked luggage. Do not wear expensive jewellery in Buenos Aires and leave your valuables locked in the safe in the hotel. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go ahead and book the trip - it is truly an experience of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WINTER ADVENTURE - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Lots of snow, lots of ice, lots of trees, lots of fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Husky trip was our agreed favourite, sledding through the snow covered forest .The afternoon when the leader took the children to play games in the snow was the next favourite with my daughter , and for me as I got the chance for a beautiful walk in the forestThe food (freshly prepared each day) was the best I have ever had on an exodus holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Hanna was, in the words of my daughter "amazing" She ( and the rest of the team) were so friendly and accommodating. We travelled independantly and arrived late due to a flight delay and the team could not have been more helpful rearranging activities so that we would not miss out.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The temperatures can be difficult for children to deal with ( we experienced -32c) take lots of disposable hand and feet warmers to help keep feet and hands cosy. All the gear they gave us was excellent, and I hardly used my own clothes at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want to experience the snowy wilderness, but appreciate a warm fire and a cold beer at the end of the day this is the place to go. 
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: ENGADINE

    I had a fantastic week, it was a great mix of learning new skiing techniques, having the challenge of the actual marathon and meeting a great bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the finish line after 26 miles!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric Woolley's reputation procedes him. He is fun, patient and has a wealth of cross-country skiing knowledge. You could not ask for a better leader. He made the week run smoothly, gave us tips and advice for how to tackle the course and kept us calm when we were all getting nervous beforehand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it! It is a great challenge and an amazing event to be part of. I would recommend working on your fitness beforehand as it makes the distance less gruelling.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    Manaslu Circuit Camping

    A great introduction to trekking in Nepal without the crowds on the Annapurna circuit. The Manaslu Circuit is certainly the path less well traveled - and by all accounts almost as dramatic as the Annapurna circuit, but as the circuit only opened up to trekkers a few years ago - there are virtually no lodges, so you get to enjoy camping every night!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the glaciers as we got up to the northern part of the circuit were dramatic, along with the occassional crack as we heard chunks of ice breaking off. The views of the mountains along this part of the circuit were also fantastic, and made up for the few days we spent trekking through the valleys on the way up. Crossing the pass was also a key point to the trip - and it was good that the descent was fairly rapid - taking a lot less time than the climb up. I enjoyed the fact that most of the time we had the trail to ourselves - which isn't the case on the Annapurna circuit these days. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was great fun - with a good sense of humour, and did a good job of communicating, getting us moving, trekking, and fed (almost over fed). 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about the food - on this trip you get to travel with your own kitchen staff (including an egg man - there were plenty of eggs) - and they work hard to prepare wholesome food. We had some Dhal Bhat - but most of the food was more varied (and certainly more interesting). There was always more than enough - so don't worry about going hungry!A good hiking pole is recommended and can be purchased from Kathmandu before the trip if you don't have one in your luggage (although the big-brands can be hard to find). I'd also suggest taking something like the Kahtoola MICROspikes just in case the route down from the pass is icy (although I didn't need mine). Being walking-fit before the trip will make your trip more enjoyable, however we did start-off pretty slowly - so don't expect a challenging walk from day one. The most challenging section was the cold as we left early to get to the pass, and the LONG descent after the pass itself. The descent was somewhat slippy due to gravel/scree on the path - so hiking poles were useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The worst bit was the coach travel into the start point with a long &  bumpy coach ride; however this unavoidable (unless the trip were extended with another week's walking). If you're tall - don't sit at the back of the bus.Take a look at my travel photos and a longer description of the trip on my website:-http://andy.bryant.name/blog/2011/1/23/manaslu-circuit-nepal.html 
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: KVITAVATN

    In my opinion Kvitavatn remains the best choice for those interested in varied and challenging skiing in an unspoilt location. Expert tuition and leading,excellent accommodation and food also make this a memorable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Setting out in the morning across the frozen lake with the crisp snow sparkling in bright sunshine and the cloudless blue sky promising a most enjoyable day.IlseIls  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilse was an inspiration . She has a vast local knowledge , keeps an understanding eye on all members of the group,encourages everyone to learn more ,and has a strong rapport with each skier In short she is a great teacher. 
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    WINTER WALKING DOBBIACO

    Fitted the brochure description re level of difficulty. My first walking holiday and it inspired me to do more. Usual high standard of satisfaction from an Exodus holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery was stunning throughout but the final day walking up to the top of Strudelkopf was magnificent, and steeped in historical significance too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter Verity seemed ideal for the role, set the right pace for the walking, was knowledgeable about the area, always helpful and amiable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles advisable for this trip, also spikes for boots as, at the beginning of March, there was ice about still. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tschurtschenthaler hotel was comfortable, with pleasant rooms and a good-sized lounge. The swimming pool, though small, was a real asset at the end of the day's walking, as was the sauna. Staff were all friendly and efficient, though on occasion there was no-one on hand to serve in the bar. The one disappointment was the evening meal, which at five courses was certainly plentiful, but the quality, especially of the main courses, left something to be desired. I'd prefer quality rather than quantity personally.
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    LAPLAND ADVENTURE & THE ICEHOTEL

    The huskies & the dog-sled was my favourite experience.  Just a shame that for such an expensive holiday the taxi meeting us at Kiruna Airport upon our arrival was very late in turning-up.  Not a good start, but things improved after this early nuisance.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Also loved the ski-doo's on the snow,  & the igloo building,  & we saw the Northern Lights twice on our six day stay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring your own gloves &  mittens to fit over them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Old Homestead restaurant was expensive & boring at The Ice Hotel,  although the Ice Hotel was a fantastic experience.  One night's stay was  just enough for me though.
Call us on 0208 772 3936