Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER THE ALPS

    All in all an excellent Holiday!  Group leader was excellent and was very helpful throughout.  The week was well planned out. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best part of the trip was when I went in the cable car upto the klein matterhorn.  Would recommend it to everyone!  This was an optional trip,on one of the free days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent.  He had a great knowledge of the countries we visited.  And was full of useful information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I do think that maybe evening meals could be included as it can be rather expensive.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    A thoroughly enjoyable holiday. We had a small group (7), which made everything very easy. Hotel was basic but nice. Pool was fantastic - nice place to relax after a walk. Kas itself is very nice and easygoing - no hassles (dramatically different from the crass overcommercialisation of Marmaris).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very much enjoyed lunch at the Warden's house after visiting Arykanda. Simple but delicious food cooked by his wife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    David was excellent. Very knowledgeable. Obviously committed to the area. Good leader without being overbearing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Turkey has become expensive. We were paying UK, or near-UK prices, for meals, etc. Ended up spending more than expected, but given that Kas is supposed to be part of the Turkish Riviera, I suppose that's understandable. It was very hot when we visited in mid-July (upper 30s - low 40s), although with the sea breezes it didn't seem quite so bad. The heat perhaps curtailed the length of the walks. Not the trip for you if you like doing day-long walks in the mountains, but good for getting out and about in the countryside a bit.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES: THE GR10

    I selected the GR10 trip as a precursor to doing more hiking in the future. I must admit to being a little surprised at just how hard the going was at first, BUT, the combination of long strenuous days, stunning vistas, and welcome home-cooked meals, made for an unforgettable experience. The personal satisfaction of tough walking over 200km cannot be underestimated. I felt like I have achieved something signifcant. I miss it already.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personally, I found the snow walking to be one of the most spectacular aspects of the trip. The combination of views, the sense of exposure and group determination made for a truly stunning days walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Alex, brought with him a seemingly limitless wealth of climbing and hiking experience. His knowledge of mountain trekking, equipment and his concern for safety were invaluable throughout the trip. Furthermore, his friendly, chatty and unassuming nature made him a very welcome leader. Certainly someone I would be more than happy to trek with again.Brendan, the other trip leader, also a very competent trekker, brought his own sunny disposition and sense of humour to the trip. His command of French was very helpful when communicating with locals. When it came to cooking though, I think Brendan demonstrated his alter ego. Egon Ronay move over. This lad could start up a restaurant on the strength of his Chicken Madras alone. Unbelievably great cooking, far better than I had thought possible. Thanks so much to both for making it such a wonderful experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Actually, I think it would be good of Exodus perhaps to provide a kit list of current products on the market, to assist with selection. My own boots were a little OTT, being far too hard. For very dry days, trail trainers worked best for me. Also, BRING COMPEED.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous experience. You can count on my return business.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    Most people won't know where it is, or why anyone would want to go there.  Let them go elsewhere, it would only spoil Spitsbergen if too many go there.  Inspirational.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching two arctic fox cubs play for about an hour, totally unphased by the 100 pairs of eyes trained onthem only a few feet away. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody and his team couldn't be more dedicated in ensuring that everyone on the trip gained everying they possibly could from the Spitsbergen experience.  The ship's crew were excellent also.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If the weather is good then you won't get a spare minute, but inevitably there may be a day or two of poor weather and visibility so a good book or two helps.  Just keep your fingers crossed that you won't get to read them!
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    MACHU PICCHU, TITICACA & THE AMAZON

    An interesting introduction to Peru and the Galapagos. Accomodation was adequate with the exception of Puno (Lake Titicaca) were the walls were paper thin, and the Galapagos boat where we drew the short straw and had the smallest cabin below decks (no window) and inadequate space.Guides were generally good with the exception of our guide in the Galapagos whose English was inadequate and who was more interested in the performance than in imparting information.All transfers worked well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The night spent with a native family on an island in Lake Titicaca. Basic facilities but sharing the home af warm-hearted and friendly people. Also the clearest skies with no light pollution.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had one guide, Arturo, throughout the majority of our trip in Peru. He was knowledgeable and took care that everyone in the group heard his explanations.  The only criticism would be short advance warning of the need to pack small overnight bags.Other guides in Peru were either excellent e.g. in the jungle, or at least adequate.However our guide in the Galapagos, Victor, was a grave disappointment. His English was inadequate - we had trouble understanding him (and often did not succeed) and the Dutch and Belgians in our group were at a complete loss. He was also more interested in the performance than in the conveying of information.  A grave disappointment when there was obviously so much that could be imparted.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an emergency bath plug! Most basins only provide cold water and almost invariably have no plug.When you have packed, carry your bag a couple of hundred yards and then take out anything you think you could do without. On this trip no smart clothes are needed, you will have to transfer to a small day pack on several occasions - Lake Titicaca, Machu Pichu and the jungle - and accomodation on the Galapagos boat will be limited, so don't take anything you don't need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus should:1. Emphasise the need to limit baggage and the occasions when in any case you will be restricted. This is mentioned in the itinerary but not given adequate promenance in my view.2. Advise in their briefing where laundry can be done. Laundry facilities are limited, not apparent and with some hotel stays being limited to one night pre-advise would be very useful.3. Consider looking for a better hotel in Puno (walls too thin) and a boat with more space* for the Galapagos.4. Be more open about the quirks of the accomodation e.g. in the jungle the huts are divided in two withe the other half often occupied by strangers. The walls do not reach to the ceiling meaning there is absolutely no aural privacy!* On the Galapagos boat our cabin, which was admittedly the smallest on the boat, was below decks (no window) and had only two small drawers for storage. The bunks were five foot eight long (my head touched the wall at the top of the bed when my feet were flat against the wall at the foot) and would be uncomfortable for anyone of above average height. I had to share the bunk with our luggage due to the lack of storage space. The floor space was less than two foot wide so only one person could realistically stand e.g. to get dressed. The "bathroom" facilities (where snorkelling gear had to be stored) were extremely narrow and required the flexibility of a contortionist and a good head for heights! (for use of the toilet which was up a couple of steps). This was not aided by an unwillingness for the shower area to drain which often meant there were two or three inches of water on the floor.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    Thoroughly enjoyed trip.  Spectacular scenery.  Ships crew are very efficient and food and facilities exceeded my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention.  I probably enjoyed the fact that the scenery is spectacular and is just so different to anywhere I have visited before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I am not a keen photographer and therefore probably had less contact with our group leader than many.  However I thought all staff were excellent.  In many ways the trip provides a whole host of mini leaders , somoeone for every interest and personality.  The balance was good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of Tshirts and light long sleeve tops for the evening.  The bar , dining room and lecture rooms are hot.  You need all the heavy weather gear but much time is also spent inside.The specific charters are possibly quite different to the general trips.  Just be aware that they probably differ quite significantly from itinery.  Most of us loved that but it may not suit everyone.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed the trip and booked it last minute over the phone.  I wasn't told that it was a photographic Charter.  The booking Team should make that clear. I think the fact you chartered the boat was fantastic and in particular loved that we did not have a set itinery.  However the Trip notes could probably be clearer on this point.   As highlighted above most people on the trip wish they had brought more lightweight clothing for inside.  The clothing details could be clearer on the trip notes. As soon as we arrived people advised we should use a hood (is that correct word) on our cameras would be helpful to add to trip notes.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC COLS OF THE TOUR DE FRANCE CYCLING HOLIDAY

    An extremely enjoyable time, cycling, fantastic scenery & watching the Tour. Made all the more memorable by the great support given by the Tour Organisers James & Kathy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the Tour & Climbing the Cols the Riders did gave me an appreciation of just how much suffering & pain they go through. It increased my admiration of them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In a word Superb. James & Kathy provided Support at just the right times & allowed everyone to Ride at their own pace & in their own time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Thie is not a Trip to be taken lightly! Anyone going must be an experienced Cyclist & be able to put up with a lot of suffering. However I thought it worth the effort.
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    An absolutely fantastic trip, scenery, wildlife, fellow travellers and crew were all superb.  A must for any wildlife and adventure fans

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    100 people standing in total silence on the bow of the ship as a young make polar bear walked over to the ship to investigate this strange presence in his icy wilderness.  The only sounds that could be heard was the blur of cameras and the gasps of astonishment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody and Paul worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone on board had the trip of a lifetime.  The whole team were fantastic they were professional, always ready with a smile, great fun and very knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go, you will love it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A real holiday of a lifetime
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC COLS OF THE TOUR DE FRANCE CYCLING HOLIDAY

    Fantastic holiday, I havent stopped talking about it, it was more than I expected, the Cols and seeing the Tour De France was amazing.  Well worth the money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the Hautecam alive without walking and to see the smiling faces of my fellow cyclists  cheering me on to continue to the stage finish.  The public support for the tour was something that I could have never imagined and crowds cheered you on as much as they did the real cyclists, you felt you were really part of it. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cathy and James (and Margot) were fantastic, their morning briefings were spot on.  The support was appropriate for this trip and their knowledge of the area and the tour was outstanding. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a serious cycling trip, you will get so much more out of it if you do some form of training whether cycling or other cardio phys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic trip, Marmot Tours were brilliant.  Watch out for the revolving bathroom!! 
  • Reviewed July 2008
    Anonymous

    ARCTIC - SPITZBERGEN ADVENTURE

    I'll never forget the polar bear carvery

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing not one but two polar bears on a kill Being able to get close to a large group of walruses without disturbing them Travelling through the pack ice Being in such a wild remote place where very few had been Seeing Arctic fox cubs playing in full view of us Getting a honorable mention in the photo competition Seeing our leader Woody in his down jacket, "sock 'n crocs" and shorts, even when the wind chill was minus 10 degrees!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the staff were excellent and couldn't have been more attentive to our safety and well being. When the weather stopped us going ashore they worked very hard to put on talks both during the day and in the evening. Worthy of especial mention is David "Woody" Woods the trip leader - always wonderfully calm and reassuring and made the trip great fun as well as showing great sensitivity to the wildlife and the environment. His wife Annie is also great and a very skilled zodiac driver. We all enjoyed having Simon Calder on board and his down to earth practicality made an amusing contrast to Paul Goldstein. Paul may be a bit over the top at times but was great fun although he could have paid a bit more attention to the non photographers in the group. However he was very nice about a shot I put in to the photo competition so in my book he's a great guy! I also admire his passion for conservation and his superb photography.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of layers - you will often find yourself going from the warmth of the ship to the cold of the outside whenever wildlife are sited If you want to take advantage of walking opportunities take some walking boots or shoes. I used mine for one walk rather that wellies and was much happier since the going is quite rough. Don't expect the itinerary to be followed at all but trust that the leaders and the captain are doing there best within the constraints on the weather and sea conditions to give everyone the best possible trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic trip which I would thoroughly recommend - the ship is very comfortable and the food excellent. My sister, who I travelled with and I upgraded to a cabin with a shared bathroom and were glad we had and enjoyed having a window rather than a porthole. I've been back a week and my head is still trying to process the whole amazing experience.